We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Citadel Azur Resort

Save Saved
You added Citadel Azur Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Citadel Azur Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Sahl Hasheesh | P.O.Box 236, Hurghada 1, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 176 hotels in Hurghada
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“My favorite resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

One of the most amazing resorts ever, very good view, excellent stuff, perfect all-inclusive experience with high quality restaurants and bars. i loved the shisha corner. overall one of the most amazing trips i ever had.................................................

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    178
    85
    30
    14
    10
See reviews for
105
134
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We were in just 4 days, Otlet it was a short vacation.
With the entry into the waste rock heap of imagination on both sides of the road.
At this point, really understand that it literally cut out of the mountains for years.
Architecture and the hotel area are impressive, for 4 days and my husband did not pass the entire beach and a whole territory. But this was not needed, we found the beach that suits us and calmed down.
Disagree with the opinions of the authors, who argue that a coral reef on the beach. Probably because of the length of the beach all the rest in different parts of the world, and not all doplyvali up a good reef. We found a reef to the left of the central harbour, there was tortoise on a daily basis.
For those who do not want to veplyvat′ the open sea, there are several private lagoon with comfortable steps for logging in. There are also royal laguna for children with sandy.
Food is not bad, we always found a decent option, there is a cafe Mozart, where coffee and sweets and café serving ice cream.
About the room-everything was excellent, bathrobes and slippers, large comfortable room with a huge balcony.
Tip: we lived in a 5, we recommend the first part, it is relatively close to the restaurants and the beach, the surrounding is quiet and not crowded out.
Assessment of 4 set for the very many stairs and eating normal, but no more.

Room Tip: Tip: we lived in a 5, we recommend the first part, it is relatively close to the restaurants and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minsk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed there from 6-13th november 2012 with a company of friends.The layout of the hotel is unique over a down slope with an amazing view of the Red Sea. The hotel staff were friendly and efficient. Unfortunately the hotel was packed full during our stay so there were queus everywhere. The choice of food was limited and the quality left much to be desired. The fish restaurant turned out a disaster and caused stomach problems. The sea was inaccessible (rocks/corals) even in acquashoes and the entrance to the lagoon was permanently littered with rubbish. We appreciated tea and coffee making facilities in the room. But there was no shampoo, just a pump with "all- purpose" soap, upon our request we were given dirty used slippers.Definitely we wouldn’t like to there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Amazing hotel with a beautiful sea view and wonderful food. Close to the airport but still at a perfect distance to the city. I don´t like to be in the middle of the city when on a vacation. I loved everything and it was so relaxing not anything to disturb us. A lot of great restaurants to choose from and shops and entertainment. Spectacular architecture on the buildings and great staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Location: hotel is far away from Hurghada city in a very isolated location. There are no bars / shops / restaurants outside or at walking distance. Therefore, also the taxi is very expensive. Once you leave the main road to enter the hotel grounds you get quite a chilly on your back, as all you can see for some distance is only sand and rocks :). Once you get to the hotel, you have a pleasant surprise.

Rooms: If you apply for the more expensive rooms, make sure you will be checked in as far as possiblle from the beach area. Also, for the deluxe rooms, you will get a no sea view, due to the roofs of the buildings in the front. Deluxe rooms are very spacious, providing either king size beds or twin beds. Pay attention as, for the room woth twin beds, these cannot be moved, as it is built-in bed :(. The deluxe rooms provide also an extra couch which can be used for aleep. The walls are made of corals (or something which imitates), therefore they are full of dust! If you any dust alergy, do not choose this type of room. For deluxe rooms minibar i sprovided, usually typically drinks (water, cola, fanta - 1 l bottles).

Internet is availble in rooms via phone cable (IP telephony). No wireless available, therefore laptop is mandatory. Once you are using internet, no room telephone is available, as you need to move the cable form the telephone to the laptop. Also, as it a shared connection, the internet speed is low.

Beach: they provide two nice lagoons, very useful specially when the sea is nervous. Towels are available for free, but it can be changed only once per day. Beware and prepare with some water slippers, very useful when swimming in order not to get injured by the corals. The hotel has itws own coral reef so plenty of snorkelling to do.

Food: although not so much diversity (especially if you are used with turkish all inclusive concept), the food is very tasty. Enough food choices also for the children.

Restaurants and service: the restaurants are quite busy, especially on peak hours, therefpre the service is late.

Shops: there are some shops around the harbour area, but the prices are very expensive. If you plan to buy anything, than do it in the airport, where you can the same merchandise at least 50% cheaper. At least.

As the hotel grounds are very large, there is a bus available every 10-15 minutes which can move you from one part to the other. As the hotel is located somehow on a cliff, there are very many stairs, so it is not quite recommneded to people with walking difficulties.

As a summary: I would return to this hotel.

Also, you always have the alternative of other hotels, similary priced, but with larger beach areas or kid playground.

Room Tip: Deluxe is larger, but has no sea view and is far from the beach / restaurant / lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a superb week staying a Citadel Azur.
Location, just 20 mins from airport
Hotel, staff, food & rooms all great. Would recommend contacting hotel in advance of stay & request either block 4,5 or 6. All have sea view however these particular blocks are in a much better location. Food although usual canteen, buffet style, you can also book 24 hours before, Italian, Fish or Brazlian. All of which were good, Italian was our favourite. Hotel also has a lovely coffee shop & lunch served on the marina. Beautiful setting & you can also get to feed the beautiful fish with the odd bread roll!
Predominantly Russian, German & French. Think we may have been the only English couple whilst we were staying here. Didn't bother us as was looking for complete relaxation.
A word of advice if you do plan to use the hotels shuttle bus into Hurghada downtown.
Only 20 mins away but had an awful time with all the locals pestering you to come into the shops. The shuttle bus picks you up 2hours later but we couldn't wait that long & jumped into a cab. Shuttle bus is 5 euros for the return trip.
Great gym if you fancy working out with all the usual equipment.
We have been to various hotels in Egypt but I can honestly say that this is the best hotel we have stayed in & would thoroughly recommend to anyone wanting a relaxing break. We definatley be visiting again soon.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCT
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The hotel was amazing could not fault anything. The food was exceptional really good choice and quality. The staff couldn't do enough and were really friendly and helpful. This must be one of the best hotels in Hurghada. Went for New Year and would go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Citadel Azur Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadel Azur Resort

Also Known As:
Citadel Azur Hotel Hurghada
Citadel Azur Hotel
Address: Sahl Hasheesh | P.O.Box 236, Hurghada 1, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#13 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#19 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#21 Business Hotel in Hurghada
#30 Family Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Citadel Azur Resort 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Otel so you can book your Citadel Azur Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citadel Azur Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.