We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious hotel with great pool and beach facilities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jaz Aquamarine Resort

Save Saved
You added Jaz Aquamarine Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jaz Aquamarine Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   South Sahl Hashish Road | Gawish District, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 181 hotels in Hurghada
Raby Mere
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Spacious hotel with great pool and beach facilities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed a week from 15th March and the weather warmed up to 32 deg C by the end of the week so perfect for climate. As most people have described the hotel is large and spacious and since only about half full at this time of year there was abundant space to find a relaxing quiet spot. The heated pools are more busy but many other pool areas were quiet and with service for drinks provided meant lots of places to choose from each day. We moved between pool areas and the beach during the stay but they were never busy and snack and drinks areas were conveniently placed. The waiters will bring drinks and a small tip each day keeps them interested and very happy and talkative. For children the slides in the pools looked really good fun but being a retired gent my wife told me not to use them - but some parents did have fun doing it with their kids.
The quality of the food and the service at the hotel varied depending on which restaurant you were in. The most busy was the main buffet area which had a reasonable choice and plenty of places to sit. The Four Corners place was a bit quieter with better tables and design features but still a buffet selection however better variety. Both areas coped well with young children and even large families but struggled a bit when large groups of Russians arrived and wanted to take over.
For people who want a better quality meal in nicer surroundings then use one of the four a la carte restaurants which you can easily book on the computer near reception. We went to them all and they are all quite but very nice indeed. The Italians was most popular as even kids would go there with parents for pizza but the menu is nice with plenty of variety. The rissoto or pasta dishes with local seafood were excellent quality and great service make it a better place for a lovely dinner. The other a la carte places did not have any children there - so a lot quieter but again the food had great flavours with the best place for us being the seafood restaurant with lovely decor, great food and great service. The Lebanese a la carte was really tasty and wonderful variety - and even the Asian restaurant was nice and worth a visit but the decor was not as good. Overall the food was much better than expected so please try them all.
Drinks - they are plentiful at the bars and the wines are of a better quality than othe places in Egypt that we have been to. It would be nice to have a sparkling white wine - but not here and prices for basic champagne were very unrealistic.
We stayed on room 3270 which was nice and large and on top floor ( third ) with lovely balcony with views of pools and beach so it was worth a small amount extra to get a superior room. It was cleaned every day and as usual the flowers and towels were used to create a decorative model each day we returned to the room for which the staff were well rewarded.
Most pools are not heated at this time of year - but even I could make it to the big pools and have a refreshing swim - usually no one else even tried. I guess the water was about 20 - 22 deg C which is nice on a hot day and the water was crisp cool and clear so very tempting. One you are in you adjust and after 5 mins all is OK just try it!
The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful and were were often asked by managers if there was anything else that could improve or stay. One day my wife said she would like some melon on the breakfast buffet - and a fresh plate was delivered to our room that day and it was available with the buffet from then on!
The bar areas of the evening were quite nice to sit outside and even better decor was used in the extensive areas inside the buildings - but these were mostly too hot to stay for more than one drink. Service in these areas was quite good and once you get a drink from a waiter - just give him a small tip and he will look after you fine.
Overall this is a nice spacious hotel, nice room and good quality food and well worth a stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor that does not get the sun as it rises in the morning. Pay a bit more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,609 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,013
    361
    144
    56
    35
See reviews for
697
554
30
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orsett, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Just got back from a week at the Aquamarine and missing the place already. I went with my friend and we were a little bit concerned after we'd read other reviews of girls getting a lot of hassle - we needn't have worried. You do get guys/girls coming round the pool selling massages and photo's etc but we generally just had a laugh with them and if we didn't want anything we said no thanks. We did book a massage at the spa half way through the week which was lovely, although be prepared if you have a medical one (bit sunburned) that they send you out covered in white cream which got a few looks as we walked past the pool ha ha.

I've been to a fully inclusive hotel in Egypt before with my boyfriend and we hated the food and went out every night so i wasn't expecting much here - i was so wrong , food was really nice (and i'm a terrible food snob). We ate at the main restaurant first night which wasn't great and Four Corners 2nd night which was better, after that we booked the a la carte (included in holiday) which was amazing, proper restaurants with great food and a nice glass of wine.

The actual hotel was beautiful and when we looked off the balcony when we arrived in the evening we were blown away.This place looks even better when your here than in photo's. Loved the room and the location , by the quiet pool with the beds in the water - amazing ! A lot of people have mentioned how clean it is here and its so true, every time a leaf falls in the pool someone goes to get it (much to our amusement).
Evenings were pretty quiet but the Waves Bar was nice for a couple of cocktails after dinner.

We also pre-booked an excursion to Mahmya Island for our last but one day. Fantastic trip, enjoyed the whole day - nice little boat trip followed by sunbathing on a desert island , snorkelling , lunch , more sunbathing then boat trip back (brilliant).

I would definately recommend this hotel , although i hope this doesn't mean it will be mobbed when i go back this time next year.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This hotel is an excellent AI 5* venue. The rooms are spacious, the grounds large and very well kept. There are 18 separate pools to this complex, some for toddlers, some for older kids and teens, all heated. The adult pools are for adults only and are not heated. Very pleasant.
Great beach area with a beach restaurant that will serve you a three course meal from lunch until midnight with bar drinks. The food is excellent with two main restaurants and four a la carte venues. There are also pool bars serving sandwiches and drinks from 10.00am to 5.00pm. There are many open air seating areas around the lobby and bars in which one can sit comfortably sipping the AIl Inclusive Pina Collada's or G & T's. Entertainment is good if you want it and there is also an Adult only lounge bar, also with outside relaxed seating. All other refinements such as IT and games , Wi Fi and a internet cafe are also on site.
You name it, this hotel has it. A very pleasant and relaxing stay. See for yourself.
We'll be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room with pool or sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This is my first time going to Egypt and I arrived with a open mind.

I have read what some people have written and it scares me, c"mon people, this is an "all inclusive family hotel", yes there will will children at the hotel, yes the beaches are not carribean class, they are coral, and yes, this is an arab/islamic country, if you dont know what that means, google before you travel! dont be a amateur.

The Airport is and old airbase and worn down, the first guy I met at the airport wanted money for letting me use the free bathroom, and so it goes on, everybody wants your money, it"s sad.

The busride to the hotel took about 20 min and we arrived to a nice looby and some cold drinks, checking in went smooth and the bags we"re loaded to a golf car for transport to your room, of course the bell boys want money, and you dont have a choice to carry your own bags? they just assume that you will pay.

The hotel greets you with 19 pools, some are pre-heated, some are for children, some are adult only. They are clean, big and welcoming. There are 2 big waterslide parks that are cool.
The area is clean and its hard to imagine that this is a hotel in the middle of the desert full of sand.

The food is "ok" and there are 2 places to eat as much as you can, we did not become sick, always remember to clean your hands before eating and if you touch egyptian money, clean hands, this is the most dirty money in the world and it will make you sick.
We loved the bars, the food and the differnt hang out spots, this is the place where they love children, they are allowed to be heard and can play loudly as chidren do.

There are a alot of Russians, they are rude, always are loud, drunk and fuss with everyone over anything, these people hopefully will grow up or just fall off the earth, Russians that cant behave are a problem, even here in Egypt.

We stayed in a family suite 1503 faceing one of the pool areas which was on the third floor, there are no elevators so if you have a child stroller you will have to leave it downstairs.

I would have given this hotel a 5 star rating, why didnt I? because the only annonying thing that bothered me was the so called "photografers" who are working for the hotel and keep asking you if you want to take a picture, even if you say no 20 times, they still come back and want to book a time, they give this place a lower rating because of their "unprofessional" way of hasseling the guest.

And the second thing is that some employees working at the bar by the beach try to sell you Euros, and buy dollas, I hope that the hotel management gets rid of these type of shady people who drags the place and rating down.

We will come back, because we just had a great week with lots of sun and fun and happy memories.

Room Tip: 1503, third floor, facing the pool, big balcony, spacious room, nice big bed. you can watch everyth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We are staying at this hotel 9all inclusive basis) since the past two days and find it extra ordinary. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Food is plentiful and the staff make sure they look after and pamper the guests. One gets tired of the variety of food at the buffet but there are plenty of places at the resort which serve snacks which is a welcome change.

The only down side I found was that the staff at the bar are not very good at making cocktails but a minor points as compared to the positives

Well worth the visit and no regrets.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sopot, Poland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

To start off I would like to say I completely disagree with the negative opinions written about the hotel. As stated in the info its located quite a distance from the center of Hurgada but I would definitely say thats a plus, its nice and quiet and not too much comotion going on outside the hotel. Not far away you have a market (Sultan and Cleopatra) where you have fixed prices and can pretty much get anything you need.
The hotel itself is beautiful! Very spacious, clean and generally done with great taste. The staff are very nice and helpful, almost everyone speaks english well or if not at a communicative level (as for the British complaining about the language skills of the staff please look at yourself first and see how many languages do you speak?). The food at the two main restaurants is quite good, there is always something a bit dfferent every day, quite tasty and pretty much anyone can find something to their liking. It is almost impossible to try everything there is to eat. And again for the British who complain about the food, hope you made it back and have had your lovely traditional mean- fish and chips, and the epic english breakfast! Talk about delightful and sublime cusine. Bon appetite! ;) Another big plus- you can eat anything- veggies, friuts, salads and drink your beverages with ice and you will have no stomache problems. Everything is clean and washed with filtered water, the ice is made with filtered water too!
The pools at the hotel are gorgeous. You can go somewhere with a lot of people or somewhere with almost no people at all. There are places where there is music or facilities for children and different kinds of animation and places where it is quiet if you are not interested and just want to relax.
When it comes to the beach, it is sandy, maybe its not puffy soft white sand but you are not in the Caribbean people! It is known to humankind that Egypt has a rocky sea side, if you are not aware of that you probably missed a class in geography. There is a jacuzzi on the beach which is quite nice jump into when it gets windy.
The animations at the hotel take place everyday, there is live singing and different shows everynight. Nothing spectacular but it is always a fun way to spend your time. There is also a hotel bus which takes you to the center of Hurgada and picks you up after 3 hours, it costs 4 dollars per person and it is probably the most comfortable way to get to the city. You need to book it at the lobby 4 hours before departure.
We were in a superiour room with a view of the pool and a lttle bit of the sea (4109), it was cleaned spotless every day and Farid from housekeeping even came by to check if everything was ok before he left work. We got a big bottle of mineral water everyday, and on the first day a bottle of coke and sprite, for free. It was big and well furnished nothing less than anyone should need.
You can find free wi-fi at the tarass next to the lobby. It works just fine during the day but sometimes in the evening when there are a lot of people the transfer slows down and it doesnt work too well, but at the end of the day you dont go on holiday to sit on facebook :)
It is very useful to get yourself acquointed with the map of the hotel as it is huge and therefore there are a lot of places you might not find if your are just walking around. The Bluemarine Resort for example has an amazing bar which all the all inc. guests can use.
Generally speaking a lovely and relaxing holiday. If you are looking for something more exciting then you should probably go to Sharm el Sheik or find a hotel near the center. We went there with the idea of catching some sun and just relaxing by the pool in a beautiful surrounding and that it exactly what we got. Thank you! We will definitely come back again :) Couple from Poland

Room Tip: If you have the possibility to get a superious room you should but not at a high price. They are mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

My Fiance found this hotel through a major tour operator on the net at a great price, and as we were looking last minute (Within a two week window) this fitted the bill from the comments and reviews already on here.

Having been to all inclusives before you know what to expect, average/good buffet food, average drinks/entertainment etc, basically value for money for the week. however what we got this time around was a complete contrast

The hotel itself is really plush with each different bar taking on a different classy theme, you would never imagine you were in an all inclusive whichever bar you decide to drink in, all were really high spec in regards to decor and had a really nice feel to them.

On arriving we were advised that we would be upgraded to all inclusive Plus which meant that we could eat a la carte in any of the restaraunts without a charge (On the site it stated we could only eat in 1 and pay a small charge for the rest) all of these were of a really good standard as were the buffet options

The 18 pools were great, we only used the lengthy adult pool as it was away from the rowdiness of the main pool, we dont have any children but the children/toddler pools were really good and well protected. We hired a beach bed for two of the days for 17euros per day, we could have just had a sunbed but they were really large and as it was so hot it was perfect to jump in and out of throughout the day, along with waiter service which was good.

It was by far the cleanest hotel i have ever visited as every member of staff doubles up as a cleaner and works through the night every night, the grounds/pools looked like brand new every morning.

Our holiday was great in all aspects, the staff were great and really helpful, the grounds were amazing, the food was top notch, pools were really nice etc etc. You cant go wrong with this hotel at all, we had a great stay and will return :)

Room Tip: I think they tend to group couples and family's together so you should have a decent room, howev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jaz Aquamarine Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaz Aquamarine Resort

Address: South Sahl Hashish Road | Gawish District, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#23 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#33 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#38 Family Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Jaz Aquamarine Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iberotel Aquamarine Resort is made for those who want to spoil themselves with the prefect, relaxed, All inclusive luxurious five-star Egypt holiday. Located on the southern tip of Hurghada with its own unspoiled private beach, this impressive complex features seven restaurants.It boasts over 1,001 comfortable rooms equipped with all the latest facilities, services and amenities as well as the “Mercato” shopping complex and a conference centre for up to 1500 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Otel, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Jaz Aquamarine Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberotel Aquamarine Hotel Hurghada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jaz Aquamarine Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.