We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thinking about return” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jaz Aquamarine Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Jaz Aquamarine Resort to your Saves list
Jaz Aquamarine Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   South Sahl Hashish Road | Magawish District, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 177 Hotels in Hurghada
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Thinking about return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I have to say, this is one of the better hotels in Egypt. Usuall problem with late booking at reception is what one just have to get used to. Just be careful when recieving your room, in first place, we did get a nice balcony room,nothing wrong with that, apart from the room balcony was heading to another hotel. Could live with that as well, but the hotels were separeted only by the road between them. After some talking again at the reception and loosing half day, we did get another room with balcony heading to the gardens and pools. The grounds of the hotel were very nice and clean. Food was just egypt standard. Rooms were pretty spacious and comfortable.Good entertainment team.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,650
    562
    214
    95
    50
See reviews for
1,069
917
43
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This hotel was a bit of a mixed bag. The grounds were pretty and everything was kept clean. The rooms were nice enough and the management and certain staff gave good service. These were the better points. The bad points are as follows:

- As stated, some of the staff were great but then others were awful, no customer service skills at all. Not 5*.
- I got fed up being perved over by the Topaz and four courners staff everytime i walked past. Have they never seen a woman before?
- The tea, coffee and mini bar items were not replaced every day.
- I developed swimming pool rash and noted a dirty plaster by the pool. Lovely.
- The buffet food was awful. Seasoning was hit and miss, some food was bland and some food was over salted. We are vegetarian and had no choice whatsoever. Food was cold and the pasta sauces were cooked in the same pan as the meat sauce. I had bits of mince in my pasta so left it. Most of the week i had to eat plain pasta and a bit of salad.
- The drinks were not good. Made of local alcohol ie paintstripper and squashes.Sickly and horrible.
- The a la cartes had a better atmosphere but the food was again, poor.
- We both developed a dicky tummy and know it was down to the lukewarm buffet food.
- The juices were mixed with squash and the wine was awful.
- One breakfast at the four corners we picked a table for six people as it had a nice view. There was no one else in the restaurant at all at that time. However we were moved to a table for two with no view by an insistant waitor. I couldnt be bothered to argue by that time. The waitor could see that i was annoyed so after that he decided to take anything that i picked up out of my hands and walk with me to my table with it which was annoying despite me saying no.
- There was no peace at the pools as they played zumba tunes at full blast so we stayed at the beach most of the time which was ok. it didnt have the best location and no matter how far out we walked we did not find any fish.
- Hurghada itself was just a touristy place not as nice as Taba where we went previously.
- We spoke to other people on a day trip to Luxor and they were all staying at the premier le reve hotel which they said was amazing. I wish we had gone here instead.
- The hotel is full of Russians who are extremetly rude and dont expect any peace it is full of babies and small children.
- We were hassled every five minutes whether we were on the beach or poolside and as a result we were never allowed to actually relax. "No" seemed to mean "not now but try and ask me again later/tomorrow".
- At night they watered the plants with a manure smelling water. Perhaps it was fertilizer, but I didnt appreciate it spraying me as i walked by on my way to dinner.

Lastly, I feel i need to speak about the thomsons reps who were both excellent, particulary Israa. What a decent bloke and he sorted us out brilliantly when we had a few issues during our stay. He deserves to represent a better hotel.

So in a nutshell not a 5* more like a 4* in appearance and 3* food.

It was so bad that we have been home three days and have already booked another holiday somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hany G, General Manager at Jaz Aquamarine Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Iberotel Aquamarine Resort to spend your holiday.

My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback. We are extremely committed to delivering the perfect holiday experience for each and every guest.

I do apologize that you were dissatisfied during your recent stay with us, I would like to draw your attention that we will take all necessary actions concerning your below comments.

Once again, I apologize for any inconvenience caused to you. Your comments were vital for us and helped us in improving our services and standards. Kindly allow me to invite you back at Iberotel Aquamarine Resort providing an upgrade to the next room category based on hotel availability, complementary extending all VIP amenities and services. Let us assure you this time will we’ll do our utmost to make your stay as pleasant as you were expecting.

Hany Gamaleldin
Hurghada Area Manager
Iberotel Aquamarine Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

With out doubt we can not fault this hotel. The rooms were large with comfortable beds and cleaned to a very high standard. In fact the whole hotel was constantly being cleaned day and night. Plenty of activities for all ages, everyone was catered for. The food choices were good and we would particularly recommend the Italien and Lebanese (we ate until we were stuffed). The cocktail list was extensive far bigger than most all inclusives. The staff were very friendly and the management team were always on hand and making sure all the guests were happy. Yes we were hassled a bit at the beginning for photographs, spas, dives etc when we just wanted to relax but once we politely declined we were left without alone and it wasnt a problem.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is a huge resort on the coast. It is very well run and the 'al a carte' restaurants (where a limited menu is served to you) are a nice touch which breaks the monotony of the buffet. As you would expect the included drinks are all local. Take Out bags available for breakfast and lunch.
The marjority of the staff were very friendly, met a few who were having a bad day. The Spa was very good but haggle hard on the price, avoid the salon and the attached dive centre.
Room was spacious and very comfortable.
Very limited free Wifi in lobby

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

one of the best all over the world ,wowww perfect for familly and alsoo amazing for youth , but the desserts wasnt good and no varaity , its was eastern , for me i like western dessert,, the waterrrr bottle they get the worst water type bottle on earth { masa}

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groenekan, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We consider ourselves spoilt world travelers. And we probably are - knowing others have seen more. I was looking forward to a week of sunshine whilst accepting an all-inclusive experience which is not my favorite set-up to say the least. I don't like large tourist crowds diving onto huge buffets and on drinking binges - after all - it's free (you think?). I don't like the smell of hot meals and barbecues everywhere you go - I don't like standing in line behind a barefoot chubby smelly lady in her swim shorts taking her time to pick the best piece of pork in the trough. I don't like stressed unhappy staff running their feet off to oblige the spoilt and unsatisfied tourist who thinks he's god during his stay in a country beneath his own. So, I was going to have some sun and take the rest for granted. Boy was I wrong.
The Aquamarine staff is professional and forthcoming - the food is fantastic - even when we don't consider the amounts they have to produce. Fresh - well made and the chef knows his herbs. Impressive stuff. We even had fresh crabs grilled one night - delicious. The rooms are spacious and clean with plenty of wardrobes and good beds. The hotel complex is subtly stuffed with a lot of swimming pools - some of them are heated depending on the season. The entire premises is continuously and neatly kept and the set up keeps the experience quite cosy.
To do the hotel and it's staff right I do have one point of criticism. The shops and Spa are independent to the hotel but their presentation stands out negatively. Especially the Spa people roaming the pools for clients are unkind and almost aggressive in their approach. I remember one name: Zizo - I think - he should go and find a job as a second hand car salesman - you know the type. His and his colleagues' tone of voice and body language are way out of line. The Spa does not have fixed prices and you have to make a deal based on trust and good faith. Now, I don't mind that, but my wife does. It is also stupid because she normally takes 3 massages in a week but now she didn't, she didn't feel welcome.
The price we paid all inclusive came to around 1/3 of a skiing trip to Austria. I've had enough snow this year. In all we had a great week with the family and I enjoyed more than just the sunshine only 5 hours from Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Some rooms can be in the shade all day - if you like that ask for such a room - if you don't avo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Recently came back from a week away with one of my best friends.
When we arrived we were very surprised at how big the hotel and grounds were and though we would get lost, we do however find our way very easily. Shame the reception did not give us a map of the layout like they did other guests!
It was great to be able to go to different pool areas depending on whether you were looking for some peace and quiet or some energy to wake you up! The fitness programs were great offered lots of different levels of exercise for those wishing to partake. I have never seen so many people on holiday joining in the aqua aerobics!
The staff were very friendly and happy to get your drinks while you are relaxing on the sun loungers. They are not supposed to ask you for tips – we did give them some though!
The buffet food was OK – I would not say 5 star – I found the variety rather lacking and a few people we got chatting too did say other hotels in the area had a better selection. I would say however book the al carte great service and the food was so much better. There was no extra charge for us with the booking. We were however 2 minutes late for one reservation and got told off and nearly refused entrance!
I was not overly happy with the cleaner – we gave him a very good tip at the beginning, yet he kept hoping for more! Every time we went to the room he seemed to be there and would just follow us in…. I asked him twice to leave so I could use the bathroom. He also asked us to change £6 pound coins and give him £10 we refused and said he needed more coins! 2 days before we were leaving he also said he would not be working (hinting for a tip again). We did not give him anymore and he did work the next couple of days and felt he was a bit crafty!
The gym is rather small for the amount of guests they had on site and I was asked (by a new member of staff) if I could finish using a machine before the maximum time allowance. I questioned why and he said it was very busy and others wished to use the machines, the person on the machine next to me had been on longer! I felt rather embarrassed with the way this was handled and did not feel I could go back. I did complain and they said they would speak to him about it – nothing else was mentioned and I felt it would have been good to have got some feedback or….
The treatment rooms were fab. Fish to nibble on your feet, or a sauna, Jacuzzi to relax before you have some very professional amazing massages.
We do go into town (with a local) which was a 15 minute cab drive. We would not walk down the street on our own as would have had too much hassle. However the harbour is great and you could have a night out here without feeling intimidated.
Overall a nice experience I would consider going back again, but also may try another… if I did travel on my own, which I do sometimes, I would have felt safe doing so.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Jaz Aquamarine Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaz Aquamarine Resort

Address: South Sahl Hashish Road | Magawish District, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Hurghada
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#26 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#33 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#36 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Jaz Aquamarine Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 1001
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iberotel Aquamarine Resort is made for those who want to spoil themselves with the prefect, relaxed, All inclusive luxurious five-star Egypt holiday. Located on the southern tip of Hurghada with its own unspoiled private beach, this impressive complex features seven restaurants.It boasts over 1,001 comfortable rooms equipped with all the latest facilities, services and amenities as well as the “Mercato” shopping complex and a conference centre for up to 1500 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Jaz Aquamarine Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberotel Aquamarine Hotel Hurghada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jaz Aquamarine Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.