We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jaz Aquamarine Resort

Save Saved
You added Jaz Aquamarine Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jaz Aquamarine Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   South Sahl Hashish Road | Gawish District, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 181 hotels in Hurghada
Walsall, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Fab Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Where do i start;

Check in was quick and easy, booked with Thomson, and all guests were taken through to a lovely seating area where we completed required forms, was given a drink and a warm towel to freshen up, then guided to our rooms, baggage followed.

Hotel Grounds: this is an extensive hotel it is massive, but absolutely beautiful , very clean and well maintained, the pools (all 18 of them) are kept clean and offers you so much choice, no need to race out for a sunbed there are plenty available, and if you cannot see any you will soon have one of the staff sort you out, they really do not want you to do anything whilst you are on holiday, even wanting to lay your towel on the sunbed for you, ( kind of hard to actually get used to be treated so well) Waiter around pool constantly checking whether any drinks were required, and remembers so well your choice of drinks, and we found that if we did not order a drink for a while he would make sure he brougt us some English water ( a beer) lol

Room: perfect size very clean and Atef was our cleaner, he made sure some beautiful towel art was left for us each day, and made sure we had plentiful supply of tea, coffee sugar and milk in our room ( a free bottle of water each day is left if you are with thomsons, although this is not mentioned in the brochure, it is informed to you upon arrival as a gift for all thomson customers)

Food: there are 4 al a carte restaurants( again informed Thomson guests can use all 4 upon arrival) and i think there were 3 buffet restaurants, we used four corners as it was quieter, although a table is soon cleared for you upon arrival, be it breakfast lunch or dinner, waiters constantly asking if you needed anything, but not too intrusive, i didnt try the al a carte so cannot comment, but the buffet was good, although i do feel more choices are available in European countries, but we managed to find something nice to eat each night, the bread is divine. Remember there is no bacon or sausage as we are used too due to their culture, however there are alternative sausages and beef bacon, not to our liking so i made do with the omelette at breakfast, beautiful.

Drinks: Your usual home brand spirits beer etc are all inclusive brand names a charge is made, however i found my tipple of Gin n tonic very nice, a little too nice, as the waiter is so aware when your glass is nearly empty that refills appear just as you empty your glass, and i did manage to overdo it on the one occasion, hey i'm on holiday. lol

Beachfront: as we were made aware the sea can be a distance to walk out too at times ( depending on time of day) but we obviously picked the right time on our visit so we could dip our toes in the water, however we are not beach lovers so we purely went along to take a look and be able to say we had paddled in the Red Sea.

We did venture outside the complex to see the few shops, however i found the constant barrage from the shop owners a little too much, they were not rude they were very friendly but this is purely to lull you into conversation and get you inside their shop, but a polite thank you very much but no did do the trick, plus when we finally left and was in the airport there must be 30 stalls with all sorts of Egyptian trinkets, handbags etc for sale, so you really do not need to venture out for gifts if you do not want to.

tips: i had been pre warned that changing the high value currency we get in the uk is difficult so i took some US dollars with me to tip ( you can tip in sterling, but they are unable to change these coins in Egypts banks, so they will ask all Engllish tourists to change them to notes for them, i was also warned that some of the coins are fake so to be careful if i was to change them to notes for them, so i only changed our room cleaner, who only had £5 worth anyway so i was happy to oblige. i tipped the room cleaner everday, and them gave him a 100EP tip on the day we left, however i did not tip the pool waiter or restaurant staff until our last day, i then gave 100Ep to those that had made the difference to my holiday, and although i was informed to tip during the week, i found i still received a very good service without it. ( plus i was uanble to change my EP to a lower denomination so this proved to be the better option anyway)

We managed to go the week the temperatures dropped and the wind picked up, but we still enjoyed our week and managed to come back home with a nice tan.

Would i recommend this hotel to people, in a heartbeat YES... this was our 1st time to Egypt and i do not think it will be our last, a 5* hotel in Egypt so far outweighs the 5* hotels we have been to in Europe and the service in all areas is 2nd to none, they only have 1 thing on their minds and that is to ensure your holiday is a memorable one, and they exceed and deliver in this so well.

Must mention, Chris the Thomson rep, we had a problem with our safe not working in the room, we seemed to have some communication issues with reception as to when this would be fixed, i texted the 24/7 helpline explaining our issue, i received a prompt response from them and the issue was resolved within the hour, the following day Chris then informed us he had spoken to the manager as to our little problem and we were given a late checkout to recompense, a nice little touch for us seeing as we had a early evening pick up, we were then able to enjoy our last day around the pool, then go and shower and change before leaving, Thanks Chris.

Room Tip: We were in room 1176, which was central to the resort and right outside the main pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,612 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,015
    362
    144
    56
    35
See reviews for
698
555
30
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stay period: 2012, end of October. The weather was perfect (air 30-32C, see 28C), we have stayed for a week. It was our first visit to Egypt.
Room must be changed beacuse of location (facing outside) but the new room facing to the central pool was nice. Service was quite good, guys were very helpful and friendly.
Various sunplaces (grass, sand, stone) many towel-corners, nice pools (two of them with slides, some of them heated) are available. Grounds for children and volleyball place fine as well.
Main Restaurant area was a little bit confused - buzz in the hive, sometimes service places are not enough for such a lot of people - Iam afraid - and you have to walk a lot with plates between your table and buffet-lines. Besides it was fine, 1-2 days and you will get used to it. There are many snack bar around pools and beach area so later you have chance to eat something else with your children.(Theirs pasta and pizza are quite poor but other snacks pretty good (hamburger, kofta, rosted chicken, salad and french fries). Drinks are acceptable (fair-enough), bier quite good, icecream for children was very popular.
Aqua-fittness and street-dance hours were funny and pleased. Mini disco is every evening, Turkish-kind was at higher standard in Antalia- in my opinion...
Beach is quite beauty but strange (shoal) the water-level is extra mini when the ebb is coming but we knew it before so weren't so disappointing. A Hotel-owned private pier could be fine for swimmers and snorkelling bacuse the usage of neighbour-hotel's pier wasn't allowed by their guard. It's a really missing object , we had to walk along cc 600 meters in the short water to get the local snorkelling place. Don't worry, walk and you will enjoy fantastic "nemo-fishes" !!!!
We went all-day excursions to Giftun island (snorkelling-ship tour) and Luxor and the Hotel made travel-package (sanwitches, water) so it was fine as well.
I recommend this beauty place to families to relaxing with children, but for advanced divers only with organized trips with extra diving possibilities.

Room Tip: Location of central rooms are better bacuse of long distances but could be a bit noisy for sleepers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Agree with all other reviews about the hotel......fantastic set-up where staff cannot do enough for you and there are staff everywhere tending to the immaculate gardens and rooms.

We had a dedicated cleaner/maintenance person in our block we were in a ground floor superior room 3080 which was a stone's throw away from the quieter large pool with the sunloungers in. The room was in a central location in middle of complex so not too far to beach and on doorstep of both main pools.

The hotel was spotless and the cleaner even cleaned the floor of our block every day with neat disinfectant.

It was further away from the reception and dining rooms but we had the pool bars which served a late continental breakfast between 10 and 12 which consisted of cakes, danish pastries, croissants, bread, preserves and boiled eggs. The main restaurant for breakfast cook fresh omelettes to order and pancakes plus have the hot breakfast selection although they do not serve pork so beef bacon, chicken sausages etc. (which look weird so stuck to omelettes as they are delicious).

Pool bars (3 different ones) all serve meals in the day, burgers, chicken and chips or blue cheese salad, ceaser salad, greek salad etc. and you can help yourself to fresh pizza and pasta also. They all have a self service nescafe, latte, nesquik chocolate machine too. Self Service juices, orange, pineapple, apple and soft drinks which were branded sprite, coke, fanta, schweppes tonic etc. Alcoholic drinks were local but tasted ok....better than some other all inclusives I've been to. I can recommend having brandy in your hot chocolate when the sun sets and it goes a bit chilly....very nice! Try all the different bars as the drinks were better in some than others, they do very nice mojitos with fresh mint and non alcoholic mocktails for kids.

The 2 large pools were heated and really warm which was fantastic for a 7am swim as sometimes these winter sun destinations have pools that are icy cold and cannot be used.

Hotel was full to capacity but we never struggled with sunbeds .......you could get one anytime of day.

Only small downfall was how busy the main restaurants were in the evening and the limited choice of salad available, because I am vegetarian I was put off the fresh cooked pasta because they would use the same ladle in the bolognaise sauce and then use it in the neopolitan sauce too.

The rep recommended using the bluemarine restaurant as it was less busy - this was round by the water park by the hotel shops and gym.

Movie channel showed some great films for kids to watch when chilling out after a full day in the sun.

Didn't get to snorkel as it was quite windy and sea was colder than the heated pools, but can recommend going in the hot tubs on the beach and there was a beach restaurant serving drinks and salads and snacks to order too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This was a late holiday for us, after reading some reviews I was a bit concerned as to what we would find !
However the Thompson flight was ok, not much leg room and always having to buy even a water i find annoying.
We arrived and paid the visa in sterling £40 for the 2 adults 1 child.
Hotel
had comfy sofa and cold flannel filled out forms etc got tag and off we went to find our room, which we managed ok.
Main thing here is its a very different culture !!
You tip for things ie bag drop off, room cleaner, restaurant staff, and in return you get more coffee tea and water, and beautiful towel art, and in the buffet you have a table laid for you in seconds. Thats just how it is and i used £20 in £1 coins for our weeks holiday.
The family room we had 3213 was ideal large comfy lots of storage, only thing was u could here the disco which finished around 2, but it didn't keep us awake, the russians who moved in next door did tho.
The room had tea coffee mini bar. All under £4, but i wish i had packed bounty snickers and crisps so my daughter could have those instead.
bed a bit on the hard side but we found it fine.
The hair dryer worked great and when it broke down was fixed within 1 hour.
shower great i took them at different times and found no loss of power at all.
the air con and heater worked well too.
we left mints for the cleaners and a few pounds over the week. very well cleaned room.
Food
we ate in the main buffet most evenings which was fine we sat to the left of the buffet and it was quite and relaxed there, plenty to choose from - but they are providing food for europeans !
its fresh its not that hot but a lot of choice.
the oranges are some of the best i have ever had
and all the home made bread and roll choices are great flora or lurpack on offer to use.
the fish restaurant was nice but pricy for wine and some fish choices. We were 15 mins late and got told off! but it is 6.30 sharp although it says from 6.30 or from 8.30.
we got a table next to a russian family with 2 boys who were watching cartoons on there ipad with the volume turned up, not ideal for me!
there are a lot of other Europeans here, mostly fine and we had no real problems.
The beach bar (on the beach) serves really nice snack food and supper fast, the view is lovely and its nice to order and it al comes to you, again its not always hot, but the salad was fab.
the animation team
not too good, but occupied us for an hour or so.
the bar in the disco uses proper coke etc, as does the kiosk by the main pools but in the restaurant its often that the syrup mix isnt quite right, and not too tasty.
Swimming
so large heated pools, plenty of sun beds too, the beach does go out a long wasy and is well worth a walk on when the tide is out!!
fantastic rock pools to look at wear beach shoes as lots of star fish !
if you walk to the left of the beach there is a little reef and is perfect for a snorkel close to shore.
also a pier with ladder down to deeper water. the beach is very shallow.
We enjoyed it the sea was lovely and warm, often warmer than the pools.
we went on one trip snorkelling thru thompson was fine, nice boat saw lots of reef and had a nice buffet lunch. took us ages to get back to our hotel but was a good day out.
there are a few tacky shops to the left of the hotel, the perfume shops and the shop workers are vile and should be avoided, being stupid my hubby took daughter back to hotel for the toilet, and i wondered into said shop, they made me a cup of tea, i thought i would smell what they had, but in the end came out with some not too nice room spray just to get away. he became quite aggressive when i said i didnt want anything else, the currency is almost pointless which we took. no one has any Egyptian pound change. And they almost expect sterling.
we could of managed fine without any currency at all.

the hotel is beautiful
i would return
but remember it gets very cold at night!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My daughter has been to this hotel many times and is always singing its praises so we finally decide to give it a go this Christmas.The holiday was faultless!

This facility has over 1000 rooms but at no time does it appear overcrowded.There is an abundance of different sized pools,more than enough equipment e.g.sunbeds and enough variation in the availability and types of menu to cater for all needs.All the main areas have snack bar type menus and there are three different sized buffet areas available as the hotel area is large so you don't need to walk far for a meal.There are also four "a la carte"restaurants for evening meals all themed differently.They include Chinese,Italian,Fish and Lebanese ,all of which we tried.We were disappointed only at the Lebanese but this may have been just a personal thing.The buffet areas were superb at all times and the Christmas food was spectacular.

The service was magnificent in every respect,the staff extremely well trained,charming at all times and providing levels of help and personal service which are seldom experienced especially at these prices.

The swimming pools are many and varied providing opportunities for all ages without compromising the enjoyment of others.The rooms are excellent and serviced every day to an extremely high standard.This is an hotel which provides an excellent holiday experience and we have already rebooked for next Christmas.

Room Tip: The rooms at the Beach end are quieter but are further from the buffet areas.We found that the small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Aquamarine over New Year's (2012/2013). We had a great time, the resort is beautiful especially the pools and the staff are wonderful. The New Year activities were fun. We left very relaxed and rested.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I travelled for a week in December with a friend for a relaxing holiday. This is a great hotel overall and I had a great holiday. The main reason for choosing Egypt was the weather for this time if year and we had blazing sun everyday.
The check in was easy but we were left on our own to try and find our room. We had to stop and ask a cleaner for directions. The hotel was full of German and Russian families.

The Hotel
This was a great hotel and had everything you could have wanted. It was spotlessly clean, the facilities were all you could want and more. The pool area at the Bluemarine was under construction but there was still room for everyone around the pool and no fighting over sunbeds.
The rooms are a decent size and cleaned everyday. The beds were amazingly comfortable. The towel art was brilliant and a nice surprise to come back to. The shower was a bit rubbish and didn't have much power and leaked all over the bathroom floor. I was a little disappointed that for an all inclusive hotel we were only provided with one bottle of water per day. Anything above this we had to pay extra for. The mini bar has a small selection of soft drinks and chocolates at extra charge.

The Staff
The first day we were hassled 27 times in the first hour to ask if we wanted a spa, massage, hair cut, hair colour, manicure, pedicure, quad bike, camel ride, horse ride, scuba dive... The list goes on... Some were quite forceful but most were friendly.
The staff in the restaurant were friendly, some were weird and wanted to 'do anything I asked for as I was from England' and insisted on reserving a table for me for all meal times.
The reception staff were extremely rude and are the main reason I would not return to this hotel. I settled the mini bar bill and paid for the room extension on the final day and even produced the receipts but they were insisting I had to pay this. They wouldn't accept the receipts as evidence as the computer was showing I still had to pay. This was eventually sorted but after they got rude and I demanded that they find Peter who took the payment from me. I didn't even get an apology!!!!!

The Food
The food is ok for an all inclusive. It does get a little repetitive towards the end of the week but there was a selection and the a la carte restaurants for a change and I would highly recommend the Lebanese restaurant but the Italian was a little disappointing and bland.

As 2 women in Egypt it was not safe to leave the hotel. One early evening we went outside the hotel for a little walk and got followed by 2 creepy men which put me off going outside again even through the daytime.

It's a shame the reception staff were so rude as this is the only thing that would stop me returning to this hotel...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jaz Aquamarine Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaz Aquamarine Resort

Address: South Sahl Hashish Road | Gawish District, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#23 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#32 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#37 Family Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Jaz Aquamarine Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iberotel Aquamarine Resort is made for those who want to spoil themselves with the prefect, relaxed, All inclusive luxurious five-star Egypt holiday. Located on the southern tip of Hurghada with its own unspoiled private beach, this impressive complex features seven restaurants.It boasts over 1,001 comfortable rooms equipped with all the latest facilities, services and amenities as well as the “Mercato” shopping complex and a conference centre for up to 1500 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Orbitz, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Jaz Aquamarine Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberotel Aquamarine Hotel Hurghada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jaz Aquamarine Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.