We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum yummm!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of White Elephant Thai Resturant

White Elephant Thai Resturant
El Balad, Downtown, El Gouna, Egypt
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 66 Restaurants in El Gouna
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: We were recommended this restaurant for its good food, cheap price - and that it didn't make its patrons sick (other restaurants in Downtown El Gouna don't share that reputation!) I've seen it mentioned on other Trip Advisor postings as a recommendation for eating in El Gouna - would really recommend it as it was great food and very popular!
Cairo, Egypt
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Yum yummm!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We are so happy we visited that beautiful place, that serves very nice food selection, if you love the Asian taste, you'll certainly love to eat there!

We booked the table and came on time to find it ready for us.

Staff is very friendly, food is very yummy..we loved the chips served with sorted selection of dipping sauces!

Friendly notice: Please recognize the quantity (portion) of the plate because it's not sufficient, we had to order 3 plates for 2 persons!

Thanks for saving our camera when we forgot it at the restaurant! :)

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    66
    15
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Egypt
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A mix up”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Avoid going there in groups, couple or maximum 4 guests. We were a large group of 6 couples, the food was far from the Thai reputation and standards: quantity, quality and taste, there was a mix up in the order more than one plate was wrong and some came twice the order, and late.
For the price we paid we expected much much more....sorry...never again, try Pizza Thomas good service good view and tasty !

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Very nice food especially the crackers which were done freshly on the day. Beef satay and fish cakes were delicious. We enjoyed the appetizers more than the main dish.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great food and staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We visited Elgouna for the 11th time in January - each time we visit we eat in the White Elephant and have always had great food - the two visits this holiday did not disappoint. This time the menus had changed so we took a while to decide what to have because we usually try to select something different and are always impressed with the freshness and quality of the food. the staff are friendly and will explain anything you don't understand from the menu. We will be visiting again in April and look forward to trying new things again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois USA & Cairo, Egypt
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
“Still good Thai food, but this time a bit off!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Everytime we come to Gouna, we stop here to eat Thai food. It has always consistently been good for us. However, this time, the most-loved dish that we always get, the Larb Gai salad (ground minced chicken with spices and cilantro) was different. The ground chicken was not just chopped up, but it was actually a bit old and mushy - almost like porridge. So that was very disappointing, and the fact that we got 3 of this dish made it worse. The menu has changed now in 2014. Prices have gone up a little bit, and I think some of the dishes have changed. The pineapple fried rice was really good, and the tom yum soup is superb as usual. red curry dish was excellent. Pad thai was fine for our kids, but i've had better pad thai before. don't expect the portions to be big.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amrt140, Owner at White Elephant Thai Resturant, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for your comments and sorry for that sald make you un happy and promise you next time it will be the best hope see you soon with best wishes amr 01001025117
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Elephant Thai Resturant also viewed

El Gouna, Red Sea and Sinai
El Gouna, Red Sea and Sinai
 
El Gouna, Red Sea and Sinai
El Gouna, Red Sea and Sinai
 

Been to White Elephant Thai Resturant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Elephant Thai Resturant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.