We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and bad... many russians” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Panorama Bungalows Resort Hurghada

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Panorama Bungalows Resort Hurghada to your Saves list
Panorama Bungalows Resort Hurghada
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 12, Ahyaa Rd. El Ahyaa Area, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 182 Hotels in Hurghada
3.5 of 5 stars 250 Reviews
Scandinavia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good and bad... many russians”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2010

we are a young scandinavian couple
we stayed there for a week in the beginning of Feb 2010.

before we went to this hotel which is rated 4 star we were told that because of low standard in Egyptian hotels we could take one star off so we expected not more then 3-4 star hotel. so we went there very open minded. which is the best way to do when traveling :)

First impression of the Hotel is good, large spacious lobby with polite and smiling lobby staff.
the room we got was facing construction site, which is not uncommon in Egypt now, bare to mind that only 20 years ago, Hurghada was a small fishing village, so they are building up new hotels around the town.
The rooms are big, and the beds are ok. it has a small refrigerator,safety box, Tv, and a hairdryer. but it seems that the furniture material and doors are made out of some low standard material, as they were starting to look old and damaged. which is a shame is a good room.

one thing about the rooms, remember to bring toilet paper with you, as we got 1 role of paper 1st day and on the second day after we came from the beach they had cleaned the room, and made the beds, but they did not change or add another toilet role, so we were out of paper wery soon that day. but we got another one the day after ;)

the Hotel garden is good, not to big not to small, 3 pools, bar, and very clean. staff ok but specially the main pool guy he is great, so if you talk to him like a persons, he will return it somehow to you :)

beach is ok as well, they have a bar and some activities, the sand is rather rough (not like the sand in Spain for example)

Then to the food, we had the all inclusive package, which is brilliant when traveling. but the main restaurant is definitely trying to please the Russian guest at the hotel (which are ca 70% of the guests) not bad but not as we Scandinavians like it at least, but don´t get me wrong, we never walked hungry out of the restaurant, but things could be a bit different in the kitchen, dishes and glasses were always like they were dirty, or greasy.

in the lobby later on we found out that it was always packet with people, and often locals, Egyptians on a holiday. and yes it is allowed to smoke everywhere in Egypt ....

and the all inclusive part is not ALL inclusive, as after 23:00 we had to pay for our drinks.

overall the hotel is a good place to relax. at the beach or in the garden, but it takes some time to get to the town and costs 30-40 Egyptian pounds one way.

I think we were at all 8 Scandinavians at the hotel, the rest was (as I noticed) Russians, Polish, German, Egyptians

It was a great experience, but for my parts I would try to choose another hotel for my next visit, just to be able to communicate to other travelers.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    76
    40
    26
    26
See reviews for
87
69
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kaunas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2010

We stayed whole family with 3 children for one week. Staff was very polite. Annoyed Russians, who always tried to destroy all rules (for e.g. reserving sunloungers next to the pool from very early morning)
Very good massage at health center, nice and smart man Ali was loved by children during the wind surfing lesson.
Very good safari ordered by Romen at the hotel beach.
Children say : it was the best holidays ever!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2009

I've just came back from that hotel. Went there couple days before New Year, thanks god I didn't stay there :) Left hotel one day before and went on a cruise, came back for one night on 5 of january. The hotel is small. Rooms are ok, but cleaning- not. Had horrible room for one night stay-nothing worked in that room. The wiev was to the street. The worst thingin the hotel is food. All dining room smells not nice and when you come back all your clothes smells horible. Another big problem is water and electricity. You never know when it will be gone. Beach is bad. Bad sand and very dirty sunloungers.
So if there is posibility not to pick this hotel, better not.

  • Liked — sun
  • Disliked — food, staff
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moscow
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2009

Went to Panorama for a New Year Holidays. Stayed three days in January. The weather was cold and windy. Had to wear warm coat at night time.

The hotel is not new. The biggest advanture is that we had fire in our room. The TV set exploded while we were at an animation show. The room was all filled with smoke and the clothes and other stuff were ruined .Well, the hotel gave us free dry cleaning but still we could smell the smoke afterwards.

The room did not have smoke detectors and sprinklers. Not to mention the TV set that set on fire. We were lucky this did not happen while we were asleep.

Anyway, the volleyball place was bad. I'm into volleryball and i could not play. The play yard did not have sand and was not even. The food is ok. I would recommend staying in the ordinary rooms rather than bangalows. The ordinary ones are bigger but do not have baths. They are warmer too which is important in winter.

Animation is fine. The territory is rather small for Egypt. They have three pools. One big could not be used in winter. Other two are very small but heated.

Pretty far from the town. It costed us 10 dollars to get to the town.

  • Disliked — The room, the volleyball play ground.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rotherham
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2008

wendy and bert
we went to this hotel for our 40th wedding anniversary, we went on the 12th september and our anniversary was on the 20th. we stayed for 2 weeks.

the hotel was nice, but definately not 4 or 5 star, i would say more of a 3 star, they tend to cater more for the russians and germans, some of the staff were ok and some were very rude and arrogant, one in particular works in the upstairs lobby bar ( he wears the orange tee shirt ) he is a real nasty piece of work, one of our company reported him to the manager.
it is supposed to be all inclusive, but its not, after 11pm, if you want a drink you have to pay, you have to pay for tea and coffee, fizzy drinks and water thats in your room, you get a free bottle of water in your room when you arrive.
the food is pretty much the same day after day but you can get by.
the hotel is in the middle of building sites at both sides, across the road is desert and a mosque, we were in the rooms at the front of the hotel, it was a nightmare, loud hailers 24/7 it was impossible to sleep, ten past four every morning without fail we got an unwelcome morning call, there is an open sewer right at the front of the hotel in the small garden, which was right outside our room and did not smell very nice at all.
we had trouble, along with 22 more english people, we were all made to pay for our rooms again even though we had paid in england, medlife did not pay our money to the hotel, the manager, mohammed, said we had to pay again or be arrested , taken to court, miss our flights home and still have to pay, needless to say we will never go to egypt again, one good thing came out of all this and that was the friends we met who were in the same situation as us, they were all brilliant and very good company

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2008

Dave & Ann Worcester, stayed 5Sept 2008 till 19Sept 2008

Very Bad Customer Relations

We stayed in one of the bungalows, the room was clean and comfortable and the glass partition in the floor was amazing for watching the fish. This was made even more special when a Blue Spotted Ray desided to spend time there. The food was very samey! but edible and plentiful, the restaurant was clean and there was always plenty of space. The waiters were polite and efficient. The beach was clean with plenty of beds provided you got down there before 6 45am with your towels or the Russians and Germans claimed all the best spots.

Thats the good part of this review!! We were unfortunately caught up in the problems with the collapse of XL. Although not involved in the problem with flights the agent in Egypt, Medlife who are responsible for a lot of the hotel accommodation went out of business and the hotel demanded the we pay again.

We tried to hold meetings with the management of the hotel who informed us that "We haven't been paid by Medlife so you pay again, and demanded that we paid the full rate for this hotel of $100 per night. The fact that we had paid our Travel Agent in the UK made no difference, pay up or be arrested on our departure and miss our flight home. We were lucky, our Agent agreed to pay, but there were another 22 british guests who had to find the money to pay. This ruined all of our holidays, and all the Manager (Mohammed) did was smile and say "you pay".

This Hotel is one of the best we have stayed in Egypt but because of the attitude of the Management team I doubt if any British guests will stay there again. I most certainly won't!!!

  • Liked — level ground only 6 steps between reception and the beach, with ranps available
  • Disliked — The attitude of the Management team!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2008

This Hotel was more like a 3 star. How ever the hotel was very clean, and all the staff very friendly. The food was very much the same,on most days,no good for anyone with food intolerance,Wheat Dairy etc: The water containers looked very shabby and did not have any seals on.
Maybe this was the reason for our upset systems.
The only free entertainment was made by the guests playing children's games. The activities during the day were good especially for the children.
This Hotel is fine for families,with small children,who do not want to leave the hotel resort.
I have traveled to many places,But did not find this hotel came up to 5 star rating,definitely not all inclusive. Not even an ice cream for the children.

Stayed June 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Panorama Bungalows Resort Hurghada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panorama Bungalows Resort Hurghada

Address: Km 12, Ahyaa Rd. El Ahyaa Area, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Hurghada
#25 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#45 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Panorama Bungalows Resort Hurghada 4*
Number of rooms: 404
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Panorama Bungalows Resort Hurghada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panorama Bungalows Resort Hurghada Hotel Hurghada
Panorama Hotel Hurghada
Hurghada Panorama Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Panorama Bungalows Resort Hurghada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.