We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh to your Saves list
The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 117 | Red Sea Coast, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 182 Hotels in Hurghada
Rampieux, france
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We have now stayed here twice. Staff and facilities are great. The Indian restaurant is a must.
The reef is accesable from the jetty, but I suggest you use a lifejacket as water can be choppy. Lots of nice fish on view. We are not into sightseeing, so this is an ideal rest and relax resort for us. We paln to return in a year or so. We visited in Feb 2010 last time (not 2012)

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms with plunge pool are great but for the sun you need the beach or main pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_SahlHasheesh, General Manager at The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your continued patronage of The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh. We now have over 25% of our guests who return to stay with us. Zaafran, our Indian specialty restaurant is certainly a highlight of the resort and a must try for all our guests. We look forward to your third visit.
Best regards,
Dhiren Pereira
General Manager
Email: dhiren.pereira@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    708
    55
    24
    15
    7
See reviews for
155
506
19
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

What a awesome property in a awesome location. This is the only real five star resort in the entire Hurgadha area. All the other resorts are at best 3 stars. The hotel is all suites and individual cottages. Most with their private pools and all have the most beautiful view of the Red Sea. They have a 1km long beach which is almost entirely a coral reef. The reef is one of the best I have ever seen and great for snorkelling and diving. The hotel has a great dive center and the guys there are very experienced and helpful. The food at the hotel is excellent and they offer a great selection of sea food and other world flavours. The best part is that privacy the property offers. The staff is always around to help but now in your face. No one will disturb you and everyone will work their best to ensure you have a wonderful time.

Room Tip: any room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_SahlHasheesh, General Manager at The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for detailing your experience at our resort. The team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that all services on offer exceeded your expectations. We sincerely look forward to your next stay.
Best regards,
Dhiren Pereira
General Manager
Email: dhiren.pereira@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

A great choice for those who want the luxury and the benefits of being on the Red Sea without the crowds and annoyances of the resorts such as Sharm el-Sheikh.

The hotel is spread out along a large stretch of beach and this affords ample space between sun-loungers and between rooms - creating a feeling of privacy.

Snorkeling and diving are obviously very popular. There is a house reef which can be accessed directly of the jetty and has a wide array of wildlife. Two things to note, the jetty is home to a family of unaggressive lionfish (they gave me quite the surprise) and during the full moon the sea is densely populated with harmless jellyfish (these can be bothersome to some).

All suites decorated in a modern style with hints of arabesque and are quite lovely.

This is a great resort to relax for a few a few days.

Room Tip: One close to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_SahlHasheesh, General Manager at The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing us over the resorts in Sharm el Sheikh. The peace and tranquility of the resort and the 850 meter long beach are two of the most significant factors that makes us more enjoyable than Sharm. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the snorkelling. We look forward to your next visit.
Best regards,
Dhiren Pereira
General Manager
Email: dhiren.pereira@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I stayed at Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh for the last 2 nights in my honey moon trip. The least to say that It is a fantastic place, friendly personnel (every one), very clean, magnificent location & view. Definitely worth the money if want to relax & no to worry about any thing. The only draw back is that it is a little far from down town (You come here initially to relax away from down town). They made those last nights memorable in deed. Definitely going back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_SahlHasheesh, General Manager at The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review of our resort. I am pleased that you enjoyed the peace and tranquility that prevails in the resort. It is indeed a great place to unwind and relax. Allow me to congratulate you and your wife on your wedding and we look forward to seeing you back before your first wedding anniversary.
Best regards,
Dhiren Pereira
General Manager
Email: dhiren.pereira@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Our arrival was late evening, the arrivals department was busy,lots of signs quickly put together with names. We found our name in arrivals on a gold plaque that spelt luxury. The driver loaded the beautiful Mercedes and off we traveled to the hotel,taking around 30 minutes.

Arrival meant the bags were whisked away to our suite while we had a welcome drink and tour around the reception area, restaurant and bar. All looked amazing and we asked if we were suitably dressed for dinner. The request was answered with a yes and we decided to eat before we unpacked. The dress code though smart is not massively overdressed, I suggest the ladies take a shawl as it can be windy and a little chilly in the evening. We were taken in the golf buggy to our suite that was superbly appointed with all the touches that you expect from the reviews and our reason for booking.

The start to our holiday was professional, attentive and luxurious. These three elements remained throughout the whole holiday. The hotel is beautiful and the service superb. Nothing is too much trouble and you feel a million dollars while you are there. The food is varied and they will do anything that you ask to make sure you enjoy your meals.

We never left the hotel during our week there and enjoyed the beautiful mid November temperatures of around 25 degrees. There was no overcrowding and the serenity made the hotel feel extremely relaxed and inviting. Fully attentive service on the beach was discreet but always available. The food was absolutely wonderful but be prepared to pay what you would expect from a country that pays high tax and also massive import duty.

The accommodation is beautiful and the towel art amazing. I had a massage at the spa along with a Pilates lesson both were amazing and well worth partaking in. The staff are fabulous and nothing is too much trouble. If you are considering this as a couple who want to push the boat right out, jump in feet first. It is not a place to hold back in, but if you are willing to worry about nothing, then enjoy and you will feel like it have the most relaxing holiday ever.

It's a fabulous place and we absolutely loved it. We hope to return soon. Thank you to all staff for making our time there so fabulous.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_SahlHasheesh, General Manager at The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your detailed review of our resort. The team and I are extremely pleased that you have carried back fond memories of your stay with us. Thank you for your comments on our product, service, food and the team. We eagerly look forward to your next visit.
Best regards,
Dhiren Pereira
General Manager
Email: dhiren.pereira@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Well, I have stayed in a large number of hotels in my time, and 2 other Oberoi hotels, so I have a good benchmark against which to compare and the main point here is that this is a 1st class hotel by any standard - one of the best i have ever stayed in, and deserves every bit of praise it can gather. It is rare we return to any hotel, but we're already planning to come back in May. The staff and management should be extremely proud.

- Faultless airport transfers and check-in.
- Service is excellent. There when you need it but not intrusive. Poolside service a little sleepy, however, so be prepared to wander over.
- Housekeeping excellent and full of little surprises. Room quality superb. We were in the basic ("deluxe suite").
- Food excellent by any standards, and immaculate levels of hygiene - didn't get sick once - a first for Egypt. Dietary requirements well catered for and all staff briefed. Only complaint is that I couldn't eat it all - there was too much! Very good cocktails. Very good Indian food, but this is to be expected at any Oberoi.
- Water available with compliments, but large bottles are charged for. Not sure why.
- Nothing too much trouble for any of the staff.
- Spa/massages very professional if a little on the pricey side.
- Great diving right from the hotel, or from a boat not far away.

All this is extremely good, because the rest of Hurghada is a complete dump, unless you like being kept up all night by people more closely resembling the missing link between man and ape or food poisoning that everyone on the plane back seemed to have. Good luck to you if you do - I'll be at the Oberoi and loving every moment of it.

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing. The difference between deluxe and superior deluxe appears to be proximity to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_SahlHasheesh, General Manager at The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review of The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh and the vote of confidence. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I must apologise for the "sleepy pool service" and can ensure you that I have briefed the team to be more attentive.
We look forward to your next stay with us in the very near future.
Best regards,
Dhiren Pereira
General Manager
Email: dhiren.pereira@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

A Simply Stunning hotel, away from Hurghada ( Thank God ), because Hurghada is like Benidorm on a very bad day, its not Egypt, words fail me and are certainly unprintable. That said the Oberoi, is simply magical, impeccable service, food of the quality of many Michelin starred restaurants around the UK. With only 90 odd rooms it has a familiar family feel, like your favorite slippers. Food is not cheap by Egyptian standards, but at around £35 pounds a head, you will be treated to masterchef design and intricacy. The pool is heated and the beach beautifully clean, attire is smart casual as it should be, not kiss me kwik hats and flip flops. Certainly justifies its rating as the number 1 hotel in Hurghada, and should have a higher rating on many others, but I guess lots of people want all inclusive and 800 rooms, the Oberoi is more exclusive to inclusive and intimate to over crowded. I am currently staying at the hotel and may extend into the new year.

Room Tip: All are suites, depends if you want a private pool or not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_SahlHasheesh, General Manager at The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We are extremely pleased that you are enjoying your stay with us and I have passed on your compliments on the service and food to the team. We look forward to you extending into the New Year. We all wish you a fantastic festive season with us.
Best regards,
Dhiren Pereira
General Manager
Email: dhiren.pereira@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh

Address: PO Box 117 | Red Sea Coast, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#1 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#4 Business Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just spent two weeks at the oberoi, the accomodation was a large king bed suite with a seperate sitting area. There are two large flat screen TVs in each suite a private courtyard with dining area and sun loungers. The rooms are tastefully decorated and very comfortable. The bathroom is large with shower and sunken bathroom in granite and the toiletries are replaced daily or if you run short on request. The whole complex is kept remarkably clean by the staff. The staff deserv a special mention because to a man( and woman ) they are polite helpful and above all a friendly people who make you feel welcome an liked.My wife and I both had birthdays during our stay and both had birthday cards and a cake delivered to our room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh Hotel Hurghada
Oberoi Hotel Hurghada
Oberoi Hurghada
Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
Hurghada Oberoi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.