We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Movenpick a second home for us, cosy friendly hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Movenpick Resort Hurghada

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Movenpick Resort Hurghada to your Saves list
Movenpick Resort Hurghada
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   El Fareek Youssef Affifi Street, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 182 Hotels in Hurghada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Movenpick a second home for us, cosy friendly hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We love to come back every year again, because it feels so good this hotel, not so big, very nice breakfast outside in the morning, good restaurant, the beach, the health club, feels like coming home.

Room Tip: Almost all the rooms have sea-view, fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    113
    49
    29
    22
See reviews for
128
151
24
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burnley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
356 helpful votes 356 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have been to Egypt many times but never to a red sea resort. We were unable to get direct flights to Luxor so, with some misgivings, we decided to try Hurghada. I say misgivings because most of the activities related to water activities and I can't even swim! We booked flight only and looked on Trip Advisor for a hotel. We already knew from previous experience at another of their hotels that the Moevenpick group have a high standard of hotel and service. We looked at the reviews for this hotel and also at a number of other Hurghada hotels. We decided to go with a brand name which we'd already had experience of and booked the Moevenpick direct from their own internet site. We compared the various room options and settled on a balcony suite specifically because we knew that we wanted to relax in privacy and the normal red sea activities would not interest us.

We were not disappointed! The room had absolutely eveything - large lounge with good quality, comfortable soft furnishings, table and chairs, TV,, tea & coffe making facilities - refilled every day. There was even a small separate kitchen with a fridge. In the large bedroom there was a kingsize bed, tv, mini bar and a desk with a wifi connection, There was a large bathroom and a separate shower room and loo across the entrance hall which was really convenient as my husband and I could commandeer one each. None of the usual hotel dilemma of "Are you going in the bathroom before me or ???" every morning or when we were getting ready to go out. The wardrobe with drawers and a private safe was ample for most folk's holiday requirements but I also used the rail in 'my' shower room to hang all my clothes. No arguments about who got most hangers either! Relaxing on the balcony was just wonderful - four sun bed loungers to chose from plus a table and chairs. The view out over of the red sea from the balcony was absolutely stunning. We had booked bed and breakfast and the breakfast buffet was excellent. Everything from cereals to muesli and fresh fruit, yoghurt to cheeses and cooked meats, hot food - grilled tomatoes, beans, beef sausages, potatoes and Egyptian options like Falafal too, There was also a chef specifically cooking eggs of your choice and one cooking fresh pancakes. A really superb selection of quality food and the waiter service for tea, coffee and removing used crockery was excellent too.

We ate at the hotel every night - twice in the hotel's Al Dente restaurant, twice in the Fish Market restaurant (the sea bass was superbly cooked) and the rest of the time we chose from the extensive Room service menu - eating on the table in our own elegant lounge.

While we were in Hurghada we visited and looked round the other hotels which we had considered before we booked and discovered we had made exactly the right decision.

All in all this was a very enjoyable holiday. We loved the hotel, the food, the ambience and the location. The staff were just the right level of attentive service without being overbearing and we would certainly stay again..

Room Tip: Upgrade to the best room you can afford.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had an amazing holiday. The hotel is very nice. It's not one of the biggest resorts, but that's give a great atmosphere because everything is in the same place and close to each other (beach, pool, bar, restaurant... ). All rooms have sea view. The staff is helpful and friendly. The animation team is fun and makes your day at the beach and pool a great mix of relaxing time and having fun with activities as morning gym, water gym, water polo, beach volleyball and games for kids. At night they make a great show, especially fakir show with chief animation Capo is amazing! We also make a parasailing trip and it was really fantastic! We would really recommend this hotel to everybody!

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is an amazing experience, a real second home and a perfect place for your holiday. Amazing welcome, amazing staff, amazing activities (beach volley/water polo/botcher/tennis /gym/spa), superb restaurant, and all is just nice. Time flies when you are at this hotel and before you know it your flight is tomorrow.

Daily entertainment for kids (Mini disco after dinner, face painting in the morning, swimming,sport,and beach activities) and various shows for all guests with live bands at night. You will never regret staying at this place. The beach experience is glamorous.

Recommended for a 5 star experience.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel was really nice, room was nice and was a good size room for a weeks stay.

The hotel staff were all very friendly and provided great service. The hotel was quiet but that was ok.

Went to the diving centre within the hotel grounds, they were brilliant and made the holiday for us.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is the legendary ex-interconti with spacious rooms and marvellous view of the red sea. The staff is very friendly and responsive and they have very active animation team. The hotel needs some refurbishment of the facility which didn't affect my vacation and the food is way behind what I used to in movenpick hotels. My recommendation is to have a BB rate and enjoy different variety of food outside the hotel specially seafood.

Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Jan. 4th-7th 2015 complete relaxation - love the location - 5 Egyptian pounds per person to the city of El Gouna 3 min. away with tons of great restaurants try the Italian Zia Amelia was awesome White Elephant - Thai - fantastic. All the clubs and bars in the harbors are fun and relaxing. The harbor has nicer yachts then St. Tropez. Scuba diving was excellent - we did a refresher course at the Mövenpick Esaam a dive instructor then went out the next day to another dive center to dive from the beach as there was a sand storm at our location. The Diving Center "IDive" was also awesome run by Carlo Cogliati @ the Fort Arabesque Hotel but after the great dive the hotel service there was slow (as in waiting 45 min 4 lunch) and food was not great. Plus, they wouldn't let you lay on the beach while you were waiting for the other divers - we did one dive b/c we had to fly late that night. Back to the Mövenpick - very friendly staff - rooms great - maid service 5+ stars...food at breakfast great. Ate dinner once - liked it - at the evening buffet - the fish restaurant on the beach was unbelievably great. Kite surfing is this hotel's speciality - we didn't have time to do it - but we are coming back - the price value no one can complain about. We are golfers but didn't have time - met friends that said all courses were in great condition....it's a great deal and we are relaxed and feel great perfect short getaway.

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Movenpick Resort Hurghada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort Hurghada

Address: El Fareek Youssef Affifi Street, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#33 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#34 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort Hurghada 5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moevenpick Resort Hurghada is located in Hurghada's Promenade and local attractions include New Marina as well as nearby shopping and entertainment facilities. Hotel Features. This Hurghada property has a private beach offering diving and large variety of water sports directly from the beach. Dining options at Moevenpick Resort Hurghada include a buffet restaurant and 2 specialty restaurants, a pool side restaurant and a beach bar. Room service is available 24 hours a day. Recreational amenities include an outdoor pool, a children's pool, a health club, a sauna, and a fitness facility. Spa amenities include massage/treatment rooms and beauty services. This 5star property offers a large event space consisting of banquet facilities, conference/meeting rooms and exhibit space, audio-visual equipment and wireless Internet access in public areas. Concierge services and tour assistance are available as well Airport shuttle service. Guestrooms. 252 air-conditioned guestrooms at Moevenipck Resort Hurghada feature minibars and coffee/tea makers. All accommodations have balconies and enjoy great views over the pool and the Red Sea. Bathrooms feature, bath tub, bidets, makeup/shaving mirrors and hair dryers. In addition to safes, guestrooms offer direct dial phones, Satellite television and internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Movenpick Resort Hurghada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Resort Hurghada Hotel Hurghada
Intercontinental Hotel Hurghada
Intercontinental Resort Hurghada
Intercontinental Hurghada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Movenpick Resort Hurghada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.