We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our best holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Palace Resort

Save Saved
You added Old Palace Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Palace Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Sahl Hasheesh, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 180 Hotels in Hurghada
Giza, Egypt
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“our best holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

many thanks to all the team of old palace hotel we enjoyed our stay in your hotel we enjoy your wonderful see and swiming pool view of our room we enjoyed the lovely treatment of the hotel team they want to help us any time by all ways many you realy made our holiday one of the best holidays hope to come back soon to your hotel

Room Tip: i think the room that we can see the beach and the poal is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANAGEMENTOLDPALACE, Manager at Old Palace Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Mrs. Magdy,

Good day from the Old Palace Resort

We would like to thank you very much for the valuable time you have dedicated to write your comments about your stay lately in our hotel. It was a privilege to host you at the Old Palace Resort.

Many thanks for your decent compliments, which will motivate us to maintain and further improve the quality of our services. It was a great pleasure for us to know that the accommodation and services were totally up to your expectations and met your satisfaction.

We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest at our property, and we wish you all the best.

Thank You & Best Regards,


Sherif Sabry
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    98
    39
    10
    3
See reviews for
128
202
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

we have just returned from the old palace in hurghada, I'm sure I don't have to remind anyone that most of these hotels are very under occupied right now & the old palace is no exception. that said I would like to thank sheriff & his staff for being intetive & professional during our stay & he should give his staff a pat on the back for a job well done considering the situation. food at the hotel was satisfactory & there was always some thing different that surprised you, no tummy problems there!!. location is great & your right on the beach with plenty sun beds & fish are coming right up to the waters edge. night life is very quite because this area is out of the way but very safe. check out the plaza next door with the fountains. we upgraded to for 10$ pppn to chalet room, well worth it. you have to remember the hotel caters for Russians normally but i think that might change going by the staff attitudes, who knows! just a quick note to management "get the fountains going again, even if it's only for a couple of hours in the evening" this would make a great focal point & clients in the hotel all said the same thing that they were disappointed they were not running. wifi will cost you dearly so be warned as its not free like most hotels!! to finish my overall experience was very good & would recommend this hotel for a quite relaxing vacation.

Room Tip: chalet rooms are good value, sea view rooms 25$ pppn
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANAGEMENTOLDPALACE, Manager at Old Palace Resort, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Good day from the Old Palace Resort

We would like to thank you very much for the valuable time you have dedicated to write your comments about your stay lately in our hotel. It was a privilege to host you at the Old Palace Resort.

Many thanks for your decent compliments (especially from the Front Office staff), which will motivate us to maintain and further improve the quality of our services. It was a great pleasure for us to know that the accommodation and services were up to your expectations and met your satisfaction. We will seriously consider your comment on the fountains operation.

We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest at our property, and we wish you all the best.

Thank You & Best Regards,


Sherif Sabry
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

My husband and l have just returned from the Old Palace Resort in Sahl Hasheesh about 30mins transfer from Hurghada airport. We went there because our hotel we had booked had closed due to the troubles Egypt is experiencing at the moment and how lucky were we to find ourselves in the Old Palace Resort.
The staff are just brilliant, from the management down to the pool attendants and even the gardners, always smiling and continuing to assist there guests to ensure a good time is had by everyone. The food was of a high standard for the most part, but because of the reduced
numbers in the hotel the a la carte restaurants were closed, so everyone ate outside under the stars for the evening meal, which was really nice, although sometimes it meant the food wasn't as hot as we would have liked but they put that right when it was brought to there attention.
The rooms are of a good standard, very clean and lots of space, the Olympic size pool is fabulous, the childrens pool runs alongside it but is cut off by a low rise wall so they don't interfere with the adult swimmers, well that's the idea..!!!! There is a lot of room around the pool too which is great and a few steps takes you onto the beach, having been to other resorts in Egypt l could not believe the easy access into the water here. lts not a divers paradise maybe but there are plenty of fish to see when you go snorkelling. There is a long promenade which takes you around the bay of Sahl Hasheesh so you can stroll along over to the long pier which is further to one end or if you like maybe take a golf buggy, a bicycle or even a motorised scooter...!! The animation team are a friendly bunch and good with the children but there evening entertainment is largely at the expense of the guests who volunteer to go on stage. We only spent one week in the Old Palace but it was a memorable week and we will definitely return next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANAGEMENTOLDPALACE, Manager at Old Palace Resort, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Good day from the Old Palace Resort

We would like to thank you very much for the valuable time you have dedicated to write your comments about your stay lately in our hotel. It was a privilege to host you at the Old Palace Resort.

Many thanks for your decent compliments, which will motivate us to maintain and further improve the quality of our services. It was a great pleasure for us to know that the accommodation and services were up to your expectations and met your satisfaction and we will definitely consider your comments on the food temperature and the animation.

We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest at our property, and we wish you all the best.

Thank You & Best Regards,


Sherif Sabry
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Just back from a relaxing vacation in this lovely hotel , thank you for all hotel staff specially sherif Sabry & Natalia for Front Desk Reception. They were very helpfull at check in.
The animation team Max & Mizo were very friendly and worked hard to make our vacation joyfull and every night there were a lovely show made by Mizo, Max, Camila & Mado only 4 but they worked as they were 20.
Also Hassan at restaurant was very helpful for finding alternatives.
Speacial Thanks for GM Mr. Khaled Fathy for this lovely vacation & Waiting your offer for Bayram Thank you again. Walid El Hadidi

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANAGEMENTOLDPALACE, Manager at Old Palace Resort, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Mr. Hadidi,

Good day from the Old Palace Resort

We would like to thank you very much for the valuable time you have dedicated to write your comments about your stay lately in our hotel. It was a privilege to host you at the Old Palace Resort.

Many thanks for your decent compliments, which will motivate us to maintain and further improve the quality of our services. It was a great pleasure for us to know that the accommodation and services were totally up to your expectations and met your satisfaction.

Eid Adha offers are relaeased. For information, please contact us onto 012 8311 0303 or via email at reservations@oldpalaceresort.com

We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest at our property, and we wish you all the best.

Thank You & Best Regards,


Sherif Sabry
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Just back from lovely vacation in your hotel , thank you for all hotel staff , sherif Sabry , Natalia , animation team , mezo , mado , max , pool bar staff , restaurant staff and GM Mr. Khaled

Waiting your next offer for eid ADHD

Thank you again

Hatem Hazzaa

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANAGEMENTOLDPALACE, Manager at Old Palace Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Mr. Hazzaa,

Good day from the Old Palace Resort

We would like to thank you very much for the valuable time you have dedicated to write your comments about your stay lately in our hotel. It was a privilege to host you at the Old Palace Resort.

Many thanks for your decent compliments, which will motivate us to maintain and further improve the quality of our services. It was a great pleasure for us to know that the accommodation and services were totally up to your expectations and met your satisfaction.

We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest at our property, we are looking forward to welcoming you soon upon Eid Al Adha and we wish you all the best.

Eid offers will be released soon on our facebook page and through our reservation channels. Your contact details are saved in our guest data bank, so you will receive a telephone call or an email from us with this regards.

Thank You & Best Regards,


Sherif Sabry
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
2 reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Hotel Old Palace Resort, the period 18.08.-31.08.2013.
The hotel consists of a central building with two wings A and B which includes: lobby, restaurant Alkasr, standard, superior, deluxe, junior and master bedrooms and three bungalow buildings where Chalet rooms are. Within the hotel is a spacious terrace, a large swimming pool near the beach and a small pool compared bungalow buildings!

Lobby
POSITIVE:
Lobby is harmonious architectural and construction-technical furnishings.
NEGATIVE:
At the lobby and the whole hotel there is not available wi-fi free internet!

Restaurant Alkasr
POSITIVE:
The restaurant is a harmonious architectural and construction-technical furnishings.
NEGATIVE:
Uniform and scarce food!

Hallway A and B wings
POSITIVE:
None.
NEGATIVE:
The discrepancy in the appearance of the hall in which they were cracked and damaged tiles against the marble in the lobby and in the restaurant Alkasr!

Standard room with garden view, room number 1358
POSITIVE:
View on the garden, small pool and partial sea view.
NEGATIVE:
Dilapidated and ruined furniture in the room, on the terrace and in the bathroom!

Service of hotel staff
POSITIVE:
None.
NEGATIVE:
The staff in the restaurant Alkasr and the bar at the large pool is corrupted and pushy!

Beach
POSITIVE:
Clean and sandy beach, the presence of dressing up tent.
NEGATIVE:
The absence of a bar on the beach, a lack of table by the beach chairs and the showers on the beach.

Sea
POSITIVE:
Clean sea.
NEGATIVE:
Uncultivated land under the sea and the presence of sea weeds.

The overall impression of the hotel
POSITIVE:
None.
NEGATIVE:
The hotel which was built in 2008. is still under construction, this refers to the Chalet rooms and the renovation of incorrigible in standard, superior, deluxe, junior and master bedrooms.

Guests
POSITIVE:
None.
NEGATIVE:
Most of the guests, nearly 90% are Russians who behave arrogantly and Arabs who are rude and acting impolite!

RATING: Hotel Old Palace Resort according to official categorization has 5 stars and deserves not more than a 3+ stars!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANAGEMENTOLDPALACE, General Manager at Old Palace Resort, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Mr. Georgiev.
Thank you for your valuable comments, kindly be advice that all your comments has been addressed to the concern Team members and already some corrective action has been taken,
For our Dear future Guest , please be assure that that Old Place team members are always available around the clock to receive and handle your comments at once, please make sure you speak to us immediately and we assure you that we will make it happen what’s ever takes,
Once again please be sure that your comments is highly appreciated as it always guide our performance to the perfection.

Best Regards,
Khaled Fathy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Well after the will we, wont we be going, scenario a month prior to departure, it was wonderful to arrive at The Old Palace. and it really is a palace , this Hotel in my opinion ranks as one of the best I have ever stayed in around the world, situated in the new resort of Sahl Hasheesh this is set to become a destination of choice for Egypt. Clean, well Kept and specifically designed with tourists in mind Sahl Hahseesh is possible the cleanest location for a hotel I have ever been to. The hotel sits on a beach 24 miles long on a curved bay, just 30 feet from the beach in about 4 feet of water which you can wade out too, sits a small Coral reef, complete with its own Clown Fish and anemone, an truly awesome sight in the wild. Great for snorkelling.

Don't let the Political situation in Egypt put you off going, it is a very safe area and you will see this as you approach the hotel via a brand new road that has security barriers and rising bollard for the entrance to the hotel, security and local police protect the area 24 hours a day

We were greeted at the most stunning reception by Mr Sherif Sabry, whom I felt I already knew due to emailing the hotel the week before travelling asking about a room upgrade, he welcomed me and my wife by name, and we were served a very refreshing welcome drink, the hotel has since started to provide cold towels as well, he then told us we had a choice of rooms and we chose 1332 a Junior Suite on the corner of the Hotel, a stunning room with a fantastic view over the garden, swimming pool and the bay around Sahl Hasheesh, everything I had asked for previously by email had been catered for and within 10 minutes of being in the room Mr Sabry called to make sure everything was ok. It most certainly was :)

The restaurant is run by "Hassan", and having spent 14 years in the catering industry myself, I can honestly say he has a superb manner with people and his team of staff work with a very cheerful attitude, the restaurant is kept spotlessly clean, and plates are collected as soon as you have finished, its also very quiet in their which I have still not managed to figure out how they do that.

Having been on a couple of All Inclusive Holidays in Europe, and a couple of years ago in Cuba, you don't have that high expectations of the food, how wrong can you be, the food was superb, with a rich variety of dishes, and the hotel will cater for personal dietary needs including Gluten and wheat free. Breakfast and Lunch are served in the restaurant and dinner is served by the pool overlooking The Red Sea, very civilised, Head Chef, Ahmed Ali is always in attendance at meal times canvassing the guests opinion on the food and asking if they can do anything better, a theme that runs through the entire staff. The hotel has an Al a Carte Italian restaurant which we used once during our stay and the food is again superb here as well.

The General Manager, Mr Khaled Fathy is very much "Around" the hotel, he loves talking to the guests and has a real passion about where he want his hotel to be in the next couple of years. His English is perfect and he is a very interesting man to talk to and will take the time out to talk at any time no matter how busy he is. this is an attitude he has also instilled in his staff, they have the same passion and belief in the hotel and everyone without exception, from the Restaurant Manager to the towel boy at the pool, asks if everything is ok with your stay, if it isn't they will get something done about it. All the staff we spoke to have a genuine respect for the Man in charge and it shows, rarely have I seen in a hotel the kind of service you get here.

The Pool Bar and the Lobby Bar, both serve drinks from 10am - 11:pm we used the pool bar during the day and Lobby bar in the afternoon and evening, our favourite was the Lobby Bar, the staff in that bar are again very attentive, and have time to talk to guests, Mohammed, Ahmed, & Hossam are all a great asset to the team here, I know most of them don't like to be named as they work as a team but there are just some that you have to, I have never been on holiday before and ended up drinking cocktails, which shows the fun that this bar can generate, in my opinion a much under-used area of the hotel. The hotel serves bottled Coca Cola, Sprite, Schweppes Tonic & Soda and Fanta as part of the all inclusive standard, not many hotels do that.

To sum up: A spotlessly clean, efficient, well run hotel with excellent staff, who have great morale, and led by an excellent management team, who have managed to instill a great customer service ethic in the staff, a great location, great food, great surroundings and all inclusive, we had a fabulous time, so much so we are going back in November.

Their are plans on-going for a beach side restaurant, and bar which will only add to the appeal of this hotel. Sitting beachside whilst sipping your G&T, heaven !!!

Could you ask for any more from a hotel, I doubt it, however reading some of the reviews someone will always find something, all I can say to them is you must be looking for it :)

Room Tip: Junior Suites are well worth the upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANAGEMENTOLDPALACE, Manager at Old Palace Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Good day from the Old Palace Resort

We would like to thank you very much for the valuable time you have dedicated to write your comments about your stay lately in our hotel. It was a privilege to host you at the Old Palace Resort.

Many thanks for your decent compliments, which will motivate us to maintain and further improve the quality of our services. It was a great pleasure for us to know that the accommodation and services were totally up to your expectations and met your satisfaction.

We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest at our property, we are looking forward to welcoming you in November and we wish you all the best.

Thank You & Best Regards,


Sherif Sabry
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Palace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Palace Resort

Address: Sahl Hasheesh, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#6 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#7 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Palace Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Otel so you can book your Old Palace Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Palace Hotel Hurghada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Palace Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.