We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service with a smile -Nothing is ever too much trouble :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Y Mar Ivory Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sol Y Mar Ivory Suites to your Saves list
Sol Y Mar Ivory Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   El Kawsar District, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 175 Hotels in Hurghada
Certificate of Excellence
SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Service with a smile -Nothing is ever too much trouble :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Situated close to the airport and a short 5 minute walk from the shops this hotel is ideal for those who want a quality living space with fabulous service at very competitive rates. I will NEVER use another hotel in Hurghada! Quite simply the best!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    37
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
28
37
32
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Giza, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

we stayed for 3 nights its very clean and peaceful and the staff was very friendly and helpful.
room was very comfort and good furniture and i was surprised of its huge areaand it has big kitchen. the view is on the road.
The pool is small and the water is cold as ice and almost no sun (in shadow).
i was going to take diving course so i didn`t need sea in the hotel.but its far from the sea.
the resturant was very good,they got the basic in the breakfast,i have ordered dinner in the room
(pasta & pizza) tasty and cheap.
it is near from airport and walk road (el mamsah).
i would go there again if i am going with friend not family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Level Contributor
132 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a weekend away from Cairo. Wow! Very clean, amazingly friendly staff members and convenient to downtown and the diving center. We've not tried the food so we can't comment on that one. For what we paid for a double room (half-board included), it's the best value your money can buy.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I can recommend this hotel. I stayed 5 nights there. The price is fair, the service is very good. The rooms are very clean, I especially have to praise the excellent cleaning crew.

In future I would go there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a night before heading out to a Liveaboard, and then again for 1 night on my way back home. Based close to the airport so transfers are quick.

The room was spotless and very spacious for 1 person. The staff were very helpful, they spoke good English and taught me a few Arabic phrases that helped me on my trip!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

booked this as lastmin/ low cost hotel , and completely surprised, every part of the hotel spot on couldnt find a fault ... not next to beach , short walk to restaurants and 25le taxi to marina / main town, staff excellent altogether 100% , and we dont say that easily, barry and dotty :-0)

the sister hotel is vavailable as day visitor for around £9 for 2 people, which is real 5 star resort
i wont tell you whats there, but you will say wow !

thouroughly recoomended

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Sudan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I have to stay in Hurghada occasionally for business, and I am just not the kind of person who enjoys a gigantic all-inclusive resort. Sol Y Mar suites is the perfect solution. For a good price, you get a large suite, separate bedroom and living area, with kitchen and balcony. Everything was clean and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. It is not on the beach, so if that is important to you, probably want to stay elsewhere, though there is a pool. Very convenient to the airport also. Breakfast was not extensive but good.

A few negatives keeping me from giving 5 stars- One, the internet was not working during my stay. That is, the wireless network was fine, but there was no connection behind it. Staff said that there was a problem with the company, which happens often in Egypt, and it is very likely that there was nothing the hotel could do about it. Second, the coffee was terrible. I guess I'm a bit of a coffee snob but I don't expect top quality at a free hotel breakfast- still, this was barely coffee. More like hot, slightly flavored water. Finally, the place is right next to some kind of children's play area, so expect screaming kids during the day. This wasn't really a problem- didn't go late at night and the rooms are well soundproofed.

All in all a good value for money, good option if you don't want to be stuck on a sprawling resort. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
0.0 mi away
Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#51 of 175 in Hurghada
4.0 of 5 stars 1,217 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mercure Hurghada
Mercure Hurghada
#9 of 175 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 stars 2,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Jungle Aqua Park Hotel
Jungle Aqua Park Hotel
#13 of 175 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 stars 1,875 reviews
0.0 mi away
Festival Shedwan Golden Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Sindbad Aqua Hotel & Spa
Sindbad Aqua Hotel & Spa
#53 of 175 in Hurghada
4.0 of 5 stars 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Y Mar Ivory Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Y Mar Ivory Suites

Address: El Kawsar District, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Hurghada
#28 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#34 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sol Y Mar Ivory Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Sol Y Mar Ivory Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol y Mar Ivory Hotel Hurghada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Y Mar Ivory Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.