We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth another visit!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunwing Waterworld

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hurghada
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunwing Waterworld
Save Saved
You added Sunwing Waterworld to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 183 hotels in Hurghada
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Worth another visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is my 8th time visiting Egypt as a whole and my first time visiting Hurghada. We are used to the heat, the way the Egyptians work and their expectations as a whole.
On average they earn between £45 and £80 a month and rely on tips.
We booked through Julie Moore at Travel Counsellors for our annual 2 week holiday. Visited Sunwing from 26th July to the 9th August. We chose this hotel as my step son is 11 and we wanted to make sure he was entertained with the slides etc. On first glance the hotel is amazing, we checked in ok, were taken on a tour on the way to our room, which took forever, all we wanted to do was settle in our room and go and get food. Once checked in we went to the only late restaurant that would serve is (Italian) and were limited on menu choices.
We had to move rooms on arrival (after unpacking) as the air con wasn’t working, the room they moved us to still didn’t have air con so we moved again. In the end we were above the Reception area in a great room overlooking the lazy river.
Wifi in the hotel lobby, however we managed to pick it up by the infinity pool often through out the day.
As this was only 16 months old when we visited, you have to expect teething problems and they are still amateurs.
Restaurants
A la carte – as you have previously read… it’s a nightmare to book and do need to queue, however in all honesty Fino’s is the only place I would recommend to go to, and can book direct with them. I ate the mixed grill and husband and step son had the burger, couldn’t fault it, they even had Crème brulee..
didn’t think much to the Indian, Chinese or Mexican! But make your own choices. At lunch times we had burgers, salads at the tropical and were lovely, ask for more if you went more!!
Shawerma – Kebab place – food very nice ay both day and night.
Crepe’s, waffles, Ice creams, eat as much as you want 
Buffet Restaurants are all the same, there’s always a meat, chicken and fish dish along with plenty of salads, chips, pasta….
Had an issue at one of the above restaurants but was quickly resolved with help from the Hotel Management.

Bars
Stick with the Lime Bar, staff are great, Yasser (he needs rewarding by the management) was full of smiles, cheek, jokes and didn’t want for anything. Always remembered what you drank too. We took our own Pint sized beakers with us, as we have done on previous Egyptian holidays, so glad we did as the glasses are tiny. It was a running joke by the end of our holiday, they knew us due to the beakers 
We were well looked after that’s for sure.
If you don’t take your own glasses, ask for 2 drinks at a time.
The Show Bar – Entertainment is hysterical whether you laugh with them or at them, they were hilarious. Waiting staff – very slow, ended up going to the bar ourselves for drinks.
Hotel should install self service soft drinks machines around the hotel, this will then drop the amount of waiting time considerably.
Rooms.
Massive, spacious, plenty of storage, couldn’t complain. Just what we needed. The Cleaner practically begged us for tips, he got given what he deserved and would have got more if he wouldn’t have pestered. **Little Tip** We used a clubcard from home to keep in the slot in the room to keep the air con on all day.
No tea or coffee facilities in the room, you have to hire, however you can take your own and take milk up from breakfast in a water bottle.
*Don’t drink the tap water* There is a water station where you can get bottled water (it wont be ice cold!) and the cleaner puts bigger bottles in your fridge in the room each day.

**Didn’t agree with how the hotel dealt with the pool/beach towels. There is no towel station and have to be taken back to the rooms each night and left out to be exchanged for clean ones… Which rarely happened even with a call to reception. **

Pool area – tended to stay by the affinity and wave pool. Always managed to get beds with cushions and parasols, but they may be due to the fact I was down there by 630am to guarantee it!
With a 95% occupancy whilst we were there, there were not enough parasols and cushions for the beds. The pools were cleaned daily and there were cleaners always walking around the pool area.
The slides are of a muchness. Can’t go on them without rings (well you can but you might get told off!), apart from if you go to the forest part where there are tiny slides.
My stepson went on the kamikaze slide a few times and loved it, husband went on it once and didn’t want to go on it again! I just watched from the side. Ha ha. Flow rider opened on our last week and was brilliant.

I sent an email before arriving to ask if we could be upgraded so had the facility to use the Grand Makadi bars and restaurants, I was advised that only if you are on your second visit or you had booked GM and moved to Sunwing!
Visa’s – Mandatory – expect to pay £10 to £13. If you pay at the kiosk it is £10 each.
Upset tummys – More often than not down to lack of water and dehydration, however IF you feel the slightest bit of a dicky tummy, go straight to the pharmacy and ask for Cipro floxacin. You will notice a difference in a few hours.
Tipping – In all honesty if you tip, you get a better service. Take plenty of £1 coins. We tipped about £40 throughout the whole of our trip. You may be asked by staff to swap their coins to notes also. We did this many times out there.
We didn’t encounter many rude and obnoxious people. Made some great friends and had a barrel of laughs.
Management are approachable and don’t be afraid to let them know your opinions, whether they are good or bad.
Cigarettes at Hurghada airport are (by our experience) fake. So buy on the way out there from the UK!
Burger King at the airport was good. The Airport is expensive for snacks and sweets so be prepared. If you like Pringles, cheddars etc pop them in your case on the way out there!!
**Take Hand sanitiser with you**
Lastly… I am a non smoker but married to a smoker. The hotel is classed as non smoking (if you need a smoke, you have to go to the beach!!), at first this was a big issue, but after the first couple of days, everyone smoked everywhere, but were sensitive of non smokers.

All in all we would visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    75
    39
    22
    13
See reviews for
174
21
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We travelled just after the latest troubles started when President Morsi was removed from power and were very concerned at what might happen.
Unfortunately the Germans, Scandinavians & Russians had been advised not to travel to Egypt which meant the occupancy level was so low that the hotel was forced to reduce the Restaurants and bars that were available.
We thought this was going to spoil the holiday but it actually never really had much impact as we could still dine at the 5 Restaurants in the Makadi Mall and Red Sea allowed us to eat at the Grand and Palace hotels as well.
It did have the positive effect that meant the children never had to queue for any of the slides at the watermark and we had so much choice when it came to deciding where to settle down to sunbathe at the hotel or on the beach.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_Meeuwenoord1, Manager at Sunwing Waterworld, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
The team at Sunwing Waterworld would like to thank you for your comments, and the chance to serve you on your holiday.
We hope to have the opportunity to serve in future holidays and look forward to your requests.
Best regards,

The hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel as a family of 4, children aged 3&9. ; for two weeks)
The hotel itself lovely huge, gorgeous lantern lit promenade, great pools ( though there were hygiene issues in kids pool at the time of our visit).... Water fortress- brilliant, the rooms, brilliant- huge!
Sadly what let the holiday down was the unfortunate timing of our visit. I can honestly say, Egypt wAs lovely- and we would go back-we felt such sympathy for those effected with regards recent issues.
I can honestly say the best hotel transfers ever, amazing snorkelling and fantastic beaches - but our holiday lacked a lot ..... Despite paying full price within a couple of days of arriving the hotel was shutting down - I think it was only 6% occupancy. Bars, Buffets, grills and restaurants were shutting down everywhere- which really limited our choices- especially with kids, the Mall is very intriguing and worth a look, but with regards the restaurants what's All Inclusive isn't clear enough- portions very- very small and limited alot of items ie basics on kids menus not available and a lot of pressure to pay for extras. Staff moral so very understandably low-vast numbers of staff lost their jobs while we were there, literally filing out in droves, such a shame, however those staff that remained tipping expected but not necessarily bringing good service ( we spent money we might have used for trips on tipping- but felt frustrated good basic service not generally given. We're an easily pleased family ( despite fussy 3yr old!) but we feel what we paid for sadly wasn't provided. No entertainment and kids club very limited, everywhere closing down. Soft Drinks served hot... Water served hot- and the remaining buffet - not great. Some self serve drinks stations would be a great idea. I think had we visited a couple of weeks earlier my review would have been vastly different- 5Star Egypt is lovely , it felt very safe, the weather is beautiful and the reefs stunning. This is a hotel that with a few more visitors, a few
very simple tweaks- should flourish- sadly on this occasion a lot was missing.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We have just got back from this hotel, went on the 20th August 2013 for two weeks family of 4 adults, well my children are 15 & 23. Firstly i would like to say that the rooms were superb big and spacious, secondly the pool area for children is excellent when slides were on and when they allowed you to stay in the pool until 6pm. But as someone has mentioned due to the current situation in Egypt hardly any staff to accommodate what few people were there.
When we arrived our first day by the pool we went to get water only to find a big cool box with water bottles chucked in which were all warm water, fridges were empty, after complaining that we can't drink hot water the next day they put ice cubes in the cool box, not fill the fridges up but ice cubes, which by 10.45am the water was cold. Frdges were empty in the rooms, rang reception for water they said that i had to go to the allocated bar to get water!!! GRRR
You saw one person by the pools and even though few people there you would ask for a drink 30minutes later returned and drink was warm, ( as tiny little plastic cups were given)
the restaurants were limited by the time we were there the food was bland and little choice, buffet was closed down the second week and we had to go to the sister hotels for buffets or book a la carte restaurants to eat in the evenings, you had two restaurants to choose in the day as all had been shut, we went for a kebab, the meal came back with bread and meat, when asked where the sald was or sauces the reply was run out.
The bars was few when we came sports bar was where we had little entertainment in the evening playing billiards as there was none what so ever at the sunwing hote to which might i add you had to pay for drinks and that was closed down also after our 4th day of being there. Breakfast was moved to the fino restaurant, which only had one air condition working, and as it was surrounded by glass come after 8.30 it was like having your breakfast in a green house. To which we left.
We saw a live singer twice in two weeks to which sounded like a drowned rat, even though states entertainment every night, we went to the beach party on monday only to be stopped by security guards which wanted money for entry. So we left. Again told this to management they said all hotels have to pay, but should be drinks only and food. ( nice all inclusive hotel so far! )
There were rats all over the hotel and the management and red sea rep new of this and said that it was being dealt with. we saw rats on four different occasions. Mosquitos were on the war path, as everone got bitten alive by them, Hotel didn't spray rooms or resort not once in the fortnight we were there.
the children was not allowed ice cream until 12pm even though it stated 10am opened.
the Lime bar was closed in the evening which was where most people went first of all, as African bar was by the sea, which was the ONLY bar left in the evening to get a drink unless you paid in the lobby bar. ( again nice all inclusive)
When we were leaving the lime bar was closing in the day also, so no where to get a drink in the day unless you pay, as African bar does not open until 6pm..
There was one restaurant open in the sunwing hotel where you could eat in the evening one bar opened in the evening unless you went to other hotels or the A La carte.
As i said to the management
I sympathise for what is going on in Egypt at the moment but when we booked a year ago it was stated That it was all inclusive and had choices of numerous bars and restaurants to choose from, we didnt pay to walk to another hotel for food, drinks or entertainment and yet that was what they were asking us to do.
basically nice hotel but service, choice, food bars everything and entertainment is a 0,
To top it off at Hurghada airport even though we had pre paid seats together as i am a terrible flyer we had to pay £20 each to sit together as otherwise we were scattered. Many people including myself argued as already paid but would not let us sit together unless we paid so my husband paid. Do you think there was one red sea rep or one thomas cook rep there to argue our case for us? NO..
We have been to Egypt 5 times now, We will not be returning again.
You might be lucky when you go i think it depends on the situation out there, if other countries are still saying unsafe to go i think you would be mad to go as no staff, as it was only the brits that were there and a handful of germans, Shame as the hotel, even though new, is getting neglected as no staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We spent a week at the Sunwing Waterworld as a family of 4 from 30th July 2013 and I can honestly say It was fantastic - In fact my one and only negative was that we only booked 1 week instead of 2!!

The rooms were huge and even with 4 of in one room we had plenty of space. One of the best Hotel rooms Ive ever stayed In in fact.

All the staff were lovely, very friendly and very helpful - yes tipping will get you better service but lets be realistic If you went for a meal in the UK you'd tipp the staff so why not abroad? The staff are very low paid in Egypt and they are genuinely grateful for even the smallest of tips.

The Rain Fortress was a massive hit with our kids as was the lazy river, flow rider and bigger waterslides, and even better we never once found a problem getting a sunbed round any of the pools.

Whilst I appreciate the previous comments about booking restaurants I have to disagree with the negative comments. You do need to book to use the restaurants in the Mall and yes those slots are early (6pm -7pm) That is because the later slots are reserved for Guests of the Makadi Spa next door who have paid a lot more for thier holiday for the purpose of their holiday being adult only. However there are plenty of restaurant choices within the hotel itself which you can book direct with the restaurant during their opening hours.

The beach was amazing and the coral and the snorkelling fantastic, The entertainment in and around the hotel was brilliant - aimed mostly at children and families so sometimes a little on the cheesy side but so long as the children were enjoying thjemselves that was perfectly fine with us.

All in All we rate this as one of the best holidays we have had in a long time, and I for one cant wait to return!! I have no issues what so ever recommending this hotel or any of the red sea hotels in this complex for that matter. Red sea holidays as a tour operator were also superb and I wouldnt hesitate to book any other Egyptian holiday with them.

Room Tip: all the rooms are beautiful but ones around the rain fortress are great for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_Meeuwenoord1, Manager at Sunwing Waterworld, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
The team at Sunwing Waterworld would like to thank you for your comments, and the chance to serve you on your holiday.
We hope to have the opportunity to serve in future holidays and look forward to your requests.
Best regards,

The hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Just returned from Sunwing Waterworld after spending one week here with family. Beautiful hotel if a bit rough around the edges, which is a shame as its supposedly quite newly built. The staff are absolutely brilliant especially the two at Finos (Shem in particular). Unfortunately, due to it being so empty because of the current climate in Egypt several restaurants were closed during our week. Apparently they said it was only 6% occupancy. It made us feel as if we were getting a half service but we had actually gone and were paying full price. On the plus side it meant that we had the whole beach to ourselves and no problem getting a cabana by the pool. (cabanas are such a nice touch). The reef is wonderful, so many beautiful fish swimming up to you and we even swam with a big sea turtle. Magical. The Makadi Mall restaurants are, in our opinion, not even worth booking, especially when the guy you book with at 3pm each day gets it wrong! He was the one person we didn't like. Unlike other reviews we could book for anytime we wanted though not sure if it was because of lack of people. The buffet is ok and you're never going to starve. Funny how the people who complained there are the ones feeding their kids chips or pasta every day. The afternoon crepes and waffles are delicious, especially with the mango ice cream. All in all it was what it was - an all inclusive at a much cheaper price than elsewhere. Sunshine and blue skies every day and we got to learn Arabic too. Red Sea Resorts were very helpful from the start and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them if you're thinking of going to Egypt.

Room Tip: Away from the children's watermark is quieter but handy if you're travelling with little one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We have just returned from 2weeks we arrived 29th July and left 14th aug. what can I say regards this hotel well we had such a fab time we are already looking at booking to go back next year. The staff on arrival were friendly and took our cases off us to go to the room. Our children loved the rain Forrest waterpark and the pools, it was definitely kids heaven. There was plenty of different kinds of food for all the family we had lunch most days at the tropical bar which did burgers spaghetti Bol fish and chips salads the staff here were amazing and brilliant with the children especial Ahmed. On an evening we visited sun and sea a couple of times they did different theme nights you could just help yourself, we also went to the BBQ where they prepared kebabs which all came with rice and chips. Then their was the a la carte restaurants finos Mediterranean, Chinese, Indian, Italian, French, German and Mexican these you had to book for And had to do this in reception at 3pm everyday you could book between 7pm and 930 with us having children we managed to get booked normally 7 or 730pm. I would definitely recommend visiting this as the food was amazing and the mall was a nice quaint place to eat with entertainment for the children they had different movies playing each night. The pool staff couldn't do enough for you, tip them £1 and drinks are on the tap Ali and Mohammed were so good with the children too. The lime bar, show bar and African bar were other places we spent our evenings with beautiful cocktails. Would I recommend this hotel to other friends and family 100% yes. We met some nice friends whilst we were there and the kids were in heaven so overall this was a fantastic holiday for us and will definitely return. All the staff at the sunwing made us feel very welcome and at home. Thanks again the spencer family xxxxxxx

Room Tip: Our room was 4021 fab room. Take a club point card with you and leave it in the key card slot as thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant_Hotel_Mgr, Manager at Sunwing Waterworld, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
The team at Sunwing Waterworld would like to thank you for your comments, and the chance to serve you on your holiday.
We hope to have the opportunity to serve in future holidays and look forward to your requests.
Best regards,

The hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunwing Waterworld? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunwing Waterworld

Address: Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 183 hotels in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sunwing Waterworld 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SMOKING POLICY All indoor & outdoor areas are non-smoking except beach, beach promenade terraces & Lobby exterior. Sunwing Waterworld Makadi opened in 2012 and offers a blend of modern facilities and traditional Moorish styling, from its state of the art waterpark, to the soothing fountains. Guest rooms are generously sized and beautifully finished, with honey-hued trelliswork and stunning marble bathrooms. There is a big choice of restaurant options, and the hotel’s location on the promenade at Makadi Bay offers direct access to a gently sloping beach with a shallow reef perfect for a taste of snorkelling among colorful corals and fish. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunwing Waterworld, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.