We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, Great Architecture” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Citadel Azur Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Citadel Azur Resort to your Saves list
Citadel Azur Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Sahl Hasheesh | P.O.Box 236, Hurghada 1, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 180 Hotels in Hurghada
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, Great Architecture”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

- The Citadel is a lovely hotel. Especially for couples without kids.
- Spacious rooms, well maintained.
- Food is really good, especially the a la carte restaurants, Italian/ Brazilian.
- Lunch might need some improvement as every day was more or less the same.
- Personnel was really friendly and helpful.
- Good entertainment (except external shows, those were bad, intenal shows were great).
- The park is really large, so there is even a shuttle bus to drive you around. -
- Free internet in the lobby, but the connection is terrible, this should definitely be improved.
- Location is quiet, but we love that. Buildings are beautiful.
--> Hurghada was quiet, no notice of the political issues in Egypt.

Room Tip: No room tip, as all rooms have seaview. Make a note when you want a room with a doublebed. Other tip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    106
    35
    16
    16
See reviews for
130
165
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The best vacation ever! Hotel is just amazing,it's like little town, you don't need to go anywehere. Great services, nice and polite staff, good food. If you don't feel like buffet dinner you can choose from three restaurants. Live band is playing every evening (in english). We really enjoyed our stay, it was perfect :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

It s my favorite place in the world...I went to spain, france , turkey, cyprus .....but this hotel is really the best....the rooms I cant describe how wonderful r they....I didn't meet a stuff like that. .....excellent hospitality. .....every place in the hotel s really beautiful. .......the marina , pool , the theater. ...lobby..... many restaurants. ..the food is excellentttttttttttttttttttttttttttt.....I really liked the c food. ..the chinese night...the beach party.....shisha corner......u can drink anything in each place there....very nice gym ....pools r wonderful. ..the only bad thing s the sea cause there r no many places to swim there

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

I went this june with my family we really enjoyed our stay the resort was really nice, we were happy with our rooms i do recommend 3001 and 3002. They were connected rooms near everything the pool the main restaurant and the theater. But you will have to walk pretty much if want to go the royal lagoon beach don't worry ... There is a taftaf runs every 5 min

The staff welcomed us really nice specially especially Emad on the beach bar and Amr in the main restaurant the food is average and the drinks as always is local but don't expect too much in all inclusive basis, all over the place is magnificent.

Certainly, i would like to go again

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neston,wirral
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel from the 14th May -21st May 2013 and we had a fantastic time!

The room was in Block 6 which is about a 10 minute walk from the reception! Staff took us to the room in a golf buggy with our luggage!!! The room was large and spacious. We were on the top floor and had a beautiful sea view from the large balcony! The room was clean! The bathroom was massive and there was a large power shower! Our room had a hallway and a walk-in wardrobe!!

The food in the hotel was excellent and lots of choice! There was a themed night in the main restaurant each evening. We also ate several times at the Italian restaurant which was lovely!! We visited the Brizilian restaurant once which served a selection of meats which was also nice!! The drinks in the hotel were amazing, if you like cocktails there is a wide variety of cocktails served at all the bars, including the beach bars!! The beers and wine were also very drinkable!!

We spent all of our time on the beach!! There are mole sunbeds with umbrellas and windbreaks!! There are also clean toilets and a beach bar!!

There were several pools dotted around the hotel and one was an infinity pool! The hotel had its own small harbour with a restaurant in it and an ice cream shop which is part of the all inclusive!!

There is free wifi in the reception area, which fairly slow but more than acceptable for Egypt!!

The only down sides I can think of are!! There were no other English people in the hotel, lots of Russians and Germans!! The staff were slow with the service at times!! During meals times they were slow to replenish food and cutlery on the table! Howere it seems to down to poor supervision rather than the staffs fault! The hotel is about 15 minutes from the airport which is good, however this is nothing to walk to nearby, no shops or bars!! However due to the hotel being so nice and spacious it didn't effect us!! None of this issues really effected us and we had an amazon time!!

The grounds of the hotel are vast and there is a bus that drives around the hotel taking guests to reception!! I would not recommend this hotel for people who don't like walking or hills or for people with children!!

Overall I had a fantastic time and I would return!! I would recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourport on Severn, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Many thanks to Phillipa and her staff for making us so welcome. A beautiful room with stunning views, service and amenities. The "Night Club" and all inclusive drinks were a definite plus. We were only there for one night but crammed in two wonderful days.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms they all have a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel in a stunning location we had a lovely room which was clean but the food is poor and often only luke warm and the service is often non-existent. The restaurant is buffet style there are alot of chefs and supervisors standing around looking very important but they do not do anything just walk about looking (at what I don't know) you are not greeted as you enter the restaurant you have to look for a suitable table yourself - the staff were unhelpful unfriendly and miserable (all except for Mohamed who really looked after us when he was on duty - when he was off duty we were ignored!!) . We had chipped crockery the table, the table was not cleared between courses-one night all the dishes from our three courses were still on the table when we left the restaurant - there are other restaurants in the resort which are marginally better but still not I would call good. Having read the other reviews I am wondering if we stayed at the same hotel!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Citadel Azur Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadel Azur Resort

Address: Sahl Hasheesh | P.O.Box 236, Hurghada 1, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Hurghada
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#18 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#20 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#22 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Citadel Azur Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 514
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Citadel Azur Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadel Azur Hotel Hurghada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citadel Azur Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.