We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing,friendly,value for money and superb position” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheikh Salem House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sheikh Salem House to your Saves list
Sheikh Salem House
El Melal Street | Eel Garden, Assalah, Dahab 14611, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 25 Dahab B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing,friendly,value for money and superb position”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

I do not normally put pen to paper but in the interests of balance and fairness I felt that I had to.I was very surprised at the experience of the family mentioned previously as it was the total opposite of mine.Having stayed at Sheik Salem many times both solo and with my children I have never encountered cockroaches,lack of towels,dirty sheets etc. If I had done I certainly would not have returned.I have also met many families staying there who were very happy .The location is fantastic being right on the beach.It is also very peaceful and quiet as it is not on the main strip which is just a few minutes walk away.It is mainly staffed by very friendly Bedouins which gives the guest an intro to their culture and way of life.In addition it is run in a very honest way with no attempt at rip offs which does happen in many places. I can heartily recommend it for a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    11
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
7
11
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ellensburg, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

This place is terrible! We went for our family vacation with some friends and their kids, from 4 to 11 years old. We stayed there 4 days 3 nights. My friends had to move to another hotel cuz they couldn't stay another night there. But we wanted to give this hotel the benefit of the doubt cuz of the other reviews we read before going. First, the good things we have found: our room had AC (but not all the rooms have), a sink, a small refrigerator, and a private bathroom. The house is right there on the beach...other than that THIS PLACE IS AWFUL!!The rooms smelled really bad.There were cockroaches everywhere! We had found blood in our sheets, and the pillows were stinky as well. They didn't have enough towels, so one of the families had to go and buy their own towels, and we didn't have water to take showers for a whole day. The video you saw on their website is from 4 years ago, so it doesn't look like anything advertised on their website. No table, no chairs, no nothing! I think we got what we paid for. If you are single and backpacking with a limited budget, this place is for you, other than that go spend more money because there are other places way better than this one for an extra couple of $.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Alps
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Rooms great value for money in one of the best places to stay in Dahab. Fantastic situation just five minutes walk to Lighthouse and two minutes from Assalah Square, the beach café is a place to meet and chat with local Bedouin as well as tourists.

Superb snorkelling on the reef at high tide when I have seen sting ray, large turtle, feather tail ray and blue spotted ray: great for strong swimmers, also accessible from nearby Eel Garden easy entry canyon. Staff very helpful and chilled: don't be in too much of a hurry when ordering food, just relax and enjoy the wait!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

I guess I was expecting to feel anonymous and like a stranger visiting somewhere so far from home but I immediately felt welcome and comfortable at Sheikh Salem House. The mix of visitors and local people that I met through my stay here were friendly and open and became familiar faces quickly. The Lazy Camel Cafe behind the hotel is situated right next to the sea, it attracts a varied and interesting range of people who came to eat, socialise and also for the weekly Bedouin market held here. The staff were genuinely friendly and open so that I soon felt welcome and never like a tourist or outsider. The food served is mainly authentic Bedouin and always freshly cooked. If I come back to Dahab and in the future I will come here again as it felt like a home from home.

Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grevenbroich, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

It is primitive, but staff, surroundings and the quietness makes up for it all.. Stayed there 3 times, ones with friends and twice with family - best place in Dahab!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

came here with my wife a while back, had the worst stay i've ever had in a hotel anywhere in my life. the first night we were in a small decent room, but were told we were to be "upgraded" the next day. So, we were put in a horrible room with an unfinished brick wall half covering a single tiny window. this was marketed as their "sea and mountain view" room... well... you could just see the sea if you craned your neck out of the open window to look past the brick wall debris and the room looked distinctly half finished and unclean.

the corridor funnelled the sea breeze and made the door slam all night long, even when locked & there were cockroaches literally running out of the shower plughole. the final straw was when a roach ran onto our bed as we were lying there.

when we first arrived (late in the evening) we were encouraged to eat in their restaurant. When we went for a walk into town instead (sheikh salem house is far outside the main bay) and get some food we got very bad vibes from the management.

in the end i had a shouting argument with the woman running the place who told me that "cockroaches are sweet" and that the room was lovely. In the end we just upped and left (and were still saddled with the bill).

I had lived in dahab for years & have never ever seen anything like it, or been so angry at bad service. I know this review sounds incredible, but it is a true account of a real nightmare stay!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheikhs, General Manager at Sheikh Salem House, responded to this review, April 19, 2011
Whilst we appreciate your comments to help us improve our service, we prefer our reviews to be based on facts. We also encourage our guests to tell us of any problems during their stay so that they can be addressed immediately.

We are frankly very shocked by this review as none of our staff or management would say that cockroaches are sweet! We cant stand them and they are ongoing problem for the whole of Dahab. We spray our rooms regularly with industrial cockroach spray. If we received such a complaint we would spray the room for the guest to stop the problem and or offer an alternative room if available.

Also none of our rooms have exposed brickwork on the interior of the room. One room however does have brickwork visible from outside the room via the window. This is due to our neighbour's wall and we are not able to cover this at the moment. Our Part Sea View rooms are exactly what we say they are, they have a part sea view (not a full sea view) which is from the side of our building and it does have a partial view of a house next to our Guest House.

Our Guest House is located in a quiet part of town at the end of the beach footpath. There are many cafes and bars within a 5 minute walk from our Guest House and the main bay of Dahab is just over 5 minutes walk along the beach promenade.

We apologise for any problems you had during your stay and we do thank you for your feedback. But please note that we do not advertise our Guest House as the Hilton or a 4 - 5 star hotel and this is reflected in our pricing.

We are happy to discuss this matter further by email or via our contact us form on our website so that this matter can be closed and resolved as soon as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

The rooms are pretty basic and in need of repair but apart from that everything is perfect. Ideal place if you are going to spend a minimal amount of time in the room and with everything that Dahab has to offer paying more for a hotel seems pointless. The rooms contain a bed, wardrobe, chair and cabinet. The beds are pretty comfortable and always had a good night sleep. Would definately recommend the sea view balcony as watching the sun rise in the morning is a must. Nicole and the staff were all very friendly and their local knowledge is incredible so make sure you utilise this. The lazy camel cafe is an ideal location to sit and watch the world go by and they serve good coffee too (also try the Bedouin tea, very nice). Also have a few sun loungers to take a bit of sun in and you can go straight into the sea from here too. Snorkelling around the coral is amazing and you can also see why the area is named Eel Garden.

Bad points.....

Rooms in a slight state of disrepair.

Good points.....

The price
The service
The view (from seaview balcony)
The relaxed atmosphere
Commitment to Dahab
The location
Free wifi (Best place for reception is in the lazy camel cafe on the beachfront, perfect!)
No hassle from locals

Recommendations

Book taxi from airport through hotel, they will save you around 300le (£30)
Sunrise/Sunset up Mount Sinai
Seaview balcony if available
Go scuba diving, missed the chance to go and after seeing some photos am really disappointed I didn't go.
A good website to keep in touch with all things local is www.radiosinailive.com as they have hints and tips along with weather updates etc. Also play good music.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheikh Salem House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheikh Salem House

Address: El Melal Street | Eel Garden, Assalah, Dahab 14611, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Dahab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheikh Salem House is the famous budget guest house at the heart of the Bedouin community in Dahab. Stay right on the beach next to the famous Eel Garden and enjoy the best of local hospitality, in one of the nicest locations in Dahab. We offer a relaxing and peaceful environment for travelers of all ages so come and discover more of Dahab and become one of our big family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Sheikh Salem House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheikh Salem House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.