We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not very impressing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Movenpick Resort Hurghada

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Movenpick Resort Hurghada to your Saves list
Movenpick Resort Hurghada
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   El Fareek Youssef Affifi Street, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 180 Hotels in Hurghada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice but not very impressing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Overall is ok.. but service is not impressing.. rooms need some renewing and quality of food needs improvment.. but its not bad.
Pool is nice
Gardens are good
No animation and no entertainment.
Quite hotel that may leave you feeling bored

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    96
    43
    24
    22
See reviews for
110
132
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Egypt
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Movenpick Resort is one of good hotels in Hurghada
Movenpick hotel is very wonderful hotel in all the services:& Reception all staff
i like this hotel
I spent my honeymoon in this hotel and enjoy the best offers from service and reception hotel and restaurants
i invite anyone to stay in this hotel
it's really relax hotel and wonderful places

Room Tip: sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giza, Egypt
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Rooms are very old style , furniture is old and damage, restaurant not clean, equipment is not washed well, linen is ugly, service is very poor , variety and test of food is awful specially pastries, there is no hospitality at all, no one asking about the customers satisfactions i don't imagine that it is movenpick hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Had two stopovers in this hotel and was all over happy with the hotel. Breakfast was not delicious, too little of the western food that I like to have. Nice pool area, and private beach. Most guests was Egyptian when I was there, so sunbathing or swimming without clothes was not an option for me. Good service, and nice bar with tasty snackmenu.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

On the 31st August we arrived back in England after our 25th visit to the MOVENPICK Hotel Hurghada.

At no time during our holiday did we encounter any PROBLEMS or feel in DANGER. The Egyptian people do not wish to harm tourist, they would like to be given the opportunity to welcome you to their country. So please, please do not be afraid to visit Hurghada, and you will receive an amazing welcome. One of the reasons we return year after year is because we love the Country and its People.

End of December we once again arrive at the MOVENPICK this being our 26th visit. As always the staff and management will be helpful, courteous and friendly. This is one of the reasons we return year after year. GUEST IN WHEEL CHAIRS ARE MADE VERY WELCOME.

This elegant Hotel is located in Hurghada Bay with its own Private Beach and Marina it will take you a minute to reach the very LARGE POOL or beach from your room or suite .A large area of the Hotel has been refurbished the results very stunning, beautiful, relaxing and comfortable.

Management and Staff are very PROFFESIONAL always willing to help, should a problem arise it will be dealt with promptly and efficiently. The Movenpick staff do all they can to ensure your holiday is Happy One. A SPEACIAL THANK YOU to MR MOHAMED and MR SAIED.

Guest at the Movenpick are offered many activities, Sauna, Steam Room, Fitness Centre, three Tennis Courts, Swimming Pool, various WATER SPORTS, HORSE RIDING, the horses are simply amazing.(wish I could put one of the beautiful horses in my suit case and bring it back to England with me!!!!!!!) Children have their own club THE SNOOPY CLUB. great fun

The Hotel has many restaurants serving delicious cuisine. Fish Market, serving freshly caught fish, Palm Brassier, excellent breakfast lunch and dinner. Aldente Italian restaurant exceptional cuisine served in very Elegant surrounding. Beach/Pool Bars serve delicious lunches.May I Thank Chef Adel for the sumptuous cuisine he prepared for us at Dinner. Adel is a very kind and caring .person and we look forward to seeing him in December.

Suites and Rooms are Beautiful, spacious and comfortable. You will find air conditioning, TV. internet, mini bar ,safe, tea coffee etc. Rooms and Suites have the most stunning sea views from the balcony, this being one of the many reasons why we return to the Movenpick time after time. Room service is excellent.

The Beach is very important part of holiday ,it gives us immense pleasure to see the children happily playing on the beach and in the sea. Aktham and the beach team ensure the beach is clean at all times. Sun loungers are ready for the guest to use .A SPECAIL THANK YOU to Aktham for ensuring our time spent on the Beach is WONDERFUL.

If like us you expect from your holiday a relaxing time, elegant surroundings good cuisine, and staff that go that extra mile to ensure your holiday is a Happy and Memorable one the Movenpick Hurghada is the Hotel for you. The Movenpick Brand is known WORLD WIDE for offering it guest Excellent Standards.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I am writing this because i always read reviews before going anywhere.... i can reassure everybody that the hotel was perfect in everything, food, staff very helpful, beach very clean, pool is good.
Room was seeing the red sea with large balcony.... most of the guests i've met said they feel very relaxed and they will come again.
Rooms contain all what you need, hair drier, boiler, mini bar, TV, safe plus a lot of acces....
My son had an accident when he accidentally grabbed the water boiler, poured it "very hot near to boiling" on his arm.... so i asked for a doctor and i was surprised that he came immediately to the clinic an did all the required first aids and provide medications.
I am still there and decided to write this review one day before i leave.
Stayed from 4/9 to 9/9.........strongly recommend to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Huge, spacious, sumptuous Mediterranean cuisine, stunning views of the Red Sea and smiling, friendly staff...this is what I would sum up my review for the Movenpick, Hurghada.

I had a room with a balcony that overlooked the Red Sea....absolutely amazing to get up to the bright sunshine and the sound of the water lapping up the beach....can't be described in words!! The breakfast spread was like comfort food for me, as having stayed in Dubai for 15 years of my life, the food was too good to be true...the Executive Chef needs special mention here as he was very accommodative in letting us use his kitchen equipment in adding dishes to the lunch and dinner buffet, and also preparing Indian items for the group that we were accompanying.

You can just relax at the bar and drink yourself silly, as you enjoy a few dance performances by the in house resort performers. Enjoy yourself while you laze with a hookah watching the smoke rings disappear in a puff, swim in their Olympic size pool and enjoy a drink at their Pool Bar.

The all welcoming lobby is huge and very accommodating with warm hues of brown and maroon splashed all over on the decor. Located very centrally in the town of El Gouna and 5 minutes away from the downtown area and the only Indian restaurant in Hurghada....the Masala Restaurant, where the Manager and the Chef were very hospitable and happy to accommodate our requests.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Movenpick Resort Hurghada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort Hurghada

Address: El Fareek Youssef Affifi Street, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#35 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#36 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort Hurghada 5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moevenpick Resort Hurghada is located in Hurghada's Promenade and local attractions include New Marina as well as nearby shopping and entertainment facilities. Hotel Features. This Hurghada property has a private beach offering diving and large variety of water sports directly from the beach. Dining options at Moevenpick Resort Hurghada include a buffet restaurant and 2 specialty restaurants, a pool side restaurant and a beach bar. Room service is available 24 hours a day. Recreational amenities include an outdoor pool, a children's pool, a health club, a sauna, and a fitness facility. Spa amenities include massage/treatment rooms and beauty services. This 5star property offers a large event space consisting of banquet facilities, conference/meeting rooms and exhibit space, audio-visual equipment and wireless Internet access in public areas. Concierge services and tour assistance are available as well Airport shuttle service. Guestrooms. 252 air-conditioned guestrooms at Moevenipck Resort Hurghada feature minibars and coffee/tea makers. All accommodations have balconies and enjoy great views over the pool and the Red Sea. Bathrooms feature, bath tub, bidets, makeup/shaving mirrors and hair dryers. In addition to safes, guestrooms offer direct dial phones, Satellite television and internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Movenpick Resort Hurghada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Resort Hurghada Hotel Hurghada
Intercontinental Hotel Hurghada
Intercontinental Resort Hurghada
Intercontinental Hurghada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Movenpick Resort Hurghada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.