We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aquarius @ the Citadel azure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aquarius Diving Club

Aquarius Diving Club
Marriott Hotel | El Corniche Road, Hurghada , Egypt
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: AQUARIUS Diving Club is a PADI 5* Gold Palm Resort providing daily diving excursions,PADI diving courses, IDC's, mini safari's, diving resort packages and diving safari's. Our qualified diving staff can teach courses in English, German, French, Russian and Dutch.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Aquarius @ the Citadel azure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My wife and I used Aquarius at the Citadel Azure when we stayed at Le Premier Le reve hotel in April.
We did a few house reef dives and one all day boat dive as it was a holiday for resting and not a diving holiday!
Everything about the centre was professional and the guides were fantastic and so much fun!
The house reef was excellent and we even had a pod of wild dolphins play with us on our first dive.
We are heading back in November and can't wait to see the team again!
THANK YOU for some great diving!

Visited April 2013
Thank Mark260165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Picked from my apartment door at a realistic time not stupid o'clock great professional team at Palm Beach.

Visited July 2013
Thank pavak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
110 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Ripped off”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

After two enjoyable days diving we paid the bill of €360. Instead of using the correct rate of 8.6 Egyptian pounds to the Euro they used "their" rate of 9.6. We only had a few Euros so had to pay in Egyptian from the ATM which meant paying 360 Egyptian extra, which is €41. To pay by card we would have had to pay an extra 3% on top of that. After kicking off they said they can't do anything as Cairo head office set the rate. Eventually they gave us a small discount of about €10 but this didn't really stop us feeling angry as we were being blatantly ripped off. Take enough Euro cash to cover the bill or dive somewhere else.

Visited April 2013
3 Thank wateladze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
238 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Wow what an AWESOME team”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

what can i say apart from a massive thank to the guys at Aquarius dive center at the citadel Hotel, in Hurgarda, You guys, were fantastic the diving was amazing, and your assistance first class, a credit to yourselves and Egypt, the Diving is a bit limited to sites they only really go out to about 6 maybe 8 locations mainly due to the number of DSD's on the boat, but the never failed to make it a great day, the detail of the dive sites is first rate, and they give you lots of options on what to dive, the marine life if not as good as sharm but with less currents its equally as good, you have time to observe the wonderful Giant morays, blue spotted rays and lion and scorpion fish, and the clown fish are wow, from tiny tiny to well fed,

the food on board was more than ample was some left over, even after the staff had eaten, and the prices very competitive with good discounts for repeat business,

Visited March 2013
Thank numptydiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

There where so many holes in my wetsuit I did not know where to pull without ripping it when putting it on. Not possible to sit inside the boat (aquarius 9) due to heavy diesel smell.

Everything is jalla jalla, hurry hurry, no respect for beginners or nervousness. No safety. Very brief information about signs before dive. You are told to check "no" on every post on the healt form and sign it without reading it.

Expensive and you still have to pay for food and drinks on the boat and an extra "enviroment tax" is added to the price when you arrive at the diving club.

Took a daytrip with 2 dives. Only got to dive approx 20minutes each dive and had to get ready without help. When the staff finally helped with putting the air tank and flippers on we where stressed into the water and pushed down emidiately. On the discovery dive you are not allowed deeper than about 5-6 meters and may never let go of the instrucor.

My partner had trouble pressurizing and signed to the instructor who ignored it and lowered him further. My partner was never able to pressurize and wanted to end the dive due to the pain in his ears but the instructor continued to lower him to 5-6meters and forced him to continue the dive. Afterwards my partner sufferd nose bleed and ear pain. One week after dive he still have ear problems. And at the first ascent my partners airsupply was cut off before reaching the surface.
mediocre dive sites, not much to see.

Never going back to aquarius and I will never recomend it to anyone!!!

Visited January 2013
1 Thank tigermorran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aquarius Diving Club also viewed

Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
Hurghada, Red Sea and Sinai
Hurghada, Red Sea and Sinai
Hurghada, Red Sea and Sinai

Been to Aquarius Diving Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing