We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oriental Grill

Oriental Grill
Downtown | El Gouna, El Gouna, Egypt
+20 127 012 3423
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 68 Restaurants in El Gouna
Price range: $10 - $19
Cuisines: Egyptian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: “The Oriental Grill” is a typical oriental restaurant offering a large variety of deliciously prepared mezzah, main dishes and desserts. Even the bread is freshly prepared in a small oven in the traditional Egyptian way.For any lover of the Egyptian cuisine this restaurant is a must. “The Oriental Grill” is open every day starting from 7 pm, for reservations please call Ext. 32261.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The meal was beautifully cooked and started with a lovely array of dips with fresh bread. There was no one else in the restaurant apart from our party of 5 which was strange but I hope more people will go from now on. It really is excellent and very good value for money.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    14
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
“Our favourite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We have visited El Gouna three times over the past seven years and have eaten at many of the restaurants both in the downtown and marina. This place quickly became a favourite and maintains that place for us.
The food is simple but great quality and the service some of the best.
The restaurant as tucked out the way a little bit which means they don't normally get the same numbers as many other places. The location is good next to the water way making a nice setting in a quiet spot.
There is seating in and outside and on cooler nights the guys will light up a charcoal heater for you.
There is a limited but very good menu on a blackboard, grilled meats, fish or dishes from the oven. Every one we have tried have been good but we love the lamb chops and the meatballs!
The meal is always started off with the Egypitain meze selection with breads.
Wine and beer priced similar to other places.

The service from the friendly staff of always professional and attentive without being too much.

We highly recommend this place which would seem to suit most tastes.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We visit here each time we come back to El Gouna, excellent free starter meze and although not much choice for a vegetarian main dish, I do love the Okra and the Rice so happy days.

This time the dishes came not just with rice but with Roast Vegetables which was great and much more satisfying.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“A Little Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Since our first visit to El Gouna, Oriental Grill has always been my favourite restaurant and we have always paid several visits during our holiday.

We went here on our first night and I was a little bit disappointed. The first thing we noticed was that the prices had gone up but it is to be expected from time to time. The service is still excellent and you still get the breads and dips on arrivial, but I'm afraid the quaility of the main meals is not as good.

I ordered the meatballs which was my favouite dish off the menu. On previous visits, this has come served with rice and it is served together in the dish. This time the rice came seperately and the meatballs although nice had far to much sauce with them.

My Husband ordered a steak. This was served with a sauce already on it although he didn't actually ask for it. For him this spoiled the steak as he prefers to eat it plain. He metioned it to the waiter who offered to get him a fresh steak but that would have meant us eating seperately so he declined.

All in all we were disappointed and did not return again during our holiday which is a first. However, we won't totally write the place off and will return again on our next visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Great food, location and ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

After many trips to El Gouna, we tried the Oriental Grill for the first time this year, having seen it mentioned in several reviews. It was so enjoyable we went twice - meatballs both times as they were so tasty! Next holiday we intend to work our way through the menu as other dishes, such as the lamb cutlets and grilled fish, that we saw other diners choose, also looked delicious. Great service, lovely canalside location away from the hubbub of Downtown, and inside facilities if needed. Definitely the first restaurant we will visit on our return to our much loved El Gouna and highly recommended!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oriental Grill also viewed

 
El Gouna, Red Sea and Sinai
El Gouna, Red Sea and Sinai
 

Been to Oriental Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oriental Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.