We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel with unfriendly stuff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Citadel Azur Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Citadel Azur Resort to your Saves list
Citadel Azur Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Sahl Hasheesh | P.O.Box 236, Hurghada 1, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 180 Hotels in Hurghada
Hurghada, Egypt
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very good hotel with unfriendly stuff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Very good hotel I like it very much.the rooms are perfect with magnificint view excellent see view
The food quality and variety werenot the best
The hotel is too big so you have to wait the shuttle bus but it delays sometimes
The beach isnot so good as there are alot of rocks but with alot of colorful fishes
The mega defects in this hotel is the stuff they are very unfriendly
There are different show evrey nights which is soo good and the ping pong tables and shisha are good too

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    104
    35
    16
    16
See reviews for
128
164
11
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I stayed in the hotel for 6nights with my family..never felt bored for a sec..the place is really really nice..very good view..rooms are perfect..very good spot for snorkling with alot of fish in there..the beach is full of rocks,however there are 2 or 3 good spots to swim in.
Perfect Animation team really nice ,very friendly and highly energetic..the only thing that i did not like was the food which was not very tasty. But overall i love the whole place and i will be happy to go there again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

My wife and myself stayed at this hotel in May 2013. We did not look for any shops, excitement or Bars during our vacation but simply needed a couple of relaxing days from every day life.

This hotel is awesome. The rooms are huge and very comfortable. We had a room close to the main lobby (be aware, they have 8 building so if you do end up in one at the back, you will need the free shuttle or walk some way) overlooking the hotel harbour. The room was clean, free internet and very spacious with a very nice balcony.

The staff was great, friendly and up to speed. Whenever we asked for something, help was right there. The all-inclusive package was a real benefit. It took us a while to find a hotel in Egypt that does NOT close bars at 11:00 or 12:00pm and has free internet. At the end, we did not have to pay a single cent extra for any service.

The hotel is huge but only has app. 500 rooms. At the time we were there, we never felt that the hotel was crowded. The guest come from all countries in Europe. The beach is great for snorkelling but you will need shoes to go into the sea (there is a beautiful house reef right at the beach). There were always enough sun chairs at the beach an at one of the pools.

The food was ok but nothing special. I am allergic to apples and other fruits and mentioned the limited availability to the management after a couple of days - they helped us promptly. Management attention is overall outstanding in this hotel.

The only downside of our vacation was our experience with the dive centre "Aquarius" (has nothing to do with the hotel). Make sure if you go diving that you clarify all prices in written form in advance. Also be aware, that even if you bring your complete equipment and only require a tank of air they will charge you about Euro 20 for a house reef dive (swimming and snorkelling are free but if you wanna dive,.... show them the money). All the divers we met, no one had one positive word to say about this company (and I won't go into details what happened to us because it has nothing to do with the hotel rating).

We will go there again! It was a great vacation!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

- The Citadel is a lovely hotel. Especially for couples without kids.
- Spacious rooms, well maintained.
- Food is really good, especially the a la carte restaurants, Italian/ Brazilian.
- Lunch might need some improvement as every day was more or less the same.
- Personnel was really friendly and helpful.
- Good entertainment (except external shows, those were bad, intenal shows were great).
- The park is really large, so there is even a shuttle bus to drive you around. -
- Free internet in the lobby, but the connection is terrible, this should definitely be improved.
- Location is quiet, but we love that. Buildings are beautiful.
--> Hurghada was quiet, no notice of the political issues in Egypt.

Room Tip: No room tip, as all rooms have seaview. Make a note when you want a room with a doublebed. Other tip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The best vacation ever! Hotel is just amazing,it's like little town, you don't need to go anywehere. Great services, nice and polite staff, good food. If you don't feel like buffet dinner you can choose from three restaurants. Live band is playing every evening (in english). We really enjoyed our stay, it was perfect :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

It s my favorite place in the world...I went to spain, france , turkey, cyprus .....but this hotel is really the best....the rooms I cant describe how wonderful r they....I didn't meet a stuff like that. .....excellent hospitality. .....every place in the hotel s really beautiful. .......the marina , pool , the theater. ...lobby..... many restaurants. ..the food is excellentttttttttttttttttttttttttttt.....I really liked the c food. ..the chinese night...the beach party.....shisha corner......u can drink anything in each place there....very nice gym ....pools r wonderful. ..the only bad thing s the sea cause there r no many places to swim there

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

I went this june with my family we really enjoyed our stay the resort was really nice, we were happy with our rooms i do recommend 3001 and 3002. They were connected rooms near everything the pool the main restaurant and the theater. But you will have to walk pretty much if want to go the royal lagoon beach don't worry ... There is a taftaf runs every 5 min

The staff welcomed us really nice specially especially Emad on the beach bar and Amr in the main restaurant the food is average and the drinks as always is local but don't expect too much in all inclusive basis, all over the place is magnificent.

Certainly, i would like to go again

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Citadel Azur Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadel Azur Resort

Address: Sahl Hasheesh | P.O.Box 236, Hurghada 1, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#19 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#19 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#22 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#25 Business Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Citadel Azur Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 514
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Citadel Azur Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadel Azur Hotel Hurghada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citadel Azur Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.