We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmospheric refuge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sultan Bey Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sultan Bey Resort to your Saves list
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kafr El Gouna, El Gouna, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in El Gouna
Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Atmospheric refuge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

Yes, this place definitely has an atmosphere. Lot's of flowers everywhere, egyptian styled interiors, nearby entertainments, great kitchen...I didn't expect more when we've arrived to El-Gouna. Area is not crowded, you get as much space for your activities as you need. Half board kitchen is great - everyday you get something different for dinner. Great variety of tasty food all the time. But: don't go to pool restaurant, that's my honest advice. They have less food and if you pay for something extra they'll rip you off. Instead, if you want to eat fresh fish, go and find fish restaurant near greek tavern in city downtown.
I mentioned swimming pool, but we didn't bother and never swim there, even though it looks good. There is a private beach for you nearby and much better idea is to go for coral reef snorkeling/diving trip on the boat.
Hotel is very clean and rooms are comfortable. Lastly, El-Gouna discrict near Hurghada is a place to go: clean, safe, modern, maybe even luxurious.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    101
    33
    10
    6
See reviews for
67
95
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pori, Finland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2009

I stayed at the Sultan Bay hotel for a one week. Enviroment was very peaceful and nice at those days. I recommend El Gouna if you are looking for peaceful child-friendly holiday. El Gouna is also good place if you want to relax without noise and young partypeople. Zeytona beach is also free for Sultan Bay customers and it is a nice place to spend day in the sun. You get there by boat, from SB hotel's poolarea.

The staff in the hotel is very friendly. There is also so many policemen that you never have to be a scared of anything. Rooms are very nice and tidy. The restaurant is nice too and food was good. In the hotel, there is a one souveniershop and if you go there, tell Maged that finnish girl, name Satu recommended his shop. I really do, he is nice man and gives good prices.

If you travel alone as a woman, beware a bit too excited service. I travelled alone as a woman and were bit scary how men would treat me there. Beacuse it's a muslim country. I can say fine. Few men were a little bit too helpful or they would have liked to be. You just have to be straight with them if you don't want to play around. I was left alone when I told that I am just in the hotel having vacation, not some holidayromance or something like that. Men there are very interested women from Europe. If you smile to them they take that as a opening conversation. And they want to know everything about you.

Anyway I liked the place and learned so much about the culture and how people act there. Few times we got cheated. So don't pay from anything you don't get right away. And when you give 50 LE for example to the taxidriver, make sure that you and the driver both see the bill at the same time. Sometimes they show you 50 piaster bill and say that this is the one that you gave me not 50 LE bill. They had changed the bill so quickly that you don't even realize that. Prepare also that not every trip go as planned.

  • Liked — Friendly service
  • Disliked — Internet was expensive
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2008

Just returned one week ago from a lovey vacation i spent there with my husbend on HB basis, everything was really good and we were very lucky as the weather was sunny and really perfect.
Our room was with a lovely view on the lack and restaurant, and food was really good with different varaities and really helpfull staff. We had fun and enjoying these shows they held for a belly dancer and folklorik dancing.
We spent a full day in the see on a yacht enjoying snorkling and swimming with dolfines.
everything was really good, only one thing happened made me really disappointed and angry, the day we spent on that yacht was with a group of decent foreigners that we really enjoyed their company, we were the only egyptian couple, the really bad thing is that the guide guy was only interrested into helping and advising and taking good care only of them, didn't give us any attention even to get us the snorkling equipements or to advise on how we will use it as it was my first time. Although the trip coordinators working individualy all over elgouna hotels they just have a place on Zaytona island to make their deals. But in the same time it's partially a hotel reposibility because they let them deal with sultan bey hotel residents and all should equally get the same services.
everything else was relaly perfect.

  • Liked — room view, food.
  • Disliked — room service guys was not doing their best in cleaning the room, it just was OK
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire england
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2008

we stayed for 7 days at sultan bey it was,nt long enough it was a great hotel i have some mobility problems but managed fine the staff were friendly and helpful room was lovely the beds were comfy pillows a little hard but the sheets were gorgeous
the only down to the whole stay at this hotel was the smoking in the resteraunt it would be nice to see this stopped for the sake of non smokers and children not much to ask
i would reccomend a stay here and we will definatley go back

  • Liked — t size of room and the sheets
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2008

We have previously stayed at the Sheriton in El Gouna and loved the decadent luxury but disliked the stuffy formallity and the prices.

Sultan Bey is perfect - it combined value for money, (at least we could afford to use the mini bar) friendly efficient service and perfect location right in the heart of Downtown next to the totally 'chill out' Clubhouse. The rooms were adequate with lovely balconys - on the down side the beds and pillows are really hard but you do get used to them after a few days. I will definitly be returning soon

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — hard beds and pillows
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sultan Bey Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sultan Bey Resort

Address: Kafr El Gouna, El Gouna, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > El Gouna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in El Gouna
#8 Luxury Hotel in El Gouna
#9 Family Hotel in El Gouna
#9 Romantic Hotel in El Gouna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sultan Bey Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sultan Bey is a labyrinth of alleyways, courtyards and domes spreading from the shores of the turquoise lagoons to the heart of Downtown Kafr El Gouna. This 4-star hotel prides itself on providing its guests with services of the highest standard in intimate surroundings. Beautifully decorated rooms enjoy balconies or terraces with views of the lagoonor central courtyard.The hotel provides 115 rooms, standard room with garden or Piazza view and superior rooms with lagoon and/or pool view. Several restaurants and bars are spread over the property, one on Zeytouna Beach Island which is easily accessed with a short Shuttle boat ride to enjoy the open sea. Some chairs and umbrellas are also available on the lagoon beach.Swimming pool and some sport activities are organised in the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sultan Bey Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sultan Bey El Gouna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sultan Bey Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.