We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the paradise we were promised!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mahmya

Mahmya
Giftun Island, Hurghada, Egypt
+201001119792
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$92*
and up
Mahmaya: Giftun Island Snorkeling Cruise
Ranked #2 of 54 things to do in Hurghada
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
South Wales, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not the paradise we were promised!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

While the picture perfect Mahmaya island makes a beautiful backdrop for some family photos shoes are a must here as the sand is not as soft as it looks. It was quite stoney! There was also no shade and you can burn to a frazzle in a very short period of time.
There is a cafe which was handy where a coke is approximately £1.00 a can.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    589
    184
    83
    21
    20
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A little piece of paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

A little bit of paradise. Sea all clear, beach is beautiful, bar well stocked. The only thing that let's it down is the snorkelling does not compare to Sharm.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This was a great trip, the beach was amazing we had lunch there and it was lovely.
If you love to snorkel this is a great trip you can see loads of amazing fish, great day out for couples and families.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best day of the holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Booked this trip to get out of the terrible hotel for a day, so glad we did had a brilliant day the best day out of the two weeks!amazing.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Most amazing trip I have ever been to, was like paradise. The snorkelling was so cool and the food there was probably the best we had our whole holiday

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mahmya also viewed

Hurghada, Red Sea and Sinai
Hurghada, Red Sea and Sinai
 
Hurghada, Red Sea and Sinai
Hurghada, Red Sea and Sinai
 

Been to Mahmya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mahmya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.