We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   El Corniche Road, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #29 of 181 hotels in Hurghada
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This hotel could be very good but it is let down by issues with maintenance and service.

The public areas of the hotel are nice. Great private beach and nice pool. Reception area and restaurants are also fine.

We stayed in a standard room overlooking the pool area. The room layout was fine but it was in need of a renovation. Furniture and fixings showed signs of wear and age. The air conditioning was effective and reasonably quiet.

We were surprised to find out that internet is not included in the room rate but what surprised us even more was the extortionate rate they wanted for it.

Food in the restaurants was average. Not great but not bad either. However, you need to note that they add 10% tax and 12% service charge on all prices shown in the menus so you will end up paying 22% more than the listed price. This is quite significant difference.

The worst aspect is the service though. It seems nothing gets done in an efficient and timely fashion. Having a quick lunch in the pool bar can end up taking hours. It is almost comical how you ask for something and the staff member just disappears. You then wait a while for something to happen and ask another one with the same result.

All in all it wasn't terrible but it also wasn't the kind of experience you expect from a 5 star hotel. There are a lot of resorts in Hurghada in the same price range as the Marriott and next time I would look for something else.

Room Tip: We heard the better rooms/suites are nice so it may be worth to spend the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LamiaSherif, Manager at Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing the Marriott, and thank you for the time your good self dedicated to post these nice comments on our Resorts. All your comments are taken with attention. We love to serve, and we will see that you’ll experience enhancement on your next trip. Kindly don’t hesitate to contact us to check offers for repetitive guests for your next vacation planning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    469
    272
    72
    25
    12
See reviews for
221
324
49
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in January 2012. Was a little cool but expected for that time of year. We loved our stay. Are room was very comfortable. We had a dinner, bed and breakfast rate, the food was excellent and so much variety. The staff went out of there way to be helpful. Can thoroughly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LamiaSherif, Manager at Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear guest ,
Thank you for choosing the Marriott , and thank you for the time your good self dedicated to post these nice comments on our Resorts . We love to serve . Please come back soon . Kindly don’t hesitate to contact us to check offers for repetitive guests for your next vacation planning
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Briston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

As a frequent visitor to Egypt I decided to try Hurgada for a change (I usually go to Sharm El Sheikh). I found the location to be disappointing as there seemed to be very little to see or do. Having got used to the ocean views at Sharm I was really annoyed to find most hotels stretched along a single road which was several hundred yards back from the coast!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LamiaSherif, Manager at Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear ReindeerBond,
Many thanks for posting your review regarding your recent holiday with us. Although we are disappointed that you did not have a great experience, we are grateful for your feedback, no matter how candid. Hurghada town is well known as a bustling resort with a variety of activities including diving, water sports, shopping and lively nightlife. It seems that you did not take the opportunity to discover what this resort has to offer and would urge you to visit us again where we will be more than happy to advise you with regards to Hurghada activities. Please don’t hesitate to contact me on lamia.sherif@marriott.com and I will be delighted to advise you further. Wishing you all the best for the upcoming festive season
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Very nice hotel, rooms are excellent nice beach and swimming pool and away from noise. food quality is not a high 5 star hotel but not perfect. Location is good as it is in the center and you can reach any place easily.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LamiaSherif, Manager at Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Tamer Maged,
Warm hello from sunny Hurghada! Many thanks for your recent review! We were delighted to read that you had a great holiday with us! We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Very helpful hotel - allowed us a late check out - very useful. The children though it fab ( though would like the slides from sinbad). The sea is very nice and swimmable and warm in October.
Pros: Food was very nice - with plenty of interesting egyptian twists, rooms were large, clean, bed and sheets of high quality.

Cons: Bathrooms starting to look a little tired, iritating man near the pool trying to get you to do aquarobics, no free wifi ( but the internet cafe people hand out 2 hr passes with abandon/ when you buy something - works by the pool). The travel agent near the front got a bit annoying saying "taxi- taxi" - but you are in Egypt where this is a national sport!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Positives
Friendly staff,good beach location,spacious rooms with balcony cleaned on a daily basis.Plenty of towels.Good size beach towels provided and confortable loungers,No shortage of loungers.Sandy beach with a nice area to swim in.Swimming pool nice size to swim in.Water sports were priced reasonably.Food was typical buffet style and ok but nothing special.Food from the surf and turf restaurant was excellent but had to pay for and was reasonably priced.Free internet in internet cafe.

Negatives
Hotel was a long way from anywhere to walk too.Air-con noisey,Drinks were pricey.Lack of entertainment in evening and what entertainment provided was poor, ie singer

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We're staying in the hotel right now for the Eid holiday. Sadly, the hotel leaves much to be desired.
Since we're Marriott Rewards members, we opted to reserve our room using our Rewards points. The reservation process was fine, efficient and we had no issues at check in, except that they forgot to ask us for a credit card for incidentals. I had to go back down to the front desk after getting to our room, to set up the account. Inconvenient, but minor issue.
Our room has a nice view overlooking the pool and ocean. We're in room 548. We're high enough to not hear noise from the pool area. I would recommend not getting a lower floor room.
The rooms and hotel in general are in terrible need of renovation. Nothing has been done to this hotel since it was built, which we would guess was in the early 90s. The bathroom in particular has issues...no water pressure, the side of the tub is falling off, no curved shower rods and the curtains do not extend the full length of the shower, the shower head needs to be replaced, the flooring throughout the room is in terrible shape and quite dirty in corners.
The beds are comfortable and have "Marriott" linens. The flat panel screen is nice and works well.
Internet is ok, but the wireless charge is too high. The wired charge is better, but the cable is too short and I'm sitting on the edge of the bed as I write this review as the cable barely reaches my laptop sitting on my lap.
Food is quite ok. We found dinner in Sharouk very good last night. Breakfast was just ok this morning.
The worst thing about the hotel is water. A 1 liter bottle of Evian is 50LE plus 12% service charge. That's over $10.00 US Dollars a bottle and you can't drink the tap water here. Further, we couldn't find a less expensive option anywhere in the hotel. Nestle or Dasani, which are bottled in Egypt do not exist in this hotel. They also cost 1/5 the price. I paid for 2 bottles, because we have a 4 year old, and don't have a choice....but I couldn't let anyone else not know. So please....get your water at a local supermarket and carry it into the hotel. I'm going out tonight to find water.
Both my wife and I visited the spa today for massages. Both were just ok. The noise level outside the massage rooms is terrible. You can hear everyone in the sauna/steam/jacuzzi areas and those areas have a terrible echo. Pricing for massages is typical of a Marriott.
The kids club (they call is Animation Program) is ok, but many people drop their kids and go. We only saw 2-3 staff members to 20-30 kids, which isn't enough when some are under the age of 5. We wouldn't let our son play in there without us as the primary language spoken is Arabic, and he's an English speaker. It's a small room, but there is a flatscreen tv, games, is clean and has an outdoor playground next to it.
The beach is ok. It's small, but we had a good time playing there in the sand. The pool is very nice and we spent the entire day sunning, swimming and eating lunch. It was not crowded.
The hotel is obviously hurting from the lack of tourism in the country, but the water pricing policy won't help. I've lived in Cairo for 5 years and know how the system works. Management here obviously doesn't understand how 1 bad review affects 10-12 potential customers.
I won't tell you to look elsewhere. The Marriott is a nice place, despite the need for refurbished rooms and public areas, or their ridiculous prices for water, but I will say that you won't find the same water pricing policy at the Steinberger down the road.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort

Address: El Corniche Road, Hurghada, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#16 Best Value Hotel in Hurghada
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#22 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#25 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located and directly on the beach, the Hurghada Marriott invites you to experience the ultimate in Red Sea luxury. This Hurghada hotel famous for its extravagant lifestyle and Red Sea charm, delivers exceptional service and outstanding amenities. Our beachfront resort in Hurghada features 283 spacious rooms complete with sea view and sumptuous furnishings designed for your comfort and relaxation. With a variety of dining options, this Marriott hotel boasts a diverse selection of international cuisine with 9 restaurants ensuring every day is a new experience. Whether your stay is business or pleasures our extensive amenities including wifi, outdoor pool, two tennis courts and a private island, the Hurghada Marriott ensures you of a memorable holiday. Experience the legendary Hurghada night spots and take a plunge into world class diving, explore and discover our Hurghada resort, the greatest vacation where life is ‘simply blue’! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hurghada Marriott Red Sea Hotel Hurghada
Marriott Hurghada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.