We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best value of money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Y Mar Ivory Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sol Y Mar Ivory Suites to your Saves list
Sol Y Mar Ivory Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   El Kawsar District, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 182 Hotels in Hurghada
Giza, Egypt
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“best value of money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

we stayed for 3 nights its very clean and peaceful and the staff was very friendly and helpful.
room was very comfort and good furniture and i was surprised of its huge areaand it has big kitchen. the view is on the road.
The pool is small and the water is cold as ice and almost no sun (in shadow).
i was going to take diving course so i didn`t need sea in the hotel.but its far from the sea.
the resturant was very good,they got the basic in the breakfast,i have ordered dinner in the room
(pasta & pizza) tasty and cheap.
it is near from airport and walk road (el mamsah).
i would go there again if i am going with friend not family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    36
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
27
37
30
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a weekend away from Cairo. Wow! Very clean, amazingly friendly staff members and convenient to downtown and the diving center. We've not tried the food so we can't comment on that one. For what we paid for a double room (half-board included), it's the best value your money can buy.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I can recommend this hotel. I stayed 5 nights there. The price is fair, the service is very good. The rooms are very clean, I especially have to praise the excellent cleaning crew.

In future I would go there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a night before heading out to a Liveaboard, and then again for 1 night on my way back home. Based close to the airport so transfers are quick.

The room was spotless and very spacious for 1 person. The staff were very helpful, they spoke good English and taught me a few Arabic phrases that helped me on my trip!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

booked this as lastmin/ low cost hotel , and completely surprised, every part of the hotel spot on couldnt find a fault ... not next to beach , short walk to restaurants and 25le taxi to marina / main town, staff excellent altogether 100% , and we dont say that easily, barry and dotty :-0)

the sister hotel is vavailable as day visitor for around £9 for 2 people, which is real 5 star resort
i wont tell you whats there, but you will say wow !

thouroughly recoomended

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I have to stay in Hurghada occasionally for business, and I am just not the kind of person who enjoys a gigantic all-inclusive resort. Sol Y Mar suites is the perfect solution. For a good price, you get a large suite, separate bedroom and living area, with kitchen and balcony. Everything was clean and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. It is not on the beach, so if that is important to you, probably want to stay elsewhere, though there is a pool. Very convenient to the airport also. Breakfast was not extensive but good.

A few negatives keeping me from giving 5 stars- One, the internet was not working during my stay. That is, the wireless network was fine, but there was no connection behind it. Staff said that there was a problem with the company, which happens often in Egypt, and it is very likely that there was nothing the hotel could do about it. Second, the coffee was terrible. I guess I'm a bit of a coffee snob but I don't expect top quality at a free hotel breakfast- still, this was barely coffee. More like hot, slightly flavored water. Finally, the place is right next to some kind of children's play area, so expect screaming kids during the day. This wasn't really a problem- didn't go late at night and the rooms are well soundproofed.

All in all a good value for money, good option if you don't want to be stuck on a sprawling resort. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed at Ivory Suites for a week in Feb/Mar 2013. Weather was perfect, sunny and warm in the day, fresh and breezy at night (take a jacket!).

Very impressed with the hotel, overall style is simple and smart. The staff were very friendly, helpful and spoke great English. They answered all of our questions and even helped organise a day trip to Luxor for us (5 hr coach trip away, trip incl Karnak Temple, Valley of Queens and boat trip on Nile - Highly recommend.)

Rooms are very clean and large with everything you need. Kitchen has fridge, crockery and kettle which was all we needed.

Hotel is not on beach but does have small pool with plenty of sun loungers. Hotel offers access to a local beach called Old Vic which is 20min walk away and is only 15 L.E pp. They also offer access to huge 5* Iberotel Aquamarine Resort (10+ swimming pools, beachfront) which is 15min drive via minibus which is included in 45 L.E pp price. Nearest Supermarket is 3mins round the corner and had great selection of food.

The driving in Hurghada is fairly sketchy and there are thousands of taxis that all want your business! We happened to find a taxi driver who was sane who gave us his phone number so we could call him whenever we needed a lift around the town - I believe this is common. Isam, if you read this -Thank you for all your help!

One personal recommendation on Hurghada - none of the supermarkets we came across sell alcohol, so if you want it for your room, get directions to nearest duty free shop within 48hours of arrival to stock up!

We cannot fault the Ivory Suites, it's not a luxury five start hotel but it was personal and perfect for our short stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sol Y Mar Ivory Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Y Mar Ivory Suites

Address: El Kawsar District, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#20 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#21 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Y Mar Ivory Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sol Y Mar Ivory Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol y Mar Ivory Hotel Hurghada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Y Mar Ivory Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.