We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great holiday!!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada

Save Saved
You added Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Safaga Road, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 181 hotels in Hurghada
Cracow, Malopolskie, Poland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great holiday!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

it was a great holiday, I spent nice time there with my friends.very nice people, especially a group of leaders who not for a moment did not let us get bored :) if holiday in Hurghada it is only at the Sonesta Phaorah Beach Resort :)))) recommend

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    460
    168
    67
    52
    62
See reviews for
295
162
38
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I was there in may 2009
I have reserved for 5 days but when I have arrived this hotel, I have done check in & I have taken just 50 minutes to do the check out , it was a horrible hotel .
The room of honeymooners was extremely bad .
I have left my luggage in the entrance out of the hotel gate ,they told me your luggage will follow you directly to your room but I have surprised that I have got my luggage after 1 hour when I have left the hotel to another one but for frankly speaking the lugguage were there in the same location infront the entrance gate out of the hotel in the same location no more .
The lobby is so crowded by furniture , no body has done the orientation or guidance for us to go to our so far room .
I don't recommend this hotel absolutely .
Don't be trapped by the room price .

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Ahmed E,

We are sorry you did not enjoy your accommodation at our resort and thank you for taking the time to write this review , be sure we take every complain seriously as this is how we improve our service . Again sorry for any inconvenience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We spent one week in this hotel and chose it mainly because of the good price. But we understood why they had better rates than other hotels, as soon as we arrived. We were charmed with the capacity of the staff to make you feel as if you really chose the worst option. In the reception we were asked from the begining to "leave a present in the passport" in order to get a certain bungalow, even though the resort was half empty. The staff from the hotel's bar was rather rude.
Very nice garden, but except for that, the hotel is truly a 3*, not even close to 5: room furniture is old, cleaning service is poor (didn't change the towels every day, but enchanted us with elephants made of dirty towels)
At the beginning of our stay, we wanted to make reservations for the a la carte restaurants - they told us that they're all closed and only the Chinese will open one day before we leave.. so we booked that one. All this time we ate in the hotel's cantine, that's what it felt like - poor meals, bad service - I couldn't touch the green salad, it was not washed, having soil on it...
Our surprise was when we finally had the privilege to eat in the Chinese restaurant - that's when we found out that all the restaurants have been open all week long ... :)
Animation is mainly for Russian tourists, as if others don't even count
The outside pool was very very cold in November, while the heated pool was not heated at all, I never saw anybody going there
The shopping center inside the resort is very poor - the one across the street was our option
The beach is nice, on the other hand, and the water is clear and full of colourfull fishes.
So my advice to you is: pay a little extra and find a real hotel for your vacation. It will worth it!

Room Tip: beach bungalows
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Lari842,

Please accept our apology for not having a good time at our resort and be positive that all your complains will reach the concerned person in order to upgrade our service .

Thank you for taking the time to write this review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I spend one week holiday on Hurghada. I visiting on sonesta beach many times, cos we rent a flat far away from the beach. So we found Sonesta!! Food was delicius and service on lobby bar and on the beach is something what i cant find on Finland. About see and beach: I dive so i can say that try it on new center, or go snorkeling and fresh youre mind on beatiful house reef. You can find beatiful corals and all kind of fish and colours under the water ! Hotel have also two animation teams, who moves youre body many kind of ways :) Dancing, aqua aerobic, yoga, shooting ! So you dont have to just lay at the beach. For familys: Animation team have also activity club to kids,while youre kids are playing with professional kid leaders you can enjoy youre time on the beach :) Beach is very safetly, not too deep and sand is so soft. I can swear that this hotel is best choice if you go to Hurghada. I wanna say that: Enjoy youre holiday and don't stress :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear heidi_aaltonen,

Thank you for your review , we are happy you enjoyed your stay at our resort , and the food and entertainment were up to your expectations . Hope to have you as a regular guest at our resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I was in Sonesta with my family. I had a great time, all the people who work there are so nice! And the animation team awesome. I like Sheeko, Essam, Karim and Ahmed so much, they are the best entertainers! Every day you can go so much activities.
This hotel has everything you need and is very clean. The pool is very nice and also the beach. you can snorkel and dive.
Every night there is a nice show to watch. Sonesta also has some nice reataurants were you can eat very good.

I will go back for sure to sonesta! It's the best!

Room Tip: A room with the vieuw on the pool is very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Michella426,

Thank you for your review , we are happy you enjoyed your stay at our resort and hope to see you soon again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PARIS
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

After one week on that hotel. I really regret my stay there. Bad management, Poor meals and rooms are badly maintained. Animations are all the time for Russian people. It seems that your are in Russia not in Egypt. I sincerely advice you to avoid that 3 hotel Stars at anyway.

European Tourists

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Ronald B

We are sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay at our resort , I will make sure to pass your comments to the management because it is through your comments that we get better and upgrade our services . Thank you for taking the time to write this review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Egypt, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

it is very big ,Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada, stretching across the sands of the Red Sea with a distinguished blend of modern and Pharaonic architecture.

The resort's 360 unique guest rooms, family rooms, suites and bungalows each feature a private balcony or patio. The resort offers a private beach for the world's best scuba diving in the Red Sea's legendary waters, one outdoor pool, one indoor heated pool and one children's swimming pool for relaxing laps in the sun.
the hotel is very clean
staff is so friendly that you can feel your self home , they speak many languages especially english and the huose keeping is nice they clean the room every day
Thanks for mr hussein and all the team of the hotel

Room Tip: see view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada

Address: Safaga Road, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#15 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#17 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#19 Business Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada Hotel Hurghada
Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Hurghada
Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Hotel Hurghada
Sonesta Hurghada
Hurghada Sonesta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.