We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ninth visit and still happy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bedouin Moon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Bedouin Moon Hotel to your Saves list
The Bedouin Moon Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blue Hole Road, PO Box 60, Dahab, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Dahab
uk
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Ninth visit and still happy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

A great basic hotel with superb staff, a great welcome, good food, a lovely pool and a good friendly/family atmosphere. Having just returned from our ninth visit to this hotel having met and dived with (Reef 2000 attached) friends. The approach can be summarised by a phone call to our transfer taxi from the manager to see if we would like sandwiches on arrival as the restaurant would be closed at our 11 o'clock arrival. A beer, a sleep, breakfast and straight out diving the next day. PS if you are worried about safety in Dahab don't drive to the airport in the uk it is more dangerous. Dahab is very peaceful and the local Bedouin very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    113
    12
    8
    4
See reviews for
27
111
137
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I had arrived at a point in my life where I was able to follow my own heart and wishes. Without reading and listening any news or weather reports I flew out to Egypt not knowing what to expect - except my personal freedom. Egypt was as peaceful as I remembered it from over 10 years ago and having met the hotel staff/management it quickly added a family vibe to my holiday. I stayed in a sea view room and left the curtain half open to be woken up by the sunrise every morning. The beds are super comfortable and the room has everything you need. After I extended my holiday I was able to check out a superior room. Beautifully designed room with generously devided bed/bathroom. I was sad to leave but know I will be back as soon as I can. The Bedouin Moon has become my second home.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Spent another lovely week at the Bedouin Moon in Dahab. This was my 5th time at this hotel and I absolutely love it there. The hotel has stayed the same since my 1st visit in 2006 (with some updating to the rooms) and many of the staff have become friends, welcoming us back each time with their wonderful hospitality. This is a special place to stay, very informal, small and non touristy. Nice rooms and clean, the pool is stunning, the food is good and very reasonable.
Dahab town is small enough to not get lost in, it has a good selection of restaurants and shops and is easily reached by a cheap taxi (everyone loves the Dahab taxis) or you can walk and take in the local scenery.
The attached dive centre Reef 2000 is very professional and will take you on some leisurely local dives (recommended by me) and there is even a boat dive arranged weekly if you can tear yourself away.
Special thanks to all the staff of the Bedouin Moon, particularly Gilly the Diva who keeps everything running so well, Hany who made us laugh a lot. Floh for his great dive centre and dive guides Adam, Dan and Kamal who deserves a medal after being landed with us for a full thee days. Hope to see you all again next year, if not before.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

So sorry for this late review. Dave & I stayed in April & had the most fabulous time. We'd never been to Egypt before & didn't want to go to a typical tourist hang-out. Dahab was a fabulous choice. We chose The Bedouin Moon because of the great reviews of both the hotel & the apricot tagine !!! This hotel was a great choice for us, clean, friendly, hot water & wifi. We're not divers but that didn't matter - we were made just as welcome. A special thank-you must go to Lucy at breakfast & the lovely omelette man - never did master his name. Lucy is a mind of information about the hotel, its services & Dahab in general. We had a great time & would say to anybody to visit Dahab - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

I have just returned from my 16th stay at the Bedouin Moon. I have never posted a review before. Everyone else's seemed to say it all - lazy I know. However, this time I really wanted to say my piece.
I think 16 holiday's over 10 years probably says it all, but the Bedouin Moon is now home from home. It is a charming hotel that is friendly, quiet, and sums up everything that is beautiful about Egypt. Most importantly, at the moment, people need to understand that it is 100% SAFE!!! Despite the FO warnings!! We didn't see or hear of any trouble. The only trouble is how quiet it is, places are really suffering because of it.
Yes the rooms are basic, but they are clean and functional, how much time do you really spend in the room anyway?? The pool area has one of the best views in Dahab, sitting there on a still day hearing call to prayer really can't be beaten.
Breakfast and food in general is lovely. Staff can't do enough for you and may of them are now good friends. In fact, I have made many new life long friends over the years.
Diving is the main reason people visit Dahab, and Reef2000 attached to the hotel can't be beaten. Everyone is friendly, professional and enthusiastic about what they do. From learning to dive, to just fun diving, they will do everything they can to make your experience the best it could be.
Please remember it is safe over there and Nationwide will insure you even with the amber warning. You won't regret it and will probably still be visiting in 10 years time like me!!

Room Tip: Mountain View rooms are beautiful and cooler than the sea view rooms in the summer months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Coming back to Bedoin moon is coming home. I have been here now quite often and each time there is something improved, something changed... but the athmosphere stays the same. Excellent staff, wonderful food, fair prices, nice and clean rooms... I will be back!! So to all of you out there not getting their guts up to do the drive from Sharm to Dahab: there is no problem in that road, Dahab is safe and relaxed and easy as it always has been! Go and see for yourself!!

Room Tip: I would always recommend the mountain view room: especially during the summer they are keeping out t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

A fantastic place surrounded by lovely friendly people! I went to Dahab to go Scuba diving and I have no regrets what so ever! If you are planing on scuba diving I would email Reef2000 instead of booking through an external website as I did. simply because this way you can decide exactly how much you want to do once you get there. The dive sites are beautiful with an incredible staff! You honestly couldn't ask for more. I cannot wait to go back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are in perfect location. Any room is just as good as the other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bedouin Moon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bedouin Moon Hotel

Address: Blue Hole Road, PO Box 60, Dahab, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Dahab
#2 Family Hotel in Dahab
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dahab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Bedouin Moon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bedouin Moon Hotel lies just north of Dahab bay in a stunning location where the Sinai Mountains seem to kiss the sea. You can watch the lazy, wind-ruffled waves lap the shore from any of our sea-view rooms or from the front terrace, where a buffet breakfast (lunch and dinner too if you wish) are served. All our rooms are en-suite, with air conditioning and boast unrivalled sea views across the Gulf of Aqaba or inspiring mountain landscape views. The hotel hosts a relaxed, comfortable feel and among other facilities you will find our stunning secluded swimming pool surrounded by colorful desert gardens, where you can sit back, have a drink and enjoy the best views in Dahab. Our facilities include REEF 2000 DIVE CLUB, a PADI 5* Golden Palm Resort and IANTD Technical Instructor Training Facility, who can cater for snorkellers and divers of any level. We also host yoga classes and yoga teacher training courses as well as massage therapy. Our international menu offers a delicious array of food that can be enjoyed in the restaurant or the pool bar. Free wireless internet is available throughout the hotel. Wind- and kitesurfing, desert trekking, boat and camel safaris can be arranged. So let's fly you to the Moon …..! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Bedouin Moon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedouin Moon Hotel
Bedouin Moon Dahab

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bedouin Moon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.