We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service, poor food” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Gaucho Steakhouse

Gaucho Steakhouse
Village Road | Siva Grand Besch Hotel, Hurghada, Egypt
Improve this listing
Ranked #96 of 222 restaurants in Hurghada
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Jyväskylä, Western Finland, Finland
1 review
“Poor service, poor food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

I visit eating there in January 2012. Ordered mixed grill meal. Menu list say that there is lamb, beef and vane. I got beef chiken and sausage. And my beef is too small. Mayby the waiter knows that and only run past of us. And bill is over 600egp.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    5
    3
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
istanbul
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“it is good to find a place to invite important guests”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

Nice selection of breads , perfect salmon carpaccio, rib eye not burned or pre boiled and grilled Europeen way , with selection of sauces, comfortable outdoor seating looking at hotel's nice garden, attentive and kind service. If you want to be away from the crowd , and feel privileged you should be there.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enkoping, Sweden
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“El Grouch more like”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

As a person who works in the restaurant business (own restaurants) I was bitterly dissapointed with this place, really nice lay out and ambiance, food and service of very poor quality and badly prepared. We had Scalops (Pilgrim mussels) as a starter 135 Egyption pounds per portion, a delicate starter but they was deep fried untill untill they were the size of my finger nail and were like eating steak.
Main course rib eye of beef, (we could have chosen an Entrecôte) rib 160 Egyption sauce 28 Egyption pommes 28 Egyption the manager thought we needed 2 different sauces so 56 Egyption and a bottle of local wine 160 egyption.
We got a piece of Entrecôte the manager even said it was Entrecöte, it still cost the price of the rib eye, he then came to table and filled my wine glass to the rim, emptying the bottle (my wife got none) and asked if we would like another bottle, bloody cheek.
The cost 868 Egyption pounds around £85, when I complained he went to phone the owner and gave us a piece of water melon and wanted us to wait for the owner to come, we had a taxi booked and had to leave, never go there again.
2 nights later we went to the marina to another steak house we were 4 people we had 4 starters including tiger prawns, mains were 1 salmon 2 rib eye beefs and an enormous mixed grill 4 deserts and 2 bottles of wine and 4 beers total cost 736 Egyption, well worth it and good food to boot. El Gauch El Groucho more like

  • Visited July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurghada, Egypt
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“nice place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

If you would like to have good steak in a quiet place, try this restaurant

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great Steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

Delicious steaks served here, service brilliant, sit out on the rear patio with the water features, its lovely. A selection of breads are offered and replenished during your meal. Not cheap, but well worth it if you enjoy a good steak.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gaucho Steakhouse also viewed

Hurghada, Red Sea and Sinai
Hurghada, Red Sea and Sinai
 
Hurghada, Red Sea and Sinai
Hurghada, Red Sea and Sinai
 

Been to Gaucho Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaucho Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.