We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mercure 2013” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Hurghada

Save Saved
You added Mercure Hurghada to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Hurghada
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Safaga Road km 12, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 40%!
Ranked #6 of 181 hotels in Hurghada
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
“Mercure 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed at The Mercure Hurghada in October 2013 and thoroughly enjoyed every minute of our stay. I'm not really one to get involved in many activities while I'm away preferring to lounge about but I have to say that the animations team were brilliant and put on a wide range on sports and games. Special mention must go to Marley who was friendly and chatty and really made our stay and took the trouble to spend time with us in the bar even when his long shift was over. I was amazed to watch the evening entertainment and the break dancing skills of Felix, Ahmed and the other guys.

The room was cleaned spotlessly everyday and fresh flowers were brought daily to our room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atta E, Directeur général at Mercure Hurghada, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to express my gratitude for your encouraging comments and I am really satisfied you have taken pleasure in our small paradise with the agreeable service, neat comfortable modern rooms and memorable various animation programs and shows. I will share your appreciation with all the team with a special mention to Marly, Felix and Ahmed who I am sure will be happy to read your touching words.

Mercure team is waiting for your coming holiday at our wonderful hotel.

Atta El DESSOUKY
General Manager
MERCURE Hurghada
ACCOR BRANDS: Sofitel, Novotel, Pullman, Ibis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,522 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,087
    309
    66
    37
    23
See reviews for
476
532
67
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We visited mercure in October and loved it myself my daughter and husband had the best time!! The staff were like family by the end of our 2 week stay, they couldn't do enough for you, a special mention to Marley,ziggy,Chloe and Alex who involved us all in so many activities and who work so hard to put on fabulous entertainment in the evenings, the food wasn't always to our taste you'd definitely not starve the desserts were lovely!! we made lovely friends here both English and Egyptian and wouldn't hesitate to return

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hala A, Executive Assistant Manager at Mercure Hurghada, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your lovely review and the special mention to the animation team highlighting the family feeling that you’d touched during your stay at Mercure Hurghada.

Mercure Hurghada family is waiting for your return to enjoy another relaxing vacation full of fabulous entertainment with your daughter and husband.

Atta El DESSOUKY
General Manager
MERCURE Hurghada
ACCOR BRANDS: Sofitel, Novotel, Pullman, Ibis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Stayed at this hotel 8th November for 10 days. Two days into the holiday we both developed stomach problems - we put this down to the poor quality of cooked food! There was very little choice and what was served was either cold or warm and had to be reheated in the microwave that was reserved for heating baby food! The dining room was very poorly set out and very over crowded which made the dining experience very stressful and not relaxing at all. They seem to cater for Russians in all aspects of the hotel as the hotel is over run with them! the prices in the shops are even catered for them - in dollars not egyptian? Being all inclusive the food was a great let down and would not recommend this hotel on that basis.
The rooms are nice and were well kept - very clean. Beach was lovely as was the weather
Would we stay here again ? No! think this resort is not for the english which is a shame !

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atta E, General Manager at Mercure Hurghada, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for placing your comments on Triapdvisor. I am glad to know that you liked our comfy neat modern rooms, exclusive sandy beach, gentle warm breeze as well as the genrous sun.

I do appreciate your remark concerning the food choice which is extremely valuable as it help us continue our endless efforts to upgrade our buffet menus and keep the worth of money which is highly valued by the majority of our guests, as for your comment concerning keeping the food warmer, I shared your observation with our Executive Chef who acted immediately to avoid this remark.

It is true that due to the vacation calendar at certain time of the year some nationalities are presented more than others, which gives us a great chance to learn and explore our cultural differences. We do welcome all our guests from every part of the world and we appreciate their support for the Egyptian tourism.

Atta EL DESSOUKY
General Manager
MERCURE Hurghada
ACCOR BRANDS: Sofitel, Novotel, Pullman, Ibis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Said, Egypt
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

i stay a week in mercure hurghada first i found difficulty to reserve my room but mr ahmad from reservtion help me , food amazing ,night show is very good ,beach woow , staff is friendly , the room furniture very modern , , most rooms have a see view, i hope to stay may be a month more

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hala A, Executive Assistant Manager at Mercure Hurghada, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your sincere comment. All Mercure Team is pleased to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed professional service at the hotel. I will personally thanks Ahmed for his outstanding performance which came to your satisfaction.
Hope to be your host at Mercure Hurghada once again in the nearest future.

Atta El DESSOUKY
General Manager
MERCURE Hurghada
ACCOR BRANDS: Sofitel, Novotel, Pullman, Ibis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egypt - Qena
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I spent great days and I enjoyed with the professional and polite hotel crew, from the entrance to the beach, you will find smiles around you everywhere. All crew, all staff is dealing with you as a vip
I advise all who want to visit Hurghada to stay in this hotel.
Thank you Marly , Zag and Irina
Thank you all

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hala A, Executive Assistant Manager at Mercure Hurghada, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your wonderful experience online and for recommending Mercure Hurghada to Tripadvisor readers. I am so glad to know that you have admired the welcome as well as the team’s hospitality and warmness.

I shall transmit your appreciation to the team with a special mention to Marly, Zag and Irina who surely will be much more motivated with your gentle feedback.

Mercure family is waiting for you soon for another relaxing holiday
Atta El DESSOUKY
General Manager
MERCURE Hurghada
ACCOR BRANDS: Sofitel, Novotel, Pullman, Ibis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

They know what hospitality is, hotel management and staff exceed all expectations.
We were there in a business trip, more than 120 persons and all of us were treated as a VIP.
Staff always smiling, they are working as they are one big family, they professionally prepared the set up of 13 training rooms to be used by our group.
One of the positive points is that they have nothing impossible, anything you need it you got it in a professional way.
We spent 10 nights, we did our work successfully, we enjoyed very much the place and also we relaxed, it is really an awesome place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hala A, Executive Assistant Manager at Mercure Hurghada, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Mr. Osama,

Your professional observation regarding how successfully your business trip was at Mercure Hurghada is highly appreciated.

All Mercure Hurghada team members were here brainstorming, planning, running and acting in order to facilitate your meeting needs with all these training rooms required (in which hotel is not designed for).

We are waiting for your future visits on business or leisure with a promise to meet your expectations always.

Thank you

Atta El DESSOUKY
General Manager
MERCURE Hurghada
ACCOR BRANDS: Sofitel, Novotel, Pullman, Ibis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We've just returned from 11 nights in the Mercure Hotel in Hurghada. First & foremost, we were asked by the hotel staff to impress upon everyone that Hurghada is safe! There is and never has been any trouble what so ever in Hurghada. We visited the Marina and Hurghada town, both were fine and safe. The only place we were advised not to go to was Cairo!
We were met by the lovely Chloe from guest relations who gave us the low down on the hotel and escorted us to our room which was great and overlooked the sea. Chloe was a joy to meet. She made very effort to come and find us and chat throughout the holiday and even leant me her phone to use the internet because the hotel wi fi was so painfully slow.
We found the hotel to be exceptionally clean and well maintained at all times of the day and night. Our room was kept beautifully clean by our house keeper Amhed. He went to lots of trouble to make towel displays and sprinkle flowers over the bed.
The hotel staff were always attentive without being over the top. We enjoyed the banter and chats with all staff and felt welcome at all times. We were often told that they loved the English because we were polite and friendly. Special mention to Marley and the animation team who kept my husband busy and happy playing volley ball and football. They were brilliant and visibly had the patience of saints with the hundreds of kids who constantly appeared to be either jumping on them, punching them or just wanting to hang out with them.
I chose this hotel because of the beach and the house reef and boy were we impressed! Having visited Egypt twice before and having to access the coral reef via a jetty, it was wonderful to be able to walk into the sea and gradually swim over the reef. For those of us who are not mega confident at snorkelling, this beach is brilliant. You get the best of both worlds of being able to relax and sunbathe in the sea but then to be able to snorkel amongst living coral (rarer than you think). We saw the most amazing fish including lion fish, squid, blue spotted sting ray, puffer fish, angel fish and many more. In many ways, the hotel reef was much better than the reefs we saw on the boat trips as much of the coral there was dead due to over swimming, touching and picking it! But the main benefit was because it was so much quieter and calmer.
The pool was spotlessly clean and warm. A pleasure to swim in!
We really did enjoy this hotel and having read the reviews on trip advisor regarding the food, we expected the best. We were however, very disappointed with the food. When we first arrived the hotel was apparently 45% full and the food was at this point was poor. Unfortunately though, as the hotel filled up with predominantly Russians, the food only deteriorated and the queue's for certain foods increased. It appeared that the hotel could not cope with the increase in people. What should have been an enjoyable evening meal with my husband, became a time when we ate separately as one of us had to stay and keep the table whilst the other went to queue for food. Unfortunately, by the time we had returned to the table, the food was cold and unpalatable.
In general, we found the food to be either very over cooked or under cooked, very bland, repetitive and we both suffered with the trots on and off throughout the holiday.
Because of the reported so called trouble, Egypt has suffered terribly and lost a huge amount of tourist trade and because of this, the Mercure and many hotels have had to lay off large amounts of staff. I think we probably visited during the transient period as the economy was beginning to pick up and the staff quota was not at full capacity. This was noticeable in the evening entertainment where the animation crew did their best to put on a good show but it was so amateur. During the last show however, it was noticeable that a choreographer and manager had been brought in so maybe they will improve again as the trip advisor reviews said that the shows were great. It would also have been nice to have some music playing in the evenings to provide a little atmosphere as it was lacking at times.
During the holiday I had a couple of treatments. One in the spa and one in the shop. Both were good and reasonable in price. I have to say though that the manicure was not up to English standards.
We did two boat trips, one with the holiday rep which was ok and one with the Fun Fly team based on the beach which was great. They both visited the same places really but the Fun fly team were lovely and the food was ok.
When I booked this holiday, I researched it to find somewhere with English visitors, however, apart from us, there were only two other English groups. The hotel has predominantly Russian guests who really do need lessons in good manners. Not only are they hell bent on taking every bit of food to pile up in the middle of their table, only to leave it scattered everywhere as if there's been a mega food fight, but they treat the staff (& fellow guests) like dirt. I was appalled at the rudeness and total lack of respect they had for the staff. Please, thank you and a smile is not too much to ask!!
Ive only rated this hotel 3 stars which is a shame and solely due to the poor standard of food and drink. When you pay for all inclusive, you expect it to be all inclusive! I couldn't understand why the cocktails were extra as the spirits used were the same local spirits that were all inclusive. It was also bizarre that they didn't serve wine in the bars or beer down at the beach bar.
All in all, we had a good relaxing time, met some lovely folks. As I said before, the hotel and staff were great. Its just such a shame that the food doesn't match!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hala A, Executive Assistant Manager at Mercure Hurghada, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your remarkable review with the time and efforts exerted in writing down expressing your extremely valuable observation on Mercure Hurghada the “Lovely hotel” as you mentioned.

All the disappointment factors you mentioned has been considered and addressed to the concerned Mercure Hurghada team members to work on being avoided immediately.

Your threading about all the hotel facilities and team was amazing specially while highlighting the lovely Chloe, the Special mention to Marly, the spotlessly warm pool, snorkeling experience, Fun-Fly team,…. Etc. thanks a lot.

Mercure Hurghada team are waiting for your next visit the soonest with a promise for a relaxing time.

Thanks Again

Atta El DESSOUKY
General Manager
MERCURE Hurghada
ACCOR BRANDS: Sofitel, Novotel, Pullman, Ibis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure Hurghada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hurghada

Address: Safaga Road km 12, Hurghada, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#3 Business Hotel in Hurghada
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hurghada 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Hurghada is the perfect holiday destination for people who want to do everything or nothing at all. Conveniently located just 10 minutes from the international airport, at the exclusive Hurghada beach resort, this exquisite venue offers guests the ultimate in pure luxury with a private, picture-perfect beach, elegant restaurants and incomparable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Mercure Hurghada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hurghada Hotel Hurghada
Sofitel Hurghada
Accor Hurghada
Hurghada Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Hurghada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.