We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean & cosy Lodges” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Y Mar Ivory Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sol Y Mar Ivory Suites to your Saves list
Sol Y Mar Ivory Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   El Kawsar District, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 182 Hotels in Hurghada
Nasr City, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very clean & cosy Lodges”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I spent 4 nights in Sol Y Mar Ivory Suits hotel with my family in Hurgada last week, a very nice hotel suits located not very far from the Hurgada Famous Promenade.
The offered prices were attractive compared to the hotel standard, The staff were very polite & taking good care of their guests, very clean & wide bed rooms & living room with balconies, Kitchen contains wide fridge & reasonable kitchenware (but no microwave or oven is provided) , Rather nice - but not luxurious - breakfast is served daily, you may order your lunch or dinner meals at a reasonable price when needed. The bathroom & shower supply (soap, shower gel & etc.) are not up to 4 star level.

Room Tip: Ask for a rooms with balcony, facing the swimming pool if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    36
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
27
37
30
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed here as solo traveller. Was impressed with the suite I was allocated - bedroom, bathroom, lounge and kitchenette. Peaceful and immaculately clean. Staff very courteous. Great breakfast.

Few mins in (v inexpensive) taxi to the hustle and bustle and peaceful enough for a good nights sleep. Discount vouchers for the beach provided by reception and shuttle bus to sister hotel on the beach provided free.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chard, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

If you want hassle from housekeeping, massage sellers, trip organisers etc etc then this is not the hotel for you. It's a lovely relaxing, reasonably priced hotel, very quiet, clean and select, with pools for adults and children. The apartments are very spacious, well equipped and I really felt at home; they are just as shown in the pictures when you book. Not on the beach but in the new area of Mamsha, a pedestrianised area just right for the tourist, with lots of shops, cafes and hotels so Sol Y Mar is in good company. The staff of Sol Y Mar are very pleasant and polite and nothing is too much trouble for them, just ask and it is done. The hotel is not far from the sea, just a few minutes in a taxi or about 20 minutes walking through the pedestrianised area. I really enjoyed my stay in Hurghada in the Ivory Suites and will not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally as good but maybe those opposite the cafe are slightly less noisy. They a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Very cheap, good location close to the airport, quiet location but not far from down town either. The room is very spacious. Has kitchen, living room and bed room. Also has a balcony. Not only about room, the service is great too. Good breakfast. All the staffs are very friendly and helpful. Even after checked out, I was coming back from the beach and picking up my luggage there, they offered me a shower and a coffee before My flight. Not many hotel could be so personally caring to each one of customers but they can. They take really good care of you. Definitely recommend !

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed in two apartments, next to each other for a one week period in January 2013.

Our first impression on arriving was just how large these studios are, very clean and well looked after. The Hotel is approximately 7 mins walk from the 'Strip' which has bars, restaurants and shops, it does not have it's own beach, but there are others that you can use at a discount which are within fairly easy travelling distance.

What it does have though, is a very well taken care of pool area, with plenty of space to lounge, which is well populated with nice plants, has an outdoor shower area and lays on free towels for guests.

The best thing about Sol Y Mar though has to be the staff, we received a warm welcome on check-in and the receptionist did his best to put us all together in studios next to each other. The staff tried incredibly hard to make us feel relaxed, one member of our team was ill during our stay and the staff were attentive in bringing a meal and drinks up to his room and with the correct spacing between food and drink.

Breakfast is very good, with an egg chef and fresh fruit along with all the other buffet style bits and pieces - served in a spacious room with relaxed seating - a really lovely way to start each morning.

Special mention has to go to El Sayed, he works mainly in the restaurant / bar, is very friendly and helpful, always has a warm, welcoming smile and is genuinely interested and interesting to talk to.

We have a soft spot for two of the gents who made up our rooms - both named Mahmoud, they were always a pleasure to see in the morning, and Mahmoud '2' was absolutely brilliant with his towel folding (peacocks, babies, elephants.......the man did GOOD).

There is not a gym on site, but there is a very well equipped gym and spa 5 minutes down the road which we could use quite extensively for the equivalent of £20 for 7 days, also, the cost of food and drink, both inside the Ivory Suites and in Hurghada as a whole is quite simply wonderful.....this is a very reasonable place to have a holiday, no pocket busting prices here.

Egypt has had a rocky time recently and really depends on it's tourist trade - places like the Sol Y Mar Ivory Suites remind us of why we love the people of Egypt and the country as a whole.....we truly hope people will return in bigger numbers as it really is a safe destination and a memorable place.

Thanks to all at Sol Y Mar - we WILL return

x

Room Tip: Our rooms were on the third (of four) floor and had an Airport view (which gave us incredible sunset...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILFORD,ESSEX
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My friend and I booked this hotel online last minute and were lucky to get a cheap deal for one night on a bb basis. We only needed a nights accommodation as we were in hurghada to experience the nightlife.

When we got in our rooms it was nice to see everything was nice and clean and we had a lounge as well as a kitchen not that we used these! It was homely indeed, bathroom was spacious and clean too.

Was abit disappointed with breakfast the next morning was basic and we were running late and felt rushed by the restaurant staff so I didn't feel comfortable at all so finished my breakfast as quickly as I could.

I think this hotel is more convenient then anything else- a good getaway for one or two nights for sure!

Room Tip: Great if you want to stay here for one or two nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I travel to Egypt around every 6-8 weeks and this stumbled across this hotel a couple of years ago, since then it has been like my second home. The rooms are apartments, not small hotel rooms, the staff are amazing and many are now friends on Facebook and welcome me back like one of the family.

You will NOT find a better hotel for the price, and it includes breakfast and free wifi, you pay the same for wifi in the big hotels as you do for your room and breakfast here.

We also put our clients in here when they are on viewing trips to Hurghada, and every one of them have enjoyed their stay, amazing value for money, you have to try it.

Room Tip: If you can get on the first floor, you can get wifi in the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sol Y Mar Ivory Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Y Mar Ivory Suites

Address: El Kawsar District, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Hurghada
#12 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#22 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#23 Family Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Y Mar Ivory Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sol Y Mar Ivory Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol y Mar Ivory Hotel Hurghada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Y Mar Ivory Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.