We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good, the bad and the ugly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fanadir Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Fanadir Hotel to your Saves list
Fanadir Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Abu Tig Marina, El Gouna, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in El Gouna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
610 reviews 610 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
341 helpful votes 341 helpful votes
“The good, the bad and the ugly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Fanadir is located on the northern most part of the Marina next to sister property Mosaique. We stayed here for two weeks from the middle through the end of June with a Half Board package.
The Fanadir is listed as a four star property. The building’s exterior in general is well maintained and the plants are well groomed. We had a standard room with a patio and pool view. The standard rooms are comfortable. Some of the interior building materials, quality, and workmanship (most particularly in the bathroom) would barely meet a three star property by European standards. In room amenities included: hair dryer, mini bar, flat screen satellite TV, safe and ample shelf space.

To keep this review as compact as possible, I will try to cover most items by listing them under the advantage/disadvantage sections with some explanations.

Advantages:

-Pool with swim up bar and an ample supply of sun beds.

-No children allowed, which may be viewed as a positive or negative. (Guests with children may consider staying next door at the sister property Mosaique).

-Book swap area at the front desk.

-Most of the staff was friendly.

-Free Access to Moods beach and Rihanna/Buzzha beach. At check-in, Fanadir issues each guest a towel card which one exchanges for beach towels. Guests are asked to use these towels on the beach and not the towels in the guest rooms.

-Our housekeeper, Khaleb (sp), was very nice and seemed to take great pride in his job.

Disadvantages:

-The biggest disappointment was the food. In general, the food was boring. Dishes that should have been hot were not as there were no or insufficient burners under the food warmers. In my opinion, the freshness of the food and bread items didn’t meet our expectations. The bread was generally dried out and other items on the buffet were carried over from the previous day or evening. This may be due to the fact that this is a smaller hotel and in low season there are not enough guests to keep the turnover on the buffet items for things to be freshly replenished. Breakfast juices were undrinkable! In my opinion, there was no actual juice in these drinks, just powdered or a watery beverage!

-Internet charge of EGP 120/day, or 360/ week! We thought that while such a charge is not uncommon in an international business hotel, it was extremely expensive for the location and positioning of the hotel in a tourist destination. This charge was also very expensive compared to the price we paid for the room.
-Shower only in standard rooms (no tub) and only liquid soap from dispensers offered.
-No security peep holes on the guest room doors (though, I know it is a secure, gated community).

-One night during our stay, a group of locals staying at the hotel were yelling and having a party in the pool at 3.30 in the morning, though hotel rules state the pool closes at sunset. It took two calls to the desk and thirty minutes later before the front desk person was able to control the group.
-On another occasion, there was a professional photography company that was on property. On this day, the hotel went all out to make the presentation mostly around the front desk and pool really exceptional. There were tall tables set up near the pool with nice floral arraignments placed on them. The sun loungers were all strategically placed around the pool and rolled towels were placed on each one of loungers, amongst other nicer improvements for the photo shoot. My friend made a comment to one the main managers that the hotel should consider taking such care and nice presentation every day. The hotel took the comments to heart at least for a few days, but then things returned to the old standard operating procedures.

I would personally suggest a pool view, pool level room. Some of these rooms have walk up balconies other just have balconies on the pool level. There is not much happening at this northern part of the Marina, so I would not choose a Marina view room, besides you will miss all the pool action.

Would I visit Fanadir or El Gouna again? I would honestly have to say no, at least, at this time of the year. It was a very relaxing vacation, but with the weather at 40 C (100+ degrees) each day, I’m not inclined to do much during the hottest part of the day.

I hope this review was helpful and if you would like more specific/detailed explanations and opinions, please feel free to click on the ask me more about Fanadir and/or El Gouna in general at the bottom of this review. I hope to have a Trip List published shortly about everything I experienced on my two week vacation in El Gouna.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosaique1, Manager at Fanadir Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear FormerCaliBoy,

Thank you very much for your feedback.
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the room and the pool area.
The internet connection and prices is set by an external company and we therefore have no desicion on the prices and services provided, but are in the process of reviewing the agreement.
We are constantly working with the engineering team to maintain the rooms in order to maintain the standard we want.
Some groups of guests unfortunatly not respect their fellow guests and our team in the night and are sometimes not easy to control. We do our best, but some are more difficult than others.
The Set-up for the photo shoot was nice, but not practical (if you talk about the tables by the pool) and the towels was presented on the sunbeds, and i agree this looks nice, but again, some guests does not respect the hotels property and take the towels with them and we therefore use the Towel card system in order to control.

We hope to welcome you back again (maybe in the winter this time)

Best regards
Ragnhild Tabet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    51
    20
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
103
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed here for a week in March following a very busy week on Nile cruise.
Loved the fact that it was smaller and more personal than other hotels in the area.
Were on first name terms with most of the staff who I can honestly say made our week very special ...couldn't do enough for us.
Our only issue was with with the extra payment we made for evening meals, believing we could dine at other restaurants, just paying extra at those above 3*...unfortunately didn't work out like this...miscommunication/misunderstanding, not sure which ;-)
Other than this, would definitely recommend and would return tomorrow if I could!

Room Tip: No issues with noise, but ground level rooms with access to pool looked like a good idea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosaique1, Manager at Fanadir Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Mazp47,

Thank you for your kind words and great feedback.

Looking forward welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Ragnhild Tabet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The room rates are quite low - so for what you are paying, i understand that the service/staff are not up there in terms of hospitality. However, I do need to stress that the staff are very nice/kind people - just not hotel staff/service oriented. When we checked in we initially didn't get the room my husband requested, but we decided to let that go. We asked for shirts to be pressed, we were told no - despite it clearly being written in the hotel services book in the room. We had to make a big fuss and at the end they said they would do it. Every question or request was initially met with a 'no' or 'not possible' then we had to make a fuss to turn it into a yes. No wifi, no wired internet options in the room. The room service can also be improved. The men who work the pool bar are the same that process orders for the rooms which is a bit strange. That said - it is in a perfect location and if you are not planning on spending too much time at the hotel itself its a perfect place to stay, just limit expectations.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnoldswick
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Well this is a great little hotel - that actually could be an excellent little hotel, first off arrived warmly welcomed, asked about an upgrade - tried to negotiate price - but no fixed price quite sup rising as the hotel was on 35% full!! ok the room we had was excellent once the air con was sorted out - kettle - but no tea or coffee? -room kept spotless by Mohammed in fact he went out of his way to be helpful. Pool area lovely and clean and for most of the time quiet - but why do you let guests smoke in the pool ? ok swim up bar but smoking!!! Beach towels great clean every day. Breakfast ok but boring after two weeks of the same!!!. Location is great, and easy acsess to everywhere. Staff were great - especially in the resteraunt. We had wifi for a couple of day reasonable cost and great cover. Would we return again yes we would.
Would we return

Room Tip: Pool rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed at Fanadir a week in May. Good service and friendly staff, plenty of space in pool, quiet. Perfect for adult couples. However internet is very expensive and Wifi doesn't cover the rooms. We had a great time in El Gouna with skin diving and dolphin spotting, weather was perfect. High marks to our travel agent Apollo and the diving company Corona!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington D.C.
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights and really liked it. No frills--nice rooms and nice bathroom; Good size for both and the location for this hotel is terrific; 5 minute walk from the Marina. The best part=no children which in Egypt means a ton because the children are behaved very very badly and in a nice place like al-Gouna, other hotels like the Sheraton always have a ton of kids, which therefore means that there is absolutely no peace and quite to be had. This place has a nice simple pool and the people--reception and others were very nice and seek to leave you alone. I will absolutely go back ASAP. Thanks!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed a week at the Fanadir. The room was big and nice, but the fan in the AC was so loud that it sounded like we slept at the airport.
The night staff was very friendly, so was the house keeping depatrment.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fanadir Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fanadir Hotel

Address: Abu Tig Marina, El Gouna, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > El Gouna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in El Gouna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fanadir Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Fanadir Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fanadir Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.