We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IS THAT A SONESTA ??” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada to your Saves list
Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Safaga Road, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 178 Hotels in Hurghada
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“IS THAT A SONESTA ??”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

not good at all.food is terrible .service is bad.i wonder is sonesta supervise that resort? the answer was no. they just took their money and let the administration make the resort a bad reputated sonesta

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    584
    238
    89
    63
    67
See reviews for
391
209
46
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

This place is anything but a 5* hotel. It has a huge territory, the beach and numbers are OK. The service is so-so and the stuff is pretty importunate. You probably will not enjoy lying on the beach because of the ppl offering you massage, water melons, scuba diving and all that stuff. Be aware of a possible fraud when buying things in the shop near the reception desk: when you ask them to convert dollars to local pounds, they may manipulate the rate. The taxi service of the hotel has the rates that exceed a lot the normal price. The worst thing about this hotel is food. It is gross in ALL the restaurants of the hotel. If you do care about what you eat, look for another place to stay in Hurghada. Also, mind that this place has no free wifi in the rooms or anywhere else. You have to pay for it ($12 for 24 hours) and it is not an easy thing to find a place where it does work. Conclusion: I would not recommend this hotel. At the same price, you can find a way better place in Hurghada to spend your vacation.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear n_safronov

Thank you for your review, I apologize for any inconvenience related to the food , maybe you did not try the other restaurants in our resort as we have a big variety of cuisine . I hope you give us another chance to experience our new restaurants and have a better feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egypt
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

worst Vacation at all, the food were very bad and no variety I could not find food tools easily. the air condition was very bad in the room, the all staf (reception, resturant, animation, pool , beach) were unfriendly non Smiley all the time. and the room and bathroom were very bad and non hygiene

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
badramani, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear AhmedMostafa121

Thank you for getting back to us with this review , we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay , I will copy the management with all your complains , just wanted to ask if you asked to change your room when you found the A/C not working or not .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Positives:
Great location
Big rooms
Big pool
Long beach

Negatives:
The front desk guys are not welcoming and not smiling at all
There is no variety in the food, very little choices
The animation team is using many sexual intimations in the night show

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear John M

Thank you for both your positive and negative feedback , I will make sure that i report the animation team and the food issue to the management . Sorry for any inconvenience and hope to see you soon at our resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Arrived on the 1st April, we were not welcomed, we had booked a sea view room which if you hung over the balcony and craned your neck to the left you could just about see the sea in the distance. This is not the hotel for British people. The other holiday makers were mainly Russian and German and the hotel catered for their needs, the staff were unhelpful. The tennis courts were under construction and not useable, the food was at best slop, there were not enough food stations, limited choice and not nice.

This hotel is at best a 3 star resort!

It was so bad we paid another £300 to be moved to another hotel on the second day.

Room Tip: Book a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
badramani, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Karen M

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, whether it is positive or negative , it is by reading your reviews that we try to correct our mistakes , sorry for you experience and be sure we will do our best to upgrade our service , food and accommodation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Arrived at Sonesta and first impressions were good - on check in we found the reception staff rather unhelpful but just assumed it was because they were busy. Our room in the grounds was more than adequate albeit it had no view! The food was awful - it was like a canteen style more than 5 * and this is where we first came across the many Russians - they were rude, pushed in, and filled their plates (and bags!) with so much food it was disgusting! The hotel catered for the Russians and the staff have obviously picked up on their ways as they came across as very rude and unhelpful! At breakfast there was limited selection not enough plates/cups (sometimes having to wait 5-10 minutes) and the tables were often left uncleared. They were obviously very short staffed - and the hotel wasn't full? On a positive the pool area was beautiful if you could find a sun bed that didn't have bird droppings all over it - these were not cleaned and many were ripped. The grounds were very pretty. At one point we even travelled back to siva grand to try and book into there instead but couldn't afford the price! It's a good thing the weather was beautiful which helped enormously.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
badramani, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
YvetteH622

We are sorry you did not enjoy your time at the resort , I will report your comments to the management and specially the short of staff issue and I am sure if you give us another chance you will experience the difference next time

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West sussex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the Sonesta Pharaoh hotel. Yes, there was a lot of Russians, but I found them well mannered. Maybe it was because the hotel was not crowded! There was plenty of chairs round the pool and on the beach. We had a beautiful room overlooking the gardens, which were tended to daily. I enjoyed the food and especially the cakes! There was an 'all you can eat' fish restaurant on the beach with an evening entrainment Egyptian style! We paid £10 as we were all inclusive guests and it was worth every penny! I've never seen so much fish!
All in all I would defiantly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: I don't know why, but we had a very large room with a king bed and two queen beds and there was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada

Address: Safaga Road, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#13 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#14 Best Value Hotel in Hurghada
#19 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada 5*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada Hotel Hurghada
Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Hurghada
Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Hotel Hurghada
Sonesta Hurghada
Hurghada Sonesta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.