We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good for a family break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Three Corners Rihana Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Three Corners Rihana Resort to your Saves list
Three Corners Rihana Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Tamr Henna, El Gouna, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in El Gouna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“good for a family break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

We 've stayed at the Three Corners resort in El Gouna just before Christmas. It's a good hotel for a family break. The furniture in the rooms could use renovation. The food was OK. In the evening there was some 'terrible' animation in the bar. We didn't pay much for this hotel so it was good value for money. The spa treatment was excellent and they had a kids club our son (8) liked a lot.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    307
    78
    34
    17
See reviews for
292
332
31
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
copenhagen
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

The RIHANA RESORT & INN – revisited: A gem on Egypt’s Red Sea Coast

Very delighted I have just returned from my 2nd stay at the RIHANA RERSORT (the first visit was in late May 2010, the second in late Sept. 2010).

The Three Corners RIHANA RESORT & INN – the official name - is a very pleasant hotel right in the centre of the striking resort of El Gouna, a few miles west of Hurghada on Egypt’s southern Red Sea coast. El Gouna itself is a totally new resort, which was whipped up straight from the desert sand only 20 years ago to offer the ultimate in comfort, ambience, elegance and safety - a goal in which, one must say, they have succeeded. The idea was to build an elegant, yet informal, holiday resort without high-rises, but with traditional Egyptian and Nubian architecture – low, colourful and exotic – around a system of Venice-like canals and lagoons, but still close to the fine Red Sea beaches only minutes away. The result is striking.

The RIHANA RESORT & INN, belonging to the fine Belgian “Three Corners” chain, who
operates a string of fine 3-5 star (mostly family) resorts around the Red Sea, is the very essence
of this concept. Built in three “circles”, 2-3 stories high in Nubian style complete with domes and
arches, and each with its own fair-size pool in the middle. The RESORT and SUNSET sections
(****, 1999, 268 rooms) make out the more elegant part of the establishment, while the slightly
newer INN section (***, 2002, 166 rooms) offer more plain accommodations. All public areas and
facilities and meals are in common, why the main difference between the RESORT and the INN
sections mostly lie in the size of the accommodations. The whole setting is like a large garden –
palms, lush bushes and flowers everywhere – where bars, restaurants and other facilities are
scattered around.

There is an array of rooms – doubles, twins, honeymoon, family, connecting, handicap and so on – oriented towards the pools, the gardens or the surroundings. The RESORT Standard and Superior rooms are very spacious with large terraces and balconies (by all means, go for the balconies!) and have adjustable A/C, phone, satellite TV (not flat-screens), a comfortable sitting area and a mini-bar (without a freezer, so no ice cubes!), adequate wardrobe space and hangers, plus (in some rooms) an electric safe-box (otherwise boxes may be hired from the reception). On the balconies/terraces you’ll find two comfortable cushioned easy chairs and a table. The intentional rustic wooden decor makes it all very pleasant with a hint of “local authenticity” that goes very well with the Nubian architecture of the entire resort – delightful!

The bathrooms are not big, but comfortable with a separate shower section, and lush terrycloth towels to add to the good feeling. A hair dryer may be rented at the reception. What I really missed was a flexible wall-mounted make-up mirror (a reasonable and inexpensive investment on the part of the hotel) which would take the bathrooms from good to excellent) - useful not only for ladies who want to look lovely, but also for men who want a decent and close shave; the distance across the washbasin to the large mirror is too far for comfort. There are, however, no nice, small bottles of shampoo and lotion to welcome you, but plain wall-mounted soap dispensers. To make up for the missing nice, small bottles there is a box of Kleenex on the bedroom table and an electric devise with chemical tablets to fight the – mostly in Spring-early Summer - mosquitoes. Very thoughtful.

The all-male “room-maid” staff is efficient and most helpful and do a good job, and they’ll provide you with free bottles of drinking water each morning. The electricity (including the A/C) only works when you tuck your key plate into the electricity slot inside the door.

The 3-star INN section has much smaller rooms, but with similar amenities to those of the RESORT. There are, however, also smaller balconies, terraces or “French windows”. The INN has, by the way, its own reception and is so run very much as a hotel of its own, but with the outer facilities of the RESORT in common.

The pool area in the main RESORT section is of fair size, as are all the pools, but sun beds around it are too many to my taste; it is a bit cramped and space to move around with the shade under the parasol is limited. The SUNSET section houses a children’s pool/water park complete with two water slides and otherwise lots of space. The nicest place to swim is in my opinion at the INN section, but, of course– that is a matter of taste. The pools are immaculate in every respect, and so is the pool service. The RIHANA has a special towel service: on arrival you’ll get a “towel card” which you, at the pool, trade in for a lush yellow-and-white striped towel. Then, after two days of use, you hand in your towel and get your card back. Next day you start all over again. The towels are of only adequate size, but bring your own towel any way.

Speaking of swimming – there is a 3-minute walk down to the RESORT’s own lagoon beach, complete with shaded sun beds, a beach bar and a divers’ school. Or you may take advantage of the RIHANA’s own hourly and free bus service out to the “real” beach only minutes away. Also there you’ll find the hotel’s fine service: towels, snack bar, free sun beds etc.

Kids are very well taken care of. They have the “Trixie Kids Club” to keep them occupied mornings and afternoons, and a sort of kids’ disco thing in the evening at the “Plaza Theatre” prior to the “grown-up’s” evening show. They also have the pool with the waterslides at the SUNSET, so no need to get bored here.

Common facilities for both the RESORT and the INN sections include two restaurants, the larger “Sunny Restaurant” and the much smaller and more intimate “Plaza Restaurant”. The larger “Sunny Restaurant” is by nature pretty noisy because of its architecture and acoustics, which - in the school season May-August - may turn the place into something like the Cairo main railway station at rush hour, screaming and running kids all over etc. Not exactly my idea of a quiet, nice meal… The much smaller and nicer ”Plaza Restaurant” offers a certain style and intimacy. The food is the same both places, who offer inside A/C as well as outside al fresco dining.

Regarding the meals there is absolutely nothing to complaint about – the food is excellent, in fact, but of course not gourmet. The choice is very good and varied, and at dinner there is even an alcoholic welcome drink waiting for you at the entrance. Delightful!

One has the option of bed & breakfast, half-board (breakfast and dinner) or “All Inclusive” – the latter dominating. The remaining few on other options are supposed to pay for drinks and extras, but at most bars they are not prepared to handle paying guests – most often you are just whiffed away with your drink; it is easier that way. Drink prices for non-“All Inclusive” guests are a bit hefty – a cup of coffee costs EGP 7, and a very small plastic cup of local beer is EGP 10 – and often, when they are busy at the bar, the small plastic cup is filled only half way up!

On Wednesdays the outdoor Bar-B-Que is the big thing. Cooks and chefs line up along the path leading up to the open-air dining area presenting the one delicacy after the other. Great!

There are two speciality restaurants at the RIHANA – the Belgian “Chez Pasqual” and the Italian “Dolce Vita” – for those who want something extra. Meals here are not included. All pension guests may take advantage of El Gouna’s “Dine Around” system. This means a credit voucher of EGP 40 for an “uneaten” dinner at the hotel’s regular restaurants towards the bill for a dinner at “Chez Pasqual” or “Dolce Vita”, or at any of the other El Gouna restaurants participating in the system.
I hear that people rave about the meals at “Chez Pasqual” and “Dolce Vita” – they say it is superb both places.

I would also like to mention the excellent conditions for the handicapped. Guests confined to wheel-chairs have no problems – ground floor terrace/special handicap rooms at the RESORT provide fine access in and out, and even paths, ramps and passages everywhere make it easy to get around to pools and otherwise – except, maybe, at the “Plaza Restaurant”, where there are prohibiting steps. Otherwise, help is always at hand – and with pleasure.

Evenings – each night at 9 p.m., more or less, there is a show at the “Plaza Theatre”, set up by the hotel’s animation team. They do their very best, the facilities taken into consideration. Ambitions are high – there is a “Moulin Rouge” night, a “Lord of the Dance” night and so on. Before or after many guests seep into the nearby watering hole – the “Peanuts Bar”- for a drink or a nightcap. However, the problem here is the awful sound – noise! – level. You’ll see people screaming and shouting at each other because any normal conversation is completely impossible. If the “noise” level was lowered somewhat, if not much, the place would be quite nice. The high “music” level also goes for that of the “Plaza Theatre” to such an extent that it is sometimes impossible to hear what they are playing. The overall choice of music at both places could also be much better. Maybe something for the hotel’s quality control to look into.

However, those who - often very late in their holiday - discover the somewhat difficult-to-find and secluded “Sunset Lounge Bar” will find themselves very comfortable. Here’s no disturbing music or “noise”. It is a sheer bliss. The place is well hidden behind the children’s water slides in the SUNSET section. Go for it – it is a true oasis!

Then there is the hotel’s own bazaar arcade with all its shops offering “everything under the sun” and a little more. Remember to bargain – prices are mostly pretty steep.

To keep track of what is going on when and where there is the “Good Morning” flyer to be had at the breakfast restaurant each morning. Very handy.

And, yes, they have a good wellness section with all the usual trims and tricks, and also other fine options of activity – volleyball, aerobics, dart, yoga, fitness etc. Plus meeting facilities if required.

Now, there is no paradise without a snake or two. The one is the mosquitoes, however mostly in the Spring/early Summer months. In May there were lots of them – in September not a single one. The hotel sets up daily fumigations, sometimes quite spectacular, at 5.00 p.m. in the vain hope of keeping the small vampires at bay. Bathroom windows and balcony/terrace doors have screens to (try to) keep the insects out and away. The second snake – or Egyptian plague! - is the hordes of kids pestering the entire place in the school holiday season. Seniors – check the calendar! Kids are nice one by one or so, but in scores....

Once you have made the El Gouna circuit (EGP 5 for all-day unlimited transportation by bus or boat within the “town” boundary) you have seen most of it, if noall – it is not at all that large – so expect much time to be spent in or around the hotel one way or another. Excursions are limited – there is Red Sea diving for the adventurous, or long and exhausting trips to either Luxor or Cairo. Plus “an evening under the stars with the nomads, complete with camel riding”, etc.

Otherwise – 5 minutes down the road from the RIHANA you'll find El Gouna’s “downtown” area, complete with banks, supermarkets, shops, bazaars, a casino, cafés and restaurants, but not much else. And a mile or so away there is the large marina with its posh shops, expensive restaurants and luxury yachts – good for a visit once.

To sum it all up – if you expect to find Egyptian history and culture, forget El Gouna. If you go for security, nice surroundings and neighbourhoods, cleanliness and lots of greenery, dolphins in the Red Sea, then it definitely is El Gouna. And of course the lovely Three Corners RIHANA RESORT & INN - where else?

Highly recommended! I give them 9 out of 10!
12OCT2010 Odd Hoyholm

The hotel’s web page: www.threecorners.com/hotel.php?hotel=1&lang=en

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

We actually travelled here in March 2009 as a fairly last minute deal. El Gouna sounded lovely.

The resort was clean and free of bugs which for North Africa in unheard of. They fumigated everyday. Our room was large, with basic bedding and a wrought iron bed which made it look a bit thread bare.

We had a room located near the buffet restaurant and pool areas. It was a short walk to the lagoon beach. In the shopping mall, don't get sucked in by the traders You should always bargain them cheaper!!!

The food was varied every night with a few options cooked right in front of you fresh. The a la carte restaurants were not included in all incl deal but you had to pay the equivalent of £7 (UK money) £49 (Egyptian) each to eat there with reservation.

The pools were clean and had good slides for kids, young and old :o)

One draw back is we were located near one of the bars that had karaoke on or disco on til 11pm or so so if you were not a night owl this may cause some annoyance.

The actual Red Sea Beach is a short bus trip away, provided free by hotel. To be honest El Gouna is still a building site as it is a relatively new town but what is there is lovely and I would definitely say this a good place to chill out and relax. Mahmya island is a great day trip to go on, see if you spot the dolphins on the way home on evening.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dundee
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

We were on Nile cruise and after 7hr drive which was meant to be 4hrs we got dumped in this hotel it was disgusting very dated and not for english people it's for german Iraqi we didn't even bother eating or drinking in the hotel it just wasn't worth it to make urself I'll as that's all that you would have done we got incontact with rep and asked to be moved he told us it would be 400 us dollars haha don't think so contacted discover Egypt who told us it would be £20 each so £40 and that was it got moved to three corners ocean view and what a difference same company same star rating but miles apart if you are booked to go to this hotel please go and change it don't ruin your holiday it's not people being to picky it's the truth

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

well just returned from a one week trip in the rihana all i can say is its like a concentration camp, we started are holiday with a week cruise on the nile which was fantastic but tiring and was so looking forward to are weeks rest in the hotel,It started of bad from leaving the ship the transfer time from luxor should have been 4 hours it took a massive 7 hours that was one day gone. On arrival we were quickly rushed into the main restaruant sunny which i can only discribe as a school canteen the tables were dirty, food on the floor even the chefs didnt clean their own mess up, the food they had left was all dried up and unedible,Then to the rooms oh my god i ve never seen beds so old( i will say the rooms were clean and we had a pool view on the first floor) the interior of the rooms were very dated, but still i expected better for what we paid and from previous hotels we ve stayed in we travel ever 12 weeks,next day we moved rooms actually ever one who arrived was unhappy and moved rooms, next room slightly better same old dated interior but clean enough,im going to list a few other complaints we found, al a carte restaruant is not free they give you 40 ep towards each meal about 5 pounds but a meal for two will cost about 50 pounds hire towels dirty BBQ night like a cattle market food uncooked if get any and no where to sit, you get all drinks in childrens plastic cups, no hair dryers , mini bar in room you pay for, the broucher pictures are not of hotel rooms, not 4 star say only 2 star, no meal provided on transfer from ship in rooms you leave your towels on floor when you want them changed well PLEASE check them because they refold them and put them back on rack bedding not changed ants in rooms they serve the remaining food from evening in the morning breakfast they dont cater for english all german, danish music even kareoke, but the most disdurbing issue is the cleaners/maids( males) walk in and out your rooms whenever they like many times a day doing what we never new they leave doors / balcony doors open and unlocked this we found very upsetting and had the management down on numerious occasions but no explaination, dispite all this we tried to enjoy the week and there is some nice bits The lagoon is lovely, the beach is amazing(dont forget your snorkals) but your have to pay for alcohol on beach which is wrong, free shuttle bus to beach but we used tuc tuc about 1.25 for two persons each way and the food is better and BBQ every lunchtime , The pools are nice in hotel, When it came to meal times we ate in the plaza restaruant its clean,with table clothes and candles, waiter service for drinks, and a lot better place, in the evening you get a show for about 30 mins its amature but fun and there is only two bars open at night for the whole resort when the show ends so does the bar, As i said we travel alot and have never stayed in anything like this before and hope never will again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

The most embarrassing thing about our trip to Egypt was coming home, everyone asked us, "What did you do, did you see the pyramids/Luxor" and all we could say was .......no. The hotel was so nice and chilled out that to be honest it was difficult to find the will to leave it. We meant to go and actually researched it pretty well and can recommend that if you do want to go to Luxor then the way to do it is book your own Taxi for a personal tour for the day, this works out only about £20 dearer between 2 people than going on a tour bus, if you have 4 people then well worth it as you get to do a lot more and are not spending time hanging about waiting on a large tour party.
We stayed in the cheaper part of the hotel and the rooms were a bit more basic than the newer part of the complex, this didn't really bother me much as our room was overlooking the quieter adult pool.
The meals were pretty good in comparison to other all inclusive places that I've stayed in. As always things can get a bit samey after 2 weeks, HOWEVER the hotels in el Gouna operate a Dine Around scheme. This means that 3 times a week you can dine somewhere other than your buffet restaurant, you can dine at another hotel's buffet restaurant or you can book one of the al a carte restaurants and they give you an allowance towards your meal. So on a couple of occasions we booked a table at their italian restaurant ( the other side of the adult pool from our room) and paid approx £8 for a very nice 3 course meal with of course all inclusive wine, who could complain at that.
The cleopatra massage was an experience worth having, but you MUST haggle on the price. The rep the comes round to get booking started off at £150 but we held out and he eventually with bad grace came down to £80 for the 2 of us to get full body scrubs and massages. Be assured that there are female masseuses and they are so lovely and sweet that you'll be glad that you haggled on the price and can afford a decent tip for them.
El Gouna is a purpose built resort and sort of like a gated community, I see a lot of the reviews saying its not real Egypt but for me this was a good thing. I felt totally safe, nobody tried to buy me for camels and we did not experience any hassle from shop keepers in el Gouna. There are some nice restaurants in both Downtown and the Marina and it is particulary nice to wander the marina and daydream over which yacht your gonna buy when you win the lottery.
The children's animation team are great I'm sure for children but I must admit their anthem that they sing every every every night gets a bit wearing "Hey hey hey, hey hey hey, its a summer holiday!"
To sum up, its a nice hotel, with great facilites and a fantastic price.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raisio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

We have been in Rihana 3 times before 3 weeks and at october we are going 4th time. Hotel is very clean, food is good and staff very kindly. Place is quet, Marina is near and sun is shining. We are so satisfaction that we have allready booked at next spring 2011 again 3 weeks in Rihana. And we can say that the belgish Three Corners Company is good. We are from Finland so our english is not very good, sorry.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Three Corners Rihana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Corners Rihana Resort

Address: Tamr Henna, El Gouna, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > El Gouna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in El Gouna
#4 Family Hotel in El Gouna
#5 Luxury Hotel in El Gouna
#6 Romantic Hotel in El Gouna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Three Corners Rihana Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Three Corners Rihana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Three Corners Rihana Hotel El Gouna
3 Corners Rihana Resort
Rihana Resort
Three Corners Rihana El Gouna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Three Corners Rihana Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.