We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dive Urge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Dive Urge to your Saves list
Dive Urge
Eel Garden | South Sinai, Dahab, Egypt   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off dive holiday
Ranked #1 of 25 Dahab B&B and Inns
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Home from Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

I did my open water at Dive Urge some years ago and I try to get back every year. I'm a solo lady and always feel very safe and comfortable with the staff!

As Dahab develops and gets increasingly commercial, Dive-Urge manages to keep a relaxed and chilled out vibe going! It's only a 10 min walk into town if you want the hubbub and then go back to the peace and quiet!

As a diver I really appreciate the small groups (I dived 1-1 for much of the trip!) and the relaxed pace of the place, there's not any pressure to be boxed up and ready to go at 8:59 like at so many other places I've been!

En-Shallah I'll be back again next year <///><

Room Tip: I love the Garden rooms - they're sheltered from the winds (which can really pick up overnight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne G, Owner at Dive Urge, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
I have to agree that Dive Urge is a great pace for single travelers and ladies especially feel very secure and comfy here. We are glad that you continue to enjoy your time here as one of our longest ‘urgers’ we do really appreciate your continued custom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
44
34
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bray, Co Wicklow, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

It takes exceptional skill, teamwork, and attention to detail to provide a laid-back stress-free environment, whilst ensuring a professional and quality approach to diving.

At Dive-Urge, they get it exactly right – a holistic holiday and diving experience, whilst taking care of the environment above and below the water, with respect for the local culture and people.

After five days great diving, I headed off on memorable trip to St Katherine’s Monastery and Mount Sinai. Although I had organised this myself, Dive-Urge were very supportive in providing transport and helping to ensure the whole thing went off smoothly.

Thanks to the whole team – keep up the great work, and I hope this visit won’t be my last!

Room Tip: 25m one way to get your gear, 25m the other to eat or chill by the water's edge. What more could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne G, Front Office Manager at Dive Urge, responded to this review, April 7, 2012
Thank you for your kind words.
Glad you had such a great trip and hope to see you here again soon.
Best Fishes
*
*
><}}}*>

Kimberley Britten

Office Manager
Dive Urge Dive Club
Dahab, Red Sea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Hi (we ) Darren and I sue have just returned from our first trip to DIVE URGE , the whole place is SO laid back , wonderful staff especially Kimberley who s always smiling :), and nothing is too much trouble , bootiful place for a real chill out x room with a sea view amazing xx I left with a tear : ( xxxxxx thank you to you all xxxx what an AMAZING PLACE X next time I might even dive xxxx sue xxx

Room Tip: Sea view x but all room really nice x
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne G, Front Office Manager at Dive Urge, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Thank you for such a lovely review. It was great having you both here and we really hope you come back again soon.

Best Fishes,

*
*
><}}}*>

Kimberley Britten

Office Manager
Dive Urge Dive Club
Dahab, Red Sea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Following a search in early 2010, I found information on Dive Urge on Tripadvisor. From the Tripadvisor, I soon established that this was the place I wanted to learn to dive. Despite delays due to volcanic eruptions, Dive Urge did a fantastic job managing my ever changing itinerary and I finally got wet in May 2010. My instructor Ahmed was brilliant - he was skilled, understanding, patient and had an amazing skill of finding the smallest of critters on the reef. During my stay I successfully gained my Open Water and Advanced. Above water, Lynne and her team provided a friendly, accommodating and always helpful service and made my stay most enjoyable and so relaxing.

Since my first visit, I have have returned to Dive Urge twice and each time has been memorable and very different. For folk who are looking to learn to dive, wish to have a more relaxing dive holiday than say a liveaboard or are interested in uw photography, I cannot recommend more highly the Dive Urge team or the great shore/day boat dives and beautiful reefs of Dahab. Melvyn M

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

We had a brilliant week diving in December 2011, my wife was a nervous learner and received 1-1 tuition for her PADI open water. Now she wants to go back - so success! It was lovely to be staying in a place largely run by Egyptians, and everyone was incredibly friendly, kind and efficient. There is a relaxed atmosphere, the rooms are clean and comfortable and we felt safe at all times. The diving was superb, and being able to walk out to the eel garden straight from the hotel was a real bonus. It's a 5-10 minute walk along the beach to the centre of Dahab - just the right distance for convenience without the noise and mayhem. Being able to pay our bills in pounds stirling was also useful as the local cash machines don't always work. We look forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

I discovered Dive Urge in July 2011 when I visited with my partner and completed my PADI open water. I fell in love with the place - so much so that I returned for Christmas with my teenage son. We both completed our advanced course. My son had only ever dived in the UK and was completely blown away by the most amazing diving. Dive urge is a hidden gem in the quieter part of Dahab run by the most beautiful people. Staff are wonderful, food is brilliant, location is fantastic and diving is out of this world. We really had the most wonderful time and a Christmas not to be forgotten. And yes we are heading back again later this year!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

It is impossible for me to think of Dive Urge without a big smile appearing across my face. I have stayed there a few times now, staying both at the club and in the holiday apartments (about 2mins walk from club if you're r-e-a-l-l-y taking your time).

Dahab is a beautiful place, and its dive sites are amazing. Dive Urge makes it even better though through their amazing staff, fantastic food, brilliant accommodation and location. Their passion for people, the environment and diving shines through everything they do, and that's what will make your holiday - whether you're a diver or not!

If you're not a diver, I would recommend giving it a go here. I was a qualified diver before going but I've watched, dived and spent time with numerous people undergoing PADI certification during each of my visits and the instruction at Dive Urge is probably the best I've seen. In addition, their dive centre facilities and equipment (dive and first aid) are all of a very high standard.

Ok, stop reading and go book your holiday at Dive Urge - I promise you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dive Urge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dive Urge

Address: Eel Garden | South Sinai, Dahab, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Dahab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dive Urge is a PADI Resort offering a personal,peaceful & professional retreat for divers wishing to holiday away from the crowds. Set on the shores of the famous Eel Garden Dive Site, just five minutes walk from the main bay of Dahab. Our family run club offers a unique 4-1 policy for all divers, which keeps the groups small and your enjoyment level high. We offer the highest standards of attention and care for all our guests. Our home from home feeling appeals to all holiday makers; singles, couples, groups of friends and of course families too. Our number one rating in Trip Advisor and Cert of Excellence, 3 years running, also speaks volumes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dive Urge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dive Urge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.