We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Lovely Resort.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna

Save Saved
You added Moevenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Moevenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Main Street | PO Box 72, El Gouna, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 16 hotels in El Gouna
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Wow! Lovely Resort.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

Just arrived home from El Gouna last night, and could'nt wait to write a review. I must firstly say that we moved ourselves from the Sheraton Miramar, which is not remotely in the same league.
This hotel is clean,friendly, well laid out and with a very relaxed but professional staff. You could not want for more. I suppose it helps when you are greeted by a pool and seaview from your terrace! Its also a very convenient walk from Downtown, I cannot understand why anyone would want to get the rickety old shuttle bus. We also took a TukTuk to the Marina, which was beautiful.
All in all a wonderful stay. El Gouna and the Hotel will definately see us again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMElGouna, General Manager at Moevenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this review, April 4, 2011
Dear YorkshireKellygirl

We were delighted to read that your really enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your kind remarks about the professionalism of our team. We shall pass on your comments at our next team meeeting.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to our Resort again in the not too distant future.
John G C Wood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,430 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    841
    386
    117
    49
    37
See reviews for
427
588
46
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

Nice facilities, however pool not sufficiently heated. Food was great except for "Thai" restaurant. Staff very friendly. We were a bit disappointed that El Gouna itself had little to offer, however, the resort itself had lots of activities and options for its guests. Lovely spa and massages.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMElGouna, General Manager at Moevenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this review, April 2, 2011
Dear Muhgee

We were very pleased to read that you had really enjoyed your stay with us last May and really liked the Spa, the food and our many facilities.

We were, however, a bit surprised that you thought the pool was insufficiently heated as we have got 4 pool areas and 3 are kept at 27-28C but the Oasis Pool in the centre is not heated - was this the one that you were using? Could you also let us know your views about the Bua Khao Thai Restaurant as we have Thai Chefs working there so that we can keep the food truly authentic.

We hope that we shall have the chance to welcome you back again this year as El Gouna was not affected by the Peaceful Revolution and our Resort stayed operational all the time.

John G C Wood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

Have stayed at Movenpick, Sharm before so we knew what to expect. However, Movenpick, El Gouna is even better. Lovely refurbished 5 star room, wonderful breakfasts (esp the bread and pastries) and even the dinner buffet is good. The only problem I ever have with Egypt is the wine. I have yet to find an Egyptian brand that I like. We enjoyed visits to downtown and the Marina for evening meals and lunches. We especially liked the Athena downtown and the Vietnamese and Indian at the Marina. Do go by tuk tuk (50p per person), just spend a few minutes putting the hair back in place! There is also a bus and boat shuttle from the hotel to downtown (Bell Captain has all the details). We also went on the lagoon trip which gives an overall view of El Gouna. May be good for off shore diving and kite surfing but unfortunately, is hopeless for inshore snorkelling. No coral equals no fish and very shallow water. All in all this is Egypt Lite. There is no hassle, people are very friendly and they need us to visit.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMElGouna, General Manager at Moevenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this review, March 29, 2011
Dear Shortstraws-mum

We were delighted to read that you had very much enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you foound our Resort to be even better than the one that we used to have in Sharm el Sheikh.

Thank you also for your kind comments about our "reinvented" rooms and our food. We understand your comments about Egyptian Wines and are wondering if you tried the Beau Soleil Red or White as they are the best and they are bottled here in El Gouna.

All our team look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future

John G C Wood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

This was our second trip to Moevenpick, El Gouna - and we rarely visit the same place twice - so it must be good! (From observation in some of their other hotels, we love the Moevenpick chain for consistency in the high level of service and facilities offered - shame they only exist in Europe and Middle East).

We heartily endorse some of the comments made by other contributers as regards location, beautifully-kept grounds and pools, and high standard of food and the service - well done, Mahmoud, our room attendant..

We do have a couple of niggles, however:-
i) on arrival we were shown to a room on the ground floor of Cluster 3, almost opposite the Health Club. After being there less than 5 minutes, we noticed an awful 'drain-like' smell, and reqested a change. We had asked for a quiet room with a sea view for which this one did not qualify. Because of the troubles, the hotel was nowhere near full, so we remain puzzled and a little annoyed as to why returning guests should have been allotted this room. We were quickly moved into the room detailed below.

ii) our refurbished room in Cluster 2 had a similar layout to the one we occupied last year in Cluster 7 - wardrobes and dressing table in the large bathroom, (shower only) - this may not be to everyone's taste, but suited us. The huge bed now occupies a more central position to make the most of the views, (and ease of making-up). Decoration is in a highly restful turquoise blue, with an underwater frieze along one wall. All the above is a definite plus on the rather down-at-heel room of last year, now being refurbished.
But we did not like the heavy sliding 'industrial' door to the bathroom - made of opaque glass and lacking a lock, which may worry some.
We had a problem with the standard lamp which was dealt with speedily.
Would that the shower problem had been so easily remedied. Plumbers quickly arrived when it flooded the bathroom. However, the problem persisted so our showers could only last a maximim of 4 minutes before flooding occurred. We complained again, but do not know whether anything was done as we were out on trips. The problem still persisted until we found a solution. If you are in Room 2208, fill the washbasin before showering. Turn on the shower. Empty the washbasin. This action seems to release an airlock and the shower water drains. Fantastic!

Regarding comments on mosquitos, - what mosquitos? I regularly get my ankles chewed up...but not in El Gouna! This applies both to the hotel and the resort.

If you would like to eat out, try The Athena (Greek!) or The Fish Market (white snapper is really good), both of which are in Downtown and only a 15 minute walk from the hotel.
Take a torch in case the lights fail - it happens! And buy some spices from the stall nearest to the Downtown entrance - the owner has a pottery shop just behind it. The local traders really need your custom at this time due to lack of tourist numbers.

All in all, another lovely holiday. Thank you Moevenpick.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMElGouna, General Manager at Moevenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this review, April 2, 2011
Dear Gertrudesurrey

We were delighted that you had enjoyed your 2nd stay with us as much as your first one and we have already passed on your thanks to Mahmoud. He is a very valuable member of our team.

We very much regret that we had not picked up from your reservation for a Standard room via Thomas Cook that this was your 2nd visit . Standard rooms have Garden views and that was why you received a room near the Health Club. It was just unfortunate that there was a smell from the drains when you arrived as there had been a temporary blockage which was resolved and the smell disappeared very shortly afterwards. Reception were unaware of this issue at the time that you checked in as otherwise they would not have allocated you this room.

We have noted your comment about the sliding door in the bathroom and this has been adjusted so that it closes easily and the shower drain problem has now been resolved after your departure when we took the room out of order for 3 days to make the necessary changes.

We really appreciate that you did not change your plans because of the recent peaceful revolution and all our team join us in hopeing we can welcome you back to our Resort for a 3rd visit in February/March next year.

John G C Wood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

If you are looking for a dream destination to relax, swim, walk, eat and drink then look no further than the Movenpick.

We have been coming to this hotel now for the last seven years and as a seasoned traveller we tend not to visit the same place twice as there are too many destinations we have yet to sample but coming back here is like coming home.

It is a welcoming and friendly hotel where the staff can't do enough for you, if you have a problem it is sorted out instantly with a smile (not that we have had many).

We tend to relax by the lagoon in front of cluster 5 as there is so much room and the guests are well spread out so no touching toes with other sunbathers (always a bonus).

On this last visit we found the hotel and El Gouna almost empty due to the recent trouble but believe me if you go to this resort you won't encounter any problems.

Down Town is where we like to walk and have a meal in an evening and and the places we love the best are the Athena Greek, China House and JoBos if you want a sports bar with large screen tvs.

Anyway back to the hotel, the rooms are spacious and clean, the beds are confortable and you get a complete sense of calm and because the hotel is spead over a wide area even when full it isn't crouded so if that is what you are looking for then this is the place for you.

And if you do decide to visit then drop in on George at the Kiranos Gem Shop at Tamr Hena Down Town, he will welcome you with a smile and also do you a great deal.

Oh and last but not least if you love Egypt but hate the hastle then El Gouna is the place to go where the shop owners don't bother you, you can look and chat but if you don't want to buy then no problem.

All in all heaven

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMElGouna, General Manager at Moevenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this review, March 23, 2011
Dear KimFirth

Many thanks for your kind words about our Resort and all our team. Our Team Members are our biggest assett and during these troubled times they have been absolutely fantastic and have made us very proud.

Fortunately business is picking up and having gone below 100 guests in early February we are now at over 400 which is very encouraging as El Gouna was always very safe and secure at all times.

Everyone joins us in looking forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.

John G C Wood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

This is our 6th trip to the Movenpick in El Gouna and once again all our expectations were surpassed. Currently living and working in Cairo we have just finished a five day 'chill out' with friends from the UK. The hotel continues to invest in its facilities and we were treated to newly refurbished rooms that were truly '5 star'. The staff maintained their high level of service throughout, the views around the pool, the lagoon and out to sea were rather special and in general the ambience of the setting is difficult to beat. For those who have not experienced Egypt before and who have only seen recent events through the Tahrir Square lense believe me Egypt is a special, safe and friendly place to visit and no more so than the Movenpick in El Gouna. Thanks to John (the Manager) and Hany (the Night Manager) for making us feel so at home and we look forward to seeing you again in April.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMElGouna, General Manager at Moevenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this review, March 21, 2011
Dear Michaelrees
We were delighted that you had very much enjoyed your 6th stay with us and thank you for your loyalty and for your kind words
We have passed on your thanks to Hany Ahmed and all out team look forward to seeing you again next month.
John G C Wood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

Like others we initially had reservations about coming to Egypt at this time, but glad we did. The Movenpick resort in every way is an Oasis in the dessert. We originally were meant to stay in Hurghada but so, so glad we moved to El Gouna and the Movenpick.

Great accomodation, very friendly staff, lots to do, just a pleasure. We had the 'all inclusive' package which allowed us to have food and beverages all day long, we definitely took advantage of this .... especially the great Movepick ice cream !

However there are two things which I suggest management thinks about as they would make the experience from very good to oustanding.

1) Internet - there is no possibility of wi-fi in your room, just in public areas. It is possible to have internet with a plug in chord in your room. Both options have to be paid and it is quite pricey. This is disappointing as many hotel dont realise what an impact 'free internet connection' has on people hotel choices. I strongly suggest internet be included in the package and have availability in the rooms.

2) Mosquito doors - coming from Australia it is standard to have modquito doors to your rooms. I was eaten alive in the evening and night as we left our window open and mossies had us for dinner. This is a real pity as we really wanted to leave our window open but couldnt becuase of the little critters.

Those were the only gripes, but they did make an impact. Overall 4/5 stars only because ofthe wifi and modquito elements.

I highly, highly recommend this hotel and resort, great experience !

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMElGouna, General Manager at Moevenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this review, March 14, 2011
Dear EuroAussies

Thank you for your nice review and we were very pleased that you did not change your plans because of the recent events in Cairo and other urban centres.

The issue of the cost of Internet connections is being worked on with our Service provider as the infrastructure investment cost to bring the service to El Gouna has been extremely high and we are seeing how the charges made to us can be reduced so that we can offer this as a free service.

The mosquito phenomenon is something that has hit the whole of the Hurghada area and not just El Gouna, in recent months - it is not normal, though we are doing our best to counteract it by regular spraying twice a day.

We have passed on your thanks to our team and a copy of your review will be translated into Arabic and posted on our notice boards for all our team to read.

Once again thank you for coming to our Resort and for confirming that all is safe and everyone can enjoy their holidays in comfort and we hope it will not be too long before we can welcome you back again/

John G C Wood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Moevenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna

Address: Main Street | PO Box 72, El Gouna, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > El Gouna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in El Gouna
#2 Spa Hotel in El Gouna
#2 Top resorts Hotel in El Gouna
#2 Luxury Hotel in El Gouna
#3 Family Hotel in El Gouna
#3 Romantic Hotel in El Gouna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Moevenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a peninsula with an exclusive beachfront presenting a spectacular view of the Red Sea, the resort offers the ideal surroundings for a perfect stay. The relaxing atmosphere combined with extensive facilities invites you to enjoy your holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Moevenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna Hotel El Gouna
Moevenpick Resort And Spa El Gouna
mövenpick El Gouna
Moevenpick Hotel El Gouna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.