We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albatros Palace

Save Saved
You added Albatros Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Albatros Palace
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Safaga Road, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 181 hotels in Hurghada
Kranj, Slovenia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Nice large hotel with beautiful swiming pools, with floating pier access to the sea for snorkeling. The room was clean, there were a lot of dining options and the food was excellent.You can use the slides in sister hotel Albatros Garden. The staff were polite and very friendly. We recommend this hotel especially for families.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    302
    151
    56
    21
    16
See reviews for
147
202
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stroud
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I am so torn with my review about this hotel as I will have to agree the previous reviewer.

Positives:
On first impressions, we loved this hotel but towards the end of it, sadly I cannot recommend it unless you are Russian. It is very impressive, the staff are wonderful and cannot do enough for you, they are so warm and friendly and do not deserve to be spoken to the way they are by a certain other nationality which we witnessed time and time again (upon returning home, having spoken to other people who have been to Egypt, they are also disgusted by the way the Egyptian staff are spoken to so it wasn't just us or this hotel).

This place is immaculately clean and there are people cleaning, moping, sweeping even raking the sand on the beach all the time to ensure it is kept in pristine condition. Special thanks to Mezu in the Shisha cafe, he would make our day with his smile and friendliness and he just went out of his way to help us (for instance we ordered a drink from a waiter but they forgot us, so he went to arrange one personally), it is this attitude of staff going above and beyond that impressed us and they are very warming people, always joking and smiling, always saying hello etc.

Transfer from the airport was with Eastmar Travel and they made us feel like royalty! It was super quick and efficient and we were the only 2 people in the taxi so no stopping at other hotels to drop people off (we later realised it's because Thomas Cook (whom we flew with) don't offer this hotel and now we know why).

Rooms are of a good size, they have a powerful shower and very large comfortable beds. The lighting was a little dark though so from a woman's perspective, it wasn't great for applying make up, however this is a tiny niggly point because let's face it, hopefully you will start tanning and won't need make up :0) (although from a man's perspective my husband found it slightly more difficult for shaving).

The plus point of this hotel is you part of a chain and you can use the facilities of the Albatros Beach next doorn where they have 2 waterslides - if you like that sort of thing. Now I don't, however after a few arguments with staff regarding diving (see final paragraph of this long review) about not letting us take drinks to our room whilst we showered in the evening (yes, they would make a big deal about this and I never heard of a 5* resort not allowing you to take drinks to your room before but they said they would run out of glasses - well if you're a 5* hotel, get more glasses as that isn't our problem, we pay for excellence and we expect it!!). Anyway, I digress ..... the waterslides; we decided to go there for some fun and we had a blast!!! You have to buy a rubber ring for the 2nd one but it was the best 5 euros we have ever spent as it gave us hours of fun (well, my husband hours, for me about 45 minutes lol). So, if it all gets to much for you, I suggest you pop to the waterslides and go for it, I am certainly glad I didn't let me fear of heights and going fast spoil this mini-adventure lol.

Negatives:
Sadly this is where the positivity ends and it's not the hotel's fault. As other people have said, the hotel is full of Russians and Germans and although it doesn't bother me being in a hotel with other foreigners, it was the way the Russians were with other guests by being loud, rude, barging past you without an apology, pushing in front of you, shouting loudly at 4am and banging doors and generally no consideration for anyone but themselves - it all becomes a little much after a while when you have been knocked by someone for the 5th time in one day!! The Germans are fine, they have manners and are friendly and lovely to talk with and we chatted with quite a few so please don't tar them with the same brush, I am sure they don't like the rudeness as much as anyone else!

Checking in was also rather bizarre, they insist on keeping your luggage by the door and you sit down whilst they bring the booking information over to you. Apparently they have a "no luggage by reception desk" policy which is nice, however they didn't like it when we were happy to keep hold of our luggage whilst sitting down. We never let our luggage out of our sight as we know of someone who was on holiday in another country and left their luggage with someone who said they were hotel staff .... they never saw their luggage again and the insurance company said it was their fault for leeting it out of their sight but that's another story. So, we are young and fit enough to carry our suitcases on wheels wherever we need but they wouldn't tell us where our room was and insisted a Bellboy take it. We knew this was because he wanted a tip and we didn't have any change on us so wanted to avoid embarrassment - in the end, the stress-free idea turned into more of a stressful situation than we would have liked! The bellboy practically dragged the suitcases from our hands to our room and then stood around expecting a tip (as is sometimes expected in a 5* hotel). We had to say we didn't have anything and that is why we didn't want him to take our bags in the first place! We are happy to tip and we certainly did tip various members of staff because of their kindness but the British nation isn't one where you tip for the sake of it.

Finally - if you wish to book a dive (which was the sole purpose of our trip here), if you choose to use the Dive Shop on the beach as part of the hotel on the left, they will tell you want you want to hear to get a sale but not actually be able to deliver! We booked a day diving and my husband was told he could do 3 dives in the same day, when we go to the boat he was told that he couldn't as they don't offer that and he shouldn't have been sold it. When we went back to the shop they told him he could go out on the boat again for the 3rd dive another day or pay more for a 4th dive and do 2 more in a day but he would have to be away for the full day again. I have dived all over the world and many times have just done 1 dive from a boat and returned home, but the dive operator said he couldn't do this, then he was told he could do it off the beach but another dive operator said the viz wouldn't be very good and it wasn't worth it. Eventually he was fed up with not being told the truth so went to Guest Relations at the hotel who advised my husband to go to the other Dive shop for Germans on the beach but to the right. The lady told him that they do not do 3 dives in a day, he could only do 2 - end of! He appreciated her honesty and thanked her for it then went for his refund from the other dive operator. All he wanted was someone telling him the truth from the start which put a downer on his day (another good reason for us to go on the waterslides!!)

I would say to you, having read all the reviews, good luck in making your decision as to whether you think you should stay at this hotel or not.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murcia, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

on first impressions, the hotel appears outstanding and by the end of our trip the general aspect of the hotel, i.e the decor and gardens etc i maintain are outstanding. The negatives unfortunately supercede the positives. over run by russians and germans...no other english people in this large complex. The usual reserving of sunbeds, didnt bother us, but come the evening, there is an area where they have live music...again guests were reserving seats in this limited seating area whilst they raided the restaurants, overfilling plates and and wasting unwanted food. i mentioned it to the reception but they didnt action anything. we found the reception and guest relations unhelpful and having spent 4 days in the complex we were eager to get out and see the area as there is nothing on the doorstep. we enquired to 3 different people about a bus service and each said that only taxis available via the guy on the desk in reception. these taxis were expensive so we sought info via another source to find u can flag down minibuses which are safe and the trip cost GBP 1.00 each as opposed to 20 euros . also Wifi expensive. again they quote u 5.50 euro per hour which we purchased 3 times. 2days before departure it rained all day so we purchased a 24 hour at 20 euro which we were told by 2 different internet staff that it had to be used in a 24 block and didnt carry over. consequently i am writing this review after that time frame....yet another lie!
The restaurant , bar and housekeeping staff work hard but the drinks quality isnt very good. the food adequate, all buffet style. asian restaurant the best, indian food excellent,
The noise in the corridors is very noisy, other guests not having any consideration for others.
they have a pontoon area off the beach which is very good and excellent for snorkelling.also if travelling as a family with young children, the kids pool is very good. the gym and equipment is by no means adequate for the number of guests. the hotel is 5 star but due to the negatives mentioned, i would give it 3/4 star. the evenings were boring, lacked atmosphere and generally in bed by 10pm.
stayed at resort of el gouna back in nov 2012 and no comparison. this resort is approx 40mins away and was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandefjord, Norway
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed here february 12. Just a fantastic place.
Good room quality,some of the best dining options we have ever had.
Pool area is marvelous, but during winter time only the smal pool is heated, so big pool keeps 13 degrees.
Easy to get sunbeds at the beach, and around pool.Swimming in the sea is easy acsess from a floating plastic pier, into crystal clear water, and fine sandy bottom.
A very good coffee bar, and fresh juice service is also free.
6 different theme restaurants with new food offers every day, and fresh grill offers outside.
Bottled wine and botled beer of good quality.
Very good bar service around the pool with hard working Mamoud.
Will rekomend the place to everyone, and friends of us has been here later on our recomendation, and they are all impressed about Albatros Palace.
Taxi service to airpert and Hurghada town is good,
Taxi fare to airport is 10 euro
We would love to come back

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aveley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Hotel is extraordinarly clean, relentless mopping, wiping & sweeping which apeears to never end. Low level employees are polite & helpful. Food stations are immaculate & immediately food is spilt, it is rapidly cleaned away. Hotel is large & fairly impressive, HOWEVER, there is organised illegal activity in operation at this hotel. When we checked in, our safe would not close. We removed our high value items (Egyptian currency & jewellery) & went to reception to get a coffee & report the broken safe. We were told to return to our room & someone would call on us. Within 10 minutes we were visited by a staff member who started to work on the safe. In this short time, my partner & I quietly discussed the appropriate gratuity. When the "safe repair man" left, we placed our items back in the safe. When I next opened the safe to remove my sunglasses, they were gone. I then noticed my small jewellery box (costume) was also missing along with a small amount of sterling & a low value watch. We immediately went to front desk where the horror story unfolded. To cut this long story as short as possible, we demanded the electronic door entry print ( as we wanted to see who had been in our room in our absence) and after a good hour (& kept in the lobby) we were produced with a print, which did not correspond with our entries. Our entry to the room to let the "safe repair man" in had been deleted. This rang significant alarm bells & we started to interrogate the manager and the IT guy further. They could not explain the deleted entry. Much more developed and we requested the attendance of the Police. In an attempt to mollify us, the Manager agreed to come to the room & search it. All he did when we entered the room was ask us to open the safe, which we did. He then made a report of the contents (obviously minus the stolen items) We were then asked to attend the lobby again where we were kept waiting while many phone calls were made (in Arabic) & much rushing around seemed to be going on. We were then approached by 2 staff members asking for us to attend the room so they could search. We returned to the room, with the Manager, the safe was opened & my glasses & jewellery box was produced. The Manager looked astonished, I was furious & the assistant manager who "found" the items wore a smug expression. An argument followed as we had clearly been set up. We asked the Manager to produce his report of the safe contents, but he looked blankly at us as if to deny its existence. We again asked for the Police. The rep was called & no answers were provided as to who had replaced the glasses & jewellery box ( still no sign of the sterling or watch). We asked AGAIN for the Police, but we were told they would not be called. Wonder why. We were then told by the rep ( sorry rep...you were helpful but we owe you no loyalty) that the safe guy had probably stolen the items while we were deliberating a tip. He then divulged that no further action would be taken as he was connected to the hotel at a high level. We were informed that an investigation would take place, but the outcome would be covered up. Having seen the deleted prints of our entry into the room, we realised what we were up against & recorded the conversation on my phone although we are not sure what use it will be, given that we are back in the UK. The rep advised we would be moved from the room as the safe may be faulty and I expect he didn't want us to have to call them again. THERE WAS NO CHANCE OF THAT!! However, we were not moved.
Aside of the horrific racket going on here with theft, the hotel ran out of red wine on 4 occasions in 10 days, which is utterly unnacceptable for a 5 star establishment, the Internet card purchased for £55 for a week failed to work on many occasions and the hotel is over run with Russians who were ill mannered, rude, greedy people who were snatching 6 oranges at a time, bunches of bananas, arm full of apples and asking for 4 pizzas at once, all while the queue was building with a few civilised guests only wanting one, but having to wait while these greedy gannets cleared out the food.
There is a very small area for non smokers, ridiculously disproportionate to the size of the hotel, but as it is adjacent to the open area of smoking, it makes no difference as the smokes wafts in.

Laying round the pool is not a relaxing affair as we we're woken up more than once a day, every day, with staff trying to sell massages. Don't bother to pretend to be asleep, they only just stop short of shaking you awake & one staff member went so far as to lean into my partners ear & bawl "sir, sir".

There are set tables in the seating area for coffee, which are reserved for 10 men who resemble the Mafia, however, the table isn't marked reserved. Woe betide any paying guest who attempts to sit there, the waiters all start signalling to each other for one of them to hoof the guests out of the seats. The horror on the staff's face when guests sit there is an entertainment in itself. I personally think it's a damn disgrace that the best seats in the house is reserved for these people, however, instead of employing people to rush over & turf people out, surely it would be simpler to place a reserved card on the table?!

Drinks at the meal table is a very hit & miss affair, sometimes you are offered a drink but most times you go thirsty.

Like I said earlier, the hotel is faultless for cleanliness, but thieves are operating here and despite the jury being out where the Hotel Manager's involvement is concerned, my partner & I now believe he is involved. I will be interested to see if he responds to this review, but whatever his response is, I doubt it will resemble the facts, but I will leave it for the reader to decide.

Low level employees are hardworking, honourable & sincere people, but the middle & high management are corrupt & on this occasion they were caught out.

Room Tip: Don't take a room near the sea as the entertainment from the sister hotel goes on quite late, ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed in the Albatros Palace in November 2011. It is a beautiful hotel with lovely gardens and pool area, a lot of facilities and comfortable rooms.
However, the "software" of the hotel is a typical Egyptian (so called) 5 stars... How often did the staff forget our drinks, or bring them after ages (or bring the wrong ones ;-) Also no service by the pool ; sometimes at the beach, but certainly not regularly.
Instead of this, we often had to queu half an hour just to get a drink (in plastic cups) at the beach or pool...

Yes there is plenty of choice of food in the evening with several restaurants, as people mention here, but the quality of the food is really poor. It is plain 'cantine' food, lots of fries, pasta, pizza,... Nothing refined or really good (and believe me, I am not fussy and eat everything - as long as it is of good quality). Lunch was even worse (and never a la carte, always buffet).

There were not enough sunbeds: by the time we had breakfast and got at the pool around 09:30-10:00, all sunbeds were already taken. Luckily, we found some at the beach. So, after a couple of days, we did what everybody else apparently did: we woke up at 07:30 to 'reserve' a sunbed by the pool... ;-)

Animation was loud and very present, not very professional, although not ennoying.

All in all, this is a beautiful hotel with great facilities and infrastructure. If you are looking for a nice setting, plenty of entertainment and a lively atmosphere, and you don't expect 5 star food and service, the hotel still has a lot to offer.

However, having stayed in other hotels in Hurghada (paying only a bit more than for Albatros Palace actually), we would definitely not go back.
We have been to the Steigenberger Al Dau last month, which I could higly recommend. Yes their rates are a bit higher than the other "5 star" accomodations in the area, but it is absolutely worth every single penny! No comparison at all with the Albatros Palace...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is not the first time in Hurghada for me and my family and I have to say we had the best time ever. The hotel impressed us from very first step in to reception area. Very warm and welcomed atmosphere. I should warn every one who is booking this hotel with hotels4u.com! We paid for family room, but received double room. When we called directly to the hotel before making booking , we were told that family room has two rooms. In our booking was saying "family room -one room pool view". This was the catch! Hotels4u sold us double room with pool view for the price of family room! This has happened many times with British tourists, who booked through the same company. It was the only unpleasant experience in this hotel.
Surrounding area is grate. You can go shopping and get most of the things cheaper than in down town. Sheraton rd is a ripping off.
The beach is suitable as for kids, as for an adults. Grate place to explore exotic fishes from the hotel beach. Be careful, as many of them better not to tuch.
Room was cleaning every day.
Food was grate. Don't believe to those comments , who think that food is Russian oriented. We had mashed potato and minced pie, pasta bolognes, paella rice, grilled stakes, grilled baby chicken, grilled vegetables, some Egyptian cousin. We had a different selection of food in Mediterranean, Italian ,German restaurants. Barista coffee and freshly squizzed orange juice, pancakes all day long has been serving for free. I would like to mention waiter Gorge from Mediterranean restaurant. He is very hard working person. A grate example to the rest of the team.
Entertaining is very good during the day. Animation team done excellent job. We had a choices to do morning aerobic, water aerobic, zumbo dance, water polo, beach volleyball, table tennis, ets. My son loved kids disco. We couldn't miss it.
We didn't come across with any drunk Russians or Germans. It was truly qiert and relaxing atmosphere in the hotel. We met only few British couples. Most of the tourists are Russians and Germans.
The yang members of staff at reception needs more training, as they struggled to deal with our query. To smile is not enough to solve the problem.
We left hotel very happy.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Albatros Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albatros Palace

Address: Safaga Road, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#27 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#28 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#33 Family Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Albatros Palace 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Albatros Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albatros Palace Hurghada
Albatros Palace Hotel Hurghada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albatros Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.