We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is very fabulous hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Citadel Azur Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Citadel Azur Resort to your Saves list
Citadel Azur Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Sahl Hasheesh | P.O.Box 236, Hurghada 1, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 182 Hotels in Hurghada
1 review
“It is very fabulous hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I was invited to spend aday use with my best friend M.Mohsen.I found the hotel fantastic.the room is very good.the views more than fabulous. The food is tasty.the service is very good.we spent very nice time with other two guys called Amr and Yehia moving from aplace to another.we were very happy except missing Amr's girl frirnd Julia.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    113
    41
    17
    16
See reviews for
137
178
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

.We had a lovely Holiday at this hotel and just can not fault it,the staff was so pleased to help us with almost everything ,we stayed in block 6 which had a beautifull seavieuw,the room was kept spotless by our room boy Khalid who made us lovely towel displays almost every day,also we found the food very good and there was plenty of variety every day,the management were also very friendly and always asked us if we were satisfied with the service,all in all we had a fabulous Holiday,lovely weather,excellent service(with a smile all the time)beautifull vieuw, and prima food ,excellent room,what more does one need for a good Holiday.
We stayed from the 10th May until the 24th May'hope to go again in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senica
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Pros:
- Variety of beaches
- Well-equipped resort
- Spacious rooms
- Friendly and helpful staff
- Good food
- Big choice of activities
- Internal transportation – bus

Cons:
- Lack of sense for detail
- Food logistic in restaurant
- Not well suited for small children

The hotel has a terrific architecture and is for sure one of the best top 3 in the Hurghada area. The rooms are spacious, staff friendly; you will find everything necessary in the resort so if you don’t won’t to leave the huge resort during your stay, you don’t have to. Of course you’ve got differences between the rooms and staff but you have to ask for a room which will please you.

There’s a plenty of different lagoons, almost 20 if I’m not wrong from which 2 biggest are artificially made. Already on the beach you will find a very decent, deep and interesting coral reef which is a great in comparison to other hotel coral reefs. For a regular snorkeling you won’t need to travel with a boat or outside the resort to see some interesting snorkeling area, you’ve got it right away in the resort. Only negative point I would post to the showers at the beaches, more of the showers were working improperly and have a low water pressure.

Food was sometimes great, mostly good, no complaints on the cook staff. What was disturbing is the amount of guests in high season and the capacity of the restaurants and staff. Also the refilling of the most wanted food in restaurants was really struggling more than half of the times: during breakfast it were bananas and melon, deserts by the diner time etc. Also most of the dining tables weren’t stable and were moving from side to side; regardless you were in restaurant or in the cafeteria ;-). The only real negative point from my side is that the variety of fruits and vegetables was really limited and never changing, from day to day. But it’s not like there are no vegetables or fruits, just not handful diversity.

The rooms were kept really clean but still I have to mention that there is a lack for a detail in Egypt which hasn’t improved from the 90’s a bit. We’ve got corroded chairs on the terrace and corrosion in the bathroom which wasn’t really bothering just shows lack of sense for details in such ambitious hotel.

The kids’ corner was definitely above other hotel average but most of the furnishing was ragged and outdated. But pretty good equipped and with a very friendly staff. Again here I would say that the lack of sense for detail was missing only. Also it is very important to mention that hotel is not focused or well suited for small children till 3rd year of life: in the resort are plenty of high not secured places, everywhere are stones mostly so injuries by all the time falling children is a pity but by our son I accepted it as a part of life education ;-) Nevertheless there is a very small children’s pool and on each beach there is a playground in the sand for the kids. Not amazing but still better than nothing and if you don’t have small children, it won’t bother you.

And as last I have to comment on the Russian guests who were in big numbers in this hotel and because I’ve heard a lot of negative feedback about them. I must say that they weren’t disturbing and bad behaved, regular humans ;-)

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Just come back from a two week stay, spacious rooms and cleaned once a day. Good choice of food not always hot though, staff very friendly and could not do enough for you. It is a large hotel and very well kept, so never feels crowded, good value for money and we would go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Just got back from Citadel,(17th May). Hotel is really big but although there are a lot of people there it never seemed crowded. Stayed in deluxe room, it was very large and generally clean. Mohammed cleaned it every day and restocked the mini bar. Some days he would create towel art which was a nice touch. The main buffet restaurant is what you would expect at all inclusive, reasonable choice and quite basic but what was there was really nice. We ate in La Gondola (Italian a la Carte) twice, and once in the Brazilian a la Carte. Both where really good and the food was much better. A nice change. You do need to book the day before you want to eat. We never used any of the three pools as there was plenty of space and beds on the beach and the snorkelling was okay. Ahmed at the beach bar looked after us and made sure we had some nice cool drinks when we needed them. Went snorkelling to Giftun island unfortunately the sea was quite rough and there are lots of other trips all in the same place. If like me you like your snorkelling at a slow pace with plenty of time to take all of the various sights in then this trip may not be for you. You do have a chance of seeing things like moray eels as a bit deeper but a bit chaotic. The stop at the island is literally lots of different excursions piled up along the beach. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and the staff were really polite.

Room Tip: We staye in block 6 which is a bit away from main hotel but not that far. There is also a bus if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Spacious rooms, though a little bit aged, cleaned once per day. Food was rather tasty but most of the meals remained the same trough the week and (almost) no seafood was offered! Indeed, there’s one special sea food restaurant which is rather good than not. The three local wines were all drinkable but the local spirits are poor even in cocktails. The service is average as you might expect in that segment and in that region. There are three pools available and also two lagoons with sea water – all clean and not crowded; by the way the entire place is not crowded since it’s huge and offers enough attractions for everyone. Good for kids also. All in all, it was a good value for the money and we spent one relaxed week there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We were really looking forward to our Holiday to Egypt, and after following the reviews on TA we had high hopes that we chose the right hotel to stay at. On arrival there was no warm welcome, just a sheet of paper given meal times and a room card. We were in block 6 and it was a good walk to the lobby, which didn't really bother us much but what did bother us is the damaged steps, they are just dangerous. The room was big, with a large bed and good A/C. The bathroom had a good shower but its not a 5* with only a soap dispenser on the wall. The view from the room was great. There is also a mini fridge with a couple of bottles of Coke / Fanta and Water. The room boy was friendly, but the cleaning standards are not great.Now to the restaurants, the buffet restaurant at breakfast was awful, you order coffee and wait and wait and ask again,then oh sorry yes coffee then wait again, not good service at all. The food at breakfast is very basic and the same every day. At lunch you eat at the habour and its the same food daily. Evening meals are Buffet or a la carte. The Italian being the best , but don't expect 5*! The Brazilian is just awful, no choice of starter, just a bowl of salad and they bring the skewers and literally dump a piece of each on your plate. do not expect seconds on anything because they stop serving even if your card is still on green. We have never seen anything like it!!!! The buffet restaurant on an evening has theme nights and the food is varied and ok if you are not too fussy but the service is not good. Pre dinner drinks in the lobby are slow service and it gets really hot in there. The tables are filthy around the edges. WIFI slow but that's normal i guess. Around the pool the sales guys are a nuisance but the barman at the Palm Pool was great! We had massages which like the previous reviewer said are unprofessional and painful. We also used the beauty salon which was also rubbish. We done the snorkel trip to paradise island which was really good and good value for money!
With the location of the hotel you pretty much stranded unless you want to pay £ 20 for a taxi.
Alot of people on here say its one of the best hotels in Hurghada, if that is the case then i guess its just not for us. We wouldn't return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Citadel Azur Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadel Azur Resort

Address: Sahl Hasheesh | P.O.Box 236, Hurghada 1, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Hurghada
#14 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#18 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#21 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#24 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Citadel Azur Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 514
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CITADEL AZUR RESORT SAHL HASHEESH! Heaven on earth! A Sunken Paradise Reborn! Our exclusive luxury architecture built with natural coral stones which has been hand chiseled from nearby mountains is a true architectural achievement. The Citadel Azur Resort with an atmosphere of the ports in Southern France or the Amalfi coast embraces a large marina where you can enjoy a touch of a small Mediterranean village with its own harbor. Overlooking the Red Sea, each spacious and luxuriously appointed guest room features spectacular sea views. A unique holiday with water sports, boat trips, marina and private beach extended to 1.6 Km long, 2 manmade sea lagoons inside an amazing house reef. Relax at the swimming pools elevated and scattered around for your convenience in the resort and enjoy our state-of-the-art health club and gym. Book a wellness journey with our team of professional in our on-site Spa. Conveniently located only 20 minutes drive from Hurghada International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Citadel Azur Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadel Azur Hotel Hurghada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citadel Azur Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.