We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tropitel Dahab Oasis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tropitel Dahab Oasis to your Saves list
Tropitel Dahab Oasis
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blue Hole Road, Dahab 00087, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
cairo,egypt
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“not good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

just back from tropitel, the hotel was not clean enough except beds it was so clean but floor and toils was bad, the food was not fresh i don't know all that because of we travel at season or what?????
only beach with snorkeling was awesome fabulous views of the mountains facing the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    308
    76
    46
    20
See reviews for
168
435
62
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset, England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

First Impression - was that the hotel could do with some updating - but scratch below the surface and the hotel is a little Gem!! Within 3 days of staying here we were planning to return. The star attraction of the hotel is their staff.They cannot do enough for you and are genuine and lovely people - so much so that I have several new friends on Facebook whom I hope to be in contact with for a long time. The hotel is amazingly clean and the rooms are perfectly adequate. The food is lovely - something for everybody - even my fussy son found plenty to eat and I have to say this is the first time in Egypt when nobody had a tummy upset at all - and that goes for all the other guests we spoke to. As it is a small hotel you will speak to nearly everyone! As it is a diving hotel it is very quiet in the evenings and very easy to get served - a plus in my books. There is no entertainment so take a pack of cards - the staff love to show you tricks. If you have children everything is there - football pitch, volleyball, water polo table tennis etc but nobody to arrange things. One downside for me was the fact that wine was only served in the restaurant - however you can buy bottles either in the hotel or downtown in Dahab. Don't miss Dahab town - free shuttle from Hotel - it's a bit like Turkey back in the 80s. Very pretty and you can sit and watch the fish swiiming around. Pick the Tropitel - It really is an Oasis!

Room Tip: Had a quiet sea view in Room 221
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

A nice 2 storey hotel set in well maintained gardens located at the northend of Dahab.Fabulous views of the mountains facing the hotel. We had contacted the hotel prior to our visit and so our check-in was handled very quickly by George who acted as our rep for our 2 week stay.This is the ideal hotel for people who like peace and quiet,and who appreciate good service and very
friendly staff.
The restaurant had a good selection of food and offered live cooking options at most meals.Wine is only served at mealtimes and then only by the half glass! There is a pleasant outside terrace but this can be spoilt by smokers.The pool area was well looked after and we spent most of our days there,because it was too windy to go on the beach.The pool bar which was very well run by Ahmed,doubles up as the beach bar.There was a beach restaurant but this was closed all the time which was a shame because it would have made a nice alternative to the main restaurant.The beach was our main disappointment as we are beach lovers but the stoney sand and the rocks on the shoreline mean that you cannot make the most of it.Although we had very windy weather the windbreaks are fixed into position and cannot be moved which meant the beach was used by very few people.The jetty was a nice feature but we saw very few fish because the sea was so choppy.
Our room was on the upper floor and had nice sea and pool views,and a king size bed (NB Egytian beds are very hard!) The rooms are a little tired but maybe this will change when the Egyptian tourist business improves.The room was kept very clean and tidy.
The hotel shuttle bus is very convenient for those that want to do some shopping but there is very little else there.
All in all we got a good holiday at a very good price.
Just a word of warning for guests using RESORTHOPPA we were picked up at the hotel 5 hours before our flight from Sharm and even George could not get them to be more reasonable.We have complained but to no avail.We will not use them again.Pity the holiday had to end that way.
.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Lovely clean hotel, super food & drink. Hotel staff all very very helpful. The snorkelling was amazing, with a jetty which was very helpful to get in to the sea, the reef is excellent, saw fish we had never seen before, inc Jellyfish. The hotel has a dive school which was great too, diving at the canyon and blue hole were all excellent. Can't really find a bad thing to say the rooms are a good size, other than our bathroom was a little worn and needed updating, but it wasn't that bad to be fair! we emailed in advance to request a twin bedded room for our teenage children, this was all done for our arrival and the receptionist greeted me like he knew me after our email exchanges. Excellent views of the mountains all around you and on a clear day you can see Saudi Arabia cross the sea. A super time, would we go back, yes we probably will.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

After having read so many good reviews I expected to enjoy my stay at the hotel, but unfortunately from the very beginning I felt as we were not welcome there. Although the hotel was half empty we were given the room with the lock that was broken and with an AC not working and with twin beds though me and my husband booked a room with a double bed. When I asked if we can change the room I was offered first to pay extra and after they realized I am not going to, they said there were no rooms available. It didn't ruin my vacation, but I believe that such attitude is unacceptable.
Also when we were leaving the hotel we asked for a breakfast to go the day before our departure but the reception personnel refused saying that they can't do it. So in the morning when we were ready to leave it was 10 minutes before the breakfast time starts and everything was already set up in the restaurant, so I asked again if we could take some pastry with us and again got a refusal. They said we should wait until the restaurant opens for guests... and we had all inclusive package. Seems like they are saving on everything without caring how their guests feel!
But trying to be objective I must notice that our room service was very good and many would enjoy the location which is within walkable distance to the Canyon and pretty close to Blue Hole and there is a nice reef near the hotel, too. Though it is too far from Dahab where all the life is going on and the shuttle bus schedule is very inconvenient so you either miss lunch or dinner at the hotel. And our impression of the hotel is that it is like a pension for elderly people.
Also I'd like to attract your attention to the prices in the hotel and in the Lagon Diving center, they are INCREDIBLY HIGH in comparison with what we found in Dahab! Like quad bikes in the hotel they offer for 60$ when in the town it's easy to find a quad in a good condition for only 17$. As for Lagona Diving center it is completely ridiculous to offer an open water diving course for 340 euro when in the town the average price is 200!!! This is what we paid in the diving center that we chose and the service was wonderful! So in the hotel amenities they take advantage of guests because the hotel is far from everything and if you don't know, you just don't have choice. Overall, next time I will choose another hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brakel
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We had an amazing time in this hotel! I can really recomend this hotel.
I went already a lot off times to Dahab and stayed in a lot off hotels so the Tropitel Dahab Oasis is really an amazing hotel.
My room was always very clean, the staff were always very friendly and help you whenever they can. The food was nice and the menu changed every day. The people who worked in the bars are very friendly and work very hard.The people at the reception are very helpfull!
The view in my room was beautifull, i had seaview!
There's a reef to snorkel in front off the hotel!
I had a really relaxing holiday, i hope to go back soon! Thank you Tropitel!

Liesbet, Belgium

Room Tip: Take a room with poolview so you have also seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

it was really one of the nicer holiday we had with my best friend..nothing can I say about this hotel other than it's great, great staff who could not do enough for you. Front desk staff were very helpful and smiling ,George and the other ..Mr.Magdy front of the house manager was very friendly.. Beautiful view of the mountains to the front of the hotel, not sandy beach but snorkeling area was amazing . jetty was very helpful to get access to the sea and was really amazing during the evening with the lights directed to the sea so we enjoyed the amazing view of the fish during the evening...... Rooms are a good size as is the bathroom, not too new , to be honest needs a some painting and renewed..but it was ok for us.. Food was plentiful and cooked well, chefs always around the buffet and smiling for you.. Staff in the restaurant are very helpful ..running around for our comfortable..Melad and ahmed as i remember..also the staff of the bar , sharle and the others...i can say all the staff , let you feel home... If you want to book any excursions whilst you are there speak to Butchi in reception, is a helpful guy....if you are looking for a relaxing holiday , this is the best hotel ...will definitely try and go back once we have the chance....

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropitel Dahab Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropitel Dahab Oasis

Address: Blue Hole Road, Dahab 00087, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Dahab
#13 Family Hotel in Dahab
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Dahab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropitel Dahab Oasis 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in a magnificent spot where the sea hugs the feet of the golden Sinai Mountains, Tropitel Dahab Oasis offers divers and non divers the delights of the Red Sea's most renowned diving spot, the Blue Hole, stretching along the coast of Aqaba Gulf, only 70 minutes drive from Sharm El-Sheikh International Airport.Tropitel Dahab Oasis offers a breathtaking coastline of sun-drenched beach with coral reefs and crystal clear water, combined with simply decorated restaurants and cool bars, as well as numerous leisure facilities that will make you feel home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tropitel Dahab Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropitel Dahab Oasis Hotel Dahab
Tropitel Hotel Dahab

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropitel Dahab Oasis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.