We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Mövenpick at all” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Movenpick Resort Hurghada

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Movenpick Resort Hurghada to your Saves list
Movenpick Resort Hurghada
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   El Fareek Youssef Affifi Street, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 178 Hotels in Hurghada
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not a Mövenpick at all”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

When you book in a 5 stars hotel and specially in Mövenpick you expect the top of everything. Especially because you PAID for such a quality!!!
We had several choices to book in Hurghada for reasonable prices. But since it was our first time there, we preferred to book in one of the top hotels.
First shock was the bathroom. Second, room furniture should be renewed. Third, the food: for ex. it looks like fish but it doesn't taste like it!!! They don't also offer any reasonable food for kids. And although we booked half board, all beverages were excluded!!!
On the contrary of all that, the staff was very welcoming and very helpful & nice.
The location is very nice and relaxing.
Comparing to other Mövenpick hotels I went to, that's nor a Mövenpick neither a 5 star one.
We could have spent half that money for same conditions in a 3 stars hotel.
It was a nice and convenient stay, but we paid double what it was really worth.

Room Tip: It doesn't matter if you choose a seaview or garden view room. You barely see the sea beacause t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saied M, Front Office Manager at Movenpick Resort Hurghada, responded to this review, October 27, 2014
Sunny greetings from Mövenpick Resort Hurghada!

We would like to take this opportunity and thank you kindly for your on line feedback below following your recent stay with us.

This will help us in continually improving our service towards our guests and is of the utmost importance to us.
We thank you in advance very much for taking the time to review our hotel.

We would certainly be delighted to be able and welcome you again at Moevenpick Resort Hurghada.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    128
    53
    33
    23
See reviews for
143
158
26
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Its almost a year since we travelled out to Egypt for some winter sun. We picked Movenpick through friends recommendation, trip advisor and the companies reputation in general.
What a great resort; clean, spacious, friendly, excellent service. We enjoyed all the different pool side restaurants, the main buffet restaurant and the speciality restaurants.
The short trip to the local town was easy on the hotel shuttle, with a pretty town centre to explore.
The hotel had a great kids club which our daughter enjoyed, daily activities and a fun disco in the evening.
We enjoyed using the Gyms, the jogging trail and the pool. If I could find one thing to suggest it would be to have more than one pool heated in the winter. The pool was good, as was the one in the health club, but perhaps one more would be good.
Thanks for a great stay and we hope to be back.

Room Tip: There are loads of "clusters". I can't remember which one, but there is one located ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saied M, Front Office Manager at Movenpick Resort Hurghada, responded to this review, October 29, 2014
Sunny greetings from Mövenpick Resort Hurghada!

We would like to take this opportunity and thank you kindly for your on line feedback below following your recent stay with us.

We are very glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and that you would recommend us on to others.

We thank you in advance very much for taking the time to review our hotel.

We would certainly be delighted to be able and welcome you again at Mövenpick Resort Hurghada.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

My vacation in Movenpick last summer with my wife and my family was amazing, The hotel is very clean, and very well organized and decorated, the reception stuff are friendly, checking in and out was very easy and fast. we had a problem in one of the rooms, the AC wasn't working but they responded nicely and we could change to another room. The beach is clean and beautiful. Overall it's nice luxury 5 starts hotel, but food quality was unexpected, it is just average and the restaurant stuff are not very friendly. But again this is a very nice hotel and I would come back hoping the food quality has been increased.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors has a better view on the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saied M, Front Office Manager at Movenpick Resort Hurghada, responded to this review, October 29, 2014
Sunny greetings from Mövenpick Resort Hurghada!

We would like to take this opportunity and thank you kindly for your on line feedback below following your recent stay with us.

We are very glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and that you would recommend us on to others.

We thank you in advance very much for taking the time to review our hotel.

We would certainly be delighted to be able and welcome you again at Mövenpick Resort Hurghada.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Bratislava, Slovakia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Three times I spent my holiday in Hurghada and this time I was one week in March 2013 in Movenpick Resort. The hotel is not so big as many other hotel resorts, but that´s just we felt very well there.
Hotel and whole hotel resort was very clean.Our standard room was spacious with big balcony and direct sea view. The bathroom was smaller only. Room service worked good.
There is a nice garden, private hotel beach, big swimming pool - everywhere was clean.
The hotel staff conducted professionally, it was helpfull to us and friendly likewise.
Food tasted very good, it was a pleasant surprise for me. In the pool bar are offered good coctails, in the garden is a nice restaurant.
Hotel offers many activities during the day - aqua aerobic, stretching, beach volleyball, diving course ...
We liked evenings programms in a bar - life music - very pleasant, very chamber atmosphere. Sometimes such music was during breakfast - really nice!
Twice I tried massage at the spa, the masseuse worked professionally.
In Hurghada are a lot more luxurious hotels, but I felt in Movenpick Resort really well thanks to good service and friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saied M, Manager at Movenpick Resort Hurghada, responded to this review, October 31, 2014
Sunny greetings from Mövenpick Resort Hurghada!

We would like to take this opportunity and thank you kindly for your on line feedback below following your recent stay with us.

We are very glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and that you would recommend us on to others.

We thank you in advance very much for taking the time to review our hotel.

We would certainly be delighted to be able and welcome you again at Mövenpick Resort Hurghada.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Ok so we didnt choose this hotel directly, it was recommended to us by the travel agency we booked out liveaboard holiday with. It was supposed to be just 3 nights stay but ended up being a week last minute. What could go wrong with a well known swiss hotel in the previous intercontinental hotel building.....turns out a lot. I review this hotel as a well seasoned traveller, who has experienced the highs and lows of all sorts of hotels around the world, and what to expect and not to expect. This review will be most helpful to people with decent standards, especially when it comes to customer service and food.

First off on arrival at 6pm we were told our double deluxe sea view room wasnt available, nor actually booked. Having showed them the booking they said the room was occupied and not available. We were told to have a twin room and simply push the beds together, as the view was still good. Of course we advised this is not acceptable (especially as the beds couldnt be closely pushed together), so we got sent to view another room with a poor quality view of the back of the hotel practically and no balcony really. In the end we had no choice but to stay in the twin room and transfer the next day. mini bar not stocked. The next day we had to visit the reception 3 times before given a time before we could move to our new room. This spoils your relaxing day.

The room itself was nice, bathroom with bath and shower, nice balcony, large queen sized bed, working air con, lcd tv with movie channels and news channels. Tea and coffee provided but no creamer or milk, and room stank of cigarettes and we had asked for non smoking room. When calling on room service for a pot of tea with fresh milk, we get 2 packets of creamer on its own. I had to phone 3 times to get what i want delivered.

After settling in we enquired about upgrading to all inclusive. The weeks stay BnB was around £300 pp and the upgrade we were told was $USD700 for 2 ppl, which included ice creams and 2 visits to al a carte. we were advised its more cost effective then just eating in al a carte restaurants. Anyways after visiting the worst buffet restaurant i have ever seen i immediately regretted my decision. It was egyptian themed night and the food was low quality. The vermicelli soup tasted of warm chicken broth with undercooked pasta in it, the stir fry chicken was mainly fat, skin and gristle, and the rest looked so bad i didnt dare eat it. Not surprisingly i was then ill with vomiting and diarrhoea for the next 5 days. The next day my partner said the lunch was so bad we decided to ask for a refund. We were told we had to pay $200 for the 2 days - err what! - i only had 3 hrs in the resort the first night and a lunchtime the next day - how is that 2 full days...? Anyways i was rudely told i had no choice but to pay but they would speak to management. Pissed off we went for ice cream, only to be told it was for kids only and adults had to pay extra. When losing yet another argument, we asked at reception, they denied saying it was part of the all inclusive and i should have read the small print on the letter we got. They seriously mis advertised the all inclusive but were happy to take the $700. And to top it off not even free wifi.....£3 GDP per 10mins or £60 for the week...what a joke on top of the prices. And btw, breakfast...dont expect full english....shambles (except for fresh juice).

In the end we got $500 refund and ate at the al a carte restaurant. The fish restaurant was closed down but the menu was available at the italian. Now there must be a different chef here because the food was passable. Not great at all but reasonable for egpyt, including lobster thermidor. So we ate here for every dinner. Lunch was ok paying separately at the pool side eatery, but my partner fell ill just as i got better after day 5 after the salmon.

My partner infact was so ill i needed the pharmacy involved. Reception struggled with the english language big time but had no issues with the russian clientele. After a few hours i managed to get the drugs i needed delivered, after waiting 2 hours for a drug which was never coming as the reception cocked it up - they blamed misunderstanding as they did all holiday.

So they were the main issues, but other things followed. Daily begging around 4-5pm by the room cleaner 'asking if the room was ok'? expecting daily tips, music quite loud most nights was just about tolerable, annoying animation team doing aqua gym every day with loud blaring music, and in general rude hotel guests made up by 90% russians. They werent all rude dont get me wrong, but pleasant....not really. This hotel is catering big time for russian clientele, and even the waiters in the bars said that british people who come avoid the buffet like the plague and pay to dine a la carte or eat outside the hotel.

The beach was ok, the pool was nothing special. The only good bits were the bar guys at the terrace restaurant by the pool offering friendly service, and the customer service lady (russian i think) who acutally got us a free all inclusive day after we complained....she was the only person with a head screwed on correctly regarding customer service. Personally i would sack all the incompetant reception desk workers except Dina who was lovely, or send them on training days.

Over the week i saw no end of people complaining, especially french customers. pattern occurring?hmmm... Anyway the week was rounded off by a $10USD per hour fee for late checkout when my girlfriend was ill and needed to stay in bed whilst we waited for our transfer to our boat..... they could have helped us and given it as a good will gesture for all the cockups.....but no...well what did i expect.

I will be writing a letter to the travel company to advise them never to send british people to this hotel. A disgrace to the movenpick name. If anything comes out of this, if the management read this, get new reception staff and sort out your restaurants.

Room Tip: room 407 is fine, good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saied M, Front Office Manager at Movenpick Resort Hurghada, responded to this review, October 28, 2014
Sunny greetings from Mövenpick Resort Hurghada!

We would like to take this opportunity and thank you kindly for your on line feedback below following your recent stay with us.

This will help us in continually improving our service towards our guests and is of the utmost importance to us.

We thank you in advance very much for taking the time to review our hotel.

We would certainly be delighted to be able and welcome you again at Mövenpick Resort Hurghada
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Very nice view beaches and services welcomed during check in fast Food is changed every day rich in quality every night a nice party music a shuttle bus every day to downtown also to the airport The service is in all the beaches and allover the parts of hotel for the all inclusive foods

Room Tip: All types of rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saied M, Front Office Manager at Movenpick Resort Hurghada, responded to this review, October 27, 2014
We are very glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and that you would recommend us on to others.

We thank you in advance very much for taking the time to review our hotel.

We would certainly be delighted to be able and welcome you again at Moevenpick Resort Hurghada.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I thought I would be in heaven. This hotel was supposed to be 2nd best hotel in hurghada. But I had the experience that would change all those theories. I stayed in room number 444 which is a spacious non-smoking (not so clean - stained bathtub) room. To start with the good things... restaurant people are very nice. Help everyone. And serve with a smile. The beach guys are the best... they are very good people specially Hamada & Taha... the beach is fair enough... like any average beach in hurghada. Nothing special. The food also is normal. Bakeries not so fresh... and here comes trouble! Reception staff are terrible. So unprofessional. The way they tried to describe what is free inside the minibar and what's not simply cost me money. As for the data they give about pool and beach access are approximate not accurate. They told me maybe you can go to the pool around 9 or 10! And the most annoying and terrible thing about this hotel that would never make me go there again is the security on the main gate. Security guys keep asking for your name and room number (which is understandably acceptable) but in such a vulgar way... after you pass with a few steps he keeps yelling at you asking about name and room number... every single time you pass the gate it is the same...

I would never recommend this hotel for those who seek a pleasant 5 stars stay... simply because I was annoyed with such unprofessional staff attitude. ..

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saied M, Front Office Manager at Movenpick Resort Hurghada, responded to this review, October 28, 2014
Sunny greetings from Mövenpick Resort Hurghada!

We would like to take this opportunity and thank you kindly for your on line feedback below following your recent stay with us.

This will help us in continually improving our service towards our guests and is of the utmost importance to us.

We thank you in advance very much for taking the time to review our hotel.

We would certainly be delighted to be able and welcome you again at Mövenpick Resort Hurghada
Best regrads
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Movenpick Resort Hurghada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort Hurghada

Address: El Fareek Youssef Affifi Street, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#38 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#40 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort Hurghada 5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moevenpick Resort Hurghada is located in Hurghada's Promenade and local attractions include New Marina as well as nearby shopping and entertainment facilities. Hotel Features. This Hurghada property has a private beach offering diving and large variety of water sports directly from the beach. Dining options at Moevenpick Resort Hurghada include a buffet restaurant and 2 specialty restaurants, a pool side restaurant and a beach bar. Room service is available 24 hours a day. Recreational amenities include an outdoor pool, a children's pool, a health club, a sauna, and a fitness facility. Spa amenities include massage/treatment rooms and beauty services. This 5star property offers a large event space consisting of banquet facilities, conference/meeting rooms and exhibit space, audio-visual equipment and wireless Internet access in public areas. Concierge services and tour assistance are available as well Airport shuttle service. Guestrooms. 252 air-conditioned guestrooms at Moevenipck Resort Hurghada feature minibars and coffee/tea makers. All accommodations have balconies and enjoy great views over the pool and the Red Sea. Bathrooms feature, bath tub, bidets, makeup/shaving mirrors and hair dryers. In addition to safes, guestrooms offer direct dial phones, Satellite television and internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Movenpick Resort Hurghada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Resort Hurghada Hotel Hurghada
Intercontinental Hotel Hurghada
Intercontinental Resort Hurghada
Intercontinental Hurghada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Movenpick Resort Hurghada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.