We went to this hotel becouse of good reviews and we know that if we go to Egypt we must go only to 5stars hotel. For Egypt what we listen it is 5 stars hotel standars, but we have o lot of experiences from europian hotels and The Old Palace in Europe would be 3stars hotel.
If we come, the receptionist told us we need to wait about 6 hours to be accomodate it. We say yes becouse we do not know that he wants money for himself. If he notifies that we are ready to wait, he told us that the hotel has free capacity and he gave us the room.We have all inclusive and come early in the morning and the receptionst told us that he gives us bracelet for food and drink after breakfest, becouse it is not allow go there first day.....
Room was good ( little dirt at bathroom - bathtub and bed covers -blanket) and big, but we have view to the desert, it was ok, but in front of this under the balcony was big air-conditioner regenator and was still very noisy (it is not very pleasue all holiday listen whirr noise. I wanted to have a shower but it did not work. Only a little very hot water, so we need to go 2 days to front desk to please to repair it. They still told us, it is no problem, but nobody repair it. After 2 days it was good.
We were there 7 nigts and 2 days the wifi acces does not work, receptionist always told us: mayby tomorow...
The food was good, specially pasta. Drink of all inclussive is horible, cola light was only one day, wine was absolutely not for drink, the juices vere too sweet.
Beach is wonderful and there were free camp beds. The staffer on the beach cleaned very good, but they had sometimes an argues and shout at each other which disturb. Swiming pool is good, but we have cards to change towels every day. We went from beach about 6 o clock and nobody was there.
So hotel for Egypt category is very good with some problems - wifi, shower, view, but for the money it is quite good accomodation, especialy for relax at the beach ideal. But be prepare, it si absolutely not 5 stars service in europian style, for egyptian one of the best
pay extra money for seaview
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Report response as inappropriate
Good day from the Old Palace Resort
We would like to thank you very much for the valuable time you have dedicated to write your comments about your stay lately in our hotel and let us express our regret to your good self for the inconveniences you have mentioned in these comments. However, it is a great opportunity for us to trace and recover any eventual weaknesses we might be encountering. Meanwhile, we do believe that the mentioned incidents resulted from some unusual shortfalls and do not really express how our service truly is.
At The Old Palace Resort, we always give a great attention to any comments or concerns raised by our valuable guests and take them on the highest serious levels. Therefore, we have thoroughly investigated all incidents reported by your good self, and we would like to highlight some points;
- There might be some differences between the European hotels classification standards and the Egyptian one. However, the Egyptian Ministry of Tourism is currently reevaluatiing the whole system to provide a service in all Egyptian hotels that matches the up to date international one, taking into consideration the very competitive prices offered by the Egyptian hotels.
- As it seems that you travel often, you eventually know that worldwide the check in time is at 2 PM and the check out time is at 12 PM, except when there is an availability. Being told you may have to wait by the reception upon arrival, was because you arrived very early in the morning (around 8 AM), your booked room type (standard room) was occupied. Then fotunately, an inhouse guest made an unexpected early check out from a standard room. So we were able to offer you an early check in.
- As well the All Inclusive package you booked does not include the breakfast on the first day.
- Room view is related to the booked room type. All standard rooms have a view to the garden. And an upgrade to a sea view room is against a supplement. However, we immediately respond to any room change request with many facilities.
- WIFI service was still in the experimental operation, that is why it was not brochured and was offered for free. However, it is fully operated at the moment.
Again the Hotel Management is expressing its regret for the occurrence of any
incidents that caused your dissatisfaction. Although, this stay in the Old Palace Resort did not meet your satisfaction, we sincerely hope that such experience will not deter you from returning
to our resort in the future. So we are looking forward to welcoming you again on many
more occasions very soon. Furthermore, if you would be so kind as to contact us the next time you book our hotel. We will do our best to ensure that your stay is as pleasant and enjoyable as you may wish.
Thank You & Best Regards,
Front Office Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.