We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ron and Sarah - Wish we were there.......Still!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Hurghada

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Hurghada to your Saves list
Mercure Hurghada
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Safaga Road km 12, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 178 Hotels in Hurghada
Oxford
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Ron and Sarah - Wish we were there.......Still!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We have just returned from a fantastic holiday at the 'Mecure Hotel' in Hurghada.
Before we tell you how good it was - let us assure you that Hurghada is ABSOLUTELY SAFE to travel to and to explore. We went to the the town and surrounding areas and the Dessert and never experienced any problems whatsoever.
Now back to the holiday:- We arrived late in the evening, was welcomed by Chloe, who organised our luggage to be taken to our room and took us straight to to the restaurant where they prepared a meal for us although the restaurant was closed.
The room had everything you needed and a very comfy bed!
All the staff from the management to the gardeners were brilliant.
If you are friendly, and open to become part of the 'Mecure Family', they welcome you like you are family.
The Restaurant had plenty of selections to satisfy most taste. The Animation team work very hard to keep you entertained during the day and evening, and the team of Managers especially 'Hala' and 'Mr Tayer' who went out of their way to ensure we enjoyed our stay. The Waiters were friendly and even bought poolside drinks around without the need to order!
Rooms were cleaned and fresh towels provided daily.
We would definitely recommend this hotel if you want a totally relaxing holiday.
We would also recommend booking trips from the 'Fun Fly' team who operate next to the Mecure private beach, we had 3 great trips out with them.
We also experienced the hotel massage and beauty treatments, which we would recommend to complete your holiday.
When tipping the staff, please use Egyptian money or if in English use paper money as the banks will not change coins for them.
We would like to take this opportunity to 'Thank Everybody' at the Mecure for giving us a holiday to remember. We hope to see you all again 'INSHALLAH'

Room Tip: Its worth upgrading to a Sea View room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hala A, Executive Assistant Manager at Mercure Hurghada, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Ron and Sarah,

On behalf of the entire team I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your wonderful experience online and for recommending Mercure and assuring Hurghada’s safety to Tripadvisor readers. It fills my heart with joy to know that you spent such a great holiday and that you have taken pleasure in the generous welcome, caring attentive team, brilliant humorous animators,
the smart comfort and neatness of our modern rooms along with the selective front sea view location, variety of food items as well as the professional massage and beauty center treatments.
Undoubtedly, Mercure Hurghada team won’t be a perfect family without our beloved amicable guests, especially those who deal with them with care and passion such as you.

With pleasure I shall transmit your appreciation to the whole team with a special mention to Tayar who endlessly provides outstanding attention to our dear guests and of course the Fun Fly professional crew who continuously offers excellent service. Certainly, your kind words will encourage us to continue providing the personalized service we are famed of.

Mercure family is waiting for you soon for another restful holiday.


Hala AZER
Executive Assistant Manager
MERCURE Hurghada
ACCOR BRANDS: Sofitel, Novotel, Pullman, Ibis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,064 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,497
    410
    86
    45
    26
See reviews for
656
729
93
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Just returned from a truly marvellous holiday at the Mercure in Hurghada. Sept 9th - 23rd 2013. The hotel was faultless. Every single member of staff from the gardeners up to the management were the most helpful and friendly we have ever come across in a hotel of that size. Admittedly, the hotel was only operating on 30% occupancy due to the problems in Cairo, which we saw no evidence of what so ever, but even so everyone went out of their way to ensure we were satisfied with everything. The food is excellent. Pastry chef is an amazing talent! Fabulous desserts every day!
The location is perfect for relaxing with views and sea as good as the Caribbean! Fantastic snorkeling from the hotel beach too. Must mention some very special people who made our holiday so unforgettable for us. Firstly, Hala Azer, the executive assistant manager,she is completely dedicated,hard working and was always on hand to speak to guests. Lovely Mohamed El Tayar, the guest services manager. He is again dedicated to making sure everyone is happy with everything, and was always present the whole two weeks we were there! A very special, kind man. Lovely Chloe, from the animation team but also guest relations. Thanks for lending us some gear for desert quad biking! The shopkeepers, especially the very knowledgeable papyrus owner. Not at all pushy, definitely recommend his wonderful shop for gifts. A big thank you to everyone else, we won't forget our time with you and are already planning our next trip!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hala A, Executive Assistant Manager at Mercure Hurghada, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Heeler Family,

The whole team joins me in thanking you for choosing Mercure Hurghada for your recent holidays in Egypt. It is my extreme happiness to hear from you and to know that you have spent an impeccable holiday and admired our services style, generous warm team, diversity of appetizing food items and delicious desserts, exceptional front sea location of Mercure along with the incredible onsite snorkeling area.

With joy, I shall share your gratefulness with the team; especially the papyrus shop responsible who offers excellent service and quality products, the charming Cloe and sympathetic Tayar, definitely, the whole team will be much more thrilled with your encouraging review.

Mercure team is waiting for you soon for another wonderful holiday.


Hala AZER
Executive Assistant Manager
MERCURE Hurghada
ACCOR BRANDS: Sofitel, Novotel, Pullman, Ibis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

.....and after spending 2 weeks there I can see why.

Within 5 minutes of arriving we were greeted by the Asst General Manager and the Asst Guest Relations Manager - something I have never experienced in any hotel in any country. From there the service simply got better & better.

Each day we were asked if everything was ok and if anything was missing or could be improved upon; very minor points were addressed *immediately* which created an even better impression.

The hotel itself was very comfortable with clean, modern rooms. The bathroom has a double shower and for a change is very light (I always find bathrooms a bit dark). The cleaning service was faultless although the semi-frequent knocks on the door offering fresh towels (again) or change for 4 x pound coins as thinly veiled requests for a tip became a bit tiresome.

The food has received criticism on here but trust me, you will not go hungry. There are the usual themed nights and the choice is plentiful with regular offerings of grilled meats. Even the red wine at mealtimes is drinkable!

What set this hotel apart however was the staff. For those familiar with Egypt you'll know that the Egyptians go out of their way to ensure your stay is pleasant; this hotel is the same but on a higher level. Never before have I seen so many of the Management teams walk the hotel & pool areas asking guests for feedback.............and then act on it.

Whilst names on here mean nothing to potential visitors, they deserve public mention for making our stay that much more enjoyable:

Hussein - Pool Bar - worked tirelessly with the utmost courtesy
Ahmed - Main Bar - a master at cocktails
Shamandy - Restaurant - incredible personal & friendly service
Animation Team - great fun without being overbearing

There are others too but unfortunately I'm unable to recall their names I'm sorry, including the Head Chef who was thoroughly pleasant each time he appeared in the restaurant.

Special mention goes to French Chloe who welcomed us and gave a tour of the hotel - she is a real credit to the hotel with seemingly endless energy & smiles.

The final praise is saved for Tayar - Guest Relations. He is THE underlying reason why this hotel has jumped from 86th place to 3rd on Tripadvisor in a very short 18 months. This man GENUINELY wants all guests to enjoy their holiday, being very aware that we work all year for a
2 week break. He has a brilliant work ethos that he (successfully) tries to instill in the staff across the hotel.

Other hotels I have been to in Egypt seem to work on a 'he-who-shouts-loudest' concept, whereas Tayar is an advocate of getting the staff to understand what guests want via explanation, understanding, guidance & praise.

A huge 'Thank You' to every team member we were fortunate enough to meet. We have returned home feeling rested and with a bucket full of good memories.

Would we return? In a heartbeat.....

Pics show the view from left to right from the balcony of room 2211.

Room Tip: Block 22** is a nice distance to ensure peace & quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hala A, Executive Assistant Manager at Mercure Hurghada, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your amazing experience online. I am extremely delighted that you have appreciated the generous welcome, ultimate diligence, team’s immediate actions, modern stylish neat rooms as well as the diversity of food items.

I am proud to be a member of such a gracious attentive team who always strive to create an enjoyable and comfortable stay to our guests and put smiles on their faces.

With pleasure, I will convey your grattitude to Hussein, Ahmed, Shamandi, our skilled amusing animation team, fascinating Cloe and for sure Tayar who has been looking after our dear guests for more than 20 years of professional experience. Indeed, your touching words will help us to keep up our motivation level.

The entire team is looking forward to have the pleasure of hosting you once again in the very near future for another peaceful holiday.

Hala AZER
Executive Assistant Manager
MERCURE Hurghada
ACCOR BRANDS: Sofitel, Novotel, Pullman, Ibis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfleet, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed for one week in January 2013. Me, my wife and my parents. We loved the setting, the green grass, the private beach, the pool. Very idyllic. The food was could have been better, but was still good. The cleanliness was OK. The service was excellent, one night we were waiting in the foaje for an early morning flight to Cairo to see the pyramids. When the receptionist heard about it he handed us each a bag of breakfast to bring to the airport without us even asking for it. That's what I call service! The whole stay was great value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hala A, Executive Assistant Manager at Mercure Hurghada, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback. I am really pleased to know that you liked the verdant gardens, unique sandy beach, relaxing pool area as well as the exceptional attentive service.

Mercure team is looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Hala AZER
Executive Assistant Manager
MERCURE Hurghada
ACCOR BRANDS: Sofitel, Novotel, Pullman, Ibis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Just to clarify for anyone travelling Hurghada is 100% SAFE!!! The hotel was clean and picture perfect, you really couldn't find a better hotel on the strip, for the snorkellers there is a beautiful 300m long reef going to the right of the hotel with plenty to see. The staff are incredibly friendly and can't do enough to help you, watch out for Marley and Chloe from the animation team though those two are very good at convincing you to make an idiot out of yourself for the amusement of all haha. Everything about this hotel is 5* you should also take the time to get a massage from the spa which is absolutely phenomenal.

The only negative comments I have are about Fun Fly Aqua Centre, this establishment on the beach brings the entire hotel down, the staff were overly sexual with my girlfriend, and they do not stop harassing you to book with them. Do not book any trips with them you can get better trips with better options through your holiday rep who will also tell you the truth about your trips. We booked the dolphin trip and although there were two pleasant snorkelling locations we were told we would be going to the dolphinarium where we were guaranteed to see dolphins, we were not taken there nor did we see any dolphins on this trip. We also opted to buy the dvd and pictures of the trip for a whopping £35 which was a complete waste of money. Both video and pictures were largely made up of the coastline during the trip which we had taken plenty of photos of ourselves. We also tried the paragliding which was immensely fun however at £70 for the both of us we spent less than 10 minutes in the air before being rushed back to the dock and thrown ashore. I also paid £35 to go water skiing which never happened and when I asked for a refund I was told, and I quote, 'there is no money for you'. Unless you want to go kitesurfing I would seriously suggest avoiding these people and don't be afraid to be firm with them Fun Fly almost single handedly ruined the holiday for the 4 of us that went and it was only the brilliance of the animation team and the hotel staff that was a consolation. Other than Fun Fly you honestly cannot ask for a better, more serene place to spend a holiday. 100% safe.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms have larger balconies and a better room plan however the top floor balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hala A, Executive Assistant Manager at Mercure Hurghada, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Alex,

Thank you very for recommending Mercure as a peaceful holiday place and for strengthening Hurghada’s safety to Tripadvisor readers especially with the exaggeration of the international media. I am very delighted to know that you have valued our miraculous snorkeling spot with its surprising underwater world, generous cordial team, talented amusing animators as well as the professional massage sessions.

We regret that the water sports services did not meet your expectations, the excursions and a number of other activities are not managed by the hotel but the level of service is still under our supervision. It would have been appreciated if you did communicate this issue with the hotel’s management when occurred so as to act on the spot, thank you for contacting me on the hotel’s e-mail with more details in order to enable me to investigate this matter.

The whole team is waiting for you soon for another magnificent holiday.


Hala AZER
Executive Assistant Manager
MERCURE Hurghada
ACCOR BRANDS: Sofitel, Novotel, Pullman, Ibis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

i have just returned from the mercure having spent 15 days there,its idyllic,clean,good food,wonderful service,the staff couldnt do enough for us,no curfews,we went into hurghada several times and on the red sea trip,fabulous!!. We will return asap.If any brits need a kettle and tea bags ask for them

Room Tip: higher floors have views of sea and red sea mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hala A, Executive Assistant Manager at Mercure Hurghada, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Anne,

Thank you for sharing with us your opinion about your recent stay at Mercure Hurghada. I am so glad to know that you have spent a relaxing holiday and have enjoyed our services style, team’s care and warmness as well as the food quality.

Mercure team is waiting for you for another wonderful holiday.


Hala AZER
Executive Assistant Manager
MERCURE Hurghada
ACCOR BRANDS: Sofitel, Novotel, Pullman, Ibis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Staff are very friendly
Food is tasty, especially the Arabian night
Rooms are big enough, clean and all have great views
The beach needs cleaning from rocks
Need more variety in the Pool snacks bar

Hurghada is SAFE!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atta E, General Manager at Mercure Hurghada, responded to this review, December 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Atta El Dessouky
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Hurghada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hurghada

Address: Safaga Road km 12, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#5 Business Hotel in Hurghada
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#7 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hurghada 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Hurghada is the perfect holiday destination for people who want to do everything or nothing at all. Conveniently located just 10 minutes from the international airport, at the exclusive Hurghada beach resort, this exquisite venue offers guests the ultimate in pure luxury with a private, picture-perfect beach, elegant restaurants and incomparable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mercure Hurghada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hurghada Hotel Hurghada
Sofitel Hurghada
Accor Hurghada
Hurghada Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Hurghada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.