We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden 5 Emerald Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Golden 5 Emerald Resort to your Saves list
Golden 5 Emerald Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Golden 5 City Hotels, Shashl Hasheesh Road, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 178 Hotels in Hurghada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

Good room service staff and the restaurant is very good specially Italian restaurant and the doctor is so helpful and good man, he refused getting any money from me .. So I advice all of who want to go to the red sea to stay in this resort

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden5City, Manager at Golden 5 Emerald Resort, responded to this review, September 24, 2014
Dear Mr. Ahmed,

We kindly would like to seize this opportunity to thank you very much for your kind review. We are glad that you and your family stayed at our hotel as our valued guests and we hope that we can warmly welcome you again!

In case you have any further question or booking request for your next trip, kindly contact us at any time through assistgr.mgr@princessegypthotels.com or reservation@princessegypthotels.com.
We are assisting you!

We wish you and your family all the best for the furture!

With warm and sincere regards
Your Golden 5 Emerald Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    25
    20
    16
    22
See reviews for
50
25
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014 via mobile

Terrible hotel overall,verry bad food with no variety,very bad staff(you must pay money to get a good service), zero cleaniness, absolute dirtiness, people of low medium class, staff unfriendly, no fresh juices serve( only powder juices like tang),trust me it is worthless, i would recommend to save your money or give it to some kind of charity or an orphanage..... the end....

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden5City, Manager at Golden 5 Emerald Resort, responded to this review, September 21, 2014
Dear Ahmed A.,

Thank you very much for sharing your impressions about our hotel. We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you might have encountered during your stay at our Hotel.

Kindly let us comments on some points you mentioned in your review:

Concerning the food and beverage, kindly be informed that we regret, that the you didn’t specify the items, variety and other F&B comments in terms of taste or variety of outlets as the hotel and the dine around system of all our 7 hotels is open wide with large variety of food menus, cuisines and F&B outlets, putting into consideration that the three main buffet meals are rich of many food items reached to be different stations including healthy buffet, kids menu, life cooking station, sweets station, fruits station, pasta station, bakery station and soup station in addition also to A-La Carte restaurants (Indian, Italian (Classic), German, Russian, International, Mediterranean and Italian (Buffet Style with Pizza) cuisine). Guests can make their own reservation at any specialty restaurant of their choice. Additionally on each pool and on the beach are bars which offer daily fresh cooked snacks like burgers, pizza, vegetable sauté and sweets. Anyway for sure you can always find hot, healthy, tasty and fresh and clean food.

We admit that the room didn’t correspond to your standards. We apologize for the poorly prepared room on the arrival day, your remarks have already been transmitted to the HK manager for the implementation of stricter control of the staff work.

Why didn’t you contact GR to change the room? This issue could have been solved very quickly.

Your remarks about the staff have already been passed to the General Manager; corresponding trainings have been conducted to the staff. We apologize for the inappropriate behavior of the personnel.

Anyway we do apologize for any inconveniences and we hope that you will never experience negative emotions in the future.

Best regards,
The team of Emerald Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

I spent 7 days at that hotel ...and that was THE WORST VACCATION EVER!

1-ACCOMMODATION : very old furniture i had a broken chair, broken hair dyer, electric devices are mended with green tapes, bad air conditioning, no baby cots, dirty carpet hiding broken floor tiles, bed linens are not well cleaned with cuts and worn out, fridge not working proprly.

2-DINING: no variation same food every day, one or more rotten food (it was tomato, hotdog, eggplant ) that made 2 family members suffer from sever vomiting and dearrhia, poor taste, no refills once the food finishes so you have to go really early.
i tried the Italian A La Carte the only Italian thing was the music.
snacks are very poor , beverages are hot , no ice available , no cola for 80% of the time , no coffee or Nescafe , lowest grade tea is served, no fresh juices , and the only soft drinks available are orange tang and apple flavored water, no glasses all drinks served in plastic cups

3- leisure facilities: aqua park :old ,small , long waiting lines.
pools : with broken tiles , dirty floors mostly algea ( black thing on the ground)
animations: no animation team i didn't spot any one during my 7 days stay, no music in any bar or even on the swimming pool no any type of music or entertainment AT ALL ! u have to go to paradise hotel for disco which starts at 11 p.m
billiard :they say on their site its free for once but they called 2 A.M to ask for 25 l.e charge for using the billiard for 1 hour

4-STAFF : RUDE not just behaving in a rude manner but the can shout at you to stand in a line as if you were at school or something , they speak bad words about foreigners in Arabic so they don't understand, they wont respond to your requests even if you were super polite you have to show them money!

5- OTHER GUESTS: mostly LOW STANDARD EGYPTIANS whose manners are really troublesome they fight for food ,take unnecessary loads of food, can harass you during your stay at the pool or beach by throwing water or verbally

6-ELECTRICITY: it cuts out several times a day with abnormal frequency (that doesn't happen at other resort nearby)

7-this is by NO WAY A 5 star resort maximum 3 !!

Room Tip: check a/c , pluming , furniture and fridge first
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden5City, Manager at Golden 5 Emerald Resort, responded to this review, October 4, 2014
Dear Diana,

Kindly we would like to seize this opportunity to thank you for your review.

We regret that the hotel did not meet your expectations and that you received negative impressions.

Kindly we would like to comment on some points of your review:

1. Accommodation:

We would like to apologize for the poor performance of requests to clean and to fix something in the room and for the case with the baby cot. We have already informed the chief engineer and the HK manager about the above mentioned cases. Concerning the linen, the Hotel management is in the current of the situation, because of this new linen will come into circulation soon.

2. Dining:

Upon arrival day you received the information that Golden 5 has 7 Main Restaurants, 7 Special Restaurants (German, Russian, International / Food Court, Mediterranean, Italian, Indian, Italian (Classic), BBQ and Sea Food) and around 16 Bars, which you can visit free of charge.
Each buffet of the Main Restaurants (breakfast – lunch – dinner) consist of different chafing dishes plus fresh salad station, salad buffet, dessert buffet, pasta station, live cooking station, health food station and kids corner.

Additional on each pool and on the beach are bars which offer daily snacks like burgers, pizza, vegetable sauté and sweets

3. Leisure Facilities:

Regarding the Aqua Park, a new one is going to be opened which will surpass all the present in Hurghada by the area and the diversity of the water slides.

Concerning the animation, kindly note that many animators are attending on the beach and at the pools the day and night programs and shows, such as aqua aerobics, different club dances, kids’ entertainments, volleyball, darts and many more.

4. Rude Staff

Your very important remarks about the staff have been already submitted to the General Manager, corresponding trainings have been conducted to the staff. We apologize for the inappropriate behavior of the personnel. Regarding the situation at the reception, none of the guests complained of the behavior of the reception.

5. Other guests

Unfortunately, we sincerely regret your negative impressions of our Arabic guests, who interrupt mainly your positive emotions with disrespectfulness and who showed up ruthless to you. In case any guest misbehaves and acts against the hotel rules or interferes in the enjoyable moments of our guests, the hotel has and takes its rights to undertake serious actions accordingly to guarantee the health, safety and relaxation of all our valued guests.

6. Electricity Cuts

We would kindly inform you that the Electricity is provided to all Hurghada Hotels by “The Egyptian Electricity Holding Company” which is being supplied through Red Sea Governorate.
Emergency generators are available at Hurghada properties to sustain the power supply during the cut periods which were limited and un-frequent.

Unfortunately, Hurghada City was facing a very difficult situation since end of August due to the frequent power cuts in addition to fluctuating current (voltage).

The Golden 5 City management was undertaking taking numerous actions to overcome the challenging interruptions of power supply for the comfort of our guest, but due to this severe repetitive power cuts, our air-conditioning system failed to supply our guests with a satisfactory feeling of acceptable weather temperature.

Add to this that generators do not cover Air Conditioner units since it is emergency power!
Kindly let us ask you if you contact the Management or Guest Relation Team to mention to them any negative impression about you stay. They would be very glad to assist you with any request, claim or question to make your stay the most enjoyable one.

Last but not least, we do repeat our apologies and we are thankful as we greatly appreciate any comments made by you and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality of standard and please rest assure that all comments have been taken with great concern and welcoming constructive criticism as this enable us to constant improvement in the quality of our standard of service and ultimately guest satisfaction.

We wish you and your family all the best for the future and may hope to get another chance to convince you about the service improvements.

With warmth and sincere regards

Your Golden 5 Emerald Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montville, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

I took my family to Egypt this summer hoping for nice vacation ,it was a nightmare
Rooms are dirty and stink ,food if they call it human food made us all sick I was calling delivery most of the time and eating out the resort. Customer service never exist lies after lies.Workers not trained to accept any question. Finally we had to leave 2 days prior our checking out date paying more than 600 hundred dollars penalty for our airfare tickets to Cairo.
I strongly DO NOT RECOMMEND IT to my worse enemy.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden5City, Manager at Golden 5 Emerald Resort, responded to this review, September 21, 2014
Dear Gamil M.

Thank you for your opinion. We are very sorry that your second visit to Golden5 City didn’t live up to your expectations and you had to face some negative moments. Let us comment on some points of your review.

We admit that the hotel didn’t correspond to your standards. We apologize for the poorly prepared aqnd stink room on the arrival day, your remarks have already been transmitted to the HK manager for the implementation of stricter control of the staff work.

Why didn’t you contact GR to change the room? This issue could have been solved very quickly.

For the diversity of the menu AI concept offers 7 main restaurants of Golden 5 City as well as 9 A la Carte restaurants specializing in a certain national cuisine.

Your remarks about the staff have already been passed to the General Manager, corresponding trainings have been conducted to the staff. We apologize for the inappropriate behavior of the personnel. Regarding the situation at the reception, none of the guests complained of the behavior of the reception.

Anyway we do apologize for any inconveniences and we hope that you will never experience negative emotions in the future.
Best regards,
The team of Emerald Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KG,SERBIA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

The hotel is very nice,with sweet and beauty pool.The beach is amazing,clear wather,good stuf.Food is excelent.We are Jeca and Nesa from Serbia and for us everything is 5 star!Room is with pool wiev,clean and good size.Emerald is the best of Golden 5 hotels in Hurghada.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden5City, Manager at Golden 5 Emerald Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Dear Nesa and Dear Jeca,

We would like to express our thanks for your kind words and that you take your timw to write a review. We are very glad that you was satisfied especially the beach, food, staff and pool.

Also we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you as soon as again in our hotel.

Kindly let us ask you to contact us under assistgr.mgr@princessegypthotels.com and inform us about your booking, requests and questions. We would be glad to assist you at any time!

We wish you and your family all the best for the furture and we are awaiting you!

With warm regards

Your Emerald Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Please review the photos and judge your self, this is some photos for a 5 stars hotel room .this is a pool view room and it was really my worst holiday ever starting from the reception people ending with the house keeping, moving through the restaurants, food, the very bad tasting snacks .

It is a Nightmare hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden5City, Manager at Golden 5 Emerald Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Dear Marwan,

Thank you very much that you take your time to write a review about our Hotel and we sincerely regret that the hotel did not met your expectations and that you received negative impressions.

Kindly we would like to comment on the 3 main points of your review:

We would like to apologize for the poor performance of requests to clean and to fix something in the room and for the case with the baby cot. We have already informed the chief engineer and the HK manager about the mentioned photos and took strict messurements accordingly.

Concerning the complaint about the food, kindly be informed that we regret, that you didn’t specify the items, variety and other F&B comments in terms of taste or variety of outlets as the hotel and the dine around system of all our 7 hotels is open wide with large variety of food menus, cuisines and F&B outlets, putting into consideration that the three main buffet meals are rich of many food items reached to be different stations including healthy buffet, kids menu, life cooking station, sweets station, fruits station, pasta station, bakery station and soup station in addition also to A-La Carte restaurants (Indian, Italian (Classic), German, Russian, International, Mediterranean and Italian (Buffet Style with Pizza) cuisine). Guests can make their own reservation at any specialty restaurant of their choice. Additionally on each pool and on the beach are bars which offer daily fresh cooked snacks like burgers, pizza, vegetable sauté and sweets. Anyway you can always find hot, healthy, tasty and fresh and clean food.

Concerning the Reception staff we regret that you did not specify any comment which made you dissatisfied with the staff.

Kindly let us ask you if you contact the Management or Guest Relation Team to mentioned to them any negative impression about yoru stay. They would be very glad to assist you with any request, claim or question to make your stay the most enjoyable one.

We wish you and your family all the best for the future and may hope to get another chance to convince you about the service improvements.

With warm regards
Your Emerald Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Very very bad hotels...crouded, very bad foods , dirty pools, old rooms..only three slides in the aqua ...only one small slide for the kids, old furniture.The only good thing is the staff in the loopy caffe.
There no snakes at the pools..no ice cream..the Pepsi is tasteless. It the last to choose this hotel

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden5City, Manager at Golden 5 Emerald Resort, responded to this review, October 25, 2014
Dear Mr. Omar,

Best Greetings from Golden 5 City!

First and almost kindly let us seize this opportunity to thank you very much for choosing our Hotel for your stay, that you had been our valued guests and for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.

We are glas that you were satisfied with our staff of the lobby Bar.

Also we sincerly regret that our hotel did not meet your expectations and left negative impressions.

Therefore we kindly would like to comment on some points which made your rather unsatisfied during your stay with us.

Concerning the food we kindly regret that you did not specify the items, variety and other F&B comments in terms of taste or variety of outlets as the hotel and the dine around system of all our 7 hotels provides a large variety of food menus, cuisines and F&B outlets, putting into consideration that the three main buffet meals are rich of many food items reached to be different stations including healthy buffet, kids menu, life cooking station, sweets station, fruits station, pasta station, bakery station and soup station in addition also to A-La Carte restaurants (Indian, Italian (Classic), German, Russian, International, Mediterranean and Italian (Buffet Style with Pizza) cuisine). Guests can make their own reservation at any specialty restaurant of their choice. Additionally on each pool and on the beach are bars which offer daily fresh cooked snacks like burgers, pizza, vegetable sauté and sweets. Anyway the guest for sure can always find hot, healthy, tasty and fresh and clean food. Also please rest assured that no food of the previous day or from the same day is offered once again at another meal time, which is clearly shown as we offer daily complete different variety of buffets.

Additionally please note that we took the absence of ice cream which you mentioned in our serious concideration and offer already free ice cream at the pool bar and against charge at the Lobby Bar at Golden 5 Emerald Resort.

Concerning the slides, please note that we have 5 slides for adults at the Aqua Park (not 3) and 1 for the kids. Additionally please note that we are building a new huge Aqua Park which will include around 42 slides, pools, restaurants and bars and other facilities to make it even more attractive and enjoyable for our valued guests.

Please rest assured that we take all your valuable comments in our serious concinderation - also about our rooms - to improve our service and our facilities.

We wish you all the best for the furture!

With warmth regards
Your Golden 5 Emerald Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden 5 Emerald Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden 5 Emerald Resort

Address: Golden 5 City Hotels, Shashl Hasheesh Road, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#48 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#50 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden 5 Emerald Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 421
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Category:5 Stars Check in: 14:00 Check out: 12:00 Location:Located left at the entrance of the city. 200 meters from the beach, 40 meters from the diving center and the fish restaurant.Accommodation:Main building 4 floors: 421 rooms (average 36 sq m2),including:4 suites Most rooms and suites have a balcony and are equipped with: satellite - TV ,individual adjustable air condition.Bathrooms feature bathtub, weighting scale, telephone, Hairdryer, Minibar, safe box, daily clean linen & electricity: AC 220 volts Restaurants& Bars:"Menagerie" main restaurant, 480 Seat Cuisine: International Serving Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner ,a la carte, Mediterranean Restaurant: dinner, "Moon light" coffee shop,Cuisine:snacks & beverages.Hours: 24 hours "Rainbow" Billiard bar "All Inclusive" Pool bar "All Inclusive"Cuisine: snacks & beverages sunset Pool Bar "All Inclusive" Beach Bar "All Inclusive" Services & Facilities:24-hour room service 24-hour concierge,Laundry service: charged as per consumption , price list available in the room Conferences Facility: Paradise conference room:capacity of 300 persons , Paradise VIPs Lounge: 150 seats.Internet cafe ,Limousine service Beauty salon ,Lobby shops ,On request doctor, Tour & travel desk Babysitting on request Pets: are not allowed ,Pharmacy Super market Safe box available at the reception . Recreational Leisure Facilities:Main swimming pool (not heated)Aqua Park Golden 5:daily from 9:00 am - sun set- Free for all guest of Golden 5 city hotels including- 5 slides ,- 1 heated swimming pool,- 3 heated pools for children with slides ,- Sandy area for children with slides,- 2 all inclusive bars.Discotheque "Night Flight": (free entrance , charged drinks) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Golden 5 Emerald Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden 5 Emerald Hotel And Beach Resort
Golden 5 Emerald Hotel & Beach Hurghada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden 5 Emerald Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.