We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely return ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Hurghada

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Hurghada to your Saves list
Mercure Hurghada
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Safaga Road km 12, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Ready To Visit
Ranked #8 of 182 Hotels in Hurghada
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Would definitely return ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We visited mercure in October and loved it myself my daughter and husband had the best time!! The staff were like family by the end of our 2 week stay, they couldn't do enough for you, a special mention to Marley,ziggy,Chloe and Alex who involved us all in so many activities and who work so hard to put on fabulous entertainment in the evenings, the food wasn't always to our taste you'd definitely not starve the desserts were lovely!! we made lovely friends here both English and Egyptian and wouldn't hesitate to return

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hala A, Executive Assistant Manager at Mercure Hurghada, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your lovely review and the special mention to the animation team highlighting the family feeling that you’d touched during your stay at Mercure Hurghada.

Mercure Hurghada family is waiting for your return to enjoy another relaxing vacation full of fabulous entertainment with your daughter and husband.

Atta El DESSOUKY
General Manager
MERCURE Hurghada
ACCOR BRANDS: Sofitel, Novotel, Pullman, Ibis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,275
    367
    81
    44
    25
See reviews for
567
642
82
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Stayed at this hotel 8th November for 10 days. Two days into the holiday we both developed stomach problems - we put this down to the poor quality of cooked food! There was very little choice and what was served was either cold or warm and had to be reheated in the microwave that was reserved for heating baby food! The dining room was very poorly set out and very over crowded which made the dining experience very stressful and not relaxing at all. They seem to cater for Russians in all aspects of the hotel as the hotel is over run with them! the prices in the shops are even catered for them - in dollars not egyptian? Being all inclusive the food was a great let down and would not recommend this hotel on that basis.
The rooms are nice and were well kept - very clean. Beach was lovely as was the weather
Would we stay here again ? No! think this resort is not for the english which is a shame !

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atta E, General Manager at Mercure Hurghada, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for placing your comments on Triapdvisor. I am glad to know that you liked our comfy neat modern rooms, exclusive sandy beach, gentle warm breeze as well as the genrous sun.

I do appreciate your remark concerning the food choice which is extremely valuable as it help us continue our endless efforts to upgrade our buffet menus and keep the worth of money which is highly valued by the majority of our guests, as for your comment concerning keeping the food warmer, I shared your observation with our Executive Chef who acted immediately to avoid this remark.

It is true that due to the vacation calendar at certain time of the year some nationalities are presented more than others, which gives us a great chance to learn and explore our cultural differences. We do welcome all our guests from every part of the world and we appreciate their support for the Egyptian tourism.

Atta EL DESSOUKY
General Manager
MERCURE Hurghada
ACCOR BRANDS: Sofitel, Novotel, Pullman, Ibis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Said, Egypt
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

i stay a week in mercure hurghada first i found difficulty to reserve my room but mr ahmad from reservtion help me , food amazing ,night show is very good ,beach woow , staff is friendly , the room furniture very modern , , most rooms have a see view, i hope to stay may be a month more

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hala A, Executive Assistant Manager at Mercure Hurghada, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your sincere comment. All Mercure Team is pleased to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed professional service at the hotel. I will personally thanks Ahmed for his outstanding performance which came to your satisfaction.
Hope to be your host at Mercure Hurghada once again in the nearest future.

Atta El DESSOUKY
General Manager
MERCURE Hurghada
ACCOR BRANDS: Sofitel, Novotel, Pullman, Ibis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egypt - Qena
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I spent great days and I enjoyed with the professional and polite hotel crew, from the entrance to the beach, you will find smiles around you everywhere. All crew, all staff is dealing with you as a vip
I advise all who want to visit Hurghada to stay in this hotel.
Thank you Marly , Zag and Irina
Thank you all

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hala A, Executive Assistant Manager at Mercure Hurghada, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your wonderful experience online and for recommending Mercure Hurghada to Tripadvisor readers. I am so glad to know that you have admired the welcome as well as the team’s hospitality and warmness.

I shall transmit your appreciation to the team with a special mention to Marly, Zag and Irina who surely will be much more motivated with your gentle feedback.

Mercure family is waiting for you soon for another relaxing holiday
Atta El DESSOUKY
General Manager
MERCURE Hurghada
ACCOR BRANDS: Sofitel, Novotel, Pullman, Ibis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

They know what hospitality is, hotel management and staff exceed all expectations.
We were there in a business trip, more than 120 persons and all of us were treated as a VIP.
Staff always smiling, they are working as they are one big family, they professionally prepared the set up of 13 training rooms to be used by our group.
One of the positive points is that they have nothing impossible, anything you need it you got it in a professional way.
We spent 10 nights, we did our work successfully, we enjoyed very much the place and also we relaxed, it is really an awesome place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hala A, Executive Assistant Manager at Mercure Hurghada, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Mr. Osama,

Your professional observation regarding how successfully your business trip was at Mercure Hurghada is highly appreciated.

All Mercure Hurghada team members were here brainstorming, planning, running and acting in order to facilitate your meeting needs with all these training rooms required (in which hotel is not designed for).

We are waiting for your future visits on business or leisure with a promise to meet your expectations always.

Thank you

Atta El DESSOUKY
General Manager
MERCURE Hurghada
ACCOR BRANDS: Sofitel, Novotel, Pullman, Ibis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We've just returned from 11 nights in the Mercure Hotel in Hurghada. First & foremost, we were asked by the hotel staff to impress upon everyone that Hurghada is safe! There is and never has been any trouble what so ever in Hurghada. We visited the Marina and Hurghada town, both were fine and safe. The only place we were advised not to go to was Cairo!
We were met by the lovely Chloe from guest relations who gave us the low down on the hotel and escorted us to our room which was great and overlooked the sea. Chloe was a joy to meet. She made very effort to come and find us and chat throughout the holiday and even leant me her phone to use the internet because the hotel wi fi was so painfully slow.
We found the hotel to be exceptionally clean and well maintained at all times of the day and night. Our room was kept beautifully clean by our house keeper Amhed. He went to lots of trouble to make towel displays and sprinkle flowers over the bed.
The hotel staff were always attentive without being over the top. We enjoyed the banter and chats with all staff and felt welcome at all times. We were often told that they loved the English because we were polite and friendly. Special mention to Marley and the animation team who kept my husband busy and happy playing volley ball and football. They were brilliant and visibly had the patience of saints with the hundreds of kids who constantly appeared to be either jumping on them, punching them or just wanting to hang out with them.
I chose this hotel because of the beach and the house reef and boy were we impressed! Having visited Egypt twice before and having to access the coral reef via a jetty, it was wonderful to be able to walk into the sea and gradually swim over the reef. For those of us who are not mega confident at snorkelling, this beach is brilliant. You get the best of both worlds of being able to relax and sunbathe in the sea but then to be able to snorkel amongst living coral (rarer than you think). We saw the most amazing fish including lion fish, squid, blue spotted sting ray, puffer fish, angel fish and many more. In many ways, the hotel reef was much better than the reefs we saw on the boat trips as much of the coral there was dead due to over swimming, touching and picking it! But the main benefit was because it was so much quieter and calmer.
The pool was spotlessly clean and warm. A pleasure to swim in!
We really did enjoy this hotel and having read the reviews on trip advisor regarding the food, we expected the best. We were however, very disappointed with the food. When we first arrived the hotel was apparently 45% full and the food was at this point was poor. Unfortunately though, as the hotel filled up with predominantly Russians, the food only deteriorated and the queue's for certain foods increased. It appeared that the hotel could not cope with the increase in people. What should have been an enjoyable evening meal with my husband, became a time when we ate separately as one of us had to stay and keep the table whilst the other went to queue for food. Unfortunately, by the time we had returned to the table, the food was cold and unpalatable.
In general, we found the food to be either very over cooked or under cooked, very bland, repetitive and we both suffered with the trots on and off throughout the holiday.
Because of the reported so called trouble, Egypt has suffered terribly and lost a huge amount of tourist trade and because of this, the Mercure and many hotels have had to lay off large amounts of staff. I think we probably visited during the transient period as the economy was beginning to pick up and the staff quota was not at full capacity. This was noticeable in the evening entertainment where the animation crew did their best to put on a good show but it was so amateur. During the last show however, it was noticeable that a choreographer and manager had been brought in so maybe they will improve again as the trip advisor reviews said that the shows were great. It would also have been nice to have some music playing in the evenings to provide a little atmosphere as it was lacking at times.
During the holiday I had a couple of treatments. One in the spa and one in the shop. Both were good and reasonable in price. I have to say though that the manicure was not up to English standards.
We did two boat trips, one with the holiday rep which was ok and one with the Fun Fly team based on the beach which was great. They both visited the same places really but the Fun fly team were lovely and the food was ok.
When I booked this holiday, I researched it to find somewhere with English visitors, however, apart from us, there were only two other English groups. The hotel has predominantly Russian guests who really do need lessons in good manners. Not only are they hell bent on taking every bit of food to pile up in the middle of their table, only to leave it scattered everywhere as if there's been a mega food fight, but they treat the staff (& fellow guests) like dirt. I was appalled at the rudeness and total lack of respect they had for the staff. Please, thank you and a smile is not too much to ask!!
Ive only rated this hotel 3 stars which is a shame and solely due to the poor standard of food and drink. When you pay for all inclusive, you expect it to be all inclusive! I couldn't understand why the cocktails were extra as the spirits used were the same local spirits that were all inclusive. It was also bizarre that they didn't serve wine in the bars or beer down at the beach bar.
All in all, we had a good relaxing time, met some lovely folks. As I said before, the hotel and staff were great. Its just such a shame that the food doesn't match!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hala A, Executive Assistant Manager at Mercure Hurghada, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your remarkable review with the time and efforts exerted in writing down expressing your extremely valuable observation on Mercure Hurghada the “Lovely hotel” as you mentioned.

All the disappointment factors you mentioned has been considered and addressed to the concerned Mercure Hurghada team members to work on being avoided immediately.

Your threading about all the hotel facilities and team was amazing specially while highlighting the lovely Chloe, the Special mention to Marly, the spotlessly warm pool, snorkeling experience, Fun-Fly team,…. Etc. thanks a lot.

Mercure Hurghada team are waiting for your next visit the soonest with a promise for a relaxing time.

Thanks Again

Atta El DESSOUKY
General Manager
MERCURE Hurghada
ACCOR BRANDS: Sofitel, Novotel, Pullman, Ibis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

This was my first all inclusive holiday, so I was unsure what to expect, but I needn't have worried. We were greeted in reception by Chloe, whose focus was guest relations, she was very welcoming and happy, she guided us across the resort to room 1115 - which was perfect. As we wondered the hotel complex we were most pleased, for it is a beautiful place with landscaped gardens, intricate decor and not a speck of litter in sight. The buildings housing the hotel rooms are lovely, as the architects have steered well away from the classic beach design; fit as many rooms in as possible in a simple one faced building, on the contrary, they are individual, white washed, arabic looking bulidings staggered neatly across the resort. The pool is located at the centre and is very large, as well as amazingly clean with a variety of depths and separate children's pool. At 6"3 still wasn't close to touching the bottom in most of it, so it's lovely and deep. The pool bar supplies ample beer and icecream as requested, pizzas and burgers are also available for a modest surcharge.

The beach was probably my favorite aspect of the resort, the sun loungers are substantial and well padded, with thatched umbrellas for shade and rustic wooden wind-shields. The Sea is turquoise-blue and crystal clear. About 20 m to the side there is a couple of coral reefs, which you can explore unhindered and at your leisure, the variety of fish and coral are nothing short of stunning! I had a camel ride on the beach which is way more fun than I had expected. One tiny niggle is the attention you get on the beach by the scuba, massage, waterspouts etc vendors, they obviously recognize new faces and it can be a little OTT but after the first hour we were no left to ourselves.


The food, the first night we arrived a little late at the end of dinner and we weren't overly impressed with the food. However, and this is a major however, the next day and those that followed the food exquisite. A range of chefs cook in view of the clientele, fresh fish a charcoal BBQ outside with racks of chicken and other meats, amazing desserts. We were impressed by the range of food and the differences in the menu each evening. They also dress the restaurant in accordance to the theme. There is plenty of food available and you are free to get a second plate if needed. I am back in England now and very much missing the food.

The animation team, these guys are great very relaxed friendly and up for laugh. They make up numbers in the sports so you can get a game of volley ball or football going and when tourists show interest they happily give up their spot. A special thanks to Marly, who fixed up my knee, when I made a ridiculous dive in a competitive game of volleyball against some Russians. They also provide most of the evening entertainment, and they go to a real effort, many of them are professional dancers. I ended up on stage twice, which despite being a little terrified, it worked out really well. I wish I could remember all of there names to thank them.

The room, ok the bed massive and clean and comfy sooooooo comfy. The shower was walk-in with a raindrop style version and the conventional type. The water pressure could be a little low at peak times but other than that the shower was great. We had two balconies with great views of the sea and gardens, great for watching the stars with a glass of wine. The TV optionally transmits sound to the bathroom, so you can listen to the news or music whilst having a shower. A self pin coded safe is supplied free of charge, which puts your mind at ease. A small fridge for water etc is also present. The room was cleaned daily and properly and we only tipped once.

All staff on site were helpful at all times and the deputy manager was very welcoming and ensured we had a great time.

On site security, made us feel safe and we never felt at risk. The resort was so lovely we only spent one day away from it in Hurghada, This place is in need of tourist money and investment, but the people are friendly, but do not be afraid to be firm if they become too pressuring. The Marina is worth seeing and very secure, which lots of bars.

Overall - The resort is perfect for a relaxing holiday, with great food, where you don't have to lift a finger, but if you are active like me, the beach volley football and swimming are all on offer, as well as squash and tennis. I don't know what else to say, except if you decide to go, please take me along with you.

Also I can recommend the fun fly snorkeling trip, you get to see massive coral reefs and the diverse variety of life that comes with them.

Room Tip: 1115 seemed to be one of the best rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Hurghada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hurghada

Address: Safaga Road km 12, Hurghada, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#7 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#7 Business Hotel in Hurghada
#12 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hurghada 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Hurghada is the perfect holiday destination for people who want to do everything or nothing at all. Conveniently located just 10 minutes from the international airport, at the exclusive Hurghada beach resort, this exquisite venue offers guests the ultimate in pure luxury with a private, picture-perfect beach, elegant restaurants and incomparable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Hurghada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hurghada Hotel Hurghada
Sofitel Hurghada
Accor Hurghada
Hurghada Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Hurghada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.