We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to de-stress” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Citadel Azur Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Citadel Azur Resort to your Saves list
Citadel Azur Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   | Sahl Hasheesh, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 175 Hotels in Hurghada
Certificate of Excellence
Shanklin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to de-stress”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

What a great find! Stayed for 1 week (02/03/12 - 09/03/12) and can highly recommend for those wanting to get away from it all and relax in beautiful surroundings with warm sea, good food and friendly staff.

I think we were the only British couple there, which is a shame, but meant that the staff all recognized us instantly and went out of their way to be helpful. The resort is huge with lots of stairs which helped us work off the excellent food. Out of school holidays it was only about 50% occupied, plenty of space around whichever pool / beach you fancied. The large infinity pool was a firm favourite with us, very warm water and great views. Beaches have been carefully sectioned to break up the tide and provide great snorkeling, as do the two lagoons – loads of colourful fish and the whole place is spotless. The towel huts dotted around everywhere meant no carrying wet towels about, you just get a fresh one at each location, great idea.

People always moan about the food at all-inclusive hotels, but really there was a plentiful and varied selection, replenished regularly and no queues. The main restaurant is buffet style with a differently themed dinner each evening but book 24 hrs ahead and you can opt for the excellent Italian, Brazilian or Fish restaurants. The house wine is perfectly drinkable but there is a large selection for sale if you prefer.

The pool bars were excellent, especially the one nearest the lagoon, manned by Ahmed – Mr Mojito, he definitely makes the best ones ever. We particularly liked the fact that no food is served at these bars, just great hot and cold drinks, no rubbish, no flies!

The temperatures ranged from about 25-30 degrees during our stay, but it never felt oppressively hot as there is always a warm sea breeze. On a couple of days when the winds picked up we still found it comfortable to sunbathe as there are wind breaks everywhere. Mosquitos where not in evidence at all, so March must be a good time from that point of view.

The only slight flaw is the evening entertainment is on the poor side. The team work very hard but it is mainly in Russian, and if you eat at 8pm you miss most of it anyway. It will be interesting to see what use the Ampitheatre is put to when it is finished. The lobby bar is very large and overlit, not much atmosphere. There is certainly call for a Sports Bar of some sort. That said, we were more than happy to linger over dinner and drinks, we were there to relax and we certainly did. Will be returning (with friends) as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Our room was above the Citadel restaurant, so close to all facilities and we did not have any proble...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    167
    55
    24
    23
See reviews for
209
277
26
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

..We had a short stay in the hotel.3 nights.The room was spacious..50 sq metres..etc.Meal was perfect.Drinks in the bar ..is garbage.The slippers were brought...BY REQUEST!..5 star hotel...The laundry of my sweater,promised like welcoming free..was not done at all!..I washed it at home..so could compare.Every thing,we needed,i asked ,calling receptionist.The shampoo and shower gel were from big plastic containers and looked similarly..i asked about conditioner..no!..So,,it is good place,but the level of service spoils all work,I recommend it to divers and those,who need a harbour for the yacht.The hotel has own harbour and the biggest beach 1.5 km long.
Also the restaurants are very nice

Room Tip: remember that it is in Egypt
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

One of the most amazing resorts ever, very good view, excellent stuff, perfect all-inclusive experience with high quality restaurants and bars. i loved the shisha corner. overall one of the most amazing trips i ever had.................................................

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We were in just 4 days, Otlet it was a short vacation.
With the entry into the waste rock heap of imagination on both sides of the road.
At this point, really understand that it literally cut out of the mountains for years.
Architecture and the hotel area are impressive, for 4 days and my husband did not pass the entire beach and a whole territory. But this was not needed, we found the beach that suits us and calmed down.
Disagree with the opinions of the authors, who argue that a coral reef on the beach. Probably because of the length of the beach all the rest in different parts of the world, and not all doplyvali up a good reef. We found a reef to the left of the central harbour, there was tortoise on a daily basis.
For those who do not want to veplyvat′ the open sea, there are several private lagoon with comfortable steps for logging in. There are also royal laguna for children with sandy.
Food is not bad, we always found a decent option, there is a cafe Mozart, where coffee and sweets and café serving ice cream.
About the room-everything was excellent, bathrobes and slippers, large comfortable room with a huge balcony.
Tip: we lived in a 5, we recommend the first part, it is relatively close to the restaurants and the beach, the surrounding is quiet and not crowded out.
Assessment of 4 set for the very many stairs and eating normal, but no more.

Room Tip: Tip: we lived in a 5, we recommend the first part, it is relatively close to the restaurants and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minsk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed there from 6-13th november 2012 with a company of friends.The layout of the hotel is unique over a down slope with an amazing view of the Red Sea. The hotel staff were friendly and efficient. Unfortunately the hotel was packed full during our stay so there were queus everywhere. The choice of food was limited and the quality left much to be desired. The fish restaurant turned out a disaster and caused stomach problems. The sea was inaccessible (rocks/corals) even in acquashoes and the entrance to the lagoon was permanently littered with rubbish. We appreciated tea and coffee making facilities in the room. But there was no shampoo, just a pump with "all- purpose" soap, upon our request we were given dirty used slippers.Definitely we wouldn’t like to there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Amazing hotel with a beautiful sea view and wonderful food. Close to the airport but still at a perfect distance to the city. I don´t like to be in the middle of the city when on a vacation. I loved everything and it was so relaxing not anything to disturb us. A lot of great restaurants to choose from and shops and entertainment. Spectacular architecture on the buildings and great staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Location: hotel is far away from Hurghada city in a very isolated location. There are no bars / shops / restaurants outside or at walking distance. Therefore, also the taxi is very expensive. Once you leave the main road to enter the hotel grounds you get quite a chilly on your back, as all you can see for some distance is only sand and rocks :). Once you get to the hotel, you have a pleasant surprise.

Rooms: If you apply for the more expensive rooms, make sure you will be checked in as far as possiblle from the beach area. Also, for the deluxe rooms, you will get a no sea view, due to the roofs of the buildings in the front. Deluxe rooms are very spacious, providing either king size beds or twin beds. Pay attention as, for the room woth twin beds, these cannot be moved, as it is built-in bed :(. The deluxe rooms provide also an extra couch which can be used for aleep. The walls are made of corals (or something which imitates), therefore they are full of dust! If you any dust alergy, do not choose this type of room. For deluxe rooms minibar i sprovided, usually typically drinks (water, cola, fanta - 1 l bottles).

Internet is availble in rooms via phone cable (IP telephony). No wireless available, therefore laptop is mandatory. Once you are using internet, no room telephone is available, as you need to move the cable form the telephone to the laptop. Also, as it a shared connection, the internet speed is low.

Beach: they provide two nice lagoons, very useful specially when the sea is nervous. Towels are available for free, but it can be changed only once per day. Beware and prepare with some water slippers, very useful when swimming in order not to get injured by the corals. The hotel has itws own coral reef so plenty of snorkelling to do.

Food: although not so much diversity (especially if you are used with turkish all inclusive concept), the food is very tasty. Enough food choices also for the children.

Restaurants and service: the restaurants are quite busy, especially on peak hours, therefpre the service is late.

Shops: there are some shops around the harbour area, but the prices are very expensive. If you plan to buy anything, than do it in the airport, where you can the same merchandise at least 50% cheaper. At least.

As the hotel grounds are very large, there is a bus available every 10-15 minutes which can move you from one part to the other. As the hotel is located somehow on a cliff, there are very many stairs, so it is not quite recommneded to people with walking difficulties.

As a summary: I would return to this hotel.

Also, you always have the alternative of other hotels, similary priced, but with larger beach areas or kid playground.

Room Tip: Deluxe is larger, but has no sea view and is far from the beach / restaurant / lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hurghada
6.1 mi away
Royal Azur Resort
Royal Azur Resort
#18 of 23 in Makadi Bay
3.5 of 5 stars 242 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Romance Boutique Hotel and Spa
6.5 mi away
Mercure Hurghada
Mercure Hurghada
#9 of 175 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 stars 2,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
159.2 mi away
Premier Le Reve Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh
The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh
#1 of 175 in Hurghada
5.0 of 5 stars 898 reviews
1.6 mi away
Old Palace Resort
Old Palace Resort
#3 of 175 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 stars 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadel Azur Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadel Azur Resort

Address: | Sahl Hasheesh, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Hurghada
#9 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#15 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#17 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#23 Family Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Citadel Azur Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 514
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CITADEL AZUR RESORT SAHL HASHEESH! Heaven on earth! A Sunken Paradise Reborn! Our exclusive luxury architecture built with natural coral stones which has been hand chiseled from nearby mountains is a true architectural achievement. The Citadel Azur Resort with an atmosphere of the ports in Southern France or the Amalfi coast embraces a large marina where you can enjoy a touch of a small Mediterranean village with its own harbor. Overlooking the Red Sea, each spacious and luxuriously appointed guest room features spectacular sea views. A unique holiday with water sports, boat trips, marina and private beach extended to 1.6 km long, 3 manmade sea lagoons inside an amazing house reef. Relax at the swimming pools elevated and scattered around for your convenience in the resort and enjoy our state-of-the-art health club and gym. Book a wellness journey with our team of professional in our on-site Spa. Conveniently located only 20 minutes drive from Hurghada International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Citadel Azur Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadel Azur Hotel Hurghada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citadel Azur Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.