We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Deal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Beach Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Beach Club to your Saves list
Blue Beach Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   El Melal Street | P.O. Box 45, Dahab, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Excellent Deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

The staff is very helpful and friendly, and the rooms are spacious with AC and a balcony. I gave the cleanliness 3 stars because there were tiny ants on my bed for some reason, and tiny cockroaches in my bathroom (but only at night). The buffet breakfast is superb, and the location is perfect. Away from the hustle bustle, but right next to it at the same time so you don't have to walk too far. The sea is right behind the hotel, and in between your room and the sea is a relaxing pool. I'm glad I stayed here because it's a great deal, and I will stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    110
    11
    5
    8
See reviews for
64
90
52
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

Stayed at Blue Beach as surprise trip for husbands 40th, without the children. Had wonderful time - hotel clean, not as basic as I expected having read some reviews - had everything we needed/wanted. Great, friendly, helpful staff. Really good breakfast and good restaurant in hotel. Fantastic dive centre attached. We could probably have dived for a bit less money elsewhere - but the staff gave us enormous confidence and the kit all seemed in great order, so were very happy. Cameron took us diving, with Tash and they were brilliant. Loved Dahab - great chilled atmosphere, food really good - hadn't expected to enjoy the food at all! Fabulous holiday - will definitely go back with the children. Not quite sure where we are in the season - but would probably expect to see more students/backpackers/travellers - quite a hippy/bohemian/relaxed atmosphere. Didn't use the swimming pool - bit of a funny colour - but as right on the front, didn't want to - when you have a warm sea and the reef with amazing fish to see on your doorstep - who needs a swimming pool?

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2010

I like it here! It's basic; not backpacker basic, but basic, and it has a great atmosphere and a more laid-back clientèle than, say, the Meridien (see separate review).
Firstly, location:
In Dahab but around the corner past the lighthouse, so you're away from the main tourist drag (not that Dahab's Torremolinos!). If you want the brighter lights, it's only 5 minutes' walk, and you've got some more peaceful bars and restaurants the other way towards Eel Gardens.
Secondly, the hotel and its rooms:
Spartan but comfortable, and frankly all that we needed. Worth getting a superior (sea-facing) room, because the others look out onto the road at the back of the hotel, so the view is unappetising and there is a fair bit of traffic noise. Also the rooms on the first floor are bigger than those on the ground floor. Rooms have air con, a safe and a fridge, and the wifi is free (see review of Meridien in Dahab by way of comparison). Air con is quiet and effective, if the sea breeze isn't enough for you.
Thirdly, eating and drinking:
The bar (rather naughtily entitled "The Furry Cup") is famous in its own right and resembles a traditional British pub in both décor and ambiance. Because of these traits, and also because most tourists don't walk past it, it's the main hang out for Dahab's diving/windsurfing/kite-surfing instructors looking to escape their clients and talk shop.
Local beers, plenty of sport on TV, and a strong selection of reasonably-priced food, both Egyptian and more pub-orientated (they even do fish & chips, which I didn't try). Bar also has a beach extension just over the path from the main building, and this is a bit more chilled. There's also a restaurant, which serves the same food, but provides a slightly more formal setting.
Fourthly, facilities/activities
If you're staying here, you're probably going to do some diving, and the Blue Realm dive centre is actually in the hotel. It's well run by the extremely friendly and knowledgeable Khaled, and the equipment is painstakingly cared for. You need to pay in cash, however, so be prepared, especially since some of the ATMs in Dahab are limited to a certain maximum transaction per day.
The pool is small but fresh water, and there are a few sunbeds around it (if only a little shade available). The beach area belonging to the hotel is small and has no direct sea access due to stones., rocks coral, sea urchins, etc., but there are some sun beds and umbrellas there, and, if the kids take over the pool area (as they did when we were there), the beach provides some respite.
Still, if you're after a beach/pool lounging experience, Dahab probably shouldn't be a destination of choice anyway. It's more than good enough for relaxing and sunning after/between dives.
Fifthly, staff:
Excellent. Genuinely interested in making everything comfortable and relaxed.
In summary, at less than half the price of the Meridien, this is the hotel for me in Dahab, unless you really do just want to sunbathe all day.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dahab2008, Owner at Blue Beach Club, responded to this review, May 4, 2010
We are always grateful for constructive review that give the readers of this site a real view of a guests experience in our hotel. We are a small hotel who pride ourselves in friendly, efficient staff and hope to ensure every one of our guests a relaxing stay in Dahab. We are currently in the process of extending our beach facilities and putting up more shaded areas around the pool and thank this guest for suggesting that this may be an improvement. We hope the next time you visit your experience will be even better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

My 3rd stay at this hotel in 3 years time. It was good the 1st time and has managed to improve on that. The hotel offers good rooms at value rates, inclusive of an excellent buffet breakfast. The hotel houses a good restaurant and on the grounds you'll also find The Furry Cup bar which offers some relaxed nightlife with sports on tv, cold beers/drinks and good food. They also have a SCUBA diving facility with which I have no experience. They appear to have good gear from what I have seen. I always dive with Poseidon myself (separate review).

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dahab2008, Owner at Blue Beach Club, responded to this review, May 4, 2010
We are happy that we can continue to improve on our facilities and services and welcome you back any time. Thank-you for your positive feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

I booked two rooms on the 4th of April, one for me and one for my gf.
they gave us a room with a non-working AC ! And gave me a room far away from my gf.'s room on ANOTHER building... on my way to my room on the stairs to the room, The receptionist came after me and said that the EGYPTIAN INTELIGENCE are in the reception and they are warning me not to enter another room only MINE !! OFCOURSE I was sure that it was a lie but still it made me angry and uncomfortable!!! I left next morning becoz of all the rudness and lies.
I advice againest staying there .....

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dahab2008, Owner at Blue Beach Club, responded to this review, May 4, 2010
According to local Egyptian Law - no Egyptian national may share a room with a foreigner or other Egyptian national unless they can provide legal marriage certificates. We are licensed under the Egyptian Ministry of Tourism and abide by all such laws. All Egyptian nationals are aware of this law so we kindly ask that all guests be aware that we are unable to bend it as many other hotels in the area do. We strive to provide our guests with the best possible service but in this instance we are bound by the local laws. We kindly ask guests for their constructive reviews in order for us to keep bettering ourselves but feel that guests should act fairly when doing so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

We have just returned from a truly wonderful holliday at the Blue Beach Hotel. We stayed there with our two children (7 and 12 yrs), grandparents, brother and sister in law for six days. Our family had a spacous famillyroom which in fact are two rooms and two bathrooms that are connected, the others had doublerooms all with a nice seaview. The rooms are clean and tastefully decorated and the food in the restaurant is very good . The best thing about this hotel is however the entire staff. They are all very serviceminded and pleasant people.

Thank you Sandra and rest of the staff at Blue Beach for making our holliday the best. We hope to be back one day.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

Returned last week from a wonderful holiday at the Blue Beach Club. The apartment was wonderful and spacious. The sea-views fom the roof terrace were breath-taking, especially for watching the sun come up, and the cushions and rugs up there are just perfect for those afternoon snoozes!

The Blue Beach is in an excellent position to access the busier area (5 mins)but situated close to Assalah for those who prefer a quieter time, and snorkelling off Eel Garden (2 mins on foot) was just fabulous - one of our favourite places :-)

The staff at the hotel were so friendly and helpful and really made the week special. We ate at the restaurant 3 times in the evening and the food was excellent every time. Haleed and Sita from the on-site dive club are both fun people and we spent a superb day out on the boat to Nabq el Bint (??). Our special thanks went to the Blue Beach driver who made all the trips fun and interesting and to the great reception staff.

We'll definitely be back to Dahab and of course to the Blue Beach Club as soon as we can sort out dates.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Beach Club

Address: El Melal Street | P.O. Box 45, Dahab, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Dahab
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Dahab
#16 Romantic Hotel in Dahab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaint beachfront hotel in great location in Dahab. Warm atmosphere, great staff and loads of activities for all ages! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Blue Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Beach Club Hotel Dahab
Blue Beach Hotel
Blue Beach Dahab

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.