We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are better hotels in better locations for the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Penguin Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Penguin Village to your Saves list
Penguin Village
Mashraba St, Dahab 46617, Egypt   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“There are better hotels in better locations for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

There are better hotels in better locations for the same price in dahab. This hotel is located in a dead area of dahab about a 10-15 minute walk from the main tourist area.

The restaurant here serves decent food but is overpriced for the quantity and gave me back the wrong amount of change 4 times out of the 4 times I ate there. The Internet doesn't work about 50% of the time and the wifi does not work in your room. The rooms are small and cramped but the hotel is clean.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenguinDiversDahab, Manager at Penguin Village, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Hello
Thank you for taken the time to write this review,we do adjust the food price by 20 % for all penguin village guests and we hope next time to serve you biter,
Have a nice day from sunny Dahab.
Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    68
    26
    17
    14
See reviews for
12
44
51
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Excellent food & service at Penguin village, had great meals there by the beachfront. Staff are very friendly and their recommendations are always good :-) Make sure you finish with a shisha faraola!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenguinDiversDahab, Manager at Penguin Village, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice review,we hope to serve you biter and biter ,we all wish you a safe and enjoyable travel,Oh yes shisha with a strawberry taste is the best ,
Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Hey,
I recently returned from my trip to Dahab, Egypt. I stayed at the Penquin Village, mainly because it was recommended by a friend. Immediately as I walked in I sensed the friendly atmosphere of the place. Indeed, I found the stuff to be really friendly, always giving out advises and not being pushy advertising their packaged or trips. I stayed in a single room for 100 LE a night and I´d say it was worth it.
I often ate in the Penguin restaurant, which had the same friendly atmosphere as did the village itself. A plenty of comfortable cushions to sit and chill, looking out to the red sea. The food was plentyfull and good value for the money and staff I found to be friendly, so thanks Mohammed, Zeko & co.

All in all, I can truly recommend Penquin Village as your place to stay and dine while you enjoy your stay in Dahab. It is a kind of place where you propably stay longer than you initially intended to.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenguinDiversDahab, Manager at Penguin Village, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you very much for taken the time to write this nice helpful review,it will always be nice see you again soon,
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

It is true what another reviewer wrote about them giving you trouble about boys/girls staying together. The thing is- sometimes it's no problem and then suddenly it is a problem. I booked a room for two guests and when I showed up with a black man (I am a white American woman), the man refused and when we tried to argue with him (I had opposite sex American friends staying in a room at the very same time!) the man just became furious and yelled in our faes. We told him (and showed our passports) that were both foreigners, so it is not against the law in Egypt and he made a comment that he would be changing the policy of the hostel to not allow even foreigners to stay together.

I had stayed at the Penguin many times before this and they seriously have no sense of loyalty or of how to treat people respectfully. Even asking for a roll of tissue paper for my bathroom was a huge ordeal. I'd gladly stay at a dirtier/less "nice" place in order to receive better hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenguinDiversDahab, Manager at Penguin Village, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Hello Jenna
Thank you for taken the time to review Penguin Village and big thanks to stay with us a few times,we are rely surprised and sorry about our reception man ,we do take action towards this matter and things will always stay the same ,sorry for that,.
wishing you a good day from your lovely Dahab.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I stayed at Penguin for longer than I initially planned because it had such a nice vibe. I was also diving with them and all the staff in the dive shop were wonderful. The price was fantastic and I liked the facilities. I felt like I could have stayed there indefinitely and I would definitely stay there again if I have the pleasure to return to Dehab.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenguinDiversDahab, Manager at Penguin Village, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Hello Janna
Thank you for your great review ,it is been great have you staying and diving with us ,we do miss you allot with all the fun we had with you during the dive trips ,
all the best from all of us,
Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Not overly impressed with Penguin. The setup is great, but the staff continually gave me inconsistent prices for tours and equipment hire, were not very knowledgeable about onward travel from Dahab, and came into our dorm rooms at 8:30AM to clean (before check-out). The WiFi also rarely worked, which the staff seemed non-plussed about. If the staff didn't have such bad attitudes, this place could be okay. Will stay elsewhere next time

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenguinDiversDahab, Manager at Penguin Village, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Hello Thank you for your review,and 1st of all we hope you accept our apologist ,we did take your review seriously and the staff at the front desk has been changed to back again to our permanent staff how is always be there to help you to have a pleasant holiday,we wish you a safe travel and enjoyment,
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Great place to stay, the staff are great and the food is ok, it has a nice pleasant laid back atmosphere, is very quite so good nights sleep assured, right by the sea but no beach, very close to the supermarket which is handy for beer as the hotel dosnt serve alcohol, but you are welcome to sit in the restaurant to drink your own.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenguinDiversDahab, Manager at Penguin Village, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you very much for taken the time to write this helpful nice review about the Penguin Village it is been rely nice to have you staying with us ,and we wish to see you again soon,
wishing you a nice day from sunny DAHAB.
All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Penguin Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penguin Village

Address: Mashraba St, Dahab 46617, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Dahab
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Dahab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly, clean hotel located on the waterfront. A range of rooms including ones with A/C, private bathrooms and balcony with red Sea views. Onsite restaurant and dive center offering recreational diving and PADI courses. Pick up service from anywhere in Egypt and assistance in arranging tours to surrounding cities and the Sinai region.hope to see you soon> ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Penguin Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penguin Village Dahab
Penguin Village Hotel Dahab

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penguin Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.