We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

“perfect hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Y Mar Ivory Suites

Save Saved
You added Sol Y Mar Ivory Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sol Y Mar Ivory Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   El Kawsar District, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 176 hotels in Hurghada
dorset
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“perfect hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

booked this as lastmin/ low cost hotel , and completely surprised, every part of the hotel spot on couldnt find a fault ... not next to beach , short walk to restaurants and 25le taxi to marina / main town, staff excellent altogether 100% , and we dont say that easily, barry and dotty :-0)

the sister hotel is vavailable as day visitor for around £9 for 2 people, which is real 5 star resort
i wont tell you whats there, but you will say wow !

thouroughly recoomended

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    37
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
21
33
28
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I have to stay in Hurghada occasionally for business, and I am just not the kind of person who enjoys a gigantic all-inclusive resort. Sol Y Mar suites is the perfect solution. For a good price, you get a large suite, separate bedroom and living area, with kitchen and balcony. Everything was clean and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. It is not on the beach, so if that is important to you, probably want to stay elsewhere, though there is a pool. Very convenient to the airport also. Breakfast was not extensive but good.

A few negatives keeping me from giving 5 stars- One, the internet was not working during my stay. That is, the wireless network was fine, but there was no connection behind it. Staff said that there was a problem with the company, which happens often in Egypt, and it is very likely that there was nothing the hotel could do about it. Second, the coffee was terrible. I guess I'm a bit of a coffee snob but I don't expect top quality at a free hotel breakfast- still, this was barely coffee. More like hot, slightly flavored water. Finally, the place is right next to some kind of children's play area, so expect screaming kids during the day. This wasn't really a problem- didn't go late at night and the rooms are well soundproofed.

All in all a good value for money, good option if you don't want to be stuck on a sprawling resort. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed at Ivory Suites for a week in Feb/Mar 2013. Weather was perfect, sunny and warm in the day, fresh and breezy at night (take a jacket!).

Very impressed with the hotel, overall style is simple and smart. The staff were very friendly, helpful and spoke great English. They answered all of our questions and even helped organise a day trip to Luxor for us (5 hr coach trip away, trip incl Karnak Temple, Valley of Queens and boat trip on Nile - Highly recommend.)

Rooms are very clean and large with everything you need. Kitchen has fridge, crockery and kettle which was all we needed.

Hotel is not on beach but does have small pool with plenty of sun loungers. Hotel offers access to a local beach called Old Vic which is 20min walk away and is only 15 L.E pp. They also offer access to huge 5* Iberotel Aquamarine Resort (10+ swimming pools, beachfront) which is 15min drive via minibus which is included in 45 L.E pp price. Nearest Supermarket is 3mins round the corner and had great selection of food.

The driving in Hurghada is fairly sketchy and there are thousands of taxis that all want your business! We happened to find a taxi driver who was sane who gave us his phone number so we could call him whenever we needed a lift around the town - I believe this is common. Isam, if you read this -Thank you for all your help!

One personal recommendation on Hurghada - none of the supermarkets we came across sell alcohol, so if you want it for your room, get directions to nearest duty free shop within 48hours of arrival to stock up!

We cannot fault the Ivory Suites, it's not a luxury five start hotel but it was personal and perfect for our short stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

We chose the Ivory Suites because of the reviews on Trip Advisor and we weren't disappointed. No the hotel isn't by the beach or a big resort complex but we felt we had more personalised service because it wasn't - even having a drink in the bar with the hotel Manager. Everywhere was clean, the rooms were very spacious and all the staff were friendly and couldn't do enough for us.
If you want a large complex then you can have the best of both worlds - for a small fee you can get a shuttle bus and go to the sister Iberotel Aquamarine hotel for the day. The fee includes transport all the hotel facilities and a soft drink - at the time of writing this was 45E per person.
There are restaurants within walking distance but we also found for a very small taxi fee we saw most of Hurghada and I think this was the benefit of not being in a large resort .... we went out and saw other things!
The breakfast was good quality and plenty of choice.
Mahmoud did amazing towel animals every day for us and he took pride in doing animals we had never had before.
We had a two bedroom suite so got a view of the pool area and a quiet road the other side. Next door to the hotel is a garden cafe and they seem to specialise in children's parties. There were occasions at the weekends when there was children's noise going on until midnight so if you don't like children try and get a room at the front.
Wifi is good and we were even able to get this from our balcony on the 2nd floor.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nasr City, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I spent 4 nights in Sol Y Mar Ivory Suits hotel with my family in Hurgada last week, a very nice hotel suits located not very far from the Hurgada Famous Promenade.
The offered prices were attractive compared to the hotel standard, The staff were very polite & taking good care of their guests, very clean & wide bed rooms & living room with balconies, Kitchen contains wide fridge & reasonable kitchenware (but no microwave or oven is provided) , Rather nice - but not luxurious - breakfast is served daily, you may order your lunch or dinner meals at a reasonable price when needed. The bathroom & shower supply (soap, shower gel & etc.) are not up to 4 star level.

Room Tip: Ask for a rooms with balcony, facing the swimming pool if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed here as solo traveller. Was impressed with the suite I was allocated - bedroom, bathroom, lounge and kitchenette. Peaceful and immaculately clean. Staff very courteous. Great breakfast.

Few mins in (v inexpensive) taxi to the hustle and bustle and peaceful enough for a good nights sleep. Discount vouchers for the beach provided by reception and shuttle bus to sister hotel on the beach provided free.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chard, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

If you want hassle from housekeeping, massage sellers, trip organisers etc etc then this is not the hotel for you. It's a lovely relaxing, reasonably priced hotel, very quiet, clean and select, with pools for adults and children. The apartments are very spacious, well equipped and I really felt at home; they are just as shown in the pictures when you book. Not on the beach but in the new area of Mamsha, a pedestrianised area just right for the tourist, with lots of shops, cafes and hotels so Sol Y Mar is in good company. The staff of Sol Y Mar are very pleasant and polite and nothing is too much trouble for them, just ask and it is done. The hotel is not far from the sea, just a few minutes in a taxi or about 20 minutes walking through the pedestrianised area. I really enjoyed my stay in Hurghada in the Ivory Suites and will not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally as good but maybe those opposite the cafe are slightly less noisy. They a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sol Y Mar Ivory Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Y Mar Ivory Suites

Also Known As:
Sol y Mar Ivory Hotel Hurghada
Address: El Kawsar District, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#14 Business Hotel in Hurghada
#14 Best Value Hotel in Hurghada
#37 Family Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Y Mar Ivory Suites 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Venere, HotelsClick, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotels.com so you can book your Sol Y Mar Ivory Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Y Mar Ivory Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.