We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect apart from one thing!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Moevenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna to your Saves list
Moevenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Main Street | PO Box 72, El Gouna, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in El Gouna
Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect apart from one thing!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We are still staying at the hotel and loving it.
I came here with my 5 year old daughter to take 1 weeks chill out time and enjoy the beautiful weather of Egypt v's Sweden at this time of year.
The hotel itself is spread out over a vast area and at first this was quite overwhelming but after 3 days felt spacious and lets you feel like you have the peace and calm that i was after.
The staff are ABOVE EXCELLENT, so nice, wam and friendly. I do have to say though that there is an obvious lack of female staff - only 1 on duty at breakfast - so i am not sure what the reasons are - odd but true. Food is excellent considering the potential amount of guests they serve.
The one thing that is overwhelmingly frustrating is the OASIS pool.
The pool is set in the most beautiful location in front of the sea and beach area. However its not heated - -whilst this might seem an of statement to make as i am sure the pool is wonderful in late April - September time; however in March the pool is not freezing but its not enjoyable - ESPECIALLY for kids.
So this means every day we have had to leave our room and walk all the way over to the Lagoon pool - this is a little annoying as we got a great room in Cluster 6 which we upgraded to for 50Euros a night just so we can see the sea and be close to the pool.
Lagoon pool lovely but its not the OASIS pool.
Dissapointed with the Hotel in this one count as there seems to be no statement on their website.
Would we come back - defiantely but not in the Winter and Spring months unless the OASIS pool is heated.
In all i say that the best part of the hotel are the staff and this is why people quite rightly return.

Room Tip: Cluster 6 with great sea views - we have room 6206 which has an adjoining door so you could be a fam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPHotelEgypt, Public Relations Manager at Moevenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest.
Thank you for your visit. We are happy to know, that you and your family enjoyed your stay. At the same time, we are sorry, that you were disappointed, that Oasis Pool is not heated. As a matter of fact, this is the only pool, that we can not heat, due to technical reasons. Lagoon Pool and Spa Pool, both even bigger than Oasis Pool, can be heated in the winter month, in addition to the Health Club Pool. We thank you for your review and hope to be able to welcome you back for another visit at Moevenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna.

Best regards
Brigitte Gobran, Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    877
    405
    128
    60
    39
See reviews for
471
619
49
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Had a fabulous week at the Moevenpick Hotel. Room was gorgeous, as was the hotel and facilities. The food excellent. The staff genuinely friendly and helpful. Would recommend to anybody. I went with my daughter and we felt safe the whole time. El Gouna was lovely and didn't get hassled. Took 2 trips out to sea and my daughter swam with dolphins. (32 of them!!)

Room Tip: We stayed in room with sea view in Clusuter 4 and we were very happy with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPHotelEgypt, Public Relations Manager at Moevenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your visit. We are delighted, that you had a nice stay and felt safe with us in El Gouna and that the room, the quality of food and the service received by our employees were up to your expectations. The experience, swimming with 32 dolphins, must have been a special highlight and will certainly keep an excellent memory of your visit to El Gouna.
We thank you for having taken the time to review our hotel and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best regards
Brigitte Gobran, Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Just spent two weeks at the Movenpick & had a fantastic time.
We requested the same room we had on a previous visit & the management duly obliged and this time the room had been refurbished to a very high standard.
The highlight of our stay was at Il Limone restaurant where our friend celebrated her birthday.The whole staff made it a most memorable night treating us like VIP,s & singing "Happy Birthday" in both English & Arabic.
A special mention has to be given to the animation team Abd, Adham & Elena, they where a fantastic bunch of young people greeting us with enthusiasm, so positive & full of energy, they made us feel years younger

Room Tip: We had a room in cluster 7 overlooking one of the lagoons & close to the lagoon pool, perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPHotelEgypt, Public Relations Manager at Moevenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Philip
Thank you for your review. We are delighted to know that you felt right at home, in your preferred room and that we were able to make your stay more memorable with a successful birthday surprise at il limone Restaurant. Rest assured, that we will pass on your compliments to our employees, especially the Animation team, which, we fully agree, is a great asset to our hotel.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon for another return visit to Moevenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna.

Best regards
Brigitte Gobran, Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amman
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We spent two nights in this resort .It is located on a vast area and resembeles ( Brouge city-
Belgium)with its lakes and canals.My room(cluster *8) was footstep from one of the canals.
Beeches are well serviced. Staff were friendly and cooperative Food quality is good with food and beverage manager was supervising all major meals .Unfortunately room quality was a different story where the furniture needs repair,TV an outdated non-flat screen one,bathroom was not adequate and needs updating.Meeting facilitieies were below average ,since during our activity there were frequent interruptions because of mic malfunction. I think with more attention to room quality this resort becomes a supreme resort.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPHotelEgypt, Public Relations Manager at Moevenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Hussein
thank you for your visit. We are happy to know, that you've enjoyed your stay, especially the nice experiences in our Food & Beverage. At the same time, we regret that the room was not up to your expectations. As a matter of fact, a part of the hotel rooms have not been renovated yet, and are therefore sold at lower rate, category 'Economy' room.s All standard rooms though have been renovated. Please do not hesitate to contact us for your next stay in advance, in order to arrange a nice room at your preferred location.
Hoping to be able to welcome you back soon.

With best regards

Brigitte Gobran,
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Al Iskandariyah, Egypt
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

we are a group of doctors who attend a medical confers for a weekend in this huge hotel which we can not finish enjoying every part of it in only three days ,so we are planning to come back again.it is prestigious hotel with amazing views,many pools and nice lagoon,beach and many activities to share.at night you can enjoy the parties they do and you can go downtown or to the marina.the food was good,gala dinner was fantastic over the pool.rooms are clean and their is many views varieties for all taste the only drawback was the personal who needs more training on how to treat the gusts with a smile.otherwise it is a relaxing place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finchampstead, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We loved this hotel, beautiful room, friendly staff and service, amazing gardens and views, good choice of food, pools and restaurants We were there for my birthday, they made me a cake and the waiters at the Oasis poolside restaurant sang "happy Birthday" in English and in Arabic. The whole area had a power cut one evening (candle thoughtfully provided in room) and the view of the stars from our balcony was mind boggling. Cerainly one of the highlights which I shall never forget. Definitely go back if only Thos.Cook didn't pack travellers into planes like sardines.

Room Tip: Some rooms are a long walk from the central reception and restaurant. If this is a problem ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPHotelEgypt, Public Relations Manager at Moevenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your excellent feedback. We are delighted to know, that we were able to meet up to your expectations and that our Birthday surprise made your special day memorable. We appreciate very much your understanding for the power cut and think it is fantastic that you’ve turned this unexpected shortcoming into a special experience – under the starry sky of El Gouna.
Thank you again for your comments and we hope it will not be too long, before we can welcome you back at Mövenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna.

Best regards
Brigitte Gobran
Public Relations Manager
Mövenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We have a daughter that is disabled and in a wheelchair. We asked in advance if it was accessible for wheelchairs and were told there would be no problem. They were more than true to their word.There is about 2 steps in the whole resort, which we her chair up....they had 2 lifts and everywhere else had either flat paths or slopes. They gave us an adapted room so we could shower her with ease. They were also outstanding when it came to liquidizing her food. The staff bent over backwards to make our stay as easy as possible despite our little ones complex needs.We can not thank them enough for everything, and we would defiantly go back again. We spoke with may people there who all said the same, infact we meet 3 couples that DO go back every year.....Highly recommend this hotel to all...So thank you movenpick and staff for everything from the Memory clan, Nicky told everyone about the holiday and how much fun she had.

Room Tip: Our favorite pool was the Lagoon pool and the rooms there were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPHotelEgypt, Public Relations Manager at Moevenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Family Memory
Thank you so much for your feedback and your kind words, which we will certainly pass on to our team members. We are delighted to know, that you and Nicky felt at ease in our hotel and that we were able to contribute for all of your to have a pleasant and enjoyable holiday. As a matter of fact, we do offer 15 adapted rooms, which seem to be very suitable, taken from all the positive feedback we receive from our guests in wheelchair. Our Guest Relations team will be glad to answer any inquiry and arrange special requests, just drop us an email in advance.
Wishing you and Nicky all the best, strongly hoping to be able to welcome you back very soon at Mövenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna.

Best regards
Brigitte Gobran
Public Relations Manager
Moevenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moevenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna

Address: Main Street | PO Box 72, El Gouna, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > El Gouna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in El Gouna
#2 Spa Hotel in El Gouna
#3 Top resorts Hotel in El Gouna
#3 Family Hotel in El Gouna
#3 Romantic Hotel in El Gouna
#5 Luxury Hotel in El Gouna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Moevenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna 5*
Number of rooms: 554
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a peninsula with an exclusive beachfront presenting a spectacular view of the Red Sea, the resort offers the ideal surroundings for a perfect stay. The relaxing atmosphere combined with extensive facilities invites you to enjoy your holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Moevenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort And Spa El Gouna
Moevenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna Hotel El Gouna
mövenpick El Gouna
Moevenpick Hotel El Gouna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.