We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Movenpick Resort Hurghada

Save Saved
You added Movenpick Resort Hurghada to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Movenpick Resort Hurghada
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   El Fareek Youssef Affifi Street, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 181 hotels in Hurghada
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The hotel was very good. Staff was really helpful. All nights you have live entertainment at Captain's Bar which was fantastic. Everyday food was great and different. I will definitely reccomed this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlainCHurghada, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Hurghada, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your positive review and the lovely pictures posted on our page. We are delighted to know, that you had a pleasant stay at Mövenpick Resort Hurghada and that you have enjoyed the daily changing entertainment program and the cozy Captain’s Bar, being the favorite spot for many of our guests.
We thank you for your recommendation and we are looking forward to welcoming you back for another visit at Mövenpick Resort Hurghada
With best regards,
Alain Chatel
General Manager
Mövenpick Resort Hurghada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    148
    91
    43
    24
    18
See reviews for
100
125
20
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bø in telemark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Me and my vife went to this hotell for relaxing and having some good days in the sun.
I think this must be one of the best hotels here in hurgada, and so also the stuffs here.
Its nice and clean here, but outside of the hotell area its terrible with all the people who tries to pull you inside theire store with just crap.
But the hotell area is so big, so its not a problem to be there.
Its also fantastic to go diving in the red sea, you just have to try that!
And also go on a safari trip is worth the money with a quad of corse.
Are you going to Hurgada this is a good place with not to much children and noice.
We had a really good time here:-)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is a great hotel, and since Hurghada is nothing special, you want your hotel to be top notch. The pool is great and it opens to a beach that is in a cove so you are protected from current and traffic. The sand is clean and the sea great. Food was only ok, and there are a lot of Russians here like many places in Hurghada. We cant say enough about the animation team who made it very fun for the kids with face paint and a special Christmas song and dance, baking session, and dinner with a visit from Santa. The location is ok - along the strip with a bunch of other things so if you want junk shops, you have your pick, otherwise it is a drive to town and other attractions and cabs are a bit pricey for the distance.

Room Tip: I would want a pool/sea view since the noise wouldn't be too bad and the other views weren't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlainCHurghada, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Hurghada, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear guest,
First of all thank you very much for your nice comments. I am very pleased to see that you have generaly enjoyed your vacation with us. Especialy the good program given by our animation team to the children during Christmas.
As the new general manager of the hotel, your remarks are very important to me.
I am are presently reviewing all menus and theme buffets with our executive chef that should all be changed as of February.
I sincerely hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again very soon and wish you a very happy new year 2013.
Alain Chatel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hajduszoboszlo, Hungary
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We had a good time here, but the weather wasnt too good. The workers were friendly and helpful.
When we arrived at our room i was totally disappointed and crying so loud. It was totally dirty, the water didnt go down from the bathtube, my bed wasnt ready to sleep. Family room is big but theres no sunshine and its cold at night.
On the second day we moved to another room and that was clean and lovely and made us forget the previous one.
There was no animators, only few guests... Nights were very boring!
I dont think i will go back.

Room Tip: dont choose family room! its so dark and cold winter time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie G, Executive Assistant at Movenpick Resort Hurghada, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Evelin,

Sunny greetings from the Mövenpick Resort Hurghada.

Thank you kindly for having shared your feedback with the TripAdvisor community, regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate your time taken in submitting your valuable comments.

We regret to hear that your stay was not to your full satisfaction. For this we would like to apologize. In particular, please accept our apologies for the fact that your initially assigned room was not up to standard, which should of course not have happened. We are glad to read that you were happy with your subsequent room change.

On another note and regarding our animation offers, kindly be informed that we are working towards a soft animation program, which sits well with our clientele looking for a mostly quiet and undisturbed vacation time. We are sorry we could not meet your expectations in this regard.

Should you decide to still visit us again on another occasion, please feel free to also contact me directly, this at email stefanie.glasser@moevenpick.com.

With kind regards,

Stefanie Glasser
Executive Assistant to the General Manager
Mövenpick Resort Hurghada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nove Zamky, Slovakia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I visit this hotel for few time already, but after not so good times during "Continental" period with Movenpick brand this pretty resort got again their shine. The biggest advantage of this hotel is good location, on private powder sandy beach with very comfortable loungers separated by paravans, private marina, artificial island and all what you need for ideal sun, sea & beach holiday. Hotel has all equipment what you will just think, from sport activities such a tennis, fitness, bowling, billiard, table tennis, horse riding, beach volleyball, football, basketball, animation activities, kids club, large swimming pool etc.
On the beach are three centers for water sports: Aqua center, Surf school and Divers lounge, all with very friendly staff and professional instructors. I strongly recommend to take a free of charge windsurfing lesson or intro of diving for charge or speed boat trip also for charge with smiley Ali and Mohamed. All staff at the beach is very helpfull and friendly.
Rooms are a bit older but well equipped and if you wanna active holiday sure you wont spent there a lot of time. Only because one thing is sometimes difficult to leave a room: very good range of TV channels and especially movie channels MBCs with the freshest movies. Tbe best advantage of rooms are large terase with amazing view, where I would imagine to sleep sometimes.
F&B service offer halfboard or all inclusive. I´d prefer half board and some light snacks from beach bar or pool bar. My day always started with quality espresso from Nespresso in Captain bar where I loved also a brilliant Movenpick ice cream. Service in restaurant and bars was during our stay even because of very high occupancy on very good level and team of Mr. Ahmed has my admiration because of it.
Anyway if some problem emerge, the staff of front desk with concierge will sure solve it. After my last experiences I was surprised by progress in this area and language skills, abilities and flexibility of the guys there who mostly replaced unflexibility of our tour guide.
Cleanings of rooms and all hotel spaces was on very high level.
Overal view, if you not mind oldness of hotel - 18years, its perfect holiday spot with great service!

Room Tip: Recommend to pay a small charge for sea view room. Amazing view from large terase is unforgotable
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie G, Executive Assistant at Movenpick Resort Hurghada, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Mystrall,

Sunny greetings from the Mövenpick Resort Hurghada.

Thank you kindly for having shared your feedback on your latest stay with us with the TripAdvisor community. We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed your vacation, and have indeed found us even better than during your past stays.

We would be delighted to be able and welcome you again soon!

Sincerely,

Stefanie Glasser
Executive Assistant to the General Manager
Mövenpick Resort Hurghada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I was there in may 2012 , it was not my first time , I went there 4 times ago
Each year I spent a part of my vacation there , at least 3 nights
It is x intercontinental Hurghada , after that x continental after that Movenpick Resort.
Very good beach , very good staff, very nice location it is the new walking area .
Many palms there , my room was facing the beach .
There was a famous Egyptian movie has been captured there called ( Taimour & Shafika ) .
I like because everything is in one building , restaurant & rooms
Nice front desk , helpful staff .
You can get a tax infront the hotel to the downtown by 10-20 l.e only.
The restaurant is good , I liked the breakfast & the dinner .

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie G, Executive Assistant at Movenpick Resort Hurghada, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Ahmed,

Sunny greetings from the Mövenpick Resort Hurghada.

We would like to say thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay with us with the TripAdvisor community and for the time taken in writing your review.

We are very happy to read that you have spent a good vacation again, and that you continue to rate us highly. Thank you!

We will be delighted to see you with us again in the near future.

With kind regards,

Stefanie Glasser
Executive Assistant to the General Manager
Mövenpick Resort Hurghada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I recommend this hotel for Honeymooners, Very relaxing atmosphere, beach is small but has a great view with marina for yachts, Food is Ok, Friendly staff
The negative point about this hotel is the animation team, rarely you can see them, night time there is very boring and it's better to go out side the hotel, however the hotel location is perfect ( In Mamsha) which has a lot of stuff do over there (shopping, Coffee shops).

Small tip for Egyptians :D, Don't Go over there in weekends (very crowded with Egyptians)

Room Tip: High Floor Centered Rooms has the best view of the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie G, Executive Assistant at Movenpick Resort Hurghada, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Marwan,

Sunny greetings from the Mövenpick Resort Hurghada.

Thank you very much for your review of your recent stay with us, and for the time taken to submit this. We are delighted to read that you had a good vacation and found our facilities and services to your satisfaction.

Just a quick note regarding our animation offers, kindly understand that we are placing value on a soft animation program, with minimal disturbance to a clientele mainly seeking a quiet and undisturbed vacation. The majority of our guests shows itself very satisfied in this regard, however we much regret we have not been able to meet your personal expectations.

We would be delighted to still be able and welcome you again in the future!

With kind regards,

Stefanie Glasser
Executive Assistant to the General Manager
Mövenpick Resort Hurghada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Movenpick Resort Hurghada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort Hurghada

Address: El Fareek Youssef Affifi Street, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Hurghada
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#27 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#38 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#45 Business Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort Hurghada 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moevenpick Resort Hurghada is located in Hurghada's Promenade and local attractions include New Marina as well as nearby shopping and entertainment facilities. Hotel Features. This Hurghada property has a private beach offering diving and large variety of water sports directly from the beach. Dining options at Moevenpick Resort Hurghada include a buffet restaurant and 2 specialty restaurants, a pool side restaurant and a beach bar. Room service is available 24 hours a day. Recreational amenities include an outdoor pool, a children's pool, a health club, a sauna, and a fitness facility. Spa amenities include massage/treatment rooms and beauty services. This 5star property offers a large event space consisting of banquet facilities, conference/meeting rooms and exhibit space, audio-visual equipment and wireless Internet access in public areas. Concierge services and tour assistance are available as well Airport shuttle service. Guestrooms. 252 air-conditioned guestrooms at Moevenipck Resort Hurghada feature minibars and coffee/tea makers. All accommodations have balconies and enjoy great views over the pool and the Red Sea. Bathrooms feature, bath tub, bidets, makeup/shaving mirrors and hair dryers. In addition to safes, guestrooms offer direct dial phones, Satellite television and internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Movenpick Resort Hurghada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Resort Hurghada Hotel Hurghada
Intercontinental Hotel Hurghada
Intercontinental Resort Hurghada
Intercontinental Hurghada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Movenpick Resort Hurghada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.