We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful family getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunwing Waterworld

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hurghada
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunwing Waterworld
Save Saved
You added Sunwing Waterworld to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 182 hotels in Hurghada
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful family getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

With 15 of us staying to spend Christmas and New Year in the sun we were a little concerned about the previous write-ups - but felt it was worth a shot.

We were delighted by the ambience of the hotel - although there are so many rooms (occupancy was high in such peak season) it didn't feel crowded. The hotel was very confusing to get around when we first arrived - a site plan (perhaps including the Makadi Spa and Palace Hotels) would have been a great help. Once we'd worked out short cuts we didn't need to cut through reception to get to each place.

The food at breakfast was great, we tended to eat at Fino overlooking the sea, although the queues for omlettes/ eggs did get bigger as more people cottoned onto the smaller restaurant offering a better atmosphere (the queues could have been reduced by the chefs using the griddle as well?).

The water park was a great hit with kids (ages 6 -16) however the shadows meant there weren't many sunny sunbed spaces available next to the pool. We ended up using a different pool / beach most days and meandering over with the kids especially to use the waterpark (to be fair after day 3 the kids weren't wanting to stay at the waterpark all day every day). A few of the adults amongst us managed to go on the scariest water ride ever - an experience to behold - the park was fabulous. The kids didn't attend the kids clubs - they were more than happy to entertain each other so we didn't feel the need.

Being able to walk up and down the promenade as far as the jetty at the end- where snorkelling was out of this world at the reef drop-off- and stop off for beer or snacks as part of the all inclusive deal was fabulous, entertaining both young and old alike.

The beach was great - service was fine - although we are concerned there will not be enough space when the next phase of the hotel is open. Get cunning and save the front row seats in the early morning if you want sun all day during winter months!

The bedrooms were glorious - comfortable wiht a huge sitting area and a fabulous bathroom (I was slightly disappointed by lack of tea/ coffee making facilities and robes). The beds were huge and exceptionally comfortable - I haven't slept as well in months!

We would have preferred to been made aware of work happening overhead (10am - 3pm) by way of an information letter, but in fairness we were out of the room then. When one of our party was ill - the building works stopped once we strongly requested it.

Booking restaurants for dinner was a bit of a palaver - 1pm in reception every day - however most were good menus with a variety of options and superb service. The kids enjoyed eating in 'Italy, Germany, Mexico, the Med, India, China' although our favourites were the BBQ with the buffet being favoured by some of our party due to portion sizes. It was very cool in the evenings - so make sure you have plenty of layers if you travel in the winter months - many of the restuarants are outside!

One word of caution - 2 of our party (6 of us had tattoos) have had allergic reactions to the 'black' henna tattoos... make sure you don't get any black henna this is extremely poisonous as we researched it when the problems arose, 2 weeks after we returned (have brown henna by all means if they offer it).

All the staff you pass - every single one - are very friendly. We felt so at home, the kids were safe and happy - and with the fabulous design and cleanliness it is a wonderful destination. Go there, relax and enjoy!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    72
    39
    22
    14
See reviews for
171
21
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Just come back from a week - Feb 4th to 11th 2 adults 2 children 6 and 3

Hotel:

Newly built, infact some parts are still being completed but does not effect you as they tended to be on the outskirts of the hotel. Very nice architecture, Modern North African styke, large, clean, modern waterfront hotel with some terraced bars and restaurants overlooking the sea

Rooms:

The best I have had with a charter experience. 50 sqm large room, huge bed, nicely marble tiled bathroom with bath and very nice seperate shower, double basins, walk in wardrobe, seperate living area with beds for kids,etc. Nicely styled, modern north African style with nice large balcony

Facilities/pools:

Second to none. Lots of fun for kids and the whole family. 4 pools - wave pool with fake beach, relax pool, baby slides, waterpark for kids circa 4-10 and 4 larger teenager/adult slides for family fin plus a vertical flume for adults only. Lazy river and flo rider (surf machine which was great fun for anyone over 115cm tall (body board for kinds, surf for adults). Gym, tennis courts, football pitch. Note at this time of year only the waterparks and relax pools were heated but this was enough. At busier times I guess it would be nice to have all heated when its not scorching summer time.

Beach:

Very nice indeed. Sandy with crystal clear and warm water - even in Feb. Lots of corals just off the beach were you have snorkelling opportunities which is a must plus a pedalo guy were you can rent a boat for £5 for 30 minutes and then you can dive off in the turkoise waters for a swim and a snorkel. Nice sun beds and umbrellas, not plastic stuff that blows over in the wind with semi circular wind/privacy covers as it can be breezy at times from the sea wind. Very nice and quiet but maybe because it wasn't half term or anything but winter is still their peak season so great just to chill on the beach if you like that sort of thing or go for a long walk on the promenade along the beach.

Restuarants:

10 to choose when using Makadi Mall which is 50m opposite the hotels plus the main buffet which always had cooking stations serving either grilled chicken, lamnd, fish, pasta, stir-fry)and all part of the all inclusive although some dishes like duck and fillet steak would be a small sur charge. Includes Mexican, 2 Italian, Indian, Chinese, BBQ, French, Fino (a terraced restuarant overlooking the sea) plus a number of bars of course like swim up pool bar, beach bar, and sports bar. Also had a nice afternoon ice cream, waffle crepe snack bar which was nice to see - as opposed from burgers, pizza and chips as ive experienced in many places. My only quibble is that some bars were sur charge only (like the sports bar even for a beer - which was £2 or coke which was a bit weird as this is part of all inclusive of course (can understand if you want a special cocktail but hey)

Staff:

Generally really nice and friendly - some genuinely very nice and friendly people, the odd moody one but don't take it personally. I saw the pool bar guy being really friendly with some people but really sour with us. On that note, good advice to offer small tips. 10 Egyptian pounds is a box of cigarettes so is pretty good, 20 pounds or more is good if you are happy with service etc and more importantly want to continue the really good sergvice. 5 will offend so don't bother. There are waiters serving drinks pool and beach side which I only experience at Club Med in the Caribeean before so they are usually very service minded.

Overall:

Great place, lots of fun for adults and children or simply if you want to relax on the beach, if you're a foody don't expect Michelin but still generally very good for charter style. If you like to drink then beer was prob the best bet, wine not great and the local spirits are not so good but vodka cocktails or GnT's were ok. Really nice rooms and superb weather - especially when its cold and snowy in Stockholm or grey and rainy int he UK! Will recommend for years to come anyone who wants to go to Hurghada

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

As previously mentioned the Complex is still undergoing some renovations so there were some minor issues depending on which room you got. Ours had a backdoor that had no lock (on the ground floor), no shower stall and a minibar that was not plugged in. All items except the shower were immediately resolved.

The food was ok, in that some restaurants were better than others. Mexican was awesome even with the avocado shortage. Chinese and Fino also well worth eating. Dinner buffet on most nights was also very good. Not as big of a choice as some resorts but most things were well prepared, breakfast was standard, only have fig or apricot jam and honey. There are many extra costs for the good stuff, but well worth it. The camel was really nice and fun to do.

Most of the bars along the promenade were very quiet at night, so don't go if you are expecting a huge party every night. Having said that it was perfect for us as we were able to enjoy drinks and billiards with friends without huge crowds.

The staff are extremely friendly and obviously enjoy the kids. Service varied slightly from person to person but overall very pleasantly surprised. Don't go if you are offended by the idea of having to tip a little to get better and more consistent service. The few pounds we dropped made all the difference and we were exceptionally well treated everywhere we went.

Bottom line is that for value for price this was a great experience and the children will go crazy on the slides. Just make sure that you realise the 1.22m height restriction for the adult slides is enforced. Not the perfect place for toddlers but from the ages of 5-6 to 18 I can not imagine the kids not having a blast. Lot's of organised expeditions, cost were reasonable and the diving seemed to be a great deal as well.

Go ahead and enjoy a wonderful, relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: We had a pool facing room on the ground floor with terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We were advised by the travel agent to go with 'Red Sea Holidays' and this was our first mistake.

We arrived at the airport and were guided by the Red Sea reps to a line which resulted in us having to pay for a visa for each member of the family. We had NO IDEA we would have to do this and had to raid our 8 year old sons wallet as we didn't have any pounds or Euros (they wouldn't accept Egyptian pounds)... 13 POUNDS PER PERSON... My husband asked for a receipt but was refused. The visa actually is $15 and we discovered later we could have gone to a different booth and would have only has to pay 10 pound per person.

The Makadi Bay resort is small (3 hotels) and the mall is a joke. No Egyptians actually live there so it's a very 'false' atmosphere. Everything is expensive. ALL the hotel staff are male.

The hotel itself I have to say is beautiful. Palatial even. Rooms are spacious, well built (nothing flimsy). The pools are great (especially the heated one!). The beds are extremely comfortable.

You are given a number of wrist bands to wear (one for the water park, another for alcohol, another for the surfing...) which means we have all come home with lovely white marks on our arms!!!

The buffet food is average / below average. However if you book in to the Fino restaurant you can get some nice food if you pay a little extra.

The staff are generally unhelpful, speak little English and are shameless in trying to get tips from you. (for example, when we first arrived and told the porter who showed us to the room that we didn't have any change yet he said "I take Euros or Pounds"!)

If you want to drink DIET coke then you had better buy some of your own as more often than not they didn't have any (you can get diet coke in Macdonalds all around the world but not in this 5* hotel!!!)

The main childrens activities and the entertainment team are all Sweedish and if you are with Red Sea Holidays then your children cannot join in the daytime activities (we found out WHEN we got there)... They run a 'Teen Idol' show which my 12 year old daughter would have absolutely loved to have been a part of but she wasn't allowed to and had to sit and watch the others on stage.

The rep is Egyptian and very unhelpful. He didn't come to the hotel when he was supposed to and it was almost impossible to reach him

The FREE WiFi offered in the reception is an absolute joke so don't depend on it. They just haven't got the whole system worked out for people to be able to use it. It could take me up to an hour trying to load down a book on my kindle.

The 'paradise island' trip and the quad bike trip in the desert were really good days out (not cheap though)

To get a taxi to the nearest shopping mall (that actually had some shops!) cost 25euro return from the hotel

We emailed Red Sea holidays the second day we were there and still haven't had any reply (3 weeks later)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We were impressed with the junior suite we had booked. The resort itself was really good for kids,if a bit noisy, we were in a group of 7 which included a two year old. We were all inclusive but the standard of food was only average. Meals at the various outlets had to be booked in advance which for a resort of this size seemed a bit odd.

Service in the restaurants and around the pools was generally good but some of the staff were over familiar.

Beware however if booking a "gala dinner", we booked one on Christmas Eve at a cost of £28 per head extra plus the cost of wine. The food was worse than at the all inclusive buffets and I have seen more evidence of a gala at a funeral!! There were no decorations in the restaurant and not a hint of any Christmas music. The only semblance of festivities was the fact that the guests had made an effort and dressed up. A big pity the hotel had not made an effort to justify the surcharge.

Maintenance was poor, the phone in our room never worked all week despite about 5 complaints to the Reception.

Room Tip: We stayed on the side overlooking the Makadi Spa Resort so it was quiet however it was next to the G...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Most of what was said below is correct and will not be repeated here. Having visited the hotel with two kids aged 5 and 7 in December 2012, we are happy to report that it is a nice place where one can easily spend a week or two. The hotel is gigantic, over 500 rooms, with six or seven pools of different types, waterslides and a beautiful beach. Sometimes, this size works against it as it takes a few days just to find your way around. The food is uninspiring but adequate (although this is true of the most of Egypt). There are three buffets plus about six other restaurants (Italian, Mexican, German, Mediterranean, BBQ) plus five or six in the neighbouring mall. All of these (including the ones in the mall) are on all-inclusive basis and serve a similar mix of fries/rice/fried meat/spongy cake. A few things need to be mentioned: first, the coffee on the premises is watery, bordering undrinkable and there are no facilities for making espresso (except one machine at the reception). If you depend on coffee, take your own macchinetta/filter with you. There are no cafes in the neighbourhood that serve coffee either. Second, the Internet in the hotel is non-existent. There is free WiFi at the reception but this runs at 0.02 MPBs, which is slower than a modem connection and cannot do much more than text-based email and most of the time not even that. There is an Internet cafe at the mall next door. Third, there are no shopping facilities of any kind in the hotel - the idea being that food and drinks are provided included in the package. This is normally not a problem but it also means there are no newspapers, sun cream, etc. Fourth, the rooms are all overlooking inner courtyards - no see views. This is probably done to help control summer heat but if it matters to you, go somewhere else. Having said this, the hotel is nicely designed looking like a replica of some caliph's palace - kitschy in the right way. There is no night entertainment worth mentioning so, once again, if you have a family with small kids, this is fine, otherwise - stay clear. Staff are numerous and helpful, if one makes an effort to understand the Egyptian mentality. All in all, a great place for families with kids.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cph
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

this is of course a personal review so a lot could be different for people who don't have the same needs as us. But here it comes:

starts with the positive +=

water world is great especially for the older kids, I must admit thought that the noise was very high (from all the water falling) so that was pretty annoying when you could not escape it when you have kids. They could easily have taken half of the water falling up and down away and it would still have been great but then not so noisy

breakfast was great all the usually things.

warm in the children's pool was great, meaning we could go in the water from 8.30 in the morning (was traveling the last week of nov)

friendly staff nearly everywhere

very close to the beach and ok sand

best thing was the mini-playland personal, they were so kind and outgoing our kid loved them. lots of energy.

weater was really nice (for first-timers in Egypt- don't forget a cardigan for everyone for the evening, it gets colder around 6 o clock)

good cleaning

the place with warm waffles and pancakes was a hit with the kids.

minuses of the hotel - =

very annoying that there was only one elevator far away from everything when the hole hotel is build in 3 floors. Meaning that people was caring their prams up and down of the long steps, not very service minded when having in mind that it is a kids hotel.

wish they would have a couple of computers to lend to go on the Internet on somewhere on the hotel (there is a internetcafe not far away the price is 2 euro for 15 min.)

you have to book the restaurants everyday between 12.30 - 15-30. pretty annoying as one is mostly doing stuff at that time (you have to do it in the reception) I tried asking if we would not do it in the morning after breakfast but was told it can only be done at those two hours. As we many times forgot it, we had to eat at the only place where you did not have to order (which had pretty much the same food every day)

we use to travel with Star tour and their room has a door between the two "rooms" (even though it is called a one bedroom) where you sleep all 4 in the same room (there is kind of 2 rooms but their is no door or wall between them) making it harder to stay up for the adults when the kids are sleeping as it all in one room. But apart from that the room was great and a huge bathroom so no complains there. I would have wished their sleeping pillow was not 40 cm high though - very sore neck :)

with they would have had a proper Babypool that was under shadow and closed off so that the small kids could not go into the deeper end.

the play-room (kids land for older kids) was not open until the day after we went home. Very strange as there was a lot of kids in that age group and there was therefor no entertainments for that agegroup (7-11 years)

one of the nights ( two in the middle of the night) the firealarm started. Ran outside and reed on a card in the hallway where the checkpoint were. guest was there but no one at all from the hotel, so we did not know what was going on. After a while we all went back in the rooms but if something would have happend for real there was not a single personale around to guide us or tell us what was going on. Not very safe to think about.

If it was our first trip to Egypt we properly would have been very, very impressed with the hotel and the standard. But as we have been to two others in Makardy Bay much better it makes you compare but still an impressive hotel but still a few things that could be better.

Room Tip: Cant give a good tip for the room as we were in 7140 and it was not very close to the kids pool. But...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunwing Waterworld? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunwing Waterworld

Address: Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 182 hotels in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sunwing Waterworld 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SMOKING POLICY All indoor & outdoor areas are non-smoking except beach, beach promenade terraces & Lobby exterior. Sunwing Waterworld Makadi opened in 2012 and offers a blend of modern facilities and traditional Moorish styling, from its state of the art waterpark, to the soothing fountains. Guest rooms are generously sized and beautifully finished, with honey-hued trelliswork and stunning marble bathrooms. There is a big choice of restaurant options, and the hotel’s location on the promenade at Makadi Bay offers direct access to a gently sloping beach with a shallow reef perfect for a taste of snorkelling among colorful corals and fish. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunwing Waterworld, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.