We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect winter getaway!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dawar El Omda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Dawar El Omda to your Saves list
Dawar El Omda
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kafr El Gouna El Gouna Resort, El Gouna, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in El Gouna
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect winter getaway!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

This hotel, and the entire El Gouna area, is beautiful and remote. It has a relaxing atmosphere and let's you miss nothing! And, if you want to go to the beach, the hotels own boat will take you there in just minutes..
The rooms are tidy and a good size. The service was also great!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    76
    23
    3
    12
See reviews for
29
87
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Giza, Al Jizah, Egypt
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The hotel objects against long swim suits and not cotton swim suits. I have a lycra long swimsuit however it is not allowed for me to enjoy the swimming pool. My friend wanted to go swim and the hotel staff prevented her although her swimsuit was all lycra and not cotton.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egypt-cel, General Manager at Dawar El Omda, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Heba,

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor. Our pool dress code is clearly communicated and displayed to all guests and we do not allow an long swimsuits in the pool. Only lycra shirts are allowed but not full body ones.
All hotels in El Gouna apply the same dress code for pool guests, irrespective of religion or origin. We apologize if you find this measure discriminating, we are committed to the well being of all guests.
Maged Maher
GM Dawar el Omda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We arrived to the hotel in a group on a Friday at dawn for a weekend, the receptionist gave us the key to room 101 which is the first room to the reception by a quick look to the very small room with the parking lot view and light that didnt work we knew we had to switch.

So we went back to the receptionist who insisted-without checking- that there are no other rooms for us, so we insisted back that he should at least do a bit of effort and check. After a 15 minutes argument of course he found us a nice 3rd floor room that overlooks the lagoon. Room 421.

However the problem was that the room didn’t have a queen bed as we requested, only two twin beds. A room service guy accompanied us to show us to the room and see if he can pull the beds together to make a big bed. Another argument with the house keeping guy who wanted to pull the beds together without fixing the bedding, and wanted us to wait for the morning guy to fix the bedding for us. Again after asking three times, it turn out he can do it and actually he seems to be trained for it. But again laziness rule.

Finally after an hour of checking-in we thought we could relax, that’s of course before discovering that the whole plumbing system of the bathroom doesn’t work. Toilette doesn’t flush, clogged sink and almost no water in the tap. So we called again to have it fixed in the morning, but of course the night guy failed to leave a note for the morning guy and we had to ask again.


After 3 hours of sleeping and at around 8am, we heard a door knock that turned into banging, my husband open the door to find one of the staff asking him, “how many people in the room”, although we are both travelers but that was a first. My husband asked him to check with the reception but the guy asked again so my husband answered him to get him off his face.

After all those unfortunate events that shows carelessness and laziness of staff we finally made it to breakfast. Food was real good, lots of varieties and fresh food. Later we have ordered burger in the room, it was pretty good.


The pool is rather small, with 10 people swimming you can feel cramped, however the lagoon offers a nice swim and spacious a nice small beach. Swimming boots might be a good idea to avoid the stones.

The hotel doesn’t allow veiled women to wear their specially designed bathing suites, I am not veiled however I had to feel for them as they paid full fair but they couldn’t use a hotel facility. I can argue about freedom and acceptance to all humans till the cows come home, however on the other hand it’s a hotel policy and the management reserves the right to put their own rules. The question is: IS THIS RULE BEING DISCLOSED WHILE BOOKING? INCLUDING ON LINE BOOKING? The answer is No as I checked myself. so it might be a good idea for the management to disclose such limiting rules, the least they can do out of respect is to offer the information so people can make conscious choices.

The room was ok suitable for a 3 stars hotel, some innovation would have made difference. The oriental country style doesn’t mean bad quality furniture and window screens that don’t close. Also the90s model TV didn’t add but cheapness to the style specially with a remote that doesn’t work and unclear channels.

The view from the room was really nice as it overlooks the lagoon and the sea from a distance.
The location of the hotel is really good as it is right in downtown Gouna where there are many restaurants and cafes and right in front of the club house.

Overall, a bit of care and letting go the motto of “laziness rules” would compensate the missing stars.

Room Tip: stay away from the 100's rooms, they have a parking lot view. get a room overlooks the lagoon, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egypt-cel, General Manager at Dawar El Omda, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Shera111,

We appreciate your comment and feedback on your stay and it is nice to hear that you appreciated our breakfast buffet and lagoon, as well as all facilities of El Gouna resort. I would like to apologize for the unresponsive acts you have encountered from our staff and that the room you have received did not match all your expectations. As the hotel was almost fully booked and your group checked-in late in the night, our receptionist tried to have all rooms checked in in a swift manner. As the first room with king bed was not satisfactory, he has upgraded you to another room type with lagoon view but only twin beds were available. We do apologize as well for the maintenance issue in the bathroom.

The dress code policy at the swimming pool is clearly displayed next to the pool. Indeed it is not sent to guest prior to arrival and we are looking to solve this in the future but not all online booking systems allow to provide pre-stay guest information.

We hope you will come back to Dawar el Omda and to El Gouna town for a future stay.
Sincerely yours,
Maged Maher
General Manager Dawar el Omda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This was our second time staying at the Dawar El Omda. Stayed for 2 weeks Bed and Breakfast. Our room was 116 small but clean everything we needed. And was close to the pool and other amenities. The staff in this Hotel are excellent and friendly from the managment to the cleaners.Planning to visit again later in the year.

Room Tip: Apparently the rooms on the ground floor are smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

My husband and I went to El Gouna in May and stayed at Dawar El Omda (21/05-2013 - 28/05-2013)
First impression was good, everything looked really beautiful, but when we checked in it tooked a very long time, because the aircondition in the room had broken and they were fixing it.
Our room was really so beautiful, we got a deluxe double room with view to the lagoon, and it was so nice! We could see all the way to Zeytouna Beach.
The hotel was very quiet in the night, which was very nice, we slept really good, the bed was very nice. The aircondition worked really good to :)
Dawar El Omda was very nice beause there were a lot of plants, trees and flowers, it felt really nice and fresh.
The hotel had a very nice location to, everything was very close, Abu Tig Marina, shops, resturants and beaches.
Over all it was a really really good holiday!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Stayed here (again!! 4th time) in April, My only criticism last year was that the bathrooms needed updating, and this year, the bathroom had been completely updated, as this was my only negative last year, I'm a bit stuck!
The staff are very welcoming, from the pool boy, all the way up to the management. The location is in our opinion spot on, an exceptionally friendly "boutique hotel" which provides an ideal resting, relaxing holiday, with easy access to Zetouna Beach , and the resturants of Down Town El Gouna (amazingly good food !!)
As I write this I'm in the process of rebooking for 2014.
Glyn & Jan Thompson

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

It was my frist time to el gouna, and at dawar el omda, it was just beautiful, we had a room with a lagoon view that was breath taking, location is just perfect. For the first time i feel im not in Egypt due to the hospitality and staff, they were great helpful, friendly and always willing to do anything to make our stay enjoyable.............didnt find that at huradaga nor sharm at all. However, i took a refurnished room, but the aircondition was dripping making a pool of water near an electric plug but it was working, so called maintainace, they call instantly, but they didnt fix it, and called again, and he came again.............soo just decicded to put a towel beneath the aircondition...............fix aircondition in 401..............Food was realy good with a great varity for breakfast............it was one of my best vacations ever...........and definitly will be there again.............sooooooon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dawar El Omda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dawar El Omda

Address: Kafr El Gouna El Gouna Resort, El Gouna, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > El Gouna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in El Gouna
#10 Luxury Hotel in El Gouna
#10 Romantic Hotel in El Gouna
#11 Family Hotel in El Gouna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dawar El Omda 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dawar El Omda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dawar El Omda Hotel El Gouna
Dawar El Omda Gouna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dawar El Omda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.