We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Divine!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Upstairs

Upstairs
Downtown El Dahar, Hurghada 84511, Egypt
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 222 restaurants in Hurghada
Cuisines: International
Restaurant details
Debenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Divine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

This is a beautiful restaurant with excellent food. It's a must for us each visit. Definitely worth the treat and not as expensive as you might think.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

100% Recommend
    5
    3
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ballerup, Denmark
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Best in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We had the three course menu (lobster soup, steak and desert), and it was very good. Waiters best in town, just like the food

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in downtown El Gouna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

It was really nice to visit the restaurant and we decided to sit outside the two times we were there. The first time we had camel, which was cooked and the meat was delicious. The servants are very friendly and relaxed, so it was a great experience. We had kids with us and if they preferred not to have bisque held over the fish, this no in way a problem. The restaurant is not cheap, most main courses are around 100-125 LE, but this is comparable to the price-level of the hotels. The other night we had the steak, which was really tender and nice, although it could have included some more vegetables.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“It was good but not in my top 5 in gauna”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

The atmosphere was great and the service was very good.
Concerning the food the lobster bisque was very nice n I took an appetizer that was a raw meat also very good while the steak was too dry and tasteless. But I guess won't go there again cause my hubby hates it.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuss
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“simple”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

My last visit to Hurghada was duriny the Christmas holidy. As my husband and I got boring eating in the hote and the nearby restaurants. We were advised to visit Upstairs restaurant by a friend, so we decided to visit it. Our choice was right. The decoration is simple but nice. Food is tasty served quickly by a friendly waiter. We spend a lovely evening.

  • Visited December 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Upstairs also viewed

Hurghada, Red Sea and Sinai
Hurghada, Red Sea and Sinai
 
Hurghada, Red Sea and Sinai
Hurghada, Red Sea and Sinai
 

Been to Upstairs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Upstairs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.