We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and peaceful stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Hurghada

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Hurghada to your Saves list
Mercure Hurghada
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Safaga Road km 12, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Ready To Visit
Ranked #8 of 182 Hotels in Hurghada
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely and peaceful stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed for 8 nights at the Mercure Hotel. It was an enjoyable and quiet stay. Occupancy was down due to the 1 month restriction for other countries.

The hotel is about a ten minute ride away from Hurghada airport.

Guests were mainly English, Egyptian with some Russians.

The hotel was clean and spacious. There were a lot of staff, all very friendly. The animation team were great, in particular Marley, as he was always making an effort to say Hi and get people involved.

Food: all inclusive was generally ok. We enjoyed the different theme nights, some were better than others. E.g. Arabian night.
There was a good variety of food considering how low the occupancy was, So it was nice that the kitchen staff were still making a good effort. I particularly enjoyed all the variety of desserts.

With Lunch you had the option of th buffet it food at the poolside, which Included fries or pizza. There was also ice cream.

Soft drinks were unlimited.

The pool was nice, but probably on the smaller side. There is also a lovely private beach.
A negative was that you did get approached quite a few times with the beauty centre rep and the water sports/activity guy.

Another negative was that you could only get free wifi in the reception, which was very slow.

Overall, the staff are helpful and friendly and we had an enjoyable stay. We felt very safe and it is a shame that the tourism in Hurghada has been affected so much.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,267
    365
    81
    44
    25
See reviews for
564
640
80
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Little bit disappointed by hotel quality. Although plenty of waiters around not one asked if you would like a drink, this is fine during the day but during entertainment or events that are put on the bar is not local and requires you to leave and sort yourself out. Not sure if it seemed worse because of how quiet it was in the hotel (because of the trouble in Egypt) but we kept getting hassled for horse/camel rides, beauty treatments, boat excursions and others. It's fine getting asked but repeatedly during the day even though you've made it very clear you are not interested was getting annoying. Made a good effort with the food during evenings. But breakfast and lunch were very repetitive.
Hotel staff were friendly enough, including animations team always made an effort to speak and ask if they could help with anything.
We stayed in a different hotel in Hurghada in January which is amazingly rated worse than this on trip advisor but in my opinion is streets ahead in service, quality of finishings around the grounds and looks.
Although I really enjoyed the stay I think it had a lot to do with how quiet the hotel was, made it very relaxing, I think If the hotel was full or near capacity the food area and single nighttime bar would of got over run.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed over there for 3 nights during the feast vacation although it was full but the service was quite good. The rooms are neat and the hotel services is quite good .. There was an animation team who used to make nice shows every night in a small theater available at the hotel which was very nice .. They used to interact with the guests and perform funny activities .. For water sports fans there is a center where you can arrange for water trips... Also which was unique for me there is a horse stable where you can arrange for a sunset or sun rise rides if you like horse riding .. I recommend this hotel for families

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Just back from a 2 weeks holiday in Mercure and me and my family had a fantastic time, the staff at the hotel were extremely friendly and welcoming. We felt completly safe in the hotel and in town. We would definitely recommend this hotel and will be going back there again in the near future. A big thank you to Cloe,Ziggy,Marley,Nasser,Hany to name but a few...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hala A, General Manager at Mercure Hurghada, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your wonderful experience online and for reassuring the safety of Hurghada and recommending Mercure to Tripadvisor readers. I am so glad to know that you have admired the generous welcome as well as the team’s hospitality and warmness.

With pleasure, I shall transmit your appreciation to the team with a special mention to Cloe, Marley, Nasser and Hany who surely will be much more motivated with your gentle feedback.

Mercure family is waiting for you soon for another amazing holiday.


Hala AZER
Executive Assistant Manager
MERCURE Hurghada
ACCOR BRANDS: Sofitel, Novotel, Pullman, Ibis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyiv, Ukraine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I was looking much to find great hotel in Egypt for rest on the sea. And I made the best choice - Mercure Hurghada! This is wonderful place with amazing beach, rooms and territory. Some words about people in this hotel: it`s great people, all the time we were really happy and with smile on face, and thank for that to animation command, especially to Marley, Zigi, Bianco, Irina, Olga and others :)

Date: 13.08.2013 - 22.08.2013

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hala A, General Manager at Mercure Hurghada, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear guest,

The entire team joins me in thanking you for choosing Mercure Hurghada for your recent holidays in Egypt. I am extremely happy to know that you have taken pleasure in our exclusive golden sandy beach, smart comfort of the newly redesigned rooms along with the authentic hospitality of the team members and their friendly smiles which lights up the faces with sincere joy and lots of fun.

It is my pleasure to convey your gratefulness to the team especially Marley, Ziggi, Bianco, Irina and Olga who definitely will be thrilled with your praise.
Mercure team is looking forward to having the pleasure of hosting you once again in the very near future.

Hala AZER
Executive Assistant Manager
MERCURE Hurghada
ACCOR BRANDS: Sofitel, Novotel, Pullman, Ibis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Returned from the Mercure, Hurghada 26th August following a 2 week stay at the hotel. I can only reiterate other comments about how good this hotel is in terms of its presentation, food and friendliness of the staff all culminating in a SAFE and relaxing stay. Yes I said safe. There were no issues while we were there and we will be returning next year. Many thanks to Hala and Elia for your excellent hospitality.
Geoff&Suzann

Room Tip: Opt for the blocks furthest from the pool for peace and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hala A, General Manager at Mercure Hurghada, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Geoff and Suzan ,

Thank you very much for choosing Mercure Hurghada for your recent stay in Egypt and for confirming Hurghada safety to Tripadvisor readers. I am genuinely pleased to know that you have spent an enjoyable relaxing holiday and have appreciated our services style, the team’s care and warmness along with our variety of delicious food.
Mercure family is waiting for you for another relaxing vacation.


Hala AZER
Executive Assistant Manager
MERCURE Hurghada
ACCOR BRANDS: Sofitel, Novotel, Pullman, Ibis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West yorkshire
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Myself and my wife have just returned from the mercure on19th of August what a lovely place to stay, our room 2206 was one of the nicest we have stayed in really clean, towel art was something differant everyday, bar and restaurant staff always helpful, the beach is really peaceful and always plenty of sunbeds.the one thing we would of liked was tea and coffee making facilities in the room this is the only negative thing I have to say about hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Hurghada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hurghada

Address: Safaga Road km 12, Hurghada, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#7 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#7 Business Hotel in Hurghada
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hurghada 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Hurghada is the perfect holiday destination for people who want to do everything or nothing at all. Conveniently located just 10 minutes from the international airport, at the exclusive Hurghada beach resort, this exquisite venue offers guests the ultimate in pure luxury with a private, picture-perfect beach, elegant restaurants and incomparable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Hurghada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hurghada Hotel Hurghada
Sofitel Hurghada
Accor Hurghada
Hurghada Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Hurghada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.