We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Happy Life Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Happy Life Village to your Saves list
Happy Life Village
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wady Quonay | P.O. Box 47, Dahab 46617, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
Suffolk, England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This place is a gem. It's tucked away just under the hills, on the beach just a few miles from Dahab Village, and is the perfect place to relax.
Yes, it's a bit worn around the edges, but it's scrupulously clean, the staff are all wonderful, and the grounds are beautiful. It's a place you keep going back to (and I'm not generally someone who returns to a place, no matter how nice).
If anything doesn't work or you have a problem, you just have to mention it to the manager and it's taken care of immediately.
There is a great house reef--you just walk to the end of the jetty and you're in the deep water between the reefs, where you'll find an amazingly varied amount of fish.
I think for me it's just the friendliness of the very hard-working staff and the overall beauty of the place. Sinai is pretty much a barren, rocky landscape, and this is a total oasis.
The Bedouin bring their camels along the beach every day, there is fantastic horse-riding (see separate review for this), endless snorkeling, with a series of reef pools that divers visit, as they're so good, and things like quad biking, plus 4 lovely pools if you tire of the beach.
Incidentally, Dahab is a very safe area; the village itself, a ten minute car ride away, is a small place where everyone knows everyone else, and the Egyptians are very conscious of keeping tourists safe. I never felt in the slightest bit worried.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    162
    41
    12
    4
See reviews for
94
182
44
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have just returned from 2 weeks here this was my first visit and already I am planning on coming back in April the staff are friendly and treated us as friends, the food a good selection and nothing was too much trouble, rooms clean and tidy although a llittle dated.
The towels were put out for us every morning on the beach and a the drinks were bought to us so we did not even have to get off the sunbeds.
The animation team are great but not pushy.
Special thanks to Mahmood and George in the resturant who looked after us and to Mostafah who gave me the most amazing massages :)
thank you everyone Carole x

Room Tip: ask for a room on reception side for sun in the afternoon at this time of year
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleaford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just returned from 2 weeks here . It cost us £950 for 2 people . Omg worth every penny . Food was excellent good selection . Rooms clean and tidy . Staff amazing . Akram at the pool bar made our holiday he is a wonderful person .
If anything it maybe it needs updating in places but you get what you pay for and we will DEFINATELY be returning .
It was so relaxing we did not have to put towels out . We could choose a place buy the pool .
Amazing my little piece of heaven .

Room Tip: Rooms in the left blocks
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our first stay there. We had a lvely time in the sun and diving. The people working at the restaurant were so friendily and helpful. The food was exceptionelly good. Good and tasty choise every evening.
We will surely come back.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scunthorpe
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

Just back from the happy life having taken my 82year mother back to this hotel at her request.
The hotel was quiet but there were other Brits there and it appears that the majority were like us returnees. We were greeted like friends and my mother was was treated by all the staff as the Queen of Sheba. The food was good andI am a fussy eater but found something tasty at every meal. The head waiter speaks excelent English so if you have problems a word in his ear and he will get it sorted. The animation team left us alone and the spar staff did likewise which is a plus.
Blocks 9, 10, and 11 are usually our blocks of choice as they are near the pool and restaurants but at the moment I would recommend you ask for blocks on the reception side of the complex as they appear to be building a road and a digger starts at about 6.30.They are building a new hotel nearby but you wouldn't know it. We hope to go back as the hotel is going to convert a few rooms to make the shower more accessible.
Now information I wish I had known. Duty free is shut at Sham airport and has been for 3 months for refurb but no one knows when it will re open. Don't rely on being able to buy anything on the plane They had sold out on our flight so there was nothing available. Also don't rely on any hot food again on our flight from Doncaster what was available was very limited and soon ran out.
We love the happylife we will go back they need Brits to go. There is no trouble and it is safe.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

We went late September/ October and travelled to the resort in a taxi as we were the only couple going. We had no problems with the journey and was placed in a downstairs room over looking the pool. We were glad to see a lot of old staff members from our previous visit in 2009. They were and the new staff was just as helpful,friendly and welcoming.
The food was excellent and cannot understand the complaints from other guests. The only bad point I can make is that it was a Egyptian festival (5 days) whilst we were there. They were rude and would pile several plates (for one person) then leave it. So then it was thrown and people are hungry in this country.
The staff were under a lot of stress but we're still very helpful and attempted to smile. We thank them for their fantastic service, Mohammed, Remmee, Alfie,Marmot and all the others.
We would lounge at the 3rd pool all day with a London couple that we meet their, and were provided drinks regularly by Saed and his team. Every evening they would clear the tables by the loungers but next day their were more beakers out. We would hear people by the pool in the night.
My husband would take part in the daily stretching and Zumba classes being run by the animation team of Ahmed, Mahy and her brother Marwan. Also he did take part in water polo and he did enjoy it and looked forward to it. We also paid to go out on the quad bikes into the mountains and visit a Egyptain camp to have tea.
I certainly would love to go again to this resort and would reccommend people to go. Though with the Europeans standing on the coral or touching it, I am not sure if this will be still there in a few years.
The resort owners could do provide new equipment for the resort, chairs at the bar,towels for the rooms. Staff cannot provide this if they have not got it, so Help them out.

Room Tip: Ask for pool or sea view and ask for what you want they are very happy to help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

Just back from 8 nights at the Happy Life.

What the reviews may not bring out is just how stunning the setting is.

I have been to Dahab many times but never fail to be struck by the beauty of the Happy Life setting. It was my partner's first visit and his remark says it all. Incidentally he rated the staff, rooms and food highly too.

My recommendation is visit the hotel while you can. And make sure you spend as much time outside either under the stars or under the water!

There are a few drawbacks that might affect you. The wifi is slow to impossible. The games room lacks decent table tennis bats and balls. We didnt find the dogs a problem despite being based on the beach and spending time there in the evening.

Thank you everyone at the Happy Life!!

(PS Forget to mention the quad bike trip led by Sammi - a great way to see some of the wadi and small canyons and a lot of fun)

Room Tip: The blocks at the front have stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Happy Life Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Life Village

Address: Wady Quonay | P.O. Box 47, Dahab 46617, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Dahab
#6 Family Hotel in Dahab
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Dahab
#13 Romantic Hotel in Dahab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Happy Life Village 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Happy Life Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Happy Life Village Dahab
Happy Life Village Hotel Dahab

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Happy Life Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.