We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Y Mar Ivory Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sol Y Mar Ivory Suites to your Saves list
Sol Y Mar Ivory Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   El Kawsar District, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 205 Hotels in Hurghada
dorset
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“perfect hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

booked this as lastmin/ low cost hotel , and completely surprised, every part of the hotel spot on couldnt find a fault ... not next to beach , short walk to restaurants and 25le taxi to marina / main town, staff excellent altogether 100% , and we dont say that easily, barry and dotty :-0)

the sister hotel is vavailable as day visitor for around £9 for 2 people, which is real 5 star resort
i wont tell you whats there, but you will say wow !

thouroughly recoomended

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baza007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
South Sudan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I have to stay in Hurghada occasionally for business, and I am just not the kind of person who enjoys a gigantic all-inclusive resort. Sol Y Mar suites is the perfect solution. For a good price, you get a large suite, separate bedroom and living area, with kitchen and balcony. Everything was clean and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. It is not on the beach, so if that is important to you, probably want to stay elsewhere, though there is a pool. Very convenient to the airport also. Breakfast was not extensive but good.

A few negatives keeping me from giving 5 stars- One, the internet was not working during my stay. That is, the wireless network was fine, but there was no connection behind it. Staff said that there was a problem with the company, which happens often in Egypt, and it is very likely that there was nothing the hotel could do about it. Second, the coffee was terrible. I guess I'm a bit of a coffee snob but I don't expect top quality at a free hotel breakfast- still, this was barely coffee. More like hot, slightly flavored water. Finally, the place is right next to some kind of children's play area, so expect screaming kids during the day. This wasn't really a problem- didn't go late at night and the rooms are well soundproofed.

All in all a good value for money, good option if you don't want to be stuck on a sprawling resort. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank modesto111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed at Ivory Suites for a week in Feb/Mar 2013. Weather was perfect, sunny and warm in the day, fresh and breezy at night (take a jacket!).

Very impressed with the hotel, overall style is simple and smart. The staff were very friendly, helpful and spoke great English. They answered all of our questions and even helped organise a day trip to Luxor for us (5 hr coach trip away, trip incl Karnak Temple, Valley of Queens and boat trip on Nile - Highly recommend.)

Rooms are very clean and large with everything you need. Kitchen has fridge, crockery and kettle which was all we needed.

Hotel is not on beach but does have small pool with plenty of sun loungers. Hotel offers access to a local beach called Old Vic which is 20min walk away and is only 15 L.E pp. They also offer access to huge 5* Iberotel Aquamarine Resort (10+ swimming pools, beachfront) which is 15min drive via minibus which is included in 45 L.E pp price. Nearest Supermarket is 3mins round the corner and had great selection of food.

The driving in Hurghada is fairly sketchy and there are thousands of taxis that all want your business! We happened to find a taxi driver who was sane who gave us his phone number so we could call him whenever we needed a lift around the town - I believe this is common. Isam, if you read this -Thank you for all your help!

One personal recommendation on Hurghada - none of the supermarkets we came across sell alcohol, so if you want it for your room, get directions to nearest duty free shop within 48hours of arrival to stock up!

We cannot fault the Ivory Suites, it's not a luxury five start hotel but it was personal and perfect for our short stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lwoo89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

We chose the Ivory Suites because of the reviews on Trip Advisor and we weren't disappointed. No the hotel isn't by the beach or a big resort complex but we felt we had more personalised service because it wasn't - even having a drink in the bar with the hotel Manager. Everywhere was clean, the rooms were very spacious and all the staff were friendly and couldn't do enough for us.
If you want a large complex then you can have the best of both worlds - for a small fee you can get a shuttle bus and go to the sister Iberotel Aquamarine hotel for the day. The fee includes transport all the hotel facilities and a soft drink - at the time of writing this was 45E per person.
There are restaurants within walking distance but we also found for a very small taxi fee we saw most of Hurghada and I think this was the benefit of not being in a large resort .... we went out and saw other things!
The breakfast was good quality and plenty of choice.
Mahmoud did amazing towel animals every day for us and he took pride in doing animals we had never had before.
We had a two bedroom suite so got a view of the pool area and a quiet road the other side. Next door to the hotel is a garden cafe and they seem to specialise in children's parties. There were occasions at the weekends when there was children's noise going on until midnight so if you don't like children try and get a room at the front.
Wifi is good and we were even able to get this from our balcony on the 2nd floor.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy63_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nasr City, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I spent 4 nights in Sol Y Mar Ivory Suits hotel with my family in Hurgada last week, a very nice hotel suits located not very far from the Hurgada Famous Promenade.
The offered prices were attractive compared to the hotel standard, The staff were very polite & taking good care of their guests, very clean & wide bed rooms & living room with balconies, Kitchen contains wide fridge & reasonable kitchenware (but no microwave or oven is provided) , Rather nice - but not luxurious - breakfast is served daily, you may order your lunch or dinner meals at a reasonable price when needed. The bathroom & shower supply (soap, shower gel & etc.) are not up to 4 star level.

Room Tip: Ask for a rooms with balcony, facing the swimming pool if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaoufElkoussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed here as solo traveller. Was impressed with the suite I was allocated - bedroom, bathroom, lounge and kitchenette. Peaceful and immaculately clean. Staff very courteous. Great breakfast.

Few mins in (v inexpensive) taxi to the hustle and bustle and peaceful enough for a good nights sleep. Discount vouchers for the beach provided by reception and shuttle bus to sister hotel on the beach provided free.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SandyOLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

If you want hassle from housekeeping, massage sellers, trip organisers etc etc then this is not the hotel for you. It's a lovely relaxing, reasonably priced hotel, very quiet, clean and select, with pools for adults and children. The apartments are very spacious, well equipped and I really felt at home; they are just as shown in the pictures when you book. Not on the beach but in the new area of Mamsha, a pedestrianised area just right for the tourist, with lots of shops, cafes and hotels so Sol Y Mar is in good company. The staff of Sol Y Mar are very pleasant and polite and nothing is too much trouble for them, just ask and it is done. The hotel is not far from the sea, just a few minutes in a taxi or about 20 minutes walking through the pedestrianised area. I really enjoyed my stay in Hurghada in the Ivory Suites and will not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally as good but maybe those opposite the cafe are slightly less noisy. They a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Busychick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#45 of 205 in Hurghada
4.0 of 5 stars 1,484 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Plaza
Hilton Hurghada Plaza
#26 of 205 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 stars 1,257 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
#12 of 205 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 stars 2,699 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alf Leila Wa Leila
Alf Leila Wa Leila
#27 of 205 in Hurghada
4.0 of 5 stars 892 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Desert Rose Resort
The Desert Rose Resort
#19 of 205 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 stars 2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Y Mar Ivory Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Y Mar Ivory Suites

Address: El Kawsar District, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Hurghada
#42 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#49 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Sol Y Mar Ivory Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere, Low Cost Holidays and Hotels.com so you can book your Sol Y Mar Ivory Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol y Mar Ivory Hotel Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing